To explain the Nick property, we should briefly cover that being able to attack twice while dual-wielding Light weapons has subtly changed in the 2024 Player’s Handbook. Instead of being covered under Melee Attacks, the rules for dual-wielding Light weapons are covered under the Light weapon property.
It still functions the same way: When you make an attack with a weapon that has the Light property, you can use a Bonus Action to make one attack with a different Light weapon you’re wielding.
The Nick mastery property allows you to make the additional attack you receive from wielding two Light weapons as part of the initial attack action.
Keep in mind that this doesn’t mean you can make a third attack as a Bonus Action, as the Light property specifies you only get one extra attack. But, while it may not pump your damage, this frees up your Bonus Action to use class/species abilities, such as the Rogue’s Cunning Action, while still getting an additional attack in.
So while a strict application of the 2024 RAW allows for four attacks, it's clear that this is NOT the intention.
But it doesn't mention Dual Wielder at all. It's just talking about the interaction of Light and Nick.
(Also, the Light/Nick/DW stuff doesn't allow for four attacks, just three. Any further attacks have to come from other abilities that don't use your bonus action.)
This weapon juggling and the Two-weapon rules not saying both weapons need to be in hand at the start of the Attack sequence, or some close mechanic to that, is making my head spin and can't possibly be RAI. This would not fly at my table.
I think it's not so much about stopping it as it is that, once they've decided to anchor it to the Light property, it becomes impossible to make it work with two non-light weapons.
It's by no means impossible. Here's a simple wording
Dual Wielder: you may treat any one-handed weapon as if it had the light property.
I think it's not so much about stopping it as it is that, once they've decided to anchor it to the Light property, it becomes impossible to make it work with two non-light weapons.
It's by no means impossible. Here's a simple wording
Dual Wielder: you may treat any one-handed weapon as if it had the light property.
And what are the knock-on effects of how that interacts with other abilities, including abilities that don't even exist yet?
It's almost certainly not a problem now (but I haven't checked), and I find it hard to believe it'd end up being a future problem, but it becomes a concern for future design. Any ability that keys off light weapons now must be considered with battleaxes and pistols.
And what are the knock-on effects of how that interacts with other abilities, including abilities that don't even exist yet?
It's almost certainly not a problem now (but I haven't checked), and I find it hard to believe it'd end up being a future problem, but it becomes a concern for future design. Any ability that keys off light weapons now must be considered with battleaxes and pistols.
Given that the typical damage difference is one point, I have trouble being worried.
An optimized 4th lvl dex fighter with two-weapon fighting and dual-wielder is exclusively swords and board.
He would run around with a scimitar and a shield, each round attacking with the scimitar, then a shortsword, then a rapier. He would have an AC of 18 and do an average of 23.5 damage per round if he lands all three attacks, one of which has advantage (as does the first attack of his second turn if he doesn't switch targets). The only resource he would spend is a bonus action for the rapier attack.
Scimitar and shortsword in your hands [16 AC and 22.5 DPR] would let you avoid the ridiculous mechanical contrivances of swords and board while maintaining your RP dignity; but you'd be losing 2 AC, a point of dpr, and the flexibility of selecting a non-light weapon for greater damage and/or diverse mastery properties.
I'm glad I didn't have to crunch all the numbers and make the hard choices required to balance this 2024 set of rules!
Basically a 4th lvl dex fighter with two-weapon fighting and dual-wielder would run around with a scimitar and a rapier in his hands, attacking first with the scimitar then sheathing it and pulling out a shortsword to attack again, then using the rapier for his third and final attack in the round (after which he'd swap shortsword for scimitar to prep for the next round). It would not even be possible to just attack twice with the scimitar; you have to put it away and use a different weapon. I can already hear the groans from my dnd group.
I don't think that's RAW. A 5th level Fighter could juggle like that because their second attack gives another opportunity to draw/stow a weapon, but a 4th level Fighter can't. With only 2 attacks in the Attack action I don't see how you could make 2 draws and 2 stows.
An optimized 4th lvl dex fighter with two-weapon fighting and dual-wielder is exclusively swords and board.
