Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'creature and harnessing provokes'.
Other Suggestions:
creature and harnessing provides
creature and harnessing provoked
creature and harnessing provoke
creature and harnessing proves
creature and harvesting proves
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
","rollAction":"Bite","rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage.Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Hydra use Reactive Heads to make multiple Opportunity Attack against one creature at the same time when it provokes? Yes. For that reason, we recommend taking the Disengage action when you’re going to move away from a Hydra.
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
reduced to 0.Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using its bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +6
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
points equal to that amount. The reduction lasts until the target finishes a long rest. The target dies if its hit point maximum is reduced to 0.Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity
Monsters
Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
their personality. In the hands of Prismari students, spells that conjure fire or bend water to one’s will become vibrant and expressive showcases, thrumming with creative energy.
Harnessing the
itself with elemental magic as it moves. Until the end of its turn, the apprentice can move through the space of other creatures. The first time the apprentice enters a creature’s space on a turn
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
Annihilating Aura. Any creature that starts its turn within 30 feet of the nightwalker must succeed on a DC 21 Constitution saving throw or take 21 (6d6);{"diceNotation":"6d6","rollType":"damage
","rollAction":"Annihilating Aura","rollDamageType":"necrotic"} necrotic damage. Undead are immune to this aura.
Life Eater. A creature dies if reduced to 0 hit points by the nightwalker and can’t
Monsters
Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
;s choice).
Showstopper (1/Day). The pledgemage shines with elemental magic, targeting one creature it can see within 60 feet of itself. The target must make a DC 13 Wisdom saving throw. On a failed
their personality. In the hands of Prismari students, spells that conjure fire or bend water to one’s will become vibrant and expressive showcases, thrumming with creative energy.
Harnessing
Monsters
Baldur’s Gate: Descent into Avernus
damage, and Ulder pushes the target 5 feet away from him. Ulder then enters the space vacated by the target. If the target is pushed to within 5 feet of a creature friendly to Ulder, the target provokes
":"to hit","rollAction":"Shield"} to hit, reach 5 ft., one creature. Hit: 6 (1d6 + 3);{"diceNotation":"1d6+3","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Shield","rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command
at a time. If a third creature tries to attune to it, nothing happens.
The servant’s controls are accessed by a hatch in its upper back, which is easily opened while there are no creatures
War Caster
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Feats
Player’s Handbook (2014)
provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
Spells
Xanathar's Guide to Everything
, spell, or other ability it’s using. If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to.
You reach into the mind of one creature you can see and force it to make an Intelligence saving throw. A creature automatically succeeds if it is immune to being frightened. On a failed save, the
feats
Player’s Handbook (2024)
maximum of 20.
Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration.
Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by
leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Fighter If my Battle Master Fighter provokes an Opportunity Attack and it misses, can I use Riposte? Yes, you can use the Riposte maneuver in response to an Opportunity Attack that misses you
, assuming your Reaction is available. Can the Disarming Attack maneuver cause a creature to drop a Shield? No. Disarming Attack forces a creature to drop an object it is holding. Donned Shields aren’t merely held.
Lizardfolk
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
’t scared of a troll; instead, they understand that a troll is a fearsome, dangerous creature and react accordingly.
Lizardfolk never become angry in the way others do, but they act with
lizardfolk doesn’t share those feelings, but instead assesses them in the same clinical manner. Yes, the fallen dwarf might be most useful as a meal, but hacking the body into steaks provokes aggression
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
Opportunity Attacks Infernal war machines provoke opportunity attacks as normal. When an infernal war machine provokes an opportunity attack, the attacker can target the vehicle or any creature riding on or inside it that doesn’t have total cover and is within reach.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
chooses another creature as a target, it must choose the target at random from among the creatures it can see within range of the attack, spell, or other ability it’s using. If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to.
