Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'defined instance are bonus'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        deafened insane are bonus
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        destined instances are bonus
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        defend instances are bonus
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        deafened instant are bonus
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        destined instant are bonus
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Spells
                                                    Playerâs Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Initiative count, and it functions as a controlled mount while you ride it (as defined in the rules on mounted combat). If you have the Incapacitated condition, the steed takes its turn immediately
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     1 mile (works only with you)
CR None (XP 0; PB equals your Proficiency Bonus)
Traits
Life Bond. When you regain Hit Points from a level 1+ spell, the steed regains the same number of Hit Points if
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     out across the world.
Numerous creatures have tried to tame, subjugate, or cooperate with the monsters. For instance, some forest-dwelling peoples capture girallons and train them to serve as sentinels
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     keep a girallon must always be wary, however, because the creature could revert to its predatory nature at any time.Aggressive. As a bonus action, the girallon can move up to its speed toward a hostile creature that it can see.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Alter Self
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature of a different size than you, and your basic shape stays the same; if you're bipedal, you can't use this spell to become quadrupedal, for instance. At any time for the duration of the spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     1d6 bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage, as appropriate to the natural weapon you chose, and you are proficient with your unarmed strikes. Finally, the natural weapon is magic and you have a +1 bonus to the attack and damage rolls you make using it.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Proficiency Bonus
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Rules
                                                    
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     multiplying 0 by any number is still 0. For instance, if you lack proficiency in the History skill, you gain no benefit from a feature that lets you double your proficiency bonus when you make Intelligence
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Characters have a proficiency bonus determined by level, as detailed in chapter 1. Monsters also have this bonus, which is incorporated in their stat blocks. The bonus is used in the rules on ability
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Feats
                                                    Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     instance of damage. You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Youâve manifested some of the power of chromatic dragons, granting you the following benefits:
Chromatic Infusion. As a bonus action, you can touch a simple or martial weapon and infuse it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Spell Scroll
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    âs saving throw DC and attack bonus, as well as the scrollâs rarity, as shown in the following table.
Spell Scroll
Spell Level
Rarity
Save DC
Attack Bonus
Spell Scroll
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     spell affects a random location within the spellâs range.
4
The spellâs effect is contrary to its normal one, but neither harmful nor beneficial. For instance, a fireball might
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spellâs
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Casting Time entry. Some spells that have a casting time of a Bonus Action are also cast in response to a trigger defined in the spell. Longer Casting Times Certain spellsâincluding a spell cast as a Ritual
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Playerâs Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn. Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spellâs
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Casting Time entry. Some spells that have a casting time of a Bonus Action are also cast in response to a trigger defined in the spell. Longer Casting Times Certain spellsâincluding a spell cast as a Ritual
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating table). Other modifiers might apply. For instance, a monster might have a larger-than-expected bonus (usually double its proficiency bonus) to account for its heightened expertise.
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Dexterity (Stealth) checks. A skill bonus is the sum of a monsterâs relevant ability modifier and its proficiency bonus, which is determined by the monsterâs challenge rating (as shown in the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reactionâs description. You can take a Reaction on another creatureâs turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you canât take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also âOpportunity Attacksâ and âPlaying the Gameâ (âActionsâ).
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Playerâs Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reactionâs description. You can take a Reaction on another creatureâs turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you canât take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also âOpportunity Attacksâ and chapter 1 (âActionsâ).
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     resistance to that instance of damage. You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Gift of the Chromatic Dragon Youâve manifested some of the power of chromatic dragons, granting you the following benefits: Chromatic Infusion. As a bonus action, you can touch a simple or martial
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Challenge Rating Challenge Rating is defined in the âRules Glossaryâ, while guidance on using CR to plan potential combat encounters is in the DMâs Toolbox. Experience Points The number of Experience
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                      62,000 
   25  75,000 
   26  90,000 
   27  105,000 
   28  120,000 
   29  135,000 
   30  155,000 
   
 Proficiency Bonus A monsterâs Proficiency Bonus (PB) is determined by its CR, as
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Challenge Rating Challenge Rating is defined in the Playerâs Handbook, while guidance on using CR to plan potential combat encounters is in the Dungeon Masterâs Guide. Lists of monsters organized by
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     
   
