If the Echo Knight becomes disarmed, either by force or voluntarily, does the previously summoned Echo become disarmed as well?
Say the Knight is engaged with one enemy and the Echo with another, and the Knight either throws his weapon or loses it to an enemy, can the Echo continue attacking with the echo weapon? I would say yes, since the weapon was manifested at the same time as the echo. But if the Echo is summoned while the Knight is disarmed, it remains disarmed even if the Knight recovers their weapon, until such time it is summoned while the Knight is armed. Similarly, If the Knight is polymorphed, the previously summoned Echo would retain the Knight's original shape, but an Enlarged Knight could summon an Enlarged Echo.
I know there will be several schools of thought on this. Personally, I don't like the "echo is a portal that the Knight attacks through" mentality. I, and my DM, think of the Echo as an object made of Hard Light, because that rationalizes the concept that it is an "image" that "occupies its space." And if the Echo is the summoned potentiality from a different timeline, well in that timeline the Knight is not disarmed.
That brings up yet another question. Since it's an object, can an Echo even be disarmed by an enemy?
You can certainly play it as you and your DM would like. Everyone's model for how the Echo works or appears can be different. But I believe, by RAW, it is not the Echo attacking, but rather the Knight attacking through the Echo. Thus if the Knight has been disarmed, it cannot attack (through the Echo or otherwise) with its sword for example.
However, let's assume your model, where the Echo's weapon is independent of what the Knight is wielding. Can a Knight then switch weapons? Presumably the Echo will maintain the weapon it had when manifested. So can an Echo use a sword and the Knight use a bow (or vise versa) in the same round? What if each weapon is magical and has different properties?
If you want to go down this path, I don't see too many major balance issues, though others might?
Currently in the rules, there is nothing about the being able to disarm an Echo. It is probably like trying to disarm a Spiritual Weapon. However, if something an Echo carries can be dropped or taken away, can other things intentionally be left behind or taken? That also brings up the question on if an Echo can draw a weapon that the Knight might not be holding when the Echo is manifested.
If you go further down the route of an Echo being independent and from another timeline, can it still act and attack if the Knight is restrainted or worse? What if the Knight has other effects or disadvantages placed upon it? This could be unbalancing if an Echo can't be impeded even if the Knight is.
I like the model that an Echo is in fact an alternate version of the Knight. But that brings up all kinds of questions like why can't the Echo use skills or take actions other than do attacks. It would be fun to play it out, but the rules are probably written the way they are (however poorly) to avoid having two 'characters' in play.
You can certainly play it as you and your DM would like. Everyone's model for how the Echo works or appears can be different. But I believe, by RAW, it is not the Echo attacking, but rather the Knight attacking through the Echo. Thus if the Knight has been disarmed, it cannot attack (through the Echo or otherwise) with its sword for example.
However, let's assume your model, where the Echo's weapon is independent of what the Knight is wielding. Can a Knight then switch weapons? Presumably the Echo will maintain the weapon it had when manifested. So can an Echo use a sword and the Knight use a bow (or vise versa) in the same round? What if each weapon is magical and has different properties?
If you want to go down this path, I don't see too many major balance issues, though others might?
Currently in the rules, there is nothing about the being able to disarm an Echo. It is probably like trying to disarm a Spiritual Weapon. However, if something an Echo carries can be dropped or taken away, can other things intentionally be left behind or taken? That also brings up the question on if an Echo can draw a weapon that the Knight might not be holding when the Echo is manifested.
If you go further down the route of an Echo being independent and from another timeline, can it still act and attack if the Knight is restraint or worse? What if the Knight has other effects or disadvantages placed upon it? This could be unbalancing if an Echo can't be impeded even if the Knight is.
I like the model that an Echo is in fact an alternate version of the Knight. But that brings up all kinds of questions like why can't the Echo use skills or take actions other than do attacks. It would be fun to play it out, but the rules are probably written the way they are (however poorly) to avoid having two 'characters' in play.
