Hey, just thought of a possible combo for an Armorer Artificer with the Defender armor type. It is a bit strange RAW, and is probably not a huge boost, but I was wondering if you (as a level 14 armorer artificer) could combine Arcane Propulsion Armor, Thunder Gauntlets, and either Radiant/Thrown or Enhanced Weapon to do the following:
Be a +1 or +2 magic weapon (due to Radiant or Enhanced Weapon)
Gaining all other possible benefits of the infusion (charges, etc)
Deal 1d8 force damage
Use your Intelligence modifier for attack and damage rolls
Gain all the other benefits of Arcane Propulsion Armor (replacing lost limbs, +5 to speed, etc)
Gain the additional benefit of Thunder Gauntlets (giving hit creature disadvantage on attack rolls against non-you targets for a round)
I'm assuming all of these work together and be combined into some seriously powerful and useful thunder gauntlets, but if any specific benefit of this combo doesn't work, just say which one doesn't. If this combo and all of its benefits do work, that is very good combination. If not, it's still a pretty good combo, but not as extremely useful as if it all did work together.
Any thoughts on the feasibility/effectiveness of this combination or if it works?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
You can, because the level 9 Armorer feature (Armorer Modifications) lets you separate your armor into 4 different parts, the Armor (which is the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion), boots, helmet, and the armor's special weapon. You're infusing two separate things, the gauntlets with Enhanced/Returning/Radiant Weapon and the Armor with Arcane Propulsion Armor. For you, they count as separate items and the gauntlets are not magical until you infuse it with Enhanced/Returning/Radiant Weapon.
That specific rule doesn't stop this combo from working.
Arcane Propulsion Armor (god ******* damnit Wizards, STOP RUINING GOOD THINGS) creates a special weapon, the APA gauntlet.
Guardian-mode power armor also creates a special weapon, the Thunder Gauntlet.
These two are separate weapons and do not otherwise interact - you are effectively wearing four gauntlets at once, despite that making no god damned sense. A DM may rule that the APA(rmor) amplifies the effects of the Guardian's Thunder Gauntlets, but this feels a lot like a very DM-dependent situation overall.
You can, because the level 9 Armorer feature (Armorer Modifications) lets you separate your armor into 4 different parts, the Armor (which is the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion), boots, helmet, and the armor's special weapon. You're infusing two separate things, the gauntlets with Enhanced/Returning/Radiant Weapon and the Armor with Arcane Propulsion Armor. For you, they count as separate items and the gauntlets are not magical until you infuse it with Enhanced/Returning/Radiant Weapon.
That specific rule doesn't stop this combo from working.
Ahh ok.....I guess that seems to work
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“I will take responsibility for what I have done. [...] If must fall, I will rise each time a better man.” ― Brandon Sanderson, Oathbringer.
Arcane Propulsion Armor (god ******* damnit Wizards, STOP RUINING GOOD THINGS) creates a special weapon, the APA gauntlet.
Guardian-mode power armor also creates a special weapon, the Thunder Gauntlet.
These two are separate weapons and do not otherwise interact - you are effectively wearing four gauntlets at once, despite that making no god damned sense. A DM may rule that the APA(rmor) amplifies the effects of the Guardian's Thunder Gauntlets, but this feels a lot like a very DM-dependent situation overall.
I understand that at first appearance, but the wording in the features seems to be a bit open ended on that front. Here's what Arcane Propulsion Armor says on the matter:
Arcane Propulsion Armor
/snip
The armor includes gauntlets, each of which is a magic melee weapon that can be wielded only when the hand is holding nothing. The wearer is proficient with the gauntlets, and each one deals 1d8 force damage on a hit and has the thrown property, with a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. When thrown, the gauntlet detaches and flies at the attack’s target, then immediately returns to the wearer and reattaches.
/snip
Relevant Armorer Text:
Armor Model
/snip
Each model includes a special weapon. When you attack with that weapon, you can add your Intelligence modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, to the attack and damage rolls.
/snip
Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’t holding anything in it, and it deals 1d8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet has disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the start of your next turn, as the armor magically emits a distracting pulse when the creature attacks someone else.
/snip
So, both of them say "include," but it isn't clear if that means it excludes the other gauntlets, or if its features are limited to its benefits. It also isn't really clear if the Power Armor's Gauntlets can be removed, because if they can, you can then create them with the Arcane Propulsion Armor, and then it may gain the benefits of Thunder Gauntlets. It's up to DM interpretation, but I'm currently not sure if this is intended to work together, RAW or RAI.
Side Discovery:
I just realized, you can't infuse the gauntlets of the Arcane Propulsion Armor after it is magical, but nothing about RAW prevents you from infusing the Arcane Propulsion Armor's gauntlets before you infuse the armor with the infusion to get its benefits. This may seem like rules-lawyering and I'm sure lots of DMs won't allow it, but I personally will be allowing this.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Okay, just found another strange combo that could work if this does combine. The Dual Wielder feat lets you use [Tooltip Not Found] if you are wielding weapons that don't have the light property, which allows you to dual wield the gauntlets of the Arcane Propulsion Armor, as they specify that you "wield" them.
