Aarakocra Echo Knight, spends 15 feet of movement to go 35 feet, then dashes twice with Action Surge to go a total of 135 feet. If you started with the echo 30 feet away already, and moved it before teleporting, you can go 165 feet.
Or, using your level 7 ability, you can go 1000 feet, though that's not RAI
Oh you're right, there are racial abilities to consider as well!
Yah, that question might be out of the scope of the FAQ, but it is a good theoretical question. Would it be fair to say that in most cases, an Echo can add 45 feet to a Knight's total movement if they are already summoned and 30 away in the direction they want to go?
Yeah, that's a fair assessment of the net result. But I'd add the details since they are very instructive for people learning the mechanics. Also, the condition where the echo is already summoned and 30' away in the direction the EK wants to move in is actually not as common as one would think in practice. You can definitely set up this condition on an every-other-round basis if you were scrambling to cover a lot of ground through multiple rounds of movement, though.
---
If the echo is already summoned and 30' away towards the direction the EK wants to move in, then the EK can: 1. Move the echo another 30', so now it is 60' away (no action) 2. Swap places with the echo for 15' of movement (bonus action) 3. Move her remaining movement of 15' assuming the character's speed is 30' (movement)
This will take the EK a total distance of 75' away from the EK's original location.
At this point, the EK still has an action which she can use for the dash action for another 30' of movement or to make an attack.
The echo disappears at the end of the round since it is more than 30' away from the EK, so you can only repeat this every other round... next round you'd need to set up for it again.
Assuming that the weapon in your other hand is light and you already have the echo out, RAW would suggest yes.
Unfortunately, RAW suggests you can't... It's restrictive but overall the echo is still good.
"When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo's space. You make this choice for each attack."
Any attacks that are part of the Attack action can be made through the Echo. The bonus action attack from two weapon fighting cannot be made through the echo (likewise, the bonus action attack from the Polearm Master feat or the bonus action attack from scoring a critical hit with the Great Weapon Master feat can't be made through the Echo).
With my Polearm Master EK, I sometimes attack with the Echo as normal and then also move the EK within 10' of the target to use the PAM bonus action attack and then move back away. You could pick up the Mobile feat with a two-weapon fighting build to do something similar... move in within 5', make your bonus action attack, and then move away without provoking an opportunity attack.
Q: How does swapping places with an echo interact with picking up objects/people? Eg. Does an object/person picked up by the knight get teleported with the knight, as long as fighter can carry it/them?
And how does overencumberence affect the swap, if at all?
Q. If the knight is enlarged the echo becames a large sized object as well (assuming a medium sized knight), can you have a second caster cast enlarge on the echo? Since by itself the echo isn't enlarged, it's simply the echo of an enlarged creature.
Q. If the knight is enlarged the echo becames a large sized object as well (assuming a medium sized knight), can you have a second caster cast enlarge on the echo? Since by itself the echo isn't enlarged, it's simply the echo of an enlarged creature.
I’d say yes, because the echo is a reflection of the Knight’s current size and it hasn’t been enlarged. Also this seems doable because Enlarge/Reduce can target an object as long as it is not worn or carried. Notice that there is no restriction on the object being magical.
As a DM I would probably allow this. It would take one entire round to setup and could be ruined by one enemy making a single successful attack, but I could see the appeal. However the Knight would only get the damage boost once.
This is a fun one, and I think its pretty up to DM interpretation. Is the size set when you activate the echo, or is the echo's size a persistent effect that references its owner?
"Your echo has AC 14 + your proficiency bonus, 1 hit point, and immunity to all conditions. If it has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll. It is the same size as you, and it occupies its space."
If the echo's size is set when created then operates independently, then you could cast Enlarge on yourself, create your echo, then have someone Enlarge the Echo to make it Huge. It would not double up on the bonus damage from Enlarge, however.
If the Echo's size is more of a referenced value that is always paying attention to its owner, then the size will always match its owner. Even if you cast Enlarge on the echo, it would readjust to match your size. This also would mean that if you create an echo, then enlarge yourself, the echo would also enlarge immediately to match.
My interpretation leans towards the former - you are setting a bunch of initial values, which can then be changed by other spells or features. I can see an argument for the latter, though.
Alright, if I play it I'll pose the question to my DM as it could swing both ways. Whilst not very useful in combat, it could lead for a nice roleplay moment and be useful if the knight is proficient in intimidation. (Strictly speaking it doesn't offer intimidation bonuses but are you really not going to be frightened if a huge sized humanoid is looking down on you whilst hovering above the ground?)
The reverse would also be useful, double reduce in order to create a smaller target you can use echo avatar with to scout.
What would be the interaction between the centaur ability, charge, or charger feat,
If you move at least 30 feet straight toward a target and then hit it with a melee weapon attack on the same turn, you can immediately follow that attack with a bonus action, making one attack against the target with your hooves.