+1 to this. As far as balance issues, the largest one I can see would be swapping from sword and shield to a heavy 2 handed weapon. It essentially adds +2 AC to all GWM/PAM fighters, which is a pretty huge buff to an already powerful build. It gets even worse if you get your hands on a magical shield.
There are a lot of abuses that can start creeping in when you start treating the echo like its own entity. All attacks are made by the Knight, which means they are dependent on the Knight's gear.
I'm fine with slightly adapting rules to help player immersion for a specific table of trusted players, but there is an understanding that the adapted rules can't be abused to gain mechanical advantages. If players start trying to exploit the loopholes that open up from the rule change, we go straight back to RAW.
You can certainly play it as you and your DM would like. Everyone's model for how the Echo works or appears can be different. But I believe, by RAW, it is not the Echo attacking, but rather the Knight attacking through the Echo. Thus if the Knight has been disarmed, it cannot attack (through the Echo or otherwise) with its sword for example.
However, let's assume your model, where the Echo's weapon is independent of what the Knight is wielding. Can a Knight then switch weapons? Presumably the Echo will maintain the weapon it had when manifested. So can an Echo use a sword and the Knight use a bow (or vise versa) in the same round? What if each weapon is magical and has different properties?
If you want to go down this path, I don't see too many major balance issues, though others might?
Currently in the rules, there is nothing about the being able to disarm an Echo. It is probably like trying to disarm a Spiritual Weapon. However, if something an Echo carries can be dropped or taken away, can other things intentionally be left behind or taken? That also brings up the question on if an Echo can draw a weapon that the Knight might not be holding when the Echo is manifested.
If you go further down the route of an Echo being independent and from another timeline, can it still act and attack if the Knight is restrainted or worse? What if the Knight has other effects or disadvantages placed upon it? This could be unbalancing if an Echo can't be impeded even if the Knight is.
I like the model that an Echo is in fact an alternate version of the Knight. But that brings up all kinds of questions like why can't the Echo use skills or take actions other than do attacks. It would be fun to play it out, but the rules are probably written the way they are (however poorly) to avoid having two 'characters' in play.
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
If grappled or restrained, you have 0 move. Therefore can't use 15ft of movement to escape. You can't escape grapples this way.
I see it as a portal you have to step through. So if you're grappled, you can't step to the new position.
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
If grappled or restrained, you have 0 move. Therefore can't use 15ft of movement to escape. You can't escape grapples this way.
I see it as a portal you have to step through. So if you're grappled, you can't step to the new position.
Ah, I suppose you're right about that. However, a restrained knight can still move their Echo to attack the grappler, since its movement is independent of the Knight's and Crawford has stated that the Echo doesn't have a speed.
So I've been thinking about the 18th level Legion of One ability, because I'm contemplating multiclassing my Knight. While the ability to regain an Unleash Incarnation at the start of battle is nice, what is the real advantage of having 2 Echoes out? I suppose you can engage 3 targets simultaneously, but you're still limited to the Knight's number of attacks and that starts stretching them thin. Attacking the same target is pointless, since they can't give flanking and there is no advantage/detriment to attacking with the Knight versus the Echo. On that point, why would the Knight even engage at all? Just send in the echoes to do all the combat and stay in the back summoning as necessary.
Also, reading through the FAQ again and the answer to Movement - Question #5 is fundamentally incorrect. I think this has been stated before, but the comma placement makes all the difference. RAW says, "If your echo is ever more than 30 feet from you at the end of your turn, it is destroyed." This means that regardless of the distance it has moved on your turn, if it is within 30' of the Knight by the end of the turn it is not destroyed. If it was intended that way, it would say, "If your echo is ever more than 30 feet from you, at the end of your turn it is destroyed."
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
If grappled or restrained, you have 0 move. Therefore can't use 15ft of movement to escape. You can't escape grapples this way.
