What is the ruling on activating separate and distinct Runes? Could I activate Rune 'A' on my first Bonus Action and then activate Rune 'B' on my second turn's Bonus Action?
I cannot seem to find an explicit preclusion that would prohibit using separate Runes nor a rule that states the more recent casting would take priority over the first. Is it like running a Concentration spell after a previous Concentration spell where the first Rune dissipates or would you conceivably be able to do Hill Rune Turn 1 and Frost Rune on Turn 2 to get a staggering minute of bonuses?
It would seem that in the interest of balance and not buffing for 10 rounds on top of using Giant's Might that stacking would not be the case, but I was looking for some clarity or an explicit paragraph that says as such.
I think you answered your own question by not finding any. There is nothing in the rules that prevent using multiple runes, so there isn't. The same is appliable to the concentration question. If it does not say you have to concentrate, you don't have to.
Thanks Grizz! I appreciate the vote of confidence and support! I just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something/breaking the game unnecessarily. I just tried looking for some explicit statement on it (even would have settled for something implied) to make sure I was playing it right.
All the runes can be activated separate from each other on subsequent turns and they don't "overwrite." It would be pretty lackluster if they did!
There's a rule for a few subclass features in the game that will specify if they don't. The wording is something like "as if concentrating on a spell." If you see that, you can't do anything else that has that text, or anything else that requires concentration to work.
Except for Hill Rune, I don't understand the 'activation as a bonus action' here. Did I miss it in TCoE? I thought that once per long rest you could just use Stone or Cloud as a reaction, if you had that available. And once you use that reaction, that rune was gone until you long rested again. Hill has a duration of 1 minute, but the others don't have duration times activated during a bonus action, do they? They have a passive until you use the active part.
Except for Hill Rune, I don't understand the 'activation as a bonus action' here. Did I miss it in TCoE? I thought that once per long rest you could just use Stone or Cloud as a reaction, if you had that available. And once you use that reaction, that rune was gone until you long rested again. Hill has a duration of 1 minute, but the others don't have duration times activated during a bonus action, do they? They have a passive until you use the active part.
Only certain runes have bonus action abilities, not all of them. The bonus action runes give a buff, like the hill rune.
You can stack different rune buffs on different bonus actions - they don't overwrite each other if you do that.
What is the ruling on activating separate and distinct Runes? Could I activate Rune 'A' on my first Bonus Action and then activate Rune 'B' on my second turn's Bonus Action?
I cannot seem to find an explicit preclusion that would prohibit using separate Runes nor a rule that states the more recent casting would take priority over the first. Is it like running a Concentration spell after a previous Concentration spell where the first Rune dissipates or would you conceivably be able to do Hill Rune Turn 1 and Frost Rune on Turn 2 to get a staggering minute of bonuses?
It would seem that in the interest of balance and not buffing for 10 rounds on top of using Giant's Might that stacking would not be the case, but I was looking for some clarity or an explicit paragraph that says as such.
Thank you!!
I think you answered your own question by not finding any. There is nothing in the rules that prevent using multiple runes, so there isn't. The same is appliable to the concentration question. If it does not say you have to concentrate, you don't have to.
Thanks Grizz! I appreciate the vote of confidence and support! I just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something/breaking the game unnecessarily. I just tried looking for some explicit statement on it (even would have settled for something implied) to make sure I was playing it right.
All the runes can be activated separate from each other on subsequent turns and they don't "overwrite." It would be pretty lackluster if they did!
There's a rule for a few subclass features in the game that will specify if they don't. The wording is something like "as if concentrating on a spell." If you see that, you can't do anything else that has that text, or anything else that requires concentration to work.
Except for Hill Rune, I don't understand the 'activation as a bonus action' here. Did I miss it in TCoE? I thought that once per long rest you could just use Stone or Cloud as a reaction, if you had that available. And once you use that reaction, that rune was gone until you long rested again. Hill has a duration of 1 minute, but the others don't have duration times activated during a bonus action, do they? They have a passive until you use the active part.
Only certain runes have bonus action abilities, not all of them. The bonus action runes give a buff, like the hill rune.
You can stack different rune buffs on different bonus actions - they don't overwrite each other if you do that.
Thanks.