Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'could reaction get to have retain'.
Other Suggestions:
could reactions get to have remain
could reaction get to have remain
could reactions get to have remains
cold reaction get to have regains
could reaction get to have remains
Yeenoghu
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
condition.
Each gnoll or hyena that Yeenoghu can see can use its reaction to move up to its speed.
Until the next initiative count 20, all gnoll;gnolls and hyena;hyenas within the lair are enraged
“I get caught up in the flow of anger, and try to stoke others around me into forming an angry mob.”
21–40
“The flesh of other intelligent creatures is delicious!&rdquo
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
around a creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If
no creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 11 (2d10);{"diceNotation":"2d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic
Nilbog
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Volo's Guide to Monsters
its Reversal of Fortune reaction.
Nimble Escape. The nilbog can take the Disengage or Hide action as a bonus action on each of its turns.Fool’s Scepter. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation
as a harsh overseer who would keep the goblins under heel. But the goblins’ pantheon included a trickster deity who was determined to get the last laugh. Although its essence was shattered by
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
can transform an individual into a more powerful type. The cost and time required to perform the ritual is prohibitive, and as a result most yuan-ti never get the opportunity to undergo such a
— yuan-ti make perfect courtiers. And, worse for the rest of us, rulers.
— Elminster
The physical and magical prowess of the yuan-ti empire allowed the former humans to retain their
Gnome
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Basic Rules (2014)
beauties of the world in their long years, but gnomes seem to worry that even with all that time, they can’t get in enough of the things they want to do and see.
Gnomes speak as if they can’t
get the thoughts out of their heads fast enough. Even as they offer ideas and opinions on a range of subjects, they still manage to listen carefully to others, adding the appropriate exclamations of
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
shouts bloodcurdling threats at the creatures that serve it. Each medium or smaller ally of the giant within 120 feet of it that can see or hear it can use its reaction to make a melee attack.The place of
intimidation to get their way. A fog giant seeks out news and rumors of treasures that appeal to its sense of refinement, then tracks down and treats owners of those treasures to a show of force. Kicking
Feats
Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
. If that ally can see or hear you, they can immediately make one weapon attack as a reaction. If the attack hits, the ally can roll a d8 and add the number rolled as a bonus to the attack’s damage
. Whether a character follows this path or another, they retain what they learned as a member of an order even if they join another. Characters can change what knightly order they’re a part of, but they always have access to any Knight of Solamnia feats they’ve acquired.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Ready Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Ready Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
feat doesn’t specify the bonus attack’s timing, and when a reaction has no timing specified, the reaction occurs after its trigger finishes (DMG, "Adjudicating Reaction Timing"). In contrast, an
or the Mobile feat? Does the character with the Sentinel feat still get the opportunity attack? The second benefit of the Sentinel feat is intended to counteract the Disengage action only. An enemy
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Bright Burrows Gnomes make their homes in hilly, wooded lands. They live underground but get more fresh air than dwarves do, enjoying the natural, living world on the surface whenever they can. Their
in the first place. Gnomes who settle in human lands are commonly gemcutters, engineers, sages, or tinkers. Some human families retain gnome tutors, ensuring that their pupils enjoy a mix of serious
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Bright Burrows Gnomes make their homes in hilly, wooded lands. They live underground but get more fresh air than dwarves do, enjoying the natural, living world on the surface whenever they can. Their
in the first place. Gnomes who settle in human lands are commonly gemcutters, engineers, sages, or tinkers. Some human families retain gnome tutors, ensuring that their pupils enjoy a mix of serious
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
the fighter’s turn, and if the attack qualifies, it can use Sneak Attack. Both of those options rely on the use of your reaction, so you could do only one of them in a round. Because you get only one
doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round. You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when a foe provokes an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
starry form, rather than transforming into a beast. While in your starry form, you retain your game statistics, but your body becomes luminous; your joints glimmer like stars, and glowing lines connect
finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die: Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Fighting Style At 2nd level, you adopt a style of fighting as your specialty. Choose one of the following options. You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to
. The weapon must have the two-handed or versatile property for you to gain this benefit. Protection When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Fighting Style You adopt a particular style of fighting as your specialty. Choose one of the following options. You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose
. Protection When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield. Two
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
characters as possible. Fel’rekt has the Stone of Golorr at the start of the chase, but one drow gunslinger can pass the stone to the other as a reaction as long as the two drow are within 10 feet of each
other. Next Encounter The drow keep running across the rooftops until they get to the run-down dockside neighborhood known as Mistshore. Characters who remain in pursuit can follow them all the way
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Fighting Style At 2nd level, you adopt a style of fighting as your specialty. Choose one of the following options. You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to
. The weapon must have the two-handed or versatile property for you to gain this benefit. Protection When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Fighting Style You adopt a particular style of fighting as your specialty. Choose one of the following options. You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose
. Protection When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield. Two
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
the creature cares about. They can guess, but doing so runs the risk of shifting the creature’s attitude in the wrong direction if they guess badly. After interacting with a creature long enough to get
of an entirely different set of social interactions. 3. Charisma Check When the adventurers get to the point of their request, demand, or suggestion — or if you decide the conversation has run its
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
Conclusion With this first episode completed, the characters attain 2nd level! But even as they get to bask in the warm glow of that achievement, they must return to Acquisitions Incorporated to
minus the Acquisitions Incorporated fee). If the characters were only partly successful, adjust Omin’s reaction and what follows as necessary. Having since learned about the initial mistaken identity
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
retain the tale in mind until you bestow the tale’s effect or you finish a short or long rest. You can use an action to choose one creature you can see within 30 feet of you (this can be you) to be the
target of the tale’s effect. Once you do so, you can’t bestow the tale’s effect again until you roll it again. You can retain only one of these tales in mind at a time, and rolling on the Spirit
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
into Creatures An infernal war machine can crash into a creature by entering its space. The creature can use its reaction to attempt to get out of the vehicle’s way, doing so and taking no damage with
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur’s Gate Gazetteer
through without a second look. Flaming Fist Reactions d8 Reaction 1 The guards demand that everyone drop to the ground, bludgeoning those who don’t comply immediately. After searching everyone
conducted by the book. 8 The guards are spoiling for a fight and attack anyone who looks like they might be guilty. Watch Reactions d8 Reaction 1 The guards immediately arrest the poorest
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
gate” service.
8 The guards wave travelers through without a second look.
Flaming Fist Reactions d8 Reaction
1 The guards demand that everyone drop to the ground, bludgeoning
they might be guilty.
Watch Reactions d8 Reaction
1 The guards immediately arrest the poorest looking person involved and lock them in jail for 24 hours before letting them go.
2
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
turns. Vigilant Defender Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your
creatures nearby. If you or a creature you can see within 5 feet of you is hit by an attack, you can roll 1d8 as a reaction if you’re wielding a melee weapon or a shield. Roll the die, and add the number
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
of the city, this means not merely the ability to carry a weapon, but the right to retain up to seventy equipped soldiers. These soldiers always wear a house’s colors and the house’s “arms of grace
” — a heraldic device often borne on a shield, worn as a cloak pin, or affixed to a helmet. Others throughout the city, even foreign dignitaries, are permitted to retain only up to sixteen armed
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
Attack. When a creature misses you with a melee attack roll, you can spend 1 ki point as a reaction to cause that attack to hit one creature of your choice, other than the attacker, that you can see
within 5 feet of you. Drunkard’s Luck Starting at 11th level, you always seem to get a lucky bounce at the right moment. When you make an ability check, an attack roll, or a saving throw and have
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round. You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when an enemy provokes an
hit by? Spell attacks too? A use of Uncanny Dodge works against only one attack, since it expends your Reaction, and only if you can see the attacker. It works against attacks of all sorts, including
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
, you’re not going to break anything in the game system, but you might undermine the story and the world being created in your campaign. Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out
only languages that appear in an elemental’s stat block, but the intent (RAI) is that druids retain their knowledge, including of languages, when they transform and can speak the languages they know if
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Curse of Strahd
characters try to leave, the ghost-children attempt to possess them. If one of the ghosts possesses a character, allow the player to retain control of the character, but assign the character one of the
following flaws: A character possessed by Rose gains the following flaw: “I like being in charge and get angry when other people tell me what to do.” A character possessed by Thorn gains the following
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
reflection. Anyone who doesn’t appreciate my beauty is a fool.” 21–40 “Sex is a great solution to all of life’s problems. Why doesn’t anyone else get this?” 41–60 “My appetite for delicious, pleasurable
substances knows no bounds. I’ll do anything to get more.” 61–80 “Rumors spread easily, and I know many of them. Who cares if they’re true?” 81–90 “To properly honor my dark, beautiful lord, I must
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
caregiver’s turn. A companion can move and use their own reaction and bonus action independently. But they can take only the Dash, Disengage, or Dodge actions unless their caregiver uses a bonus action to
crawl. If every player wants to get in on the companion action, it’s simpler for the characters to take turns as a creature’s caregiver, rather than running around adventuring with a menagerie.
For
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
feature like Divine Smite or a spell like hex, do you get to reroll any 1 or 2 you roll for the extra damage? The Great Weapon Fighting feature—which is shared by fighters and paladins—is meant to benefit
misses, can I use Riposte? Yes, you can use the Riposte maneuver in response to an opportunity attack that misses you, assuming your reaction is available. Does the “when” in the Eldritch Knight’s War