He would run around with a scimitar and a shield, each round attacking with the scimitar, then a shortsword, then a rapier. He would have an AC of 18 and do an average of 23.5 damage per round if he lands all three attacks, one of which has advantage (as does the first attack of his second turn if he doesn't switch targets). The only resource he would spend is a bonus action for the rapier attack.
DW gives you two draws or two stows, not one of each.
Scimitar and shortsword in your hands [16 AC and 22.5 DPR] would let you avoid the ridiculous mechanical contrivances of swords and board while maintaining your RP dignity; but you'd be losing 2 AC, a point of dpr, and the flexibility of selecting a non-light weapon for greater damage and/or diverse mastery properties.
This one is tricky to work for more than a round. You can attack, stow, nick, draw, bonus action attack, and then use your free interaction to stow your non-light weapon, but you can't do it again the next round because you're not in the right starting configuration.
This one is tricky to work for more than a round. You can attack, stow, nick, draw, bonus action attack, and then use your free interaction to stow your non-light weapon, but you can't do it again the next round because you're not in the right starting configuration.
Well, you can if you drop or throw them (easier on a strength build, since there are no finesse/thrown weapons that are not light).
This one is tricky to work for more than a round. You can attack, stow, nick, draw, bonus action attack, and then use your free interaction to stow your non-light weapon, but you can't do it again the next round because you're not in the right starting configuration.
Well, you can if you drop or throw them (easier on a strength build, since there are no finesse/thrown weapons that are not light).
All nick does is preserve your bonus action, so that the one off-hand bonus attack is folded in the attack action.
All dual wielder does is remove the requirement that both weapons be light - it doesn't give an additional attack of any kind.,
So, your 1, 2, and 3 are correct, but I don't know how you get yet another attack for your step 4.
This is incorrect. The Dual Wielder feat allows an attack as a bonus action separate from the one granted by the Light property.
No, it's still dependent on the light property - it just removes the requirement that the second weapon also be light.
Yes, it is dependent on the Light Property, but the extra attack provided by Dual Wielder is a different extra attack than the extra attack provided by the Light Property. The Nick property says "When you make the extra attack of the Light property" which is a wording that is not repeated in the Dual Wielder feat. They could have said there "When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make that attack with a weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property", but they didn't.
All nick does is preserve your bonus action, so that the one off-hand bonus attack is folded in the attack action.
All dual wielder does is remove the requirement that both weapons be light - it doesn't give an additional attack of any kind.,
So, your 1, 2, and 3 are correct, but I don't know how you get yet another attack for your step 4.
This is incorrect. The Dual Wielder feat allows an attack as a bonus action separate from the one granted by the Light property.
No, it's still dependent on the light property - it just removes the requirement that the second weapon also be light.
Yes, it is dependent on the Light Property, but the extra attack provided by Dual Wielder is a different extra attack than the extra attack provided by the Light Property. The Nick property says "When you make the extra attack of the Light property" which is a wording that is not repeated in the Dual Wielder feat. They could have said there "When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make that attack with a weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property", but they didn't.
I concede defeat on this, mainly because if all dual wielder does is let you use 1 d8 weapon instead of a d6, it is the most useless feat in the world. However, I maintain that the drafting on this stuff is absolutely terrible.
Various looser interpretations at convention tables than anything written here. I think the most liberal at Tier 2 was two shortsword attacks, two rapier attacks, even while using bonus action for Hunter's Mark, possibly with a shield. I guess with such vague wording, the quick interpretation is simply going to be "4 attacks" at level 5, as long as one is with a Light/Nick weapon and mastery and you have the necessary feats.
All nick does is preserve your bonus action, so that the one off-hand bonus attack is folded in the attack action.
All dual wielder does is remove the requirement that both weapons be light - it doesn't give an additional attack of any kind.,
So, your 1, 2, and 3 are correct, but I don't know how you get yet another attack for your step 4.
This is incorrect. The Dual Wielder feat allows an attack as a bonus action separate from the one granted by the Light property.
No, it's still dependent on the light property - it just removes the requirement that the second weapon also be light.
