For the duration, the spell enlarges or reduces a creature or an object you can see within range (see the chosen effect below). A targeted object must be neither worn nor carried. If the target is an unwilling creature, it can make a Constitution saving throw. On a successful save, the spell has no effect.
Everything that a targeted creature is wearing and carrying changes size with it. Any item it drops returns to normal size at once. A thrown weapon or piece of ammunition returns to normal size immediately after it hits or misses a target.
Enlarge. The target’s size increases by one category—from Medium to Large, for example. The target also has Advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target’s attacks with its enlarged weapons or Unarmed Strikes deal an extra 1d4 damage on a hit.
Reduce. The target’s size decreases by one category—from Medium to Small, for example. The target also has Disadvantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target’s attacks with its reduced weapons or Unarmed Strikes deal 1d4 less damage on a hit (this can’t reduce the damage below 1).
* - (a pinch of powdered iron)
no longer affects the weight of the target? That is a bit of a downgrade...
On the plus side, at 1/8th your normal density you'll be able to safely go swimming in full plate armor.
I know the 2014 version didn't do this either, but why would Enlarge (from Medium to Large) not change your Reach with a Weapon?
I know the rules for Melee Attacks state 5ft, but that is because there are no playable Species that are bigger than Medium.
Wouldn't a 'Large' creature typically have a reach of 10ft?
I really wish they had tried to address more clearly how the spell affects objects. I've always found that to be a mess. It's often messy on doors, locks, chests, traps, ships or portions thereof, falling objects, etc. And now, with no adjustment to weight, it's just strange to think about what's really going on.
Still trying to figure out how people would rule placing an enlarged band around the head/neck of a creature and then dropping the spell. Does the creatures head pop? Does the creature start suffocating? Does the band now stay permanently enlarged? Does the band break? Does the whole of reality collapse in on itself? What is the answer???
A reach of 10 feet is more commonly associated to Huge or larger creatures (like giants). Large creatures with a reach of 10 feet is not common.
In the 2014 version, it is indicated that "If there isn't enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available". I am not sure why it was removed but it effectively prevented an enlarged creature from getting squeezed, choked or otherwise physically limited upon casting.
Of course, after the casting, the creature has to deal with its new size (in both versions of the spell).
When it says, "A thrown weapon or piece of ammunition returns to normal size immediately after it hits or misses a target", does that mean it deals the increased damage or the damage it would normally do?
I read this as meaning that it would shrink immediately after it does damage or fails to do damage, so it would do the enhanced damage if it hits.
Coolio
Up to the DM. I'd rule the item can't be worn because the spell says "A targeted object must be neither worn nor carried." You could interpret that as meaning it can't be worn at the time of casting, but it's the best indication of how the designers intended the spell to handle all worn items.
Does this have any extra effect on Carrying Capacity?
Overall its determined on Strength Score and having Advantage to checks and Saving Throws does not affect total weight carried or push.
Or should we just take the details from Carrying Capacity rules in PHB where Medium is STR Score x 15, but Large is STR score x30 where Str is not changed just the multiplier?
So a Medium size PC with a Strength score of 15 has a max Carrying Capacity of 225 lbs.
But the same PC Enlarged to Large size now has a max Carrying Capacity of 450 lbs.
Am i doing the math and interpretation right?
Carrying capacity is based on Strength score and Size. This spell doesn't change the target's Strength score, but it does change its Size, so it can change its carrying capacity.
(It wouldn't change the carrying capacity of a Medium creature becoming Small, or vice versa, because they share the same carrying capacity formula.)
Your math is correct.
This is a good example of laziness from WotC.
The spell no longer changes your size RAW because... it changes your size category but fails to state how your size changes.
This means a mean DM could say you change to precisely 3'11'' but retain your mass going from Medium to Small, or that going from Medium to Large has a 7'11'' goliath grow... 1 inch to 8'.
WotC creating spells with lazy wording like this is disgusting considering the price charged for the book and the fact 2014 was clear on the subject.
DM is also free to decide that a 100lb 5' 6'' medium creature now weighs 800lbs but only becomes 8' and then assigning them disadvantage on dexterity saves just because of the absurd laziness of WotC.
dont exactly know if this works but fun idea!
shrink a mid-size rock to pebble size, have a friend cast magic stone, hand it to the barbarian, have them throw it as hard as they can, and just before it hits the target, drop concentration and then enlarge it, the rock becomes 1/8th its original size when shrunk, then returns to normal size with the same velocity, then its weight is multiplied by 8. which means, while it has the same velocity as a pebble, meaning, it would logically (my math might be wrong here) do 16x the damage of the normal pebble, +the magic stone damage, bonus points if you have a buddy enlarge the dude throwing it.
If you cast this on a creature like a horse that is mounted by a player, since the horse is carrying the player, does the players size change as well? It seems like the spell probably wasn't intended to have that kind of effect but the text does technically say "Everything that a targeted creature is wearing and carrying changes size with it."
No, it doesn't. The word "carrying" in this context is meant to refer to items and equipment, not a mounted rider.
It's a neat idea, but it does not work under the actual rules of D&D. Magic Stone has a specific amount of damage it does on a hit, which doesn't include any variation based on how heavy the projectile is; in fact, in general D&D does not have any rules about thrown weapons dealing more damage the heavier they are.
oh man.
thanks!