Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'dawn invoke are body'.
                    
                
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     benefits:
Truesight. You have Truesight out to 240 feet.
Spellcasting. The eye has 8 charges and regains 1d4 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. You can cast a spell on the Eye of Vecna Spells table
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     your body, devours it, and then takes control of the body like a puppet. If that happens, you become an NPC under the DM’s control.
Eye of Vecna Spells
Spell
Charge Cost
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Temporary Hit Points daily at dawn until you die.
Talons. Every magic item you wear or carry disintegrates. Artifacts in your possession vanish instead.
Throne. You gain proficiency and Expertise in
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , which must be cleared out before you can claim the keep as yours.
Void. Your soul is drawn from your body and contained in an object in a place of the DM’s choice. One or more powerful beings
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . When you target a creature with an attack using this weapon, you can invoke the sword’s rune, causing it to flare with crimson light and infusing your attack with bloodthirsty precision. You
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     then spend and roll one of your unspent Hit Dice and add the number rolled to the attack roll. You can choose to invoke the rune after rolling the d20.
If this attack hits, you can also spend and roll
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the armor’s rune to cast the beacon of hope spell with it; the spell has a duration of 1 minute and doesn’t require concentration. Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     movements are bolstered by gentle currents of wind.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the armor’s rune to cast the wind wall spell (save DC 15) with it. Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     advantage on Wisdom (Survival) checks.
Invoking the Runes. As a bonus action, you can invoke the boots’ runes to cast the expeditious retreat spell with them. Once the runes have been invoked, they can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the weapon’s rune to cast the sunbeam spell (save DC 17) with it. Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     and the lower body of an enormous scorpion, complete with a stinger at the end of a long tail. These desert creatures range across arid lands, hunting at dawn and dusk. In the hours between, they wait
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.Tlincallis, also called scorpion folk, are chitin-covered creatures with a humanlike upper body
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage and are immune to being knocked prone.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the breastplate’s rune to cast the wall of stone
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     spell (save DC 14) with it. When you cast the spell in this way, you have advantage on saving throws made to maintain concentration on the spell.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . The projection disappears at the end of your turn. Once you use this bonus action, it can’t be used again until the next dawn.
Curse. This armor is cursed, and attuning to it extends the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     curse to you. As long as you remain cursed, you’re unwilling to part with the armor. Taking it off fails to end the curse. While cursed in this way, you feel disconnected from your body
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     blindsight to 15 feet.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the glove’s rune to bolster yourself with the sturdiness of the earth. Spend and roll a number of your unspent Hit Dice up to a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     maximum equal to your proficiency bonus. You then regain a number of hit points equal to the total roll plus your Constitution modifier.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     clouds.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the circlet’s rune to assume a cloudlike form. The form lasts for 1 minute, until you are incapacitated, or until you dismiss it (no action
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     required).
While in cloud form, you have a flying speed of 60 feet and resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Tomb of Annihilation
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     fails a saving throw, he can choose to succeed instead.
Rejuvenation. Acererak’s body turns to dust when he drops to 0 hit points, and his equipment is left behind. Acererak gains a new body
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     after 1d10;{"diceNotation":"1d10","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Rejuvenation"} days, regaining all his hit points and becoming active again. The new body appears within 5 feet of Acererak’s
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     spectral vines until the start of your next turn.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the staff’s rune to cast either hold person (save DC 12) or speak with plants with the staff
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . When you cast hold person using the staff, the target is wreathed in spectral vines.
Once the rune has been invoked to cast either spell, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Baldur’s Gate: Descent into Avernus
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     daily at dawn. Arkhan can cast the following spells from the hand by expending the specified number of charges (spell save DC 18): finger of death (5 charges), sleep (1 charge), slow (2 charges), and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     means of freeing Tiamat from her prison in the Nine Hells, but only if the hand doesn't kill him first. The hand is slowly corrupting Arkhan's flesh and decomposing his body on one side.
In battle
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the target.
Invoking the Rune. When you make an attack with the whip and hit, you can use your reaction to invoke the whip’s rune. Doing so increases the extra fire damage dealt by the whip to 2d6.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     rolled.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the crown’s rune to cast the fear spell (save DC 15) with it; the spell has a duration of 1 minute and doesn’t require concentration. Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     taking damage, you can use your reaction to invoke the item’s rune, causing the pendant to flash with pale light. The creature then instead drops to 1 hit point.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     immediately end that condition on yourself. You also have advantage on saving throws against being frightened until the start of your next turn.