I see it as a portal you have to step through. So if you're grappled, you can't step to the new position.
Ah, I suppose you're right about that. However, a restrained knight can still move their Echo to attack the grappler, since its movement is independent of the Knight's and Crawford has stated that the Echo doesn't have a speed.
I think if you are grappled you can't attack, as it is not the echo making an attack, it is YOU making an attack through the echo, so I think that doesn't work.
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
If grappled or restrained, you have 0 move. Therefore can't use 15ft of movement to escape. You can't escape grapples this way.
I see it as a portal you have to step through. So if you're grappled, you can't step to the new position.
Ah, I suppose you're right about that. However, a restrained knight can still move their Echo to attack the grappler, since its movement is independent of the Knight's and Crawford has stated that the Echo doesn't have a speed.
I think if you are grappled you can't attack, as it is not the echo making an attack, it is YOU making an attack through the echo, so I think that doesn't work.
You can still attack while grappled.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
If grappled or restrained, you have 0 move. Therefore can't use 15ft of movement to escape. You can't escape grapples this way.
I see it as a portal you have to step through. So if you're grappled, you can't step to the new position.
Ah, I suppose you're right about that. However, a restrained knight can still move their Echo to attack the grappler, since its movement is independent of the Knight's and Crawford has stated that the Echo doesn't have a speed.
I think if you are grappled you can't attack, as it is not the echo making an attack, it is YOU making an attack through the echo, so I think that doesn't work.
You can still attack while grappled.
That's really surprising to me, I've always pictured in my mind being grappled as having the opponent with both hands around you holding you firm. Even if your arms are not grappled (they have your torso or legs maybe), you're not really going to be able to make an effective swing with a two-handed weapon for example. Regardless, I stand corrected and surprised.
I think if you are grappled you can't attack, as it is not the echo making an attack, it is YOU making an attack through the echo, so I think that doesn't work.
I still think this is a misconception of how the Echo attacks. Nothing in writing or stated by the Devs (that I have seen) indicates the Echo is any kind of "portal" for the purposes of attacking or teleporting. In fact, RAW states that an Echo's attack originates from its space, not from the Knight's. It simply is bound to the Knight's Action Economy, so if the Knight is able to attack, so is the Echo, but the Knight doesn't physically reach through the Echo to attack.
I think if you are grappled you can't attack, as it is not the echo making an attack, it is YOU making an attack through the echo, so I think that doesn't work.
I still think this is a misconception of how the Echo attacks. Nothing in writing or stated by the Devs (that I have seen) indicates the Echo is any kind of "portal" for the purposes of attacking or teleporting. In fact, RAW states that an Echo's attack originates from its space, not from the Knight's. It simply is bound to the Knight's Action Economy, so if the Knight is able to attack, so is the Echo, but the Knight doesn't physically reach through the Echo to attack.
That's my take, anyway.
It may not actually be a portal, but that's the best way to think of it. You still have to expend ammunition if you attack at ranged. You still have to have the weapon in your hand for the echo to attack with it. If you're throwing a handaxe, you need it in your hand, and the echo is where the attack originates from. You are still making the attack, the echo is merely a way to transport it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
That's really surprising to me, I've always pictured in my mind being grappled as having the opponent with both hands around you holding you firm. Even if your arms are not grappled (they have your torso or legs maybe), you're not really going to be able to make an effective swing with a two-handed weapon for example. Regardless, I stand corrected and surprised.
You only need one arm to grapple, and it doesn't specify where you grapple them. The mistake is understandable, though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Does the Echo Avetar have the same perception altering impacts as the knight? (ie racial darkvision, the walocks Devil's sight, or the See Invisibility spell)
What (if any) skills can be done while using Echo Avetar? (ie perception, investigation, knowledge - not interacting w/ the world)
Can the knight still feel touch when using Echo Avetar? (ie party members getting his attention to "wake up")
Can the knight speak or move (with his own body) while in the Echo Avetar state? (likely with assistance since blind/deaf)
Is a concentration check required to remain in control of the Echo Avetar if the Knight takes damage (while blinded/deafened)?