So, if the combo proposed in this thread does work, then you can make two attacks as an action with Thunder Gauntlets against any creature within 20/60 feet of you, and another attack as a bonus action. (If you multiclass into bladesinger for 6 levels, you can replace one of the action's attacks with Booming Blade Thunder Gauntlets, and cast Haste on yourself for another Booming Blade Thunder Gauntlet attack.)
Any thoughts?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
You can do this combination. Also, where does it say you can’t infuse the same item twice?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All hail the great and mighty platypus.
Resisting is simply standing in front of the tide and pushing at it. Even if you endure at first, you will eventually break down. Adapting, by contrast, is turning into a fish.
-me
Rangers are not underpowered. They’re just exploration-oriented.
You can't infuse a magic item, and anything you infuse is a magic item. Thus, you can't infuse the same item twice.
I see.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All hail the great and mighty platypus.
Resisting is simply standing in front of the tide and pushing at it. Even if you endure at first, you will eventually break down. Adapting, by contrast, is turning into a fish.
-me
Rangers are not underpowered. They’re just exploration-oriented.
Interesting. You *might* be able to have Thunder Propulsion Gauntlets, RAW, which do 1d8 force + 1d8+Int thunder damage and inflict disadvantage on targets other than you. However, because the propulsion gauntlets count as magical, you can’t apply Enhanced Weapon, so you’ll sacrifice some accuracy for extra damage.
(Also I don’t think Haste lets you cast a cantrip.)
I think that you'd have to choose whether to use the Thunder Gauntlet or the Propulsion Gauntlet to attack with, rather than being able to just stack the effects.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Would the prosthetic Arcane Propulsion Arm infusion (lv14) stack with thunder gauntlets? since it's an item, not armor, you get 1d8 force+1d8 thunder + int. + 1 or 2 (depending on what weapon infusion is on gauntlets). All you'd have to do is saw your arm off...
No, it would not stack. You can choose one or the other to attack with, you don't get to use both at the same time any more than you could Sovereign Glue a Holy Avenger to a Vorpal Sword and say that you get the effects of both that way.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No, you need to show where anywhere in the rules there's something that says you can combine two things that function as weapon attacks into a single attack roll. Fifth Edition's rules work under the principle that things that are allowed are explicitly stated. If the rules don't say that you can do it, then you can't.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No, you need to show where anywhere in the rules there's something that says you can combine two things that function as weapon attacks into a single attack roll. Fifth Edition's rules work under the principle that things that are allowed are explicitly stated. If the rules don't say that you can do it, then you can't.
The specific allowance is in the details of the fact that they don't actually contradict each other or actually interfere with each other. At least by RaW. Arcane Propulsion allows for the kind of attack. Thunder Gauntlets says a kind of damage and an additional affect that gets applied to those that get hit. You have two base alterations to the core rules that do not in fact anywhere state that they do not work together and since they do not state that or interfere with each other creating an issue of specificity and which one might be more specific to take precedence that says by the explicit nature of both of the specific allowances the two features make can thus work together.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey, just thought of a possible combo for an Armorer Artificer with the Defender armor type. It is a bit strange RAW, and is probably not a huge boost, but I was wondering if you (as a level 14 armorer artificer) could combine Arcane Propulsion Armor, Thunder Gauntlets, and either Radiant/Thrown or Enhanced Weapon to do the following:
I'm assuming all of these work together and be combined into some seriously powerful and useful thunder gauntlets, but if any specific benefit of this combo doesn't work, just say which one doesn't. If this combo and all of its benefits do work, that is very good combination. If not, it's still a pretty good combo, but not as extremely useful as if it all did work together.
Any thoughts on the feasibility/effectiveness of this combination or if it works?
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
By RAW, You cant have enchanced/returning weapon on arcane propulsion armour.
“I will take responsibility for what I have done. [...] If must fall, I will rise each time a better man.” ― Brandon Sanderson, Oathbringer.
You can, because the level 9 Armorer feature (Armorer Modifications) lets you separate your armor into 4 different parts, the Armor (which is the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion), boots, helmet, and the armor's special weapon. You're infusing two separate things, the gauntlets with Enhanced/Returning/Radiant Weapon and the Armor with Arcane Propulsion Armor. For you, they count as separate items and the gauntlets are not magical until you infuse it with Enhanced/Returning/Radiant Weapon.
That specific rule doesn't stop this combo from working.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
It feels like, RAW?
Arcane Propulsion Armor (god ******* damnit Wizards, STOP RUINING GOOD THINGS) creates a special weapon, the APA gauntlet.
Guardian-mode power armor also creates a special weapon, the Thunder Gauntlet.
These two are separate weapons and do not otherwise interact - you are effectively wearing four gauntlets at once, despite that making no god damned sense. A DM may rule that the APA(rmor) amplifies the effects of the Guardian's Thunder Gauntlets, but this feels a lot like a very DM-dependent situation overall.