Enemies Abound 3rd-level enchantment Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You reach into the mind of one creature you can see and force it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Uni and the Hunt for the Lost Horn
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
one or both hands. When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
spell attacks on a turn, even though each attack is a spell of its own. Spell Attacks as Opportunity Attacks When an enemy’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from a creature whose stat block
that turn. For example, a creature who casts the misty step spell as a bonus action can also make a 2nd-level spell attack as an action. Similarly, many Multiattack actions let a creature make multiple
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
1, to a maximum of 20. Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration. Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you
by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
Elder Runes Elder runes are ancient symbols imbued with magical power. With years of study, any creature that can cast the symbol spell can learn an elder rune and add it to the selection of symbols
that can be created with the spell. Halaster has spent lifetimes studying elder runes, inventing new ones, and harnessing their volatile magic. He likes to place them throughout Undermountain as
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using its bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 7 (1d8
amount. The reduction lasts until the target finishes a long rest. The target dies if its hit point maximum is reduced to 0.
Reactions
Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
), so that activity also provokes opportunity attacks. In contrast, a creature that’s pushed by a gust of wind spell does not provoke opportunity attacks.
to approach me? A creature doesn’t provoke an opportunity attack if it is moved without the use of its movement, its action, or its reaction. For example, the effect of the antipathy/sympathy spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
here: Don’t dictate a character’s actions in response to what they see. But you can touch on the feelings that the creature provokes, leaving it up to the players to describe how they respond to those
: Emphasize Wrongness. Focus on the features that make the creature alien, inhuman, and out of place. The Whistling Fiend looks like a humanoid skeleton dripping its own gelatinous musculature. Its skull
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
and merrow, but it also provokes misunderstandings with surface dwellers who blame merfolk for merrow attacks. Sages trace merrows’ origins to aquatic ogres, depraved merfolk, and worse. Such broad
: +6, reach 5 ft. or range 20/60 ft. Hit: 11 (2d6 + 4) Piercing damage. If the target is a Large or smaller creature, the merrow pulls the target up to 15 feet straight toward itself.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round. You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when an enemy provokes an
? Yes. Being surprised at the start of a combat causes a creature to have Disadvantage on the Initiative roll. A Rogue can use Evasion as long as they don’t have the Incapacitated condition. Can the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
, annihilating most at once. The few who survive by sheer luck or by harnessing some rare form of protective magic soon discover that they can’t leave as easily as they arrived. Worse, for each creature
that enters the plane, a nightwalker is released to take its place. In order for a trapped creature to escape, the released nightwalker must be lured back to the Negative Plane by offerings of life
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
and annihilates them at once. Those few who survive the effort do so by sheer luck or by harnessing some rare form of magic that protects them against the hostile atmosphere. They soon discover
, however, that they can’t leave as easily as they arrived. For each creature that enters the plane, a nightwalker is released to take its place. In order for a trapped creature to escape, the released
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
effect. Group Opportunity Attacks If a creature provokes an opportunity attack from more than one minion of the same stat block at a time and those minions have a melee group attack action, the minions can each use their reaction to join a group attack as an opportunity attack.
to increase the odds that some minions hit while others miss. A single minion can even use their group attack action on their own—they make the attack as a normal creature would, and simply don’t
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
Multiattack actions let a creature make multiple power attacks on a turn, even though each attack is a power of its own. Power Attacks as Opportunity Attacks When an enemy’s movement provokes an
Psionic Powers Some creatures have psionic powers, creating effects with sheer force of will instead of with magic. When a creature manifests a power, they create an effect that has similar rules to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
Divine Smite with the greatsword, Great Weapon Fighting doesn’t let you reroll a 1 or 2 that you roll for the damage of Divine Smite. If my Battle Master fighter provokes an opportunity attack and it
the benefit of true strike on your next turn if the spell hasn’t ended. Can the Disarming Attack maneuver disarm a creature of a shield it has donned? No. Disarming Attack forces a creature to drop an object it is holding. Donned shields aren’t merely held.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
spell unless it says it does. Can you use a melee spell attack to make an Opportunity Attack? No, you can’t cast a spell when a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you. This is because each
otherwise (see the War Caster feat for an example of this). Some spells (like Guiding Bolt) target a creature. Some others (like Fire Bolt) target objects too. Does this mean that I can’t attack the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
doesn’t limit the number of times you can use it in a round. You sometimes get a chance to use Sneak Attack on someone else’s turn. The most common way for this to happen is when a foe provokes an
the domain of Use an Object. For triggering the rogue’s Assassinate ability, when does a creature stop being surprised? After their turn in the round, or at the end of the round? A surprised creature