If the echo is destroyed while using Echo avetar does this affect the knight in any way? (I would assume it doesn't destroy the characters consciousness since it was in the echo and that would make Echo Avetar almost useless)
Can the knight swap places with the echo between planes or over infinite distance? (scenario: step through a portal - dont like the result quickly and swap to return to the party).
Similarly does the 1000 ft limit of Echo Avetar occur on a 6 second tick (end of turn) or occur instantly? (ie walk into unknown portal with echo avetar to determine safety)
Can the knight attack object through the echo? (ie even if you cant untie the rope holding the chandelere an attack with a great axe would achieve the same goal)
FYI: The following video has a pinned comment on a youtube video and describes the spells which can target the echo - not a long list due to being a magical object (only 34 spells and some are debatable): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ClEY2skZG4
PS: (not rules as written) As a DM I would limit the echo to the same movement types in which the player has a speed and consider it more like a 1hp creature (could provoke AO or move through friendly). This avoids many of the exploitable and unusual problems of it being an object which also doesn't fit with the described lore. Clearly the designers never intended to make a flying immovable rod...
That's really surprising to me, I've always pictured in my mind being grappled as having the opponent with both hands around you holding you firm. Even if your arms are not grappled (they have your torso or legs maybe), you're not really going to be able to make an effective swing with a two-handed weapon for example. Regardless, I stand corrected and surprised.
You only need one arm to grapple, and it doesn't specify where you grapple them. The mistake is understandable, though.
grapple really is a questionable word to define what that represents then. Although the mirriam definition leaves room for that interpretation, I think the reasonable person test says if you ask someone what grapple means, 9 out of 10 of them are going to give a description that involves both of their hands, and maximal effort to restrict the opponents movement, whether through bear hug or otherwise making every effort to constrain. That's much more impactful when it comes to attacks than say "grabbing their wrist" which is what I envision with this DnD definition of grapple.
I know this is the echo knight FAQ so I'll ceast and desist, I'm just really surprised at the broad interpretation of this (by DnD rules, not you all) given the overall specificity that exists elsewhere in most of DnD rules.
When my knight kills an enemy Great Weapon Master Attack kicks in.
On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 HP with one, you can make one melee weapon attack as a bonus action.
Can that attack originate by the Echo on the following rule Manifest Echo - Attack (Special)
When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.
Each attack, implies to me that I can attack my great Weapon Master attack from my echo.
Could someone clarify that has more experience.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If the Echo Knight becomes disarmed, either by force or voluntarily, does the previously summoned Echo become disarmed as well?
Say the Knight is engaged with one enemy and the Echo with another, and the Knight either throws his weapon or loses it to an enemy, can the Echo continue attacking with the echo weapon? I would say yes, since the weapon was manifested at the same time as the echo. But if the Echo is summoned while the Knight is disarmed, it remains disarmed even if the Knight recovers their weapon, until such time it is summoned while the Knight is armed. Similarly, If the Knight is polymorphed, the previously summoned Echo would retain the Knight's original shape, but an Enlarged Knight could summon an Enlarged Echo.
I know there will be several schools of thought on this. Personally, I don't like the "echo is a portal that the Knight attacks through" mentality. I, and my DM, think of the Echo as an object made of Hard Light, because that rationalizes the concept that it is an "image" that "occupies its space." And if the Echo is the summoned potentiality from a different timeline, well in that timeline the Knight is not disarmed.
That brings up yet another question. Since it's an object, can an Echo even be disarmed by an enemy?
You can certainly play it as you and your DM would like. Everyone's model for how the Echo works or appears can be different. But I believe, by RAW, it is not the Echo attacking, but rather the Knight attacking through the Echo. Thus if the Knight has been disarmed, it cannot attack (through the Echo or otherwise) with its sword for example.