Yes, it is dependent on the Light Property, but the extra attack provided by Dual Wielder is a different extra attack than the extra attack provided by the Light Property. The Nick property says "When you make the extra attack of the Light property" which is a wording that is not repeated in the Dual Wielder feat. They could have said there "When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make that attack with a weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property", but they didn't.
I concede defeat on this, mainly because if all dual wielder does is let you use 1 d8 weapon instead of a d6, it is the most useless feat in the world. However, I maintain that the drafting on this stuff is absolutely terrible.
It's still worded stupidly. Not poorly, stupidly. As written, a fighter wielding a rapier and a dagger must use the rapier as their off hand weapon, not their main weapon.
If you attack with a shortsword, and then with a dagger [nick], both weapons are used during your attack action. To take the bonus action attack you would have to swap to a third weapon and attack. i am looking at just forking over a bonus action attack to my players because weapon juggling is stupid.
If you attack with a shortsword, and then with a dagger [nick], both weapons are used during your attack action. To take the bonus action attack you would have to swap to a third weapon and attack. i am looking at just forking over a bonus action attack to my players because weapon juggling is stupid.
To take the bonus action attack you would need the Dual Wielder feat, which gives you a bonus action attack with a different weapon if you attack with a light weapon. Whichever one of your attacks triggers it, the other one is available.
Light+Nick cannot give you more than one additional attack on its own.
All nick does is preserve your bonus action, so that the one off-hand bonus attack is folded in the attack action.
All dual wielder does is remove the requirement that both weapons be light - it doesn't give an additional attack of any kind.,
So, your 1, 2, and 3 are correct, but I don't know how you get yet another attack for your step 4.
This is incorrect. The Dual Wielder feat allows an attack as a bonus action separate from the one granted by the Light property.
No, it's still dependent on the light property - it just removes the requirement that the second weapon also be light.
Yes, it is dependent on the Light Property, but the extra attack provided by Dual Wielder is a different extra attack than the extra attack provided by the Light Property. The Nick property says "When you make the extra attack of the Light property" which is a wording that is not repeated in the Dual Wielder feat. They could have said there "When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make that attack with a weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property", but they didn't.
Its the fact that Dual Wielder kind of repeats the "off-hand hand attack" rule rather than modifying the existing rule of the Light property that really causes the weirdness.
At first I read this as a simple "If you have the Dual-wielder feat then your off-hand attack (from the Light property) can be any non-Heavy weapon instead of only a Light weapon". Which actually made the Nick master property much simpler: It would mean you make your off-hand attack as part of your action, freeing up your Bonus Action for other stuff (but not another attack).
Now, as others have pointed out, I was wrong. The Nick master property only applies to the extra attack from the Light property. And because the Dual-wielder feat is separate, you do still get that extra extra attack.
But now I've hit another problem: The Two-weapon Fighting style feat! This says "When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, ...". So...does this mean the damage of your ability modifier only applies to the extra attack you make from the Light weapon property and not the extra attack of the Dual Wielder feat? i.e. if you use attack with a Light weapon and then a non-Light weapon thanks to Dual-Wielder then your off-hand attack is due to the Dual-Wielder rule and you wouldn't add your ability modifier to the damage...or....I'm confused again :(
But now I've hit another problem: The Two-weapon Fighting style feat! This says "When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, ...". So...does this mean the damage of your ability modifier only applies to the extra attack you make from the Light weapon property and not the extra attack of the Dual Wielder feat? i.e. if you use attack with a Light weapon and then a non-Light weapon thanks to Dual-Wielder then your off-hand attack is due to the Dual-Wielder rule and you wouldn't add your ability modifier to the damage...or....I'm confused again :(
It's easy to be confused, since they wrote it in a way that's technically clear, but only if you're paying a lot of attention to the exact points of wording, which is pretty hard if you're not used to it.
TWF applies to the DW bonus attack. The reason it does is that it doesn't say "when you make the extra attack of the Light property". Instead, it says what you quoted, which is broader. Any extra attack that you get because you used a Light weapon works. If you attacked with a Scimitar of Speed,'s bonus action attack, it applies. (It's not useful, but it applies).