Invoking the Rune. When you blow the horn, you can also invoke
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     start of your next turn.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the Rune. When the bonded creature hits a target with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to invoke the ring’s rune if you are within 60 feet of the bonded creature. The bonded creature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ’s attack is then turned into a critical hit.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Tales from the Yawning Portal
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     only by heal or another disease-curing spell of 6th level or higher. When the creature is outside a body of water, it takes 6 (1d12);{"diceNotation":"1d12","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Tentacle
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , an aboleth can invoke the ambient magic to take lair actions. On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the aboleth takes a lair action to cause one of the following effects:
The aboleth
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Orcus
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     charges). The wand regains 1d4 + 3;{"diceNotation":"1d4+3","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Wand of Orcus"} charges daily at dawn.
While holding the wand, Orcus can use an action to conjure undead
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     until they are destroyed or until he dismisses them as an action. Once this property of the wand is used, the property can’t be used again until the next dawn.
Innate Spellcasting. Orcus’s
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     charge to add or subtract your proficiency bonus from the total roll.
Doom Foretold. As an action, you can expend 2 charges to target a creature within 30 feet of yourself and invoke that creature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     throw into a successful one, a missed attack roll into a hit, or vice versa.
The wand regains 1d6 expended charges daily at dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     target. The crossbow has 3 charges and regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn.
Constellations. The crossbow is decorated with three constellations. As a bonus action, you can tap one of the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     constellations to invoke it, expending 1 charge and producing one of the following effects:
Balance. The next time you hit a creature with a ranged attack roll using this crossbow before the end of your next
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , or poison. You have resistance to the chosen damage type until you finish another long rest.
Invoking the Runes. As a bonus action, you can invoke the gauntlets’ runes and summon two enormous
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     opportunity attack made with your unarmed strike, the creature must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier) or have the prone condition.
Once the runes have been invoked, they can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature that hits you with a melee attack while you have 1 or more of these temporary hit points takes 10 necrotic damage.
Invoking the Rune. As a bonus action, you can invoke the weapon’s rune
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     stunned condition until the start of your next turn.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     eyes to glow brightly. Choose one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. The creature must succeed on a DC 20 Constitution saving throw, or it has the restrained condition as its body turns to stone
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the restrained condition ends. Once this bonus action is used, it can’t be used again until the next dawn.
Spellcasting. While wielding the shield, you can use an action to cast one of the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Acquisitions Incorporated
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    .
Dimensional Cloak. As a bonus action, you send your body out of phase with the material world for 1 minute, granting you advantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks made to hide, and imposing disadvantage on
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     attack rolls against you. Once you use this feature of the dimensional loop, it cannot be used again until the next dawn.
Fold Space. Choose a space you can see within 60 feet of you (no action
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     thunder instead of piercing, and it doesn’t have the loading property.
Invoking the Rune. As a bonus action, you can invoke the weapon’s rune to launch a ball of energy to a point you can see
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 3d6 thunder damage, and it can’t take reactions until the end of your next turn. On a successful save, a creature takes half as much damage only.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     throw or take 1d6 cold damage and have the prone condition. A creature can be affected by the mantle only once during a turn.
Invoking the Rune. As an action, you can invoke the mantle’s rune to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     normal penalties of a heavily obscured area.
Once the rune has been invoked, it can’t be invoked again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Produced by a special needle, this magic tattoo appears on your body as whatever you desire.
Tattoo Attunement. To attune to this item, you hold the needle to your skin where you want the tattoo to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action, you can use the tattoo to cast the disguise self spell (DC 13 to discern the disguise). Once the spell is cast from the tattoo, it can’t be cast from the tattoo again until the next dawn.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     to the next nearest earworm until it reaches a daelkyr.
The earworm regains 1d4 expended charges daily at dawn.
Symbiotic Nature. The earworm can’t be removed from you while you
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ’re attuned to it, and you can’t voluntarily end your attunement to it. If you’re targeted by a spell that ends a curse, your attunement to the earworm ends, and it exits your body.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     eyelashes. Underneath her makeup, her flesh is textured like rotten bark and infested with wood lice and fungus. The windup key sticking out of her back is a part of her body and no easier to remove than one
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     magic, finger of death, glibness, locate creature, mass suggestion.
Once a spell from this list has been cast, no member of the coven can cast that shared spell again until the next dawn, when the coven
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of which require charges; the wand has 7 charges to fuel these spells, and it regains 1d4 + 3;{"diceNotation":"1d4 + 3", "rollType":"roll", "rollAction":"Charges regained"} charges daily at dawn:
At
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the dead, emulating their dread master.
Orcus is a bestial creature of corruption with a diseased, decaying look. He has the lower body of a goat and a humanlike upper body with a belly swollen with
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . As an action, you can speak a command word and cause your body to assume the amorphous qualities of an ooze. For the next minute, you (along with any equipment you’re wearing or carrying) can
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     move through a space as narrow as 1 inch wide without squeezing. Once you use this property, it can’t be used again until the next dawn.
Acid Breath. As an action, you can exhale acid in a 30
                                                
                                            
                                        