However, let's assume your model, where the Echo's weapon is independent of what the Knight is wielding. Can a Knight then switch weapons? Presumably the Echo will maintain the weapon it had when manifested. So can an Echo use a sword and the Knight use a bow (or vise versa) in the same round? What if each weapon is magical and has different properties?
If you want to go down this path, I don't see too many major balance issues, though others might?
Currently in the rules, there is nothing about the being able to disarm an Echo. It is probably like trying to disarm a Spiritual Weapon. However, if something an Echo carries can be dropped or taken away, can other things intentionally be left behind or taken? That also brings up the question on if an Echo can draw a weapon that the Knight might not be holding when the Echo is manifested.
If you go further down the route of an Echo being independent and from another timeline, can it still act and attack if the Knight is restrainted or worse? What if the Knight has other effects or disadvantages placed upon it? This could be unbalancing if an Echo can't be impeded even if the Knight is.
I like the model that an Echo is in fact an alternate version of the Knight. But that brings up all kinds of questions like why can't the Echo use skills or take actions other than do attacks. It would be fun to play it out, but the rules are probably written the way they are (however poorly) to avoid having two 'characters' in play.
Got it! Thanks!
+1 to this. As far as balance issues, the largest one I can see would be swapping from sword and shield to a heavy 2 handed weapon. It essentially adds +2 AC to all GWM/PAM fighters, which is a pretty huge buff to an already powerful build. It gets even worse if you get your hands on a magical shield.
There are a lot of abuses that can start creeping in when you start treating the echo like its own entity. All attacks are made by the Knight, which means they are dependent on the Knight's gear.
I'm fine with slightly adapting rules to help player immersion for a specific table of trusted players, but there is an understanding that the adapted rules can't be abused to gain mechanical advantages. If players start trying to exploit the loopholes that open up from the rule change, we go straight back to RAW.
You bring up some excellent points I hadn't even considered, like switching weapons. The more I think on it, the more I'm kind of reversing my position. Say the Knight switches to a bow, since the Echo's attacks are based on the Knight's weapons the attack and damage would use the bow's stats regardless of what the Echo is wielding. In regards to being restrained or grappled, unless the Knight is incapacitated they can just teleport swap with the Echo and end that affect. Likewise, if the Knight is unable to attack, so is the Echo. I don't see it as the Echo is independent of the Knight. Quite the opposite. The Knight commands movement and the when/where to attack.
If grappled or restrained, you have 0 move. Therefore can't use 15ft of movement to escape. You can't escape grapples this way.
I see it as a portal you have to step through. So if you're grappled, you can't step to the new position.
Can it speak?
No
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Ah, I suppose you're right about that. However, a restrained knight can still move their Echo to attack the grappler, since its movement is independent of the Knight's and Crawford has stated that the Echo doesn't have a speed.
So I've been thinking about the 18th level Legion of One ability, because I'm contemplating multiclassing my Knight. While the ability to regain an Unleash Incarnation at the start of battle is nice, what is the real advantage of having 2 Echoes out? I suppose you can engage 3 targets simultaneously, but you're still limited to the Knight's number of attacks and that starts stretching them thin. Attacking the same target is pointless, since they can't give flanking and there is no advantage/detriment to attacking with the Knight versus the Echo. On that point, why would the Knight even engage at all? Just send in the echoes to do all the combat and stay in the back summoning as necessary.
Also, reading through the FAQ again and the answer to Movement - Question #5 is fundamentally incorrect. I think this has been stated before, but the comma placement makes all the difference. RAW says, "If your echo is ever more than 30 feet from you at the end of your turn, it is destroyed." This means that regardless of the distance it has moved on your turn, if it is within 30' of the Knight by the end of the turn it is not destroyed. If it was intended that way, it would say, "If your echo is ever more than 30 feet from you, at the end of your turn it is destroyed."