Please do not contact or message me.
Ahh ok.....I guess that seems to work
“I will take responsibility for what I have done. [...] If must fall, I will rise each time a better man.” ― Brandon Sanderson, Oathbringer.
I understand that at first appearance, but the wording in the features seems to be a bit open ended on that front. Here's what Arcane Propulsion Armor says on the matter:
Relevant Armorer Text:
So, both of them say "include," but it isn't clear if that means it excludes the other gauntlets, or if its features are limited to its benefits. It also isn't really clear if the Power Armor's Gauntlets can be removed, because if they can, you can then create them with the Arcane Propulsion Armor, and then it may gain the benefits of Thunder Gauntlets. It's up to DM interpretation, but I'm currently not sure if this is intended to work together, RAW or RAI.
Side Discovery:
I just realized, you can't infuse the gauntlets of the Arcane Propulsion Armor after it is magical, but nothing about RAW prevents you from infusing the Arcane Propulsion Armor's gauntlets before you infuse the armor with the infusion to get its benefits. This may seem like rules-lawyering and I'm sure lots of DMs won't allow it, but I personally will be allowing this.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Okay, just found another strange combo that could work if this does combine. The Dual Wielder feat lets you use [Tooltip Not Found] if you are wielding weapons that don't have the light property, which allows you to dual wield the gauntlets of the Arcane Propulsion Armor, as they specify that you "wield" them.
So, if the combo proposed in this thread does work, then you can make two attacks as an action with Thunder Gauntlets against any creature within 20/60 feet of you, and another attack as a bonus action. (If you multiclass into bladesinger for 6 levels, you can replace one of the action's attacks with Booming Blade Thunder Gauntlets, and cast Haste on yourself for another Booming Blade Thunder Gauntlet attack.)
Any thoughts?
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
You can do this combination. Also, where does it say you can’t infuse the same item twice?
All hail the great and mighty platypus.
Resisting is simply standing in front of the tide and pushing at it. Even if you endure at first, you will eventually break down. Adapting, by contrast, is turning into a fish.
-me
Rangers are not underpowered. They’re just exploration-oriented.
My homebrew setting: https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/d-d-beyond-general/story-lore/94809-wakai-a-setting-inspired-by-japanese-folklore-and
This account is kinda old and I haven’t used it in a while
You can't infuse a magic item, and anything you infuse is a magic item. Thus, you can't infuse the same item twice.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
I see.
All hail the great and mighty platypus.
Resisting is simply standing in front of the tide and pushing at it. Even if you endure at first, you will eventually break down. Adapting, by contrast, is turning into a fish.
-me
Rangers are not underpowered. They’re just exploration-oriented.
My homebrew setting: https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/d-d-beyond-general/story-lore/94809-wakai-a-setting-inspired-by-japanese-folklore-and
This account is kinda old and I haven’t used it in a while
i have 1 question.
Arcane Propulsion Armor Gauntlet are considared magical.
but when equiped to a baatlesmith it still using strenght.
it can use intelect
Yes, as the gauntlets are "magical", thus letting them use Intelligence for attack and damage rolls.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
That's an issue with DDB.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Interesting. You *might* be able to have Thunder Propulsion Gauntlets, RAW, which do 1d8 force + 1d8+Int thunder damage and inflict disadvantage on targets other than you. However, because the propulsion gauntlets count as magical, you can’t apply Enhanced Weapon, so you’ll sacrifice some accuracy for extra damage.
(Also I don’t think Haste lets you cast a cantrip.)
I think that you'd have to choose whether to use the Thunder Gauntlet or the Propulsion Gauntlet to attack with, rather than being able to just stack the effects.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Would the prosthetic Arcane Propulsion Arm infusion (lv14) stack with thunder gauntlets? since it's an item, not armor, you get 1d8 force+1d8 thunder + int. + 1 or 2 (depending on what weapon infusion is on gauntlets). All you'd have to do is saw your arm off...
I want to play a game.....
No, it would not stack. You can choose one or the other to attack with, you don't get to use both at the same time any more than you could Sovereign Glue a Holy Avenger to a Vorpal Sword and say that you get the effects of both that way.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No, the Thunder Gauntlet activates when you make an attack with the Thunder Gauntlet.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
No, you need to show where anywhere in the rules there's something that says you can combine two things that function as weapon attacks into a single attack roll. Fifth Edition's rules work under the principle that things that are allowed are explicitly stated. If the rules don't say that you can do it, then you can't.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
The specific allowance is in the details of the fact that they don't actually contradict each other or actually interfere with each other. At least by RaW. Arcane Propulsion allows for the kind of attack. Thunder Gauntlets says a kind of damage and an additional affect that gets applied to those that get hit. You have two base alterations to the core rules that do not in fact anywhere state that they do not work together and since they do not state that or interfere with each other creating an issue of specificity and which one might be more specific to take precedence that says by the explicit nature of both of the specific allowances the two features make can thus work together.