I"m wondering if I can get some clarification on the Gloom Stalker's dread ambusher feature. It says:
"At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. If that attack hits, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage of the weapon’s damage type."
I had initially interpreted that as rolling an additional attack on the first round of combat and if it hits it does 1d8 damage. No damage bonus or anything, just a straight 1d8.
Now when I read it again I see it says an extra 1d8. So does that mean if that extra attack hits you roll your weapons damage + your damage bonus + an extra 1d8? Also if you have hunter's mark would that be added to this extra attack as well?
Now when I read it again I see it says an extra 1d8. So does that mean if that extra attack hits you roll your weapons damage + your damage bonus + an extra 1d8? Also if you have hunter's mark would that be added to this extra attack as well?
Sorry to necro this, but didn't want to make another thread if it wasn't necessary.
On Dread Ambushers effect I have a few small questions:
At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn.
Does that ONLY ever apply to the first turn of combat, and ONLY the first turn of combat (So it only benefits you round one, then not at all/again until you enter NEW combat with new enemies)? or does it mean on each of 'your' turns in the SAME combat?
Since the skill is named 'ambusher' I assume it only works ONCE per fight but I am wanting to make 100% sure in case it's similar to 'sneak attack' in some fashion.
Sorry to necro this, but didn't want to make another thread if it wasn't necessary.
On Dread Ambushers effect I have a few small questions:
At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn.
Does that ONLY ever apply to the first turn of combat, and ONLY the first turn of combat (So it only benefits you round one, then not at all/again until you enter NEW combat with new enemies)? or does it mean on each of 'your' turns in the SAME combat?
Since the skill is named 'ambusher' I assume it only works ONCE per fight but I am wanting to make 100% sure in case it's similar to 'sneak attack' in some fashion.
only once on your first turn of combat per encounter.
Yes, it's only once per combat encounter on the first turn. On your second turn and thereafter in that combat encounter you drop back down to your regular movement speed and only get your normal attack(s). Once you roll initiative on a new combat encounter you get the movement and extra attack benefit again for that first round.
Yup, its one component of the gloom 3 assassin 3+ murderfest, the extra attack on a surprise round (your invisible to darkvision, so in doors and on moonless nights sneaking should be an easy affair) allows 2 attacks with advantage (your invisible) so you really shouldnt miss both chances at dealing sneak damage, and possibly the extra d8 which should hopefully assassin auto crit. If thats from a bugbear its especially cruel, and if they survive you can slink away back to the group and inform them of the fight to come, although they can probably tell something from the screams.
Enjoy the sojourn in the shadow world, but dont forget to enjoy the light on your face when you emerge.
Ah, I try not to 'powergame' unless i'm doing 'PvP' if I happen to stumble on a powerful combo with my character theme? ok, but for campaigns i just pick a theme and go with it but thanks!
I"m wondering if I can get some clarification on the Gloom Stalker's dread ambusher feature. It says:
"At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. If that attack hits, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage of the weapon’s damage type."
I had initially interpreted that as rolling an additional attack on the first round of combat and if it hits it does 1d8 damage. No damage bonus or anything, just a straight 1d8.
Now when I read it again I see it says an extra 1d8. So does that mean if that extra attack hits you roll your weapons damage + your damage bonus + an extra 1d8? Also if you have hunter's mark would that be added to this extra attack as well?
This only means that the second attack will gain the extra damage of the weapons type, so what happens if you use your action to attack with a weapon that has the nick weapon mastery? And how does this affect the Dread Ambusher Gloom Stalker Feature?
You're commenting on a post from 7 years ago, so they're talking about the original version of the Gloom Stalker subclass from Xanathar's Guide to Everything.
If you're using weapon mastery properties, you're playing under 2024 rules (which didn't exist when this post was written) and you need to be using the updated Gloom Stalker subclass from the 2024 Player's Handbook. The Dread Ambusher feature was heavily modified for 2024 and no longer grants an extra attack with 1d8 additional damage on the first round of combat, so the question isn't really relevant anymore.
