Hi I am a DM question about my characters. They use spell Leomond's Tiny Hut. Spellcaster stays in hut. Other spellcasters jump out of hut and they summon fey spirit or shadow spirit then jump back in hut and have summoned monsters do fighting for them why they rest comfortably in hut. Can they do this? Also when summoning spirits shadow etc I have them take attack round to do so but after that they can attack along with summoned creature. Is this right? or do they have to concentrate entire time and not attack when summoning shadow spirit fey spirit etc?
RAW, yeah, they can do that because Tiny Hut is a boring spell for boring players. However, the spell has a full 1 minute (10 rounds) casting time, so it's not like they can cast it during combat. Just don't spawn monsters when they're standing in the hut.
There’s a bunch of technicalities that could be argued. I mean, the spell description doesn’t even indicate if your commands can be heard outside the Hut. Personally though, I rule that spells that require concentration (such as the Conjure and Summon spells) are an ongoing magical effect between caster and target. In other words, conjured entities disappear if there’s a LTH barrier between them and the caster who conjured them, and the caster loses control over summoned ones under that circumstance.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
I would let them do that if they’re able to get the hut created before combat. It takes 10 rounds to cast which is longer than most fights last and summoned creatures tend to be much weaker than the PC who summoned them, meaning after a couple of rounds the summoned creatures will all be dead anyway and the PCs opponents will be busy building traps that will spring as soon as the hut expires.....
I would let them do that if they’re able to get the hut created before combat. It takes 10 rounds to cast which is longer than most fights last and summoned creatures tend to be much weaker than the PC who summoned them, meaning after a couple of rounds the summoned creatures will all be dead anyway and the PCs opponents will be busy building traps that will spring as soon as the hut expires.....
This.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I would let them do that if they’re able to get the hut created before combat. It takes 10 rounds to cast which is longer than most fights last and summoned creatures tend to be much weaker than the PC who summoned them, meaning after a couple of rounds the summoned creatures will all be dead anyway and the PCs opponents will be busy building traps that will spring as soon as the hut expires.....
Hi I am a DM question about my characters. They use spell Leomond's Tiny Hut. Spellcaster stays in hut. Other spellcasters jump out of hut and they summon fey spirit or shadow spirit then jump back in hut and have summoned monsters do fighting for them why they rest comfortably in hut. Can they do this? Also when summoning spirits shadow etc I have them take attack round to do so but after that they can attack along with summoned creature. Is this right? or do they have to concentrate entire time and not attack when summoning shadow spirit fey spirit etc?
Remember, a dragon’s breath weapon is not “magical effect,” and will pass directly through the hut and roast (or freeze, dissolve, whatever) those inside. 😉
I think you will find you are reading the "Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it." a bit incorrectly. IF a spell that requires concentration is cast outside of the walls of the hut, because the spellcaster stepped outside prior to casting it because they can not cast the spell from within to affect those outside, the concentration doesnt just break because they stepped back in. The spell would still continue because that concentration is still there. What that line means is that if someone was to cast a fireball over the area of where the hut is sitting, that fireball is NOT going to touch those inside.
Also those going on about casting it during combat, the spell lasts 8 hours until its dismissed, enemy attack while its up it can be useful.
Remember, a dragon’s breath weapon is not “magical effect,” and will pass directly through the hut and roast (or freeze, dissolve, whatever) those inside. 😉
That is then open to debate with such since the dragon's breath not being part of the spell originally and be pointed as being an object. Yes its natural, but so is rain.
PS: Also, if I was the dragon I would just play the waiting game and not waste the energy breathing over the hut.
And as there have been many post saying this, it has been said by many regarding Crawfords posts they arent official WotC rulings, just marked as official answers because of who he is. I also said this is open to debate.
However I also point to the previous sentence within the spell.
" All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it."
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
I would also apply the same ruling if someone forgot their weapons, and ammo, outside when the dome was put up because of this line.
"Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely."
PS: Do note they also use the word 'presumably' meaning they dont assume it as such. So it goes on DM's call, not official RAW
I would let my PC hide in a hut if they wanted to.
"Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside."
Forest fire, freezing snow, lightning and thunder storm, hurricane, tornado, bottom of the ocean, Elemental plane of Fire, Earth, Water, Air. The hut will protect them. The vacuum of space, the hut will protect them. The crushing acidic atmosphere of Venus, the hut will protect them. Some of those are near or stronger than a dragon's breath.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
And as there have been many post saying this, it has been said by many regarding Crawfords posts they arent official WotC rulings, just marked as official answers because of who he is. I also said this is open to debate.
However I also point to the previous sentence within the spell.
" All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it."
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
I would also apply the same ruling if someone forgot their weapons, and ammo, outside when the dome was put up because of this line.
"Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely."
