Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'current reaction grappling to have release'.
Other Suggestions:
current reaction grasping to have released
current reaction grasping to have releases
current reaction grasping to have release
current relation grappling to have released
current rejection grasping to have release
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope (causing the rope to coil up in the target
a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space.
The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic damage. It regains 1
Magic Items
Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
extra 1d12 slashing damage. If the Aberration is currently grappling a creature, the Aberration must succeed on a DC 15 Strength saving throw or release each creature it is grappling.
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
. The tome recounts both the oldest and most current profanities of the Abyss and demons. Demons have attempted to censor the text, and while sections have been ripped from the book’s spine, the
save, you are possessed by the creature, which controls you like a puppet. As a Magic action, the possessing creature can release you and appear in the closest unoccupied space to you. On a
Magic Items
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
.
Annihilation. If the dagger holds five souls, you can use this property: As a reaction immediately after you hit a creature with the dagger and deal damage to that target, you can release all five souls. If the
dagger has the following additional properties.
Siphon Vitality. As a bonus action, you can release any number of stored souls from the dagger to regain 1d10 hit points per soul released
Monsters
The Book of Many Things
Unerring Tracker trait to make one weapon attack as a reaction against the target of that ally’s Unerring Tracker.
Spellcasting. Brusipha casts one of the following spells, using Charisma as the
creature to 0 hit points, she gains 8 temporary hit points.Unerring Tracker. Brusipha magically creates a psychic link with one creature she can see. For the next hour, Brusipha knows the current
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
can’t make attacks while grappling a creature in this way.
Spellcasting. The hag casts one of the following spells, using Charisma as the spellcasting ability (spell save DC 13):
3/day each
tokens at any distance (no action required), whereupon the token retains its current form but loses its magic.Cold
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
Chromatic Wrath (Recharges after a Short or Long Rest). If the aspect would be reduced to 0 hit points, her current hit point total instead resets to 500 hit points, she recharges her Chromatic
below as legendary actions.
Hurl Through Avernus (Costs 2 Actions). The aspect targets a creature she is grappling. The creature must succeed on a DC 25 Charisma saving throw or take 44 (8d10
Magic Items
Baldur’s Gate: Descent into Avernus
released from the shield, the pit fiend honors the terms of whatever bargain it struck to facilitate its escape.
While trapped in the shield, Gargauth carefully steers the shield’s current owner
evil and good on the shield has a 1 percent chance of freeing the pit fiend, or automatically succeeds if the spell is cast by a solar, a planetar, or an archdevil. A god can release the pit fiend by
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
traveled.
Unerring Tracker. As a bonus action, this creature magically creates a psychic link with one creature it can see. For the next hour, as a bonus action this creature learns the current
after a Short or Long Rest). As an action, this creature allows each ally within 30 feet of it that has the Unerring Tracker trait to make one weapon attack as a reaction against the target of that
Magic Items
The Book of Many Things
*Found only in a deck with twenty-two cards.
Beginning. Your hit point maximum and current hit points increase by 2d10. Your hit point maximum remains increased in this way for the next 8 hours
the next 8 hours, whenever you or a creature within 60 feet of you is about to roll a d20 with advantage or disadvantage, you can use your reaction to prevent the roll from being affected by advantage
Demonomicon of Iggwilv
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
recounts both the oldest and most current profanities of the Abyss and demons. Demons have attempted to censor the text, and while sections have been ripped from the book’s spine, the general
possessing creature can release you as an action, appearing in the closest unoccupied space. On a successful save, the fiend can’t try to possess you again for 7 days.
When the tome is discovered
spells
Melee weapon, you can take a Reaction to have clots form around the weapon, entrapping it. The attacker must succeed on a Strength saving throw or the weapon sticks to you. If the attacker doesn’t
release the weapon, the creature has the Grappled condition while the weapon is stuck. While stuck, the weapon can’t be used. The target can take an action to make a Strength (Athletics) check
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Grappling (p. 367) In the “Grappling” entry, the heading “Escaping a Grapple” is now “Ending a Grapple”. Also, the following sentence has been added to the end of that subsection: “In addition, the grappler can release the target at any time (no action required).”
