I think I found something that can be important for characters of Paladin class.
When I read the description of Improved Divine Smite feature either from Game Rules > Paladin section or from Sources > Player's Handbook > Paladin section it reads:
Improved Divine Smite
By 11th level, you are so suffused with righteous might that all your melee weapon strikes carry divine power with them. Whenever you hit a creature with a melee weapon, the creature takes an extra 1d8 radiant damage.
But under the same section of the physical copy of Player's Handbook I can read:
Improved Divine Smite
By 11th level, you are so suffused with righteous might that all your melee weapon strikes carry divine power with them. Whenever you hit a creature with a melee weapon, the creature takes an extra 1d8 radiant damage. If you also use your Divine Smite with an attack, you add this damage to the extra damage of your Divine Smite.
I think the missing sentence could generate some misunderstanding about Improved Divine Smite. (For example: Can I use it along with Divine Smite or does Improved Divine Smite completely replace "normal" Divine Smite?) As far as I know both divine smite types can be used together. What is more, if the previous statement is right, it seems that this "automatic" feature of Improved Divine Smite does not work on DDB.
Thanks Jay_Lane! So the last sentence was deleted, DDB is up to date. But what could be the intention behind the deletion? Isn't the new version confusing a little bit?
Thanks Jay_Lane! So the last sentence was deleted, DDB is up to date. But what could be the intention behind the deletion? Isn't the new version confusing a little bit?
It's entirely pointless. Since Divine Smite only works on an attack it is unnecessary to point out they stack if Divine Smite is used for an attack. So the superfluous line was removed in effort to be concise and clear.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
What Cyb3rM1nd said and I think people were also confused about if it added damage to both the attack and divine smite before the change. I agree it might have just shifted the confusion to something else due to the name of the ability though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello DDB Team,
I think I found something that can be important for characters of Paladin class.
When I read the description of Improved Divine Smite feature either from Game Rules > Paladin section or from Sources > Player's Handbook > Paladin section it reads:
But under the same section of the physical copy of Player's Handbook I can read:
I think the missing sentence could generate some misunderstanding about Improved Divine Smite. (For example: Can I use it along with Divine Smite or does Improved Divine Smite completely replace "normal" Divine Smite?) As far as I know both divine smite types can be used together. What is more, if the previous statement is right, it seems that this "automatic" feature of Improved Divine Smite does not work on DDB.
Thank you for your answer in advance,
auggiewiz
It was changed in an errata and Dndbeyond updates the information on the site to match.
See: https://media.wizards.com/2018/dnd/downloads/PH-Errata.pdf
Thanks Jay_Lane! So the last sentence was deleted, DDB is up to date. But what could be the intention behind the deletion? Isn't the new version confusing a little bit?
It's entirely pointless. Since Divine Smite only works on an attack it is unnecessary to point out they stack if Divine Smite is used for an attack. So the superfluous line was removed in effort to be concise and clear.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
What Cyb3rM1nd said and I think people were also confused about if it added damage to both the attack and divine smite before the change. I agree it might have just shifted the confusion to something else due to the name of the ability though.