I’m going to break this down directly from the Players Handbook
List of all relevant rules:
Weapon Property: Light:
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don’t add your ability modifier to the extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don’t add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
Mastery Property: Nick:
When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make it as part of the Attack action instead of as a Bonus Action. You can make this extra attack only once per turn.
Fighting Style Feat: Two-Weapon Fighting:
When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of that attack if you aren’t already adding it to the damage.
General Feat: Dual Wielder:
Enhanced Dual Wielding: When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a weapon that has the Light property, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn with a different weapon, which must be a melee weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property. You don’t add your ability modifier to extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative.
Quick Draw: You can draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
In Practice:
As a level 5 fighter you’ll have access to the following:
Fighting Style at level 1: Two-Weapon Fighting
Weapon Mastery at level 1: Rapiers, Scimitars, and one other
Action Surge at level 2
Feat at level 4: Dual Wielder
Extra attack at level 5
1) The fighter takes the attack action, making two attacks with a scimitar
2) He then makes another attack with a different scimitar from the Light property, as part of the attack from Nick, while adding his ability score to damage due to Two-Weapon Fighting
3) He makes the extra attack of the Dual Wielder feat, using the second scimitar, or a rapier for the extra damage and Vex Property, or any other non-Heavy melee weapon that you want to implement it’s mastery Property
4) He uses Action Surge for the attack action making two attacks with the rapier or other weapon.
6 attacks, 3 from scimitars, 3 from rapier or other
Notice how none of the above properties or abilities (Light, Nick, Two-Weapon Fighting, and Dual Wielding) require any attacks to be made with different hands, only different weapons
Technically all attacks can be made with one hand, while holding a shield in the other
MAXED OUT!!!
Armor Class: 26 (+3 plate +3 shield)
All weapons are Ascendant Dragon’s Wrath Weapons from Fizban’s Treasury of Dragons:
This weapon is decorated with dragon heads, claws, wings, scales, or Draconic letters. When it steeps in a dragon's hoard, it absorbs the energy of the dragon's breath weapon and deals damage of that type with its special properties.
Whenever you roll a 20 on your attack roll with this weapon, each creature of your choice within 5 feet of the target takes 5 damage of the type dealt by the dragon's breath weapon.
You gain a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made using the weapon. On a hit, the weapon deals an extra 3d6damage of the type dealt by the dragon's breath weapon.
As an action, you can unleash a 60-foot cone of destructive energy from the weapon. Each creature in that area must make a DC 18 Dexterity saving throw, taking 12d6 damage of the type dealt by the dragon's breath weapon on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. Once this action is used, it can't be used again until the next dawn.
Damage:
Scimitar attacks: 1d6+8 slashing + 3d6 other (based on dragon type from weapon, fire for red, force for topaz)
Rapier attacks 1d8+8 slashing + 3d6 other
Average damage in a turn: 147
Average damage in a turn for full critical: 247
(Reminder this is only a level 5 character and he already has higher AC than any Creature in D&D and outdamaging nearly all (Aspect of Tiamat’s Multiattack averages 67 damage a turn) with nothing but the help of a few magic items)
But it doesn't mention Dual Wielder at all. It's just talking about the interaction of Light and Nick.
(Also, the Light/Nick/DW stuff doesn't allow for four attacks, just three. Any further attacks have to come from other abilities that don't use your bonus action.)
This weapon juggling and the Two-weapon rules not saying both weapons need to be in hand at the start of the Attack sequence, or some close mechanic to that, is making my head spin and can't possibly be RAI. This would not fly at my table.
It's by no means impossible. Here's a simple wording
And what are the knock-on effects of how that interacts with other abilities, including abilities that don't even exist yet?
It's almost certainly not a problem now (but I haven't checked), and I find it hard to believe it'd end up being a future problem, but it becomes a concern for future design. Any ability that keys off light weapons now must be considered with battleaxes and pistols.
Given that the typical damage difference is one point, I have trouble being worried.
The RAW make for a bizarre meta.
An optimized 4th lvl dex fighter with two-weapon fighting and dual-wielder is exclusively swords and board.
