Light has a 40 foot radius, not a 20 foot radius. The 'range/area' stat on D&D Beyond is incorrect....its not a defined stat in the PHB at all and I think DDB has misinterpreted it. The spell pretty clearly reads that the area of the spell has a 40 foot radius.
the spell isn't 'bright light'...its 'light'. Light gets shed in a 40 foot radius and the spell description is pretty clear about that. the stat represents the area of the spell...which again, is 40 feet.
The spell specifically details bright light is 20 ft. Dim light is 20 ft, although the dim light is just a result of how illumination works in D&D: anything that presents bright light, also extends dim light beyond the initial radius. Even nonmagical sources like torches.
The spell is bright light for 20 ft. The D&D light mechanics they use extends dim light another 20 ft.
So, seems correct to me.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
anything that presents bright light, also extends dim light beyond the initial radius. Even nonmagical sources like torches.
You say that like its a rule, but I suspect you're making that up. Note the word 'usually' in the PHB. Its logical with nonmagical items, even though there's no hard rule...compare the light of a lamp to a candle. But for magic light? The idea that a magic object creates dim light because it created bright light is pure assumption (edit: you're changing 'usually' in the PHB to 'always').
Set that aside though...the area of effect of the spell is still 40 feet. just because some of the light is dim light doesn't mean that its not a defined effect of the spell. And again, the spell isn't bright light....its light.
anything that presents bright light, also extends dim light beyond the initial radius. Even nonmagical sources like torches.
You say that like its a rule, but I suspect you're making that up. Its definitely nowhere in the PHB where it discusses light. Its logical with nonmagical items, even though there's no hard rule...compare the light of a lamp to a candle. But for magic light? The idea that a magic object creates dim light because it created bright light is pure assumption.
Set that aside though...the area of effect of the spell is still 40 feet. just because some of the light is dim light doesn't mean that its not an effect of the spell. And again, the spell isn't bright light....its light.
Nowhere in PHB. You sure about that?
Bright light lets most creatures see normally. Even gloomy days provide bright light, as do torches, lanterns, fires, and other sources of illumination within a specific radius.
Dim light, also called shadows, creates a lightly obscured area. An area of dim light is usually a boundary between a source of bright light, such as a torch, and surrounding darkness. The soft light of twilight and dawn also counts as dim light. A particularly brilliant full moon might bathe the land in dim light.
And the spell definitely details distinction between bright light and dim light and is not "just light"
Until the spell ends, the object sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet.
I think you need to read the PHB again.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
i edited my reply...not fast enough though. You didn't turn the word 'usually' red. I'd say that's a fine assumption when you're not talking about magic items...but magic is magic and you're changing 'usually' to always'.
...You touch one object that is no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. Until the spell ends, the object shedsbright light in a 20-foot radius anddim light for an additional 20 feet.
that's a 40 foot area of effect...pretty straight forward to me.
It doesn't matter what anyone thinks it should be. DDB is required to match what the current version of the published, printed text is.
the stat as presented on DDB isn't in published, printed text. It's been interpreted. open the light spell in DDB and open the PHB...you'll see the 'range/area' and 'attack/save' stats are unique to DDB and deciphered from the text.
despite my further comments being off the mark and flat out wrong in at least one spot - the fundamental issue is still there. This spell in the PHBvery specifically says 'it does this thing for 20 feet...and it does this other thing for 20 more feet'. Someone at DDB is completely ignoring the second specifically declared effect by saying the spell has an area of effect of 20 feet.
Light has a 40 foot radius, not a 20 foot radius. The 'range/area' stat on D&D Beyond is incorrect....its not a defined stat in the PHB at all and I think DDB has misinterpreted it. The spell pretty clearly reads that the area of the spell has a 40 foot radius.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
The area of bright light is only a 20-foot radius, and the dim light is another 20 foot. That seems correct to me. 🤷♂️
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
the spell isn't 'bright light'...its 'light'. Light gets shed in a 40 foot radius and the spell description is pretty clear about that. the stat represents the area of the spell...which again, is 40 feet.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
The spell specifically details bright light is 20 ft. Dim light is 20 ft, although the dim light is just a result of how illumination works in D&D: anything that presents bright light, also extends dim light beyond the initial radius. Even nonmagical sources like torches.
The spell is bright light for 20 ft. The D&D light mechanics they use extends dim light another 20 ft.
So, seems correct to me.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
You say that like its a rule, but I suspect you're making that up. Note the word 'usually' in the PHB. Its logical with nonmagical items, even though there's no hard rule...compare the light of a lamp to a candle. But for magic light? The idea that a magic object creates dim light because it created bright light is pure assumption (edit: you're changing 'usually' in the PHB to 'always').
Set that aside though...the area of effect of the spell is still 40 feet. just because some of the light is dim light doesn't mean that its not a defined effect of the spell. And again, the spell isn't bright light....its light.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Nowhere in PHB. You sure about that?
And the spell definitely details distinction between bright light and dim light and is not "just light"
I think you need to read the PHB again.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
i edited my reply...not fast enough though. You didn't turn the word 'usually' red. I'd say that's a fine assumption when you're not talking about magic items...but magic is magic and you're changing 'usually' to always'.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
...You touch one object that is no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. Until the spell ends, the object sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet.
that's a 40 foot area of effect...pretty straight forward to me.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
the stat as presented on DDB isn't in published, printed text. It's been interpreted. open the light spell in DDB and open the PHB...you'll see the 'range/area' and 'attack/save' stats are unique to DDB and deciphered from the text.
despite my further comments being off the mark and flat out wrong in at least one spot - the fundamental issue is still there. This spell in the PHB very specifically says 'it does this thing for 20 feet...and it does this other thing for 20 more feet'. Someone at DDB is completely ignoring the second specifically declared effect by saying the spell has an area of effect of 20 feet.
20 and 20 is 40....20 and 20 isn't 20.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks