Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'could respond given to have reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
could response given to have reactions
could response given to have reaction
cold response given to have reaction
could respond given to have reactions
could resound given to have rejection
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
, never any less.
With senses sharp enough to pinpoint the locations of nearby invisible creatures, canoloths respond unfailingly to any threat to their charges. Furthermore, they emit a magical
. What happens next depends on the contract. Unless instructed to kill, a canoloth merely holds on to its prisoner, but if given the order to do so, it tears its prey limb from limb.Acid, PoisonCold, Fire, Lightning; Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
wander the Material Plane for centuries, collecting corpses while searching for a way to return home.
Cadaver collectors respond to a summons from a mortal only when they are called to the scene of a
can summon the spirits of these cadavers to battle against its enemies. Although these specters are individually weak, a cadaver collector can call up an almost endless supply of them, if given enough
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
one Wave of Sorrow attack.
Dance, My Puppet! One creature charmed by Graz’zt that Graz’zt can see must use its reaction to move up to its speed as Graz’zt directs.The appearance of
around him. Given enough time in a single location, Graz’zt can twist it with his power.
Graz’zt’s lair is a den of ostentation and hedonism. It is adorned with finery and decorations
Magic Items
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
you makes a saving throw, you can use your reaction to give that creature advantage on the saving throw.
Dragon-Touched Focus (Wakened);Wakened (Very Rare). The Wakened focus has the Slumbering and
Stirring properties, and while you are holding a Wakened focus, you can use it to cast certain spells. Once the item is used to cast a given spell, it can’t be used to cast that spell again
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
allied demon within 30 feet of the drow uses its reaction to make one attack against a target of the drow’s choice that she can see.
Demon Staff. The drow makes one Demon Staff attack.
Cast a
favor, and the goddess sometimes capriciously takes back what she has given. This represents a matron mother at the height of her power.
A matron mother is almost never encountered alone. She is
Graz'zt
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
reaction to move up to its speed as Graz’zt directs.
Sow Discord. Graz’zt casts crown of madness or dissonant whispers.
Teleport. Graz’zt uses his Teleport action.The appearance of the
Zelatar, found within his Abyssal domain of Azzatar. Graz’zt’s maddening influence radiates outward in a tangible ripple, warping reality around him. Given enough time in a single location
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
The Teeth of Dahlver-Nar are stories given form. They are a collection of teeth, each suggestive of wildly different origins and made from various materials. The collection rests within a leather
, you can use your reaction to cause them to be hit instead. You can’t use this reaction again until you finish a short or long rest.
4
The Mill Road Murders (halfling canine)
3 green hag
Duergar Hammerer
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes
);{"diceNotation":"1d10","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Engine of Pain"} damage to the hammerer, and the hammerer can respond by using its Multiattack with its reaction.
Siege Monster. The hammerer
Cadaver Collector
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes
. Cadaver collectors respond to a summons from a mortal only when they are called to the scene of a great battle — either where one is in progress, where one is imminent, or where one once took place
creatures for eventual impalement. Although these specters are individually weak, a cadaver collector can call up an almost endless supply of them, if given time.
Constructed Nature. A cadaver collector
Your training with the Company of Free Swords has given you an increased stamina and an attitude that make you less likely to succumb to hardships. You gain the following benefits.
Hold the Ground
. When you are moved without using your movement by a creature, you can take a Reaction to reduce the distance you are moved by up to your Speed.
Resolute. You have Advantage on saving throws that would apply a condition.
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
creature within 5 feet of the norker makes a melee attack against it, the norker can use its reaction to cause 4 piercing damage to it.Cruel, vicious, and lazy even by the standards of goblinoids
the dictates of Maglubiyet have prevented the hobgoblins from hunting down and exterminating these creatures.
A Legacy of Hatred. Given their ancient defeat and terrible treatment at the hands of other
Nilbog
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Volo's Guide to Monsters
its Reversal of Fortune reaction.
Nimble Escape. The nilbog can take the Disengage or Hide action as a bonus action on each of its turns.Fool’s Scepter. Melee Weapon Attack: +4;{"diceNotation
host has given rise to a practice among goblinoids that each host include at least one goblin jester. This jester is allowed to go anywhere and do whatever it pleases. The position of jester is a much
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
make a single melee attack.Defensive Rebuke. If a creature within 5 feet of the norker makes a melee attack against it, the norker can use its reaction to cause 6 piercing damage to it.Cruel, vicious
foes even when relegated to menial labor. Only the dictates of Maglubiyet have prevented the hobgoblins from hunting down and exterminating these creatures.
A Legacy of Hatred. Given their ancient
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
commitment. By taking the Ready action, you’re giving your character access to a tailor-made Reaction to use in a given circumstance. However, you’re not bound to take that readied Reaction. As combat
continues, you can decide to take this readied Reaction—or, if plans change, you can take any other Reaction you might have access to, such as an Opportunity Attack. But remember that you have only one
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
seen. When your sorcerer’s powers appeared, how did the world around you respond? Were other people supportive, fearful, or somewhere in between? Reactions d6 Reaction 1 Your powers are seen as a
Reaction When a new sorcerer enters the world, either at birth or later when one’s power becomes evident, the consequences of that event depend greatly on how its witnesses react to what they have
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
against the escape DC in the monster’s stat block. If no escape DC is given, assume the DC is 10 + the monster’s Strength (Athletics) modifier.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
screamer, and the screamer can respond by using its Multiattack with its reaction.
Actions
Multiattack. The screamer makes one drill attack and uses its Sonic Scream.
Drill. Melee Weapon Attack: +6
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
the hammerer can respond by using its Multiattack with its reaction.
Siege Monster. The hammerer deals double damage to objects and structures.
Actions
Multiattack. The hammerer makes two
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
can be used a certain number of times (represented by X) and that a monster must finish a Long Rest to regain expended uses. For example, a Reaction that includes “1/Day” means the Reaction can be
1d6. If the roll is within the number range given in the notation (represented by X–Y), the monster regains the use of that part, which also recharges when the monster finishes a Short or Long Rest
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
pinpoint the locations of nearby invisible creatures, canoloths respond unfailingly to any threat to their charges. Furthermore, they emit a magical distortion field that prevents creatures close to
instructed to kill, a canoloth merely holds onto its prisoner, but if given the order to do so, it tears its prey limb from limb. Canoloths are fundamentally lazy creatures. Given no reason to attack
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
turns. Vigilant Defender Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your
creatures nearby. If you or a creature you can see within 5 feet of you is hit by an attack, you can roll 1d8 as a reaction if you’re wielding a melee weapon or a shield. Roll the die, and add the number
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
always do exactly as asked—never any more, never any less. With senses sharp enough to pinpoint the locations of nearby invisible creatures, canoloths respond unfailingly to any threat to their charges
grab their foes and drag them close. What happens next depends on the contract. Unless instructed to kill, a canoloth merely holds on to its prisoner, but if given the order to do so, it tears its prey
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
is that he is prejudiced against the uneducated, an adventurer who badly fails the check might be told that the sage enjoys personally seeing to the education of the downtrodden. Given time
, or Intimidation skill might apply to the check. The creature’s current attitude determines the DC required to achieve a specific reaction, as shown in the Conversation Reaction table. Conversation
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
available at any given table. All these dishes include magical ingredients meant to give the dishes a little extra flair. The first time a creature samples any of these dishes, it must succeed on a DC 12
Charisma (Deception) check to avoid making an alarmed face, coughing loudly, or having another potentially embarrassing reaction. Bow’s End Snacks d6 Snack 1 Eel rolls with sticky rice, jalapeno
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tales from the Yawning Portal->a6
Running the Adventure As with the previous adventures in this series, it is up to you to add to the considerable detail given herein, filling in any needed information to color the whole and bring it
particularly mindful of how their behavior there will have altered what is described here. Use the parameters given to design your own epic. Be disinterested, and be just. This is a very difficult scenario
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
might they throw themself into battle, perhaps recklessly or for too long? Record a default reaction on your character sheet so you can respond consistently when shocking events occur. Beyond this
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
might wander the Material Plane for centuries, collecting corpses while searching for a way to return home. Sweeping the Dead. Cadaver collectors respond to a summons from a mortal only when they are
, a cadaver collector can call up an almost endless supply of them, if given time. Constructed Nature. A cadaver collector doesn’t require air, food, drink, or sleep. Cadaver collectors cannot summon
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
, “You shouldn’t have come. Ancient ones, take them!” Four of the statues around the room respond, their eyes flaring with amber light.
The four corner statues animate and attack (use the spirit statue
her action on any given round, but if characters succeed on making these checks on three different rounds, Tullus clutches her head and screams “No!” She then falls unconscious. Murgaxor’s Orb
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
. Behold ye now his wondrous triumphs. Diderius extends wisdom, and Diderius offers knowledge. Which do you seek?”
If a response of “We seek wisdom,” or “We desire knowledge” is given, or the
characters roleplay an obsequious or self-deprecating response that might please an egotistical wizard, the statues respond. They say, “Diderius shall grant you what you seek, but only if you heed him and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
. Behold ye now his wondrous triumphs. Diderius extends wisdom, and Diderius offers knowledge. Which do you seek?”
If a response of “We seek wisdom,” or “We desire knowledge” is given, or the
characters roleplay an obsequious or self-deprecating response that might please an egotistical wizard, the statues respond. They say, “Diderius shall grant you what you seek, but only if you heed him and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
Material Plane for centuries, collecting corpses while searching for a way to return home. Cadaver collectors respond to a summons from a mortal only when they are called to the scene of a great battle
these cadavers to battle against its enemies. Although these specters are individually weak, a cadaver collector can call up an almost endless supply of them, if given enough time. Cadaver Collector
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
the room, though they continue to respond to characters engaging them in conversation even during the fight. (If a character attempts to seize the component, see “The Missing Component,” below
clockwork creatures show no reaction to any response.) “Why have you come to Lottie’s vault?” (This can lead the characters to ask about Lottie, who the clockwork creatures know as the wizard who
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
for statistics) is working in this area or passing along the corridor. Disguises are ineffective against the ice toads, which know what creatures live in Oyaviggaton at any given time. If they see
them. Maccath the Crimson. Maccath often wanders the ice caves, deep in thought. On meeting strangers, her reaction is oddly subdued. See area 10 for more details on Maccath’s situation. Ice Trolls
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
attacker has disadvantage on the attack roll. On a hit, the attack deals an extra 5 (1d10) damage to the hammerer, and the hammerer can respond by using its Multiattack with its reaction.
Siege Monster
reaction either to make one weapon attack against another creature the duergar can see or to move up to 10 feet in a direction of the duergar’s choice. Creatures that can’t be charmed are immune to this
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
reaction to move up to its speed as Graz’zt directs.
Graz’zt proved to be a plentiful source of magical energy. He seems to think there’s something more between us. He’ll eventually figure out the
radiates outward in a tangible ripple, warping reality around him. Given enough time in a single location, Graz’zt can twist it with his power. Graz’zt’s lair is a den of ostentation and hedonism. It is