The replacement for this in the new Dread Ambusher feature is the ability to, a few times per long rest, deal an extra 2d6 Psychic damage on a hit with a weapon. You can only do this once per turn, so it doesn't meaningfully interact with the Nick property.
I"m wondering if I can get some clarification on the Gloom Stalker's dread ambusher feature. It says:
"At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. If that attack hits, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage of the weapon’s damage type."
I had initially interpreted that as rolling an additional attack on the first round of combat and if it hits it does 1d8 damage. No damage bonus or anything, just a straight 1d8.
Now when I read it again I see it says an extra 1d8. So does that mean if that extra attack hits you roll your weapons damage + your damage bonus + an extra 1d8? Also if you have hunter's mark would that be added to this extra attack as well?
This only means that the second attack will gain the extra damage of the weapons type, so what happens if you use your action to attack with a weapon that has the nick weapon mastery? And how does this affect the Dread Ambusher Gloom Stalker Feature?
Nothing too complicated:
Your action gets as many Attacks as you normally get (1 + Nick+[EXTRA ATTACK]), then you get an additional attack with any weapon you carry that deals an extra 1d8 as a bonus. Then you have your bonus action free for anything else.
What Nick does is free your bonus action attack from light two-weapon property.
Dread Ambusher (2014) just gives you an extra attack (only one) on your first round (no action required, only if you attacked). Its not affected by Nick or the Light Property.
The question is in using a 5e gloom stalker and imparting the 6e Nick Weapon abilities, would you get two extra attacks that can be made on the same attack action or would you only get one?
In this scenario, you would get two additional attacks: one from the Dread Ambusher feature, and one from the Nick mastery property (which must be made with a different Light weapon).
However, strictly speaking this character is not valid under RAW, since it's combining the 2024 version of the Ranger class with the 2014 version of a subclass that has an updated 2024 version, and this generally isn't allowed.
As wagnarokkr said, and i explained before... both extra attacks are from different things that dont step on each other:
1) Nick comes from having 2 light weapons equiped (Light weapon property bonus action attack), it just moves from your bonus action to part of your attack action. You can do this everytime the conditions are met.
2) Dread Ambusher extra attack does not use an action... its just an additional attack (not an attack action) during the first round if you use the attack action.
So a 3rd lvl Ranger-Gloomstalker(14), if you have 2 light weapons equiped, one with nick, and take the Attack action on your first round of an encounter you can:
- Move your speed (+10ft) - Use your bonus action to do something (cast a bonus action spell for example) - An use your action to Attack producing 3 attacks: * 1 from your action (you dont have Extra Attack yet) * 1 from nick weapon as part of your attack (instead of a bonus action) * 1 from dread ambusher that deals an extra 1d8.
Hope this clarifies things better.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I"m wondering if I can get some clarification on the Gloom Stalker's dread ambusher feature. It says:
"At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. If that attack hits, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage of the weapon’s damage type."
I had initially interpreted that as rolling an additional attack on the first round of combat and if it hits it does 1d8 damage. No damage bonus or anything, just a straight 1d8.
Now when I read it again I see it says an extra 1d8. So does that mean if that extra attack hits you roll your weapons damage + your damage bonus + an extra 1d8? Also if you have hunter's mark would that be added to this extra attack as well?
I don't always use the office printer.
But when I do it's to print my character sheet.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Sorry to necro this, but didn't want to make another thread if it wasn't necessary.
On Dread Ambushers effect I have a few small questions:
At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn.
Does that ONLY ever apply to the first turn of combat, and ONLY the first turn of combat (So it only benefits you round one, then not at all/again until you enter NEW combat with new enemies)? or does it mean on each of 'your' turns in the SAME combat?
Since the skill is named 'ambusher' I assume it only works ONCE per fight but I am wanting to make 100% sure in case it's similar to 'sneak attack' in some fashion.