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
greataxe. An Aberration hit with this greataxe takes an extra 1d12 slashing damage. If the Aberration is currently grappling a creature, the Aberration must succeed on a DC 15 Strength saving throw or release each creature it is grappling.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration
. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Spelljammer: Adventures in Space->Astral Adventurer’s Guide
until the grapple ends. As an action, a creature can use the grappling jaws’ controls to release the target. Otherwise, the effect ends when the target or the lamprey ship drops to 0 hit points.
Lamprey Ship Deck PlansView Unlabeled Version
Lamprey Ship Lamprey ships are antiquated, being among the oldest spelljamming ships still in use. Psurlons (see Boo’s Astral Menagerie) are particularly fond of them. Using the metal grappling jaws
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction
broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Grappling A creature can grapple another creature. Characters typically grapple by using an Unarmed Strike. Many monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. However a
grapple is initiated, it follows these rules. See also “Unarmed Strike” and “Grappled.” Grappled Condition. Successfully grappling a creature gives it the Grappled condition. One Grapple per Hand. A
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
swinging crane with an iron grappling claw fastened to the end of a winch and a 50-foot-long chain. Scavenger
Huge vehicle (9,000 lb.)
Creature Capacity 8 Medium creatures
Cargo Capacity 2 tons
Armor
Grants Three-Quarters Cover). Drive and steer the Scavenger.
Grappling Claw (Requires 1 Crew and Grants Half Cover). Melee Weapon Attack: +10 to hit, reach 15 ft., one target. Hit: The target is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Grappling A creature can grapple another creature. Characters typically grapple by using an Unarmed Strike. Many monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. However a
grapple is initiated, it follows these rules. See also “Unarmed Strike” and “Grappled.” Grappled Condition. Successfully grappling a creature gives it the Grappled condition. One Grapple per Hand. A
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
the blood, as it once did.
Because their population is so small, the yuan-ti are aware they are vulnerable in open warfare. Instead, their current plans assume they will never rule outwardly in
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach. You can avoid provoking an
opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach. You can avoid provoking an
opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
you can see within 20 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope
escapes from it, you can take a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space. The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
you can see within 20 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope
escapes from it, you can take a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space. The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Spelljammer: Adventures in Space->Astral Adventurer’s Guide
an action, the ship’s spelljammer can make one of the following attacks with the ship’s tentacles.
Grappling Tentacles. Melee Weapon Attack: +8 to hit, reach 30 ft., one Huge or Gargantuan target
. Hit: 22 (4d10) bludgeoning damage, and the nautiloid’s speed becomes 0 until its spelljammer uses an action to release the target. If the target is a creature, it is grappled (escape DC 16). If the
Actions
to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell's magic
you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
trait. Unerring Tracker. As a bonus action, this creature magically creates a psychic link with one creature it can see. For the next hour, as a bonus action this creature learns the current distance
a Short or Long Rest). As an action, this creature allows each ally within 30 feet of it that has the Unerring Tracker trait to make one weapon attack as a reaction against the target of that ally’s Unerring Tracker. Labyrinthine Recall. This creature can perfectly recall any path it has traveled.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes
attack rolls it makes until the end of the current turn. Vexing Escape (1/Day). As a reaction when this creature takes damage, it reduces that damage to 0 and teleports up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
occurs? A readied spell’s slot is lost if you don’t release the spell with your reaction before the start of your next turn. Can a readied action occur during an enemy’s triggering action, such as
, initiative is rolled as normal. Then, the first round of combat starts, and the unsurprised combatants act in initiative order. A surprised creature can’t move or take an action or a reaction until its
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
glares at a character and bellows, “FREE ME!” or “BRING ME MY HAMMER!” in Giant first and Abyssal second. If that fails to garner the desired reaction, Kostchtchie resorts to using telepathy to contact the nearest character, demanding its immediate release while offering nothing in return.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
, or Intimidation skill might apply to the check. The creature’s current attitude determines the DC required to achieve a specific reaction, as shown in the Conversation Reaction table. Conversation
Reaction DC Friendly Creature’s Reaction 0 The creature does as asked without taking risks or making sacrifices. 10 The creature accepts a minor risk or sacrifice to do as asked. 20 The creature
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
creature, it can do so by grappling. A Small or Medium creature has little chance of making a successful grapple against a Huge or Gargantuan creature, however, unless magic has granted the grappler
opportunity attack it makes against the marked target has advantage. The opportunity attack doesn’t expend the attacker’s reaction, but the attacker can’t make the attack if anything, such as the