He would run around with a scimitar and a shield, each round attacking with the scimitar, then a shortsword, then a rapier. He would have an AC of 18 and do an average of 23.5 damage per round if he lands all three attacks, one of which has advantage (as does the first attack of his second turn if he doesn't switch targets). The only resource he would spend is a bonus action for the rapier attack.
Scimitar and shortsword in your hands [16 AC and 22.5 DPR] would let you avoid the ridiculous mechanical contrivances of swords and board while maintaining your RP dignity; but you'd be losing 2 AC, a point of dpr, and the flexibility of selecting a non-light weapon for greater damage and/or diverse mastery properties.
I'm glad I didn't have to crunch all the numbers and make the hard choices required to balance this 2024 set of rules!
I don't think that's RAW. A 5th level Fighter could juggle like that because their second attack gives another opportunity to draw/stow a weapon, but a 4th level Fighter can't. With only 2 attacks in the Attack action I don't see how you could make 2 draws and 2 stows.
DW gives you two draws or two stows, not one of each.
This one is tricky to work for more than a round. You can attack, stow, nick, draw, bonus action attack, and then use your free interaction to stow your non-light weapon, but you can't do it again the next round because you're not in the right starting configuration.
Well, you can if you drop or throw them (easier on a strength build, since there are no finesse/thrown weapons that are not light).
Dropping is still a weapon interaction.
Yes, it is dependent on the Light Property, but the extra attack provided by Dual Wielder is a different extra attack than the extra attack provided by the Light Property. The Nick property says "When you make the extra attack of the Light property" which is a wording that is not repeated in the Dual Wielder feat. They could have said there "When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make that attack with a weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property", but they didn't.
I concede defeat on this, mainly because if all dual wielder does is let you use 1 d8 weapon instead of a d6, it is the most useless feat in the world. However, I maintain that the drafting on this stuff is absolutely terrible.
Various looser interpretations at convention tables than anything written here. I think the most liberal at Tier 2 was two shortsword attacks, two rapier attacks, even while using bonus action for Hunter's Mark, possibly with a shield. I guess with such vague wording, the quick interpretation is simply going to be "4 attacks" at level 5, as long as one is with a Light/Nick weapon and mastery and you have the necessary feats.
Stopped playing AD&D in '82, came back to 5e during COVID. Good times.
It's still worded stupidly. Not poorly, stupidly. As written, a fighter wielding a rapier and a dagger must use the rapier as their off hand weapon, not their main weapon.
As written, it doesn't specify which hand. Could even be the same hand, if you obey draw/stow limits.
Stopped playing AD&D in '82, came back to 5e during COVID. Good times.
If you attack with a shortsword, and then with a dagger [nick], both weapons are used during your attack action. To take the bonus action attack you would have to swap to a third weapon and attack. i am looking at just forking over a bonus action attack to my players because weapon juggling is stupid.
To take the bonus action attack you would need the Dual Wielder feat, which gives you a bonus action attack with a different weapon if you attack with a light weapon. Whichever one of your attacks triggers it, the other one is available.
Light+Nick cannot give you more than one additional attack on its own.
Its the fact that Dual Wielder kind of repeats the "off-hand hand attack" rule rather than modifying the existing rule of the Light property that really causes the weirdness.
At first I read this as a simple "If you have the Dual-wielder feat then your off-hand attack (from the Light property) can be any non-Heavy weapon instead of only a Light weapon". Which actually made the Nick master property much simpler: It would mean you make your off-hand attack as part of your action, freeing up your Bonus Action for other stuff (but not another attack).
Now, as others have pointed out, I was wrong. The Nick master property only applies to the extra attack from the Light property. And because the Dual-wielder feat is separate, you do still get that extra extra attack.
But now I've hit another problem: The Two-weapon Fighting style feat! This says "When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, ...". So...does this mean the damage of your ability modifier only applies to the extra attack you make from the Light weapon property and not the extra attack of the Dual Wielder feat? i.e. if you use attack with a Light weapon and then a non-Light weapon thanks to Dual-Wielder then your off-hand attack is due to the Dual-Wielder rule and you wouldn't add your ability modifier to the damage...or....I'm confused again :(
It's easy to be confused, since they wrote it in a way that's technically clear, but only if you're paying a lot of attention to the exact points of wording, which is pretty hard if you're not used to it.