PS: Do note they also use the word 'presumably' meaning they dont assume it as such. So it goes on DM's call, not official RAW
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
I would let my PC hide in a hut if they wanted to.
"Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside."
Forest fire, freezing snow, lightning and thunder storm, hurricane, tornado, bottom of the ocean, Elemental plane of Fire, Earth, Water, Air. The hut will protect them. The vacuum of space, the hut will protect them. The crushing acidic atmosphere of Venus, the hut will protect them. Some of those are near or stronger than a dragon's breath.
The hut is a dome, not a hemisphere. There is no bottom, it can be tunneled into, and if that’s the case, I’m pretty sure Venus would win.
And as there have been many post saying this, it has been said by many regarding Crawfords posts they arent official WotC rulings, just marked as official answers because of who he is. I also said this is open to debate.
However I also point to the previous sentence within the spell.
" All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it."
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
I would also apply the same ruling if someone forgot their weapons, and ammo, outside when the dome was put up because of this line.
"Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely."
PS: Do note they also use the word 'presumably' meaning they dont assume it as such. So it goes on DM's call, not official RAW
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
It's upto the DM to decide on whether or not such gets in.
In the case of dragon's breath you have to look at such being a natural breath weapon, which is what it is because a dragon is a natural creature. From my PoV as a DM it wouldnt get into the hut due to that as pointed out if it is raining outside, a natural event, then nothing else such as a natural breath weapon is going to get in either.
Of course you were unlucky enough to put putting the hut up and it's appearance happened right at the same Initiate turn as the caster rolled, then honestly, that breath weapon type just became part of what is allowed in, because that is just what sort of DM I am when it comes to such ;). Which yes goes back to if it is raining when its put up, one could argue that it would be also inside, however the line about the inside being cozy would RAW on that part.
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
...
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
A spray of acid is a what now? Suppose I pour out a flask of acid or soak the surface of the dome with hard licquor and light it on fire, would those be natural effects as well, or is it the dragon part that makes them natural? That’d be remarkable, given that the MM explicity says they’re magical and that it’s their ‘innate power’ that fuels their breath weapons.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
...
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
A spray of acid is a what now? Suppose I pour out a flask of acid or soak the surface of the dome with hard licquor and light it on fire, would those be natural effects as well, or is it the dragon part that makes them natural? That’d be remarkable, given that the MM explicity says they’re magical and that it’s their ‘innate power’ that fuels their breath weapons.
Dragon's breath isnt magical. Wizard's covered this point many times in the past. Nor does the MM STATE a dragon's breath is magical.
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
...
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
A spray of acid is a what now? Suppose I pour out a flask of acid or soak the surface of the dome with hard licquor and light it on fire, would those be natural effects as well, or is it the dragon part that makes them natural? That’d be remarkable, given that the MM explicity says they’re magical and that it’s their ‘innate power’ that fuels their breath weapons.
Dragon's breath isnt magical. Wizard's covered this point many times in the past. Nor does the MM STATE a dragon's breath is magical.
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
...
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
A spray of acid is a what now? Suppose I pour out a flask of acid or soak the surface of the dome with hard licquor and light it on fire, would those be natural effects as well, or is it the dragon part that makes them natural? That’d be remarkable, given that the MM explicity says they’re magical and that it’s their ‘innate power’ that fuels their breath weapons.
Dragon's breath isnt magical. Wizard's covered this point many times in the past. Nor does the MM STATE a dragon's breath is magical.
Yes, the “it’s magic, but it’s natural magic, so it doesn’t count as magic” distinction.
Again, where does it state a dragon's breath is magical? Nor does it refer to such as being natural magic.
A black dragon for example exhales acid. Acid is naturally forming. Any creature with a stomach could spray acid at you if they have the ability.
A blue dragon exhales lightning and if you read their description it states their hide hums and crackles. Anyone can cause static electricity by rubbing the right objects together.
Nothing magical about either of those above, those are naturally occurring and not mentioned as being magical.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi I am a DM question about my characters. They use spell Leomond's Tiny Hut. Spellcaster stays in hut. Other spellcasters jump out of hut and they summon fey spirit or shadow spirit then jump back in hut and have summoned monsters do fighting for them why they rest comfortably in hut. Can they do this? Also when summoning spirits shadow etc I have them take attack round to do so but after that they can attack along with summoned creature. Is this right? or do they have to concentrate entire time and not attack when summoning shadow spirit fey spirit etc?
RAW, yeah, they can do that because Tiny Hut is a boring spell for boring players. However, the spell has a full 1 minute (10 rounds) casting time, so it's not like they can cast it during combat. Just don't spawn monsters when they're standing in the hut.