I think if you are grappled you can't attack, as it is not the echo making an attack, it is YOU making an attack through the echo, so I think that doesn't work.
You can still attack while grappled.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Even a Restrained creature can still attack, though at disadvantage.
That's really surprising to me, I've always pictured in my mind being grappled as having the opponent with both hands around you holding you firm. Even if your arms are not grappled (they have your torso or legs maybe), you're not really going to be able to make an effective swing with a two-handed weapon for example. Regardless, I stand corrected and surprised.
I still think this is a misconception of how the Echo attacks. Nothing in writing or stated by the Devs (that I have seen) indicates the Echo is any kind of "portal" for the purposes of attacking or teleporting. In fact, RAW states that an Echo's attack originates from its space, not from the Knight's. It simply is bound to the Knight's Action Economy, so if the Knight is able to attack, so is the Echo, but the Knight doesn't physically reach through the Echo to attack.
That's my take, anyway.
It may not actually be a portal, but that's the best way to think of it. You still have to expend ammunition if you attack at ranged. You still have to have the weapon in your hand for the echo to attack with it. If you're throwing a handaxe, you need it in your hand, and the echo is where the attack originates from. You are still making the attack, the echo is merely a way to transport it.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
You only need one arm to grapple, and it doesn't specify where you grapple them. The mistake is understandable, though.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Does the Echo Avetar have the same perception altering impacts as the knight? (ie racial darkvision, the walocks Devil's sight, or the See Invisibility spell)
What (if any) skills can be done while using Echo Avetar? (ie perception, investigation, knowledge - not interacting w/ the world)
Can the knight still feel touch when using Echo Avetar? (ie party members getting his attention to "wake up")
Can the knight speak or move (with his own body) while in the Echo Avetar state? (likely with assistance since blind/deaf)
Is a concentration check required to remain in control of the Echo Avetar if the Knight takes damage (while blinded/deafened)?
If the echo is destroyed while using Echo avetar does this affect the knight in any way? (I would assume it doesn't destroy the characters consciousness since it was in the echo and that would make Echo Avetar almost useless)
Can the knight swap places with the echo between planes or over infinite distance? (scenario: step through a portal - dont like the result quickly and swap to return to the party).
Similarly does the 1000 ft limit of Echo Avetar occur on a 6 second tick (end of turn) or occur instantly? (ie walk into unknown portal with echo avetar to determine safety)
Can the knight attack object through the echo? (ie even if you cant untie the rope holding the chandelere an attack with a great axe would achieve the same goal)
FYI: The following video has a pinned comment on a youtube video and describes the spells which can target the echo - not a long list due to being a magical object (only 34 spells and some are debatable): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ClEY2skZG4
PS: (not rules as written) As a DM I would limit the echo to the same movement types in which the player has a speed and consider it more like a 1hp creature (could provoke AO or move through friendly). This avoids many of the exploitable and unusual problems of it being an object which also doesn't fit with the described lore. Clearly the designers never intended to make a flying immovable rod...
If I carry a bunch of people inside my bag of holding, after I swap with my echo, I carry them with me?
grapple really is a questionable word to define what that represents then. Although the mirriam definition leaves room for that interpretation, I think the reasonable person test says if you ask someone what grapple means, 9 out of 10 of them are going to give a description that involves both of their hands, and maximal effort to restrict the opponents movement, whether through bear hug or otherwise making every effort to constrain. That's much more impactful when it comes to attacks than say "grabbing their wrist" which is what I envision with this DnD definition of grapple.
I know this is the echo knight FAQ so I'll ceast and desist, I'm just really surprised at the broad interpretation of this (by DnD rules, not you all) given the overall specificity that exists elsewhere in most of DnD rules.
When my knight kills an enemy Great Weapon Master Attack kicks in.
Can that attack originate by the Echo on the following rule Manifest Echo - Attack (Special)
Each attack, implies to me that I can attack my great Weapon Master attack from my echo.
Could someone clarify that has more experience.