 Proficiency Bonus A monsterâs Proficiency Bonus (PB) is determined by its CR, as shown in the Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating table, and is reflected in saving throws, skills, and other statistics
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating table). Other modifiers might apply. For instance, a monster might have a larger-than-expected bonus (usually double its proficiency bonus) to account for its heightened
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Dexterity (Stealth) checks. A skill bonus is the sum of a monster's relevant ability modifier and its proficiency bonus, which is determined by the monster's challenge rating (as shown in the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     multiplying 0 by any number is still 0. For instance, if you lack proficiency in the History skill, you gain no benefit from a feature that lets you double your proficiency bonus when you make
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Proficiency Bonus Characters have a proficiency bonus determined by level, as detailed in "Step-By-Step Characters." Monsters also have this bonus, which is incorporated in their stat blocks. The
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     by any number is still 0. For instance, if you lack proficiency in the History skill, you gain no benefit from a feature that lets you double your proficiency bonus when you make Intelligence (History
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    Proficiency Bonus Characters have a proficiency bonus determined by level, as detailed in chapter 1. Monsters also have this bonus, which is incorporated in their stat blocks. The bonus is used in
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you arenât limited to casting a cantrip with it. Does the rule on casting a bonus action spell apply when you take a bonus
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     column of the Ranger table shows when you learn more ranger spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 5th level in this
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     making an attack roll with one. Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier
 Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Dexterity modifier. Natural Armor: 10 + your Dexterity modifier + your natural armor bonus. This is a calculation method typically used only by monsters and NPCs, although it is also relevant to a druid
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     calculations, such as a monkâs Unarmored Defense, prohibit the use of a shield. Once you have your base AC, it can be temporarily modified by situational bonuses and penalties. For instance, having half
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     instance, if you gain a level in cleric and choose the War Domain, you do benefit from the Bonus Proficiencies feature, even if cleric isnât your first class. Can a barbarian/cleric use spiritual
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     if you multiclass. For instance, if youâre a 4th-level multiclass character, you havenât yet received the Ability Score Improvement feature because you havenât attained 4th level in one of your classes
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     column of the Ranger table shows when you learn more ranger spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 5th level in this
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     making an attack roll with one. Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     canât decide what to do on your turn, consider taking the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in Combat." Bonus Actions Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     taking the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in Combat." Bonus Actions Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     die, a d20, to determine success or failure. Every character and monster in the game has capabilities defined by six ability scores. The abilities are Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the six ability scores, and it sometimes includes a proficiency bonus to reflect a characterâs particular skill. (See Chapter 1 for details on each ability and how to determine an abilityâs modifier
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ; if youâre bipedal, you canât use this spell to become quadrupedal, for instance. At any time for the duration of the spell, you can use your action to change your appearance in this way again. Natural
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     weapon you chose, and you are proficient with your unarmed strikes. Finally, the natural weapon is magic and you have a +1 bonus to the attack and damage rolls you make using it.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Playerâs Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     defined below. Cleave If you hit a creature with a melee attack roll using this weapon, you can make a melee attack roll with the weapon against a second creature within 5 feet of the first that is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action instead of as a Bonus Action. You can make this extra attack only once per turn. Push If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature up to 10 feet straight away from yourself if
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     defined below. Cleave If you hit a creature with a melee attack roll using this weapon, you can make a melee attack roll with the weapon against a second creature within 5 feet of the first that is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     action instead of as a Bonus Action. You can make this extra attack only once per turn. Push If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature up to 10 feet straight away from yourself if
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ; if youâre bipedal, you canât use this spell to become quadrupedal, for instance. At any time for the duration of the spell, you can use your action to change your appearance in this way again. Natural
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     weapon you chose, and you are proficient with your unarmed strikes. Finally, the natural weapon is magic and you have a +1 bonus to the attack and damage rolls you make using it.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     bonus to the attack roll for each minion who joins the attack. (For example, if four goblin minions make a group attack together, the attack roll has a +4 bonus.) If the group attack hits, multiply the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     many minions join a group attack. For instance, if five minions surround a target, the GM may decide to have all five attack at once to speed up combat, or may break up the attacks among smaller groups
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     d followed by the number of sides: d4, d6, d8, d10, d12, and d20. For instance, a d6 is a six-sided die (the typical cube that many games use).
 Percentile dice, or d100, work a little differently
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     uncertain, the Dungeons & Dragons game relies on rolls of a 20-sided die, a d20, to determine success or failure.
 Every character and monster in the game has capabilities defined by six ability
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , as shown on the table. For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level. Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a bard spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one. Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level. Additionally, when you gain a level in this
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier Spellcasting Focus You can use an arcane focus (see chapter 5, âEquipÂmentâ) as a spellcasting focus for your sorcerer spells.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , as shown on the table. For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level. Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a bard spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one. Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 3rd level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level. Additionally, when you gain a level in this
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier
 Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier
 Spellcasting Focus You can use an arcane focus (see chapter 5, âEquipÂmentâ) as a spellcasting focus for your sorcerer spells.
                                                
                                            
                                        






