I initially put this under 2024 players handbook. But it not really about the 2024 handbook, so I deleted it there.
There is a tag "Consumable" that is applied to some items in Dnd Beyond. This tag isn't from the book and is not included in the rules glossary. It doesn't seem to be applied in a uniform manor. 1) It is on Basic Poison. Basic Poison is applied to weapons. It isn't drunk like a potion. 2) It is not applied to things like Arrows or Bolts. These items are single use. 3) It is applied to Rations. Rations can be eaten. 4) It is not applied to the Potion of Healing. 5) It is on Alchemist's Fire. 6) It is not on Antitoxin. 7) It is not on Acid. 8) Oil is not. 9) Perfume is consumable.
It isn't clear if what consumable is supposed to mean. Does it mean that it has a single use? That it is eaten or drunk? Some of the items above likely shouldn't be considered consumable. A person wouldn't normally apply 4 oz of perfume to themselves. Or use 4 oz of poison on a weapon. Alchemist Fire and Acid are both thrown at creatures, but one is consumable and the other is not.
Since I do a lot of Adventurers League gaming, I use their definition of Consumables in general. "Consumable items include magic ammunition and any non-attunement magic item that isn’t rechargeable and must be consumed if used (potions, scrolls, etc.); this includes single-use items (elemental gem, etc.)." (Adventurers League Player's Guide 15.1).
You're absolutely right about that DDB consumable tag. It is inconsistent and frustrating. I've been searching the catalog for consumables from given sources (a restriction for DMsGuild Adventurers League authors), and I discovered that Spellwrought Tattoo fits the League definition but does not have the Consumable tag in D&D Beyond.
I'd understand if it was a difference between the rules as written and the separate (more restrictive) Adventurers League rules. Based on your post here, that doesn't seem to be the case. Now, my best guess is that the tag has something to do with how and where items are displayed on the character sheet and how they interact with the other elements there.
In the meantime, I've wasted my afternoon researching an issue that turns out to be lack of standards on the part of D&D Beyond. If it was just this once, I wouldn't be posting about it, but I'm afraid this lack of accuracy seems to be the norm. I'm questioning why I still pay for the service.
Thanks for posting your observations. I'm frustrated as well, but it is comforting to hear that I'm not the only one.
I initially put this under 2024 players handbook. But it not really about the 2024 handbook, so I deleted it there.
There is a tag "Consumable" that is applied to some items in Dnd Beyond. This tag isn't from the book and is not included in the rules glossary. It doesn't seem to be applied in a uniform manor. 1) It is on Basic Poison. Basic Poison is applied to weapons. It isn't drunk like a potion. 2) It is not applied to things like Arrows or Bolts. These items are single use. 3) It is applied to Rations. Rations can be eaten. 4) It is not applied to the Potion of Healing. 5) It is on Alchemist's Fire. 6) It is not on Antitoxin. 7) It is not on Acid. 8) Oil is not. 9) Perfume is consumable.
It isn't clear if what consumable is supposed to mean. Does it mean that it has a single use? That it is eaten or drunk? Some of the items above likely shouldn't be considered consumable. A person wouldn't normally apply 4 oz of perfume to themselves. Or use 4 oz of poison on a weapon. Alchemist Fire and Acid are both thrown at creatures, but one is consumable and the other is not.
Since I do a lot of Adventurers League gaming, I use their definition of Consumables in general. "Consumable items include magic ammunition and any non-attunement magic item that isn’t rechargeable and must be consumed if used (potions, scrolls, etc.); this includes single-use items (elemental gem, etc.)." (Adventurers League Player's Guide 15.1).
You're absolutely right about that DDB consumable tag. It is inconsistent and frustrating. I've been searching the catalog for consumables from given sources (a restriction for DMsGuild Adventurers League authors), and I discovered that Spellwrought Tattoo fits the League definition but does not have the Consumable tag in D&D Beyond.
I'd understand if it was a difference between the rules as written and the separate (more restrictive) Adventurers League rules. Based on your post here, that doesn't seem to be the case. Now, my best guess is that the tag has something to do with how and where items are displayed on the character sheet and how they interact with the other elements there.
In the meantime, I've wasted my afternoon researching an issue that turns out to be lack of standards on the part of D&D Beyond. If it was just this once, I wouldn't be posting about it, but I'm afraid this lack of accuracy seems to be the norm. I'm questioning why I still pay for the service.
Thanks for posting your observations. I'm frustrated as well, but it is comforting to hear that I'm not the only one.