And the Manifest Echo attack from echo's location ability,
When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo's space. You make this choice for each attack.
What would be the interaction between the centaur ability, charge, or charger feat,
If you move at least 30 feet straight toward a target and then hit it with a melee weapon attack on the same turn, you can immediately follow that attack with a bonus action, making one attack against the target with your hooves.
And the Manifest Echo attack from echo's location ability,
When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo's space. You make this choice for each attack.
Hmm. My interpretation would be that the original melee attack would have to be made against the target you moved to, but it could come from your echo's space (in the event that you weren't able to reach the target in question). However, the bonus action attack would probably have to come from your own space and probably wouldn't reach the person that you charged at.
In either case, it says that when you take the attack action, the attack can originate from the echo's space. It doesn't say that the bonus action with your hooves can happen from the echo's space.
The EK echo being able to cast a spell when they use warcaster for an opportunity, but not being able to cast a spell in any other cases seems way too gamey and frankly ill thought out.
"I can't cast a spell at any other time, unless the enemy walks away." This is like Zoolander where Derek can't turn left, unless it's in a very specific situation. It's comical.
It would be very helpful to clarify that no spell casting can be done through echos, or open it up and expand the "attack action" to also include the "cast a spell" action. Otherwise it doesn't make any sense at all.
The EK echo being able to cast a spell when they use warcaster for an opportunity, but not being able to cast a spell in any other cases seems way too gamey and frankly ill thought out.
"I can't cast a spell at any other time, unless the enemy walks away." This is like Zoolander where Derek can't turn left, unless it's in a very specific situation. It's comical.
It would be very helpful to clarify that no spell casting can be done through echos, or open it up and expand the "attack action" to also include the "cast a spell" action. Otherwise it doesn't make any sense at all.
The Echo itself cannot cast the spell with Warcaster - the spell still originates from the player. Relevant texts:
"When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo's space"
"When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack."
The Echo feature can provoke an opportunity attack when the creature moves. If you spend your reaction to actually make the attack, then you can do so from your echo's space.
However, Warcaster then says that instead of taking that opportunity attack, you can choose to take an entirely different reaction: cast a spell. Any features that normally would apply to that opportunity attack do not apply to the spell. Its the same reason that a War Caster spell does not trigger Sentinel's speed reduction effect.
Since the rules say you can "manifest an echo of yourself in an unoccupied space you can see within 15 feet of you." Does that mean you can form an echo on the other side of a window, or if you are looking through a small hole into a room in the other side. Just wondering what form of infiltration this could provide.
Both DMs I run with have allowed windows and holes into lit areas as valid uses of the Echo Knight abilities. This past weekend this caused the DM to change the whole episode, as we were then able to open the secret door and bypass some stuff. It led to a helluva fight, but we won and now have a secure base in the dungeon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Oh you're right, there are racial abilities to consider as well!
Also with the mobile feat, that makes it 165 feet in a turn.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Yah, that question might be out of the scope of the FAQ, but it is a good theoretical question. Would it be fair to say that in most cases, an Echo can add 45 feet to a Knight's total movement if they are already summoned and 30 away in the direction they want to go?
Yeah, that's a fair assessment of the net result. But I'd add the details since they are very instructive for people learning the mechanics. Also, the condition where the echo is already summoned and 30' away in the direction the EK wants to move in is actually not as common as one would think in practice. You can definitely set up this condition on an every-other-round basis if you were scrambling to cover a lot of ground through multiple rounds of movement, though.
---
If the echo is already summoned and 30' away towards the direction the EK wants to move in, then the EK can:
1. Move the echo another 30', so now it is 60' away (no action)
2. Swap places with the echo for 15' of movement (bonus action)
3. Move her remaining movement of 15' assuming the character's speed is 30' (movement)
This will take the EK a total distance of 75' away from the EK's original location.
At this point, the EK still has an action which she can use for the dash action for another 30' of movement or to make an attack.
The echo disappears at the end of the round since it is more than 30' away from the EK, so you can only repeat this every other round... next round you'd need to set up for it again.
Q:
If the Knight has Two weapon fighting.
Can the Echo make two attacks like the knight would?
Questions:
Can you still move your echo knight if the levitate spell was cast on it?
Since you can end echo avatar at anytime with no action required, are you able to end it and then use the echo teleport?
Assuming that the weapon in your other hand is light and you already have the echo out, RAW would suggest yes.
Levitate wouldn’t prevent you from using your bonus action, so yeah you’d be able to teleport. Whether or not you’re still floating is up for debate.
Edit: For the second question, I’d say no, since you’d have to use a bonus action to resummon the echo first.
Unfortunately, RAW suggests you can't... It's restrictive but overall the echo is still good.
"When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo's space. You make this choice for each attack."