TWF applies to the DW bonus attack. The reason it does is that it doesn't say "when you make the extra attack of the Light property". Instead, it says what you quoted, which is broader. Any extra attack that you get because you used a Light weapon works. If you attacked with a Scimitar of Speed,'s bonus action attack, it applies. (It's not useful, but it applies).
I’m going to break this down directly from the Players Handbook
List of all relevant rules:
Weapon Property: Light:
When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a Light weapon, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn. That extra attack must be made with a different Light weapon, and you don’t add your ability modifier to the extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative. For example, you can attack with a Shortsword in one hand and a Dagger in the other using the Attack action and a Bonus Action, but you don’t add your Strength or Dexterity modifier to the damage roll of the Bonus Action unless that modifier is negative.
Mastery Property: Nick:
When you make the extra attack of the Light property, you can make it as part of the Attack action instead of as a Bonus Action. You can make this extra attack only once per turn.
Fighting Style Feat: Two-Weapon Fighting:
When you make an extra attack as a result of using a weapon that has the Light property, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of that attack if you aren’t already adding it to the damage.
General Feat: Dual Wielder:
Enhanced Dual Wielding: When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with a weapon that has the Light property, you can make one extra attack as a Bonus Action later on the same turn with a different weapon, which must be a melee weapon that lacks the Two-Handed property. You don’t add your ability modifier to extra attack’s damage unless that modifier is negative.
Quick Draw: You can draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
In Practice:
As a level 5 fighter you’ll have access to the following:
Fighting Style at level 1: Two-Weapon Fighting
Weapon Mastery at level 1: Rapiers, Scimitars, and one other
Action Surge at level 2
Feat at level 4: Dual Wielder
Extra attack at level 5
1) The fighter takes the attack action, making two attacks with a scimitar
2) He then makes another attack with a different scimitar from the Light property, as part of the attack from Nick, while adding his ability score to damage due to Two-Weapon Fighting
3) He makes the extra attack of the Dual Wielder feat, using the second scimitar, or a rapier for the extra damage and Vex Property, or any other non-Heavy melee weapon that you want to implement it’s mastery Property
4) He uses Action Surge for the attack action making two attacks with the rapier or other weapon.
6 attacks, 3 from scimitars, 3 from rapier or other
Notice how none of the above properties or abilities (Light, Nick, Two-Weapon Fighting, and Dual Wielding) require any attacks to be made with different hands, only different weapons
Technically all attacks can be made with one hand, while holding a shield in the other
MAXED OUT!!!
Armor Class: 26 (+3 plate +3 shield)
All weapons are Ascendant Dragon’s Wrath Weapons from Fizban’s Treasury of Dragons:
This weapon is decorated with dragon heads, claws, wings, scales, or Draconic letters. When it steeps in a dragon's hoard, it absorbs the energy of the dragon's breath weapon and deals damage of that type with its special properties.
Whenever you roll a 20 on your attack roll with this weapon, each creature of your choice within 5 feet of the target takes 5 damage of the type dealt by the dragon's breath weapon.
You gain a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made using the weapon. On a hit, the weapon deals an extra 3d6damage of the type dealt by the dragon's breath weapon.
As an action, you can unleash a 60-foot cone of destructive energy from the weapon. Each creature in that area must make a DC 18 Dexterity saving throw, taking 12d6 damage of the type dealt by the dragon's breath weapon on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. Once this action is used, it can't be used again until the next dawn.
Damage:
Scimitar attacks: 1d6+8 slashing + 3d6 other (based on dragon type from weapon, fire for red, force for topaz)
Rapier attacks 1d8+8 slashing + 3d6 other
Average damage in a turn: 147
Average damage in a turn for full critical: 247
(Reminder this is only a level 5 character and he already has higher AC than any Creature in D&D and outdamaging nearly all (Aspect of Tiamat’s Multiattack averages 67 damage a turn) with nothing but the help of a few magic items)