Occassional Dungeon Master.
only once on your first turn of combat per encounter.
Nox - Adult Oblex - The Trials
Jartrin Ephok - Dragonborn - Zanoliv
Bunol - Grim Angel - The Floating Lands of Goriate
Yes, it's only once per combat encounter on the first turn. On your second turn and thereafter in that combat encounter you drop back down to your regular movement speed and only get your normal attack(s). Once you roll initiative on a new combat encounter you get the movement and extra attack benefit again for that first round.
I don't always use the office printer.
But when I do it's to print my character sheet.
Aye, like I thought, but it could have been one of those poorly written ones!
Basically, i get a 1 turn super-round!
Occassional Dungeon Master.
Yup, its one component of the gloom 3 assassin 3+ murderfest, the extra attack on a surprise round (your invisible to darkvision, so in doors and on moonless nights sneaking should be an easy affair) allows 2 attacks with advantage (your invisible) so you really shouldnt miss both chances at dealing sneak damage, and possibly the extra d8 which should hopefully assassin auto crit. If thats from a bugbear its especially cruel, and if they survive you can slink away back to the group and inform them of the fight to come, although they can probably tell something from the screams.
Enjoy the sojourn in the shadow world, but dont forget to enjoy the light on your face when you emerge.
Ah, I try not to 'powergame' unless i'm doing 'PvP' if I happen to stumble on a powerful combo with my character theme? ok, but for campaigns i just pick a theme and go with it but thanks!
Occassional Dungeon Master.
You're commenting on a post from 7 years ago, so they're talking about the original version of the Gloom Stalker subclass from Xanathar's Guide to Everything.
If you're using weapon mastery properties, you're playing under 2024 rules (which didn't exist when this post was written) and you need to be using the updated Gloom Stalker subclass from the 2024 Player's Handbook. The Dread Ambusher feature was heavily modified for 2024 and no longer grants an extra attack with 1d8 additional damage on the first round of combat, so the question isn't really relevant anymore.
The replacement for this in the new Dread Ambusher feature is the ability to, a few times per long rest, deal an extra 2d6 Psychic damage on a hit with a weapon. You can only do this once per turn, so it doesn't meaningfully interact with the Nick property.
pronouns: he/she/they
Nothing too complicated:
Your action gets as many Attacks as you normally get (1 + Nick+[EXTRA ATTACK]), then you get an additional attack with any weapon you carry that deals an extra 1d8 as a bonus. Then you have your bonus action free for anything else.
What Nick does is free your bonus action attack from light two-weapon property.
Dread Ambusher (2014) just gives you an extra attack (only one) on your first round (no action required, only if you attacked). Its not affected by Nick or the Light Property.
In this scenario, you would get two additional attacks: one from the Dread Ambusher feature, and one from the Nick mastery property (which must be made with a different Light weapon).
However, strictly speaking this character is not valid under RAW, since it's combining the 2024 version of the Ranger class with the 2014 version of a subclass that has an updated 2024 version, and this generally isn't allowed.
pronouns: he/she/they
As wagnarokkr said, and i explained before... both extra attacks are from different things that dont step on each other:
1) Nick comes from having 2 light weapons equiped (Light weapon property bonus action attack), it just moves from your bonus action to part of your attack action. You can do this everytime the conditions are met.
2) Dread Ambusher extra attack does not use an action... its just an additional attack (not an attack action) during the first round if you use the attack action.
So a 3rd lvl Ranger-Gloomstalker(14), if you have 2 light weapons equiped, one with nick, and take the Attack action on your first round of an encounter you can:
- Move your speed (+10ft)
- Use your bonus action to do something (cast a bonus action spell for example)
- An use your action to Attack producing 3 attacks:
* 1 from your action (you dont have Extra Attack yet)
* 1 from nick weapon as part of your attack (instead of a bonus action)
* 1 from dread ambusher that deals an extra 1d8.
Hope this clarifies things better.