Any attacks that are part of the Attack action can be made through the Echo. The bonus action attack from two weapon fighting cannot be made through the echo (likewise, the bonus action attack from the Polearm Master feat or the bonus action attack from scoring a critical hit with the Great Weapon Master feat can't be made through the Echo).
With my Polearm Master EK, I sometimes attack with the Echo as normal and then also move the EK within 10' of the target to use the PAM bonus action attack and then move back away. You could pick up the Mobile feat with a two-weapon fighting build to do something similar... move in within 5', make your bonus action attack, and then move away without provoking an opportunity attack.
Q:
How does swapping places with an echo interact with picking up objects/people?
Eg. Does an object/person picked up by the knight get teleported with the knight, as long as fighter can carry it/them?
And how does overencumberence affect the swap, if at all?
Q. If the knight is enlarged the echo becames a large sized object as well (assuming a medium sized knight), can you have a second caster cast enlarge on the echo? Since by itself the echo isn't enlarged, it's simply the echo of an enlarged creature.
I’d say yes, because the echo is a reflection of the Knight’s current size and it hasn’t been enlarged. Also this seems doable because Enlarge/Reduce can target an object as long as it is not worn or carried. Notice that there is no restriction on the object being magical.
As a DM I would probably allow this. It would take one entire round to setup and could be ruined by one enemy making a single successful attack, but I could see the appeal. However the Knight would only get the damage boost once.
This is a fun one, and I think its pretty up to DM interpretation. Is the size set when you activate the echo, or is the echo's size a persistent effect that references its owner?
"Your echo has AC 14 + your proficiency bonus, 1 hit point, and immunity to all conditions. If it has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll. It is the same size as you, and it occupies its space."
If the echo's size is set when created then operates independently, then you could cast Enlarge on yourself, create your echo, then have someone Enlarge the Echo to make it Huge. It would not double up on the bonus damage from Enlarge, however.
If the Echo's size is more of a referenced value that is always paying attention to its owner, then the size will always match its owner. Even if you cast Enlarge on the echo, it would readjust to match your size. This also would mean that if you create an echo, then enlarge yourself, the echo would also enlarge immediately to match.
My interpretation leans towards the former - you are setting a bunch of initial values, which can then be changed by other spells or features. I can see an argument for the latter, though.
Alright, if I play it I'll pose the question to my DM as it could swing both ways. Whilst not very useful in combat, it could lead for a nice roleplay moment and be useful if the knight is proficient in intimidation. (Strictly speaking it doesn't offer intimidation bonuses but are you really not going to be frightened if a huge sized humanoid is looking down on you whilst hovering above the ground?)
The reverse would also be useful, double reduce in order to create a smaller target you can use echo avatar with to scout.
What would be the interaction between the centaur ability, charge, or charger feat,
If you move at least 30 feet straight toward a target and then hit it with a melee weapon attack on the same turn, you can immediately follow that attack with a bonus action, making one attack against the target with your hooves.
And the Manifest Echo attack from echo's location ability,
When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo's space. You make this choice for each attack.
Hmm. My interpretation would be that the original melee attack would have to be made against the target you moved to, but it could come from your echo's space (in the event that you weren't able to reach the target in question). However, the bonus action attack would probably have to come from your own space and probably wouldn't reach the person that you charged at.
In either case, it says that when you take the attack action, the attack can originate from the echo's space. It doesn't say that the bonus action with your hooves can happen from the echo's space.
Pardon if this was already addressed.
The EK echo being able to cast a spell when they use warcaster for an opportunity, but not being able to cast a spell in any other cases seems way too gamey and frankly ill thought out.
"I can't cast a spell at any other time, unless the enemy walks away." This is like Zoolander where Derek can't turn left, unless it's in a very specific situation. It's comical.
It would be very helpful to clarify that no spell casting can be done through echos, or open it up and expand the "attack action" to also include the "cast a spell" action. Otherwise it doesn't make any sense at all.
The Echo itself cannot cast the spell with Warcaster - the spell still originates from the player. Relevant texts:
"When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo's space"
"When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack."
The Echo feature can provoke an opportunity attack when the creature moves. If you spend your reaction to actually make the attack, then you can do so from your echo's space.
However, Warcaster then says that instead of taking that opportunity attack, you can choose to take an entirely different reaction: cast a spell. Any features that normally would apply to that opportunity attack do not apply to the spell. Its the same reason that a War Caster spell does not trigger Sentinel's speed reduction effect.
Q:
Since the rules say you can "manifest an echo of yourself in an unoccupied space you can see within 15 feet of you." Does that mean you can form an echo on the other side of a window, or if you are looking through a small hole into a room in the other side. Just wondering what form of infiltration this could provide.
Both DMs I run with have allowed windows and holes into lit areas as valid uses of the Echo Knight abilities. This past weekend this caused the DM to change the whole episode, as we were then able to open the secret door and bypass some stuff. It led to a helluva fight, but we won and now have a secure base in the dungeon.