And the last question, if I ready an action to cast fireball on some trigger, at what point is the slot spent: at the time of preparation or during the reaction?
When you ready a spell, the spell slots are used when you ready the action.
So if you decide to do something else with your reaction, or the trigger never occurs for your readied action before your next turn, then the spell slots are still used, and effectively wasted.
I didn't find that in the rules. Therefore, I have to ask: is this your home interpretation of the rules or is there an official confirmation?
It's covered under the last paragraph on the Ready action in the section on actions in combat
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
It's covered under the last paragraph on the Ready action in the section on actions in combat
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Just out of curiosity, I noticed someone a ways back suggested that you couldn't use Action Surge to cast two non-cantrip spells a turn. That's the first I've heard of it. Can anyone explain that one to me?
Just out of curiosity, I noticed someone a ways back suggested that you couldn't use Action Surge to cast two non-cantrip spells a turn. That's the first I've heard of it. Can anyone explain that one to me?
You can use an action surge to cast two levelled (non-cantrip) spells in one turn. Anything that lets you take additional actions (that can be used to cast spells) lets you cast additional levelled spells.
The restriction just comes to bonus action spells:
If you have cast a bonus action spell, for the rest of the turn you can only cast cantrips with casting time of 1 action (this excludes not only levelled actions spells, but all reaction spells)
If you have cast a levelled spell as an action, or any spell as a reaction, you cannot cast a spell as a bonus action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
It must be a cantrip and have a casting time of 1 action. Any reaction spell, even one that's a cantrip (if such spells exist) are not spells of 'casting time 1 action' so they'd be excluded
Critical Role is not the only 5e. It is, however, 5e.
Now, Spell Driver is from the Tal'Dorei Campaign Setting book, which is a third-party unofficial 5e product. Matt's backed off on spell hijinks in his second campaign*, and no feat similar to Spell Driver exists in the Explorer's Guide to Wildemount. That's not to say that Mercer is unwilling to stand by his earlier work (though he has admitted that in retrospect, the TDCG was rushed and sloppy and he wishes he'd done a better job with it)
Interestingly, Spelldriver remains a canon feat for Tal'Dorei, as it's included in the TAL'DOREI REBORN campaign book.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I didn't find that in the rules.
Therefore, I have to ask: is this your home interpretation of the rules or is there an official confirmation?
It's covered under the last paragraph on the Ready action in the section on actions in combat
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thanks very much!
Saying Crit Role isn’t 5e is like saying that none of this is 5e:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/homebrew/subclasses
Now I know, some of it isn’t great, and some is even less great than that. But that don’t make it not 5e. I may not be “official,” but it’s still 5e.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Just out of curiosity, I noticed someone a ways back suggested that you couldn't use Action Surge to cast two non-cantrip spells a turn. That's the first I've heard of it. Can anyone explain that one to me?
You can use an action surge to cast two levelled (non-cantrip) spells in one turn. Anything that lets you take additional actions (that can be used to cast spells) lets you cast additional levelled spells.
The restriction just comes to bonus action spells:
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
From the rules on bonus action spells:
It must be a cantrip and have a casting time of 1 action. Any reaction spell, even one that's a cantrip (if such spells exist) are not spells of 'casting time 1 action' so they'd be excluded
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Dupilcate response.
Disregard.
Interestingly, Spelldriver remains a canon feat for Tal'Dorei, as it's included in the TAL'DOREI REBORN campaign book.