There’s a bunch of technicalities that could be argued. I mean, the spell description doesn’t even indicate if your commands can be heard outside the Hut. Personally though, I rule that spells that require concentration (such as the Conjure and Summon spells) are an ongoing magical effect between caster and target. In other words, conjured entities disappear if there’s a LTH barrier between them and the caster who conjured them, and the caster loses control over summoned ones under that circumstance.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
I would let them do that if they’re able to get the hut created before combat. It takes 10 rounds to cast which is longer than most fights last and summoned creatures tend to be much weaker than the PC who summoned them, meaning after a couple of rounds the summoned creatures will all be dead anyway and the PCs opponents will be busy building traps that will spring as soon as the hut expires.....
Professional computer geek
This.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Which is why rope trick is more useful in combat.
Remember, a dragon’s breath weapon is not “magical effect,” and will pass directly through the hut and roast (or freeze, dissolve, whatever) those inside. 😉
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I think you will find you are reading the "Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it." a bit incorrectly. IF a spell that requires concentration is cast outside of the walls of the hut, because the spellcaster stepped outside prior to casting it because they can not cast the spell from within to affect those outside, the concentration doesnt just break because they stepped back in. The spell would still continue because that concentration is still there. What that line means is that if someone was to cast a fireball over the area of where the hut is sitting, that fireball is NOT going to touch those inside.
Also those going on about casting it during combat, the spell lasts 8 hours until its dismissed, enemy attack while its up it can be useful.
That is then open to debate with such since the dragon's breath not being part of the spell originally and be pointed as being an object. Yes its natural, but so is rain.
PS: Also, if I was the dragon I would just play the waiting game and not waste the energy breathing over the hut.
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2018/01/29/does-the-breath-weapon-go-through-leomunds-tiny-hut/
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
And as there have been many post saying this, it has been said by many regarding Crawfords posts they arent official WotC rulings, just marked as official answers because of who he is. I also said this is open to debate.
However I also point to the previous sentence within the spell.
" All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it."
A dragon's breath weapon is considered an object because its a spray of fire/lightning/acid..
I would also apply the same ruling if someone forgot their weapons, and ammo, outside when the dome was put up because of this line.
"Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely."
PS: Do note they also use the word 'presumably' meaning they dont assume it as such. So it goes on DM's call, not official RAW
I would let my PC hide in a hut if they wanted to.
"Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside."
Forest fire, freezing snow, lightning and thunder storm, hurricane, tornado, bottom of the ocean, Elemental plane of Fire, Earth, Water, Air. The hut will protect them. The vacuum of space, the hut will protect them. The crushing acidic atmosphere of Venus, the hut will protect them. Some of those are near or stronger than a dragon's breath.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Tiny Hut is a great "Go to sleep in safety spell"
It can also be a great "I need a safe place to bring the wounded while he survive the Siege" spell.
It is not and never will be a "Protection while you fight the monsters spell."
Incorrect. It is not an “object” any more than sunlight is an object. It’s just another natural effect.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
The hut is a dome, not a hemisphere. There is no bottom, it can be tunneled into, and if that’s the case, I’m pretty sure Venus would win.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Then I guess the party is getting wet :D
The spell very specifically says inside the hut.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
As I said. It's open to debate.
It's upto the DM to decide on whether or not such gets in.
In the case of dragon's breath you have to look at such being a natural breath weapon, which is what it is because a dragon is a natural creature. From my PoV as a DM it wouldnt get into the hut due to that as pointed out if it is raining outside, a natural event, then nothing else such as a natural breath weapon is going to get in either.
Of course you were unlucky enough to put putting the hut up and it's appearance happened right at the same Initiate turn as the caster rolled, then honestly, that breath weapon type just became part of what is allowed in, because that is just what sort of DM I am when it comes to such ;). Which yes goes back to if it is raining when its put up, one could argue that it would be also inside, however the line about the inside being cozy would RAW on that part.
A spray of acid is a what now? Suppose I pour out a flask of acid or soak the surface of the dome with hard licquor and light it on fire, would those be natural effects as well, or is it the dragon part that makes them natural? That’d be remarkable, given that the MM explicity says they’re magical and that it’s their ‘innate power’ that fuels their breath weapons.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Dragon's breath isnt magical. Wizard's covered this point many times in the past. Nor does the MM STATE a dragon's breath is magical.
https://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/rules-answers-february-2016#:~:text=If you cast antimagic field,field won't help you
Yes, the “it’s magic, but it’s natural magic, so it doesn’t count as magic” distinction.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Again, where does it state a dragon's breath is magical? Nor does it refer to such as being natural magic.
A black dragon for example exhales acid. Acid is naturally forming. Any creature with a stomach could spray acid at you if they have the ability.
A blue dragon exhales lightning and if you read their description it states their hide hums and crackles. Anyone can cause static electricity by rubbing the right objects together.
Nothing magical about either of those above, those are naturally occurring and not mentioned as being magical.