Level
3rd
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Transmutation
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Buff
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
* - (a shaving of licorice root)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 16, 2018Ahh, so no casting a second spell it looks like
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 22, 2018I just wish I could use it on multiple targets at a higher level.
Also, when it says "Attack (one weapon attack only)" is it saying that you can only use one attack action, however many multiple-attacks it is but not an extra off-hand attack? Or only that you get a single slash or stabbing or bludgeoning?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 26, 2018After a bunch of scouring, it looks like the official word is that it's a brand new attack action, but it can't trigger 'Extra Attack' abilities like the fighter's/monks where you'd get more than one strike.They're the kind that are usually phrased like "... you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. "
However, it does trigger abilities like Horde Breaker or Dread Ambusher, that give you an additional attack when an attack action is used. These are usually phrased like "...you can make one additional weapon attack" or "...you can make another attack" etc.
Hope that helps.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 3, 2019I Think with that One Sourcerer Thing you can keep it on 2 targets if you spend the points
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 30, 2019You can cast it on two targets if you are sorcerer and have twinned spell option in you metamagic ability.
Twinned Spell
When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 28, 2019Does the 'advantage on Dexterity saving throws' include the 'dexterity check to determine their place in the initiative order'? PHB pg. 189
It strikes me as a weird oversight if not
Surely this is one of the most important instances where acting more quickly than others would be of most value?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 5, 2019That is a Dex check not a saving throw
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 9, 2019How do you track this if someone else casts it on you. If you're a barbarian or monk that usually doesn't use such spells, but a wizard casts it on you or you use an item, how do you add it to your character to track it?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 16, 2019I was going to say add it as a condition hasted but that doesn't exist so the answer is poorly
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 19, 2019This is where having the spell caster write out the effects of their spells comes in handy. My bard casted spells like this a lot and would write up cards to hand to players who they cast it on. It worked pretty well! Hopefully dnd beyond adds something later on to keep track on their website.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 20, 2019-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 1, 2019I read that this lets you sneak attack again with the extra attack on a forum, but i can't see where or why it would let you do that.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 13, 2019According to Sage Advice you can only get one Sneak Attack per turn. You get an extra action on your turn, which is the same turn, so only one sneak attack.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 13, 2019I have druid with some level 3 wizard. Can I cast haste on myself and then use wild shape? Would the haste work?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 23, 2019Well haste is a level 3 spell meaning you need 5 levels in wizard to be able to cast it as explained on the wizard table in the PHB. However, assuming you can cast haste, you still wouldn't be able to use another action to do anything except exactly what it says you can do on that turn.
What you want to do seems to be cast haste on yourself, turn into a wild shape animal, then attack. You can do this but only if you are a circle of the moon druid. You'll use your normal action to cast haste, your bonus action to turn into a bear or whatever, then use your haste action to attack. You can concentrate on a spell while in wild shape form so there is no issue there. What I am not sure about is what happens when it's your next turn. If your wild shape has the multi-attack feature, does it use all of its attacks twice? Just one? Not sure how this should be ruled. Probably just one extra attack but honestly this is a weird case.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 15, 2020gotta go fast
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 9, 2020Artificers get this. "I invented a 30 foot syringe, for all your self-medicating needs!"
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 1, 2020Isnt dread ambusher first attack only?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 12, 2020You need to be a bit tricky. Attack with the New Action from Haste, get a sneak Attack. Use Your normal Action to ready an Action, attacking the opponent again at some point before they act- since it's Not Your turn by then anymore, "Once a turn" is statisfied and you can sneak Attack again.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 16, 2020Ooh, this is good. You're some kind of genius.