You cause a creature or an object you can see within range to grow larger or smaller for the duration. Choose either a creature or an object that is neither worn nor carried. If the target is unwilling, it can make a Constitution saving throw. On a success, the spell has no effect.
If the target is a creature, everything it is wearing and carrying changes size with it. Any item dropped by an affected creature returns to normal size at once.
Enlarge. The target's size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category-- from Medium to Large, for example. If there isn't enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available. Until the spell ends, the target also has advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target's weapons also grow to match its new size. While these weapons are enlarged, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 extra damage.
Reduce. The target's size is halved in all dimensions, and its weight is reduced to one-eighth of normal. This reduction decreases its size by one category--from Medium to Small, for example. Until the spell ends, the target also has disadvantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target's weapons also shrink to match its new size. While these weapons are reduced, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 less damage (this can't reduce the damage below 1).
* - (a pinch of powdered iron)






 
     
                        
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jan 22, 2021Lets say you enlarge a Goliath thatâs 8ft tall would it become a large or huge creature. Because the spell says it goes up one size category but the doubled height would be 16ft which would put it in the huge category or am I just overthinking it.
also would the enlarge stack with the rune knightâs ability to become large.
Iâm pretty new to all this stuff
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jan 23, 2021Unfortunately height does not equate to size. The spell specifically states one size category. The size of a goliath states the following:
So you go from medium to large.
Height and weight are pretty much fluff mechanics that get overruled by other game mechanics. A Goliath with 20 strength could carry 600 pounds, and because of powerful build drag, push or lift 1200 pounds. So you should be able to pick up a 40 pound halfling like a cup of tea. However grappling states:
So in effect the amount of weight you can push, drag or lift has no implications on actual combat mechanics or the like.
A 4-5 feet 150 pound dwarf and a 7-8 feet 28-340 goliath are both considered "medium" even though, compared to a small dwarf, a tall goliath is double the size and weight.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jan 23, 2021Oh ok thanks, personally I think thatâs a little dumb but oh well
but hereâs a thought could I use giantâs might and then be enlarged to become huge or gargantuan depending on the level of it
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jan 24, 2021There's nothing stopping you from using the Rune Knight class feature and then using Enlarge/Reduce. It has to be in that particular order though, as Giant's Might doesn't care about your previous size, it just sets your size to large.
A Gnome could use giants might to first become large, and then Enlarge to become huge.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 1, 2021What might happen if I cast this on a thrown projectile already in motion? or is that a DM call?
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 5, 2021A level 18 Rune Knight Fighter can become huge with Runic Juggernaut and then get a caster use this spell on them and there you go, one Tarraque sized PC who can fist fighter ancient dragons
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 6, 2021Now with the Rune Knight, you can!
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 10, 2021You could use this spell in conjunction with a Potion of Giant Size and still get to Gargantuan.
One could also get a Potion of Growth and a Rune Knight could get to Huge. Or the Rune Knight could take a 3 levels in a class that can cast this and then be Huge several times a day.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 24, 2021This should have a note in the "Available For" field that Druids can take it if using the Tasha's options.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Mar 1, 2021Is there a limit to the size of the objects that can be affected by the spell? For example... a navy ship or a galleon? Would a galleon count as a structure and thus be immune to the spell?
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Mar 14, 2021- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Mar 14, 2021U can just go 3 levals in rune khiat and 2 levals in wizard and for race go Dragonborn with tail get lighting breath or fire there U have Ur Godzilla or for race U can pick lizqrdfolk for Godzilla without atomic breth
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Mar 19, 2021When will this (and other spells) be added on the bards spell list? Seems to be a small fix, but Tasha's is out for a while already.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Apr 10, 2021Slap it on an 18th level rune knight. WWE Faerun is back in business
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Apr 20, 2021Same for Druid's spell list. I'd love to have my low level char turn into a huge Ox or Constrictor.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted May 18, 2021Thereâs an interesting loophole to be exploited here. If you stab someone with a dagger, then cast enlarge on the dagger, nothing will happen bc in terms of RAW, a dagger embedded in someone is, for all intents and purposes, being carried. However, if you cast the spell on a willing creature, there is no saving throw AND all of the creatures carried items get enlarged too. This specifically overrides the ânot worn or carriedâ clause. So you can have your rogue pop up from hiding, stab the giant monster with a sword (preferably a large one) and keep holding the sword, then have your wizard cast enlarge on the rogue. + 1 giant rogue, + 1 giant dagger, - 1 monster, which has now been torn apart by an 8ft long sword that has just appeared inside its body.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted May 28, 2021So you have a item too big to fit into a bag of holding, cast reduce on it, it now fits in the bag of holding. What happens after you put a reduced item in the bag of holding? Will it expand in the extra dimensional space?
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jun 19, 2021I think if someone tried that at my table, I would rule that it ruptures the bag of holding and would follow the bag of holdings own rules:
"If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane."
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jul 25, 2021So if your character uses Reduce on a character that weighs 80 lbs or less, you can combo it with mage hand to make them fly... And it says you have to see your target. That includes you, if I'm correct.
Flying without Fly.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Aug 3, 2021Cast it on an ancient red dragon and see what happens.