Just curious how you guys see the rules applying to these multiclass scenarios
-The sorlock uses absorb elements, does the next hit with spiritual weapon get the bonus damage?
-Sorlock has warding bond up, can it use absorb elements on damage from the spell?
-Sorlock with gift of the pact of chain + gift of the ever living ones casts mass cure wounds, does everyone effected get max healing?
-Empowered spell on spiritual weapon or hex. Does the spell get to reroll die just for 1 round, or does it get to reroll until # of times = to modifier?
-Empowered spell, Eldritch blast: Does it get to reroll for each bolt of the spell or just 1?
RAW absorb elements applies to the next melee attack, and spiritual weapon says it's a melee spell attack, so it applies. I'm inclined to think of it as a melee spell attack made by the weapon, but as written it doesn't seem to be.
Warding Bond is somewhat incoherently written (because 'the same amount of damage' is not well defined), but most likely yes.
Gift of the Ever Living Ones causes dice to be treated as having rolled their maximum value for you. Healing is normal on all other targets.
Empowered spell triggers 'when you roll damage for a spell', so it only applies to one damage roll (though if a spell applies damage multiple times, you can probably empower them all). Note that hex damage is not damage for the hex spell, it's damage for whatever attack causes you to roll the extra dice, which might or might not be a spell.
My responses in order. Also, these are my rulings of RAW, however you run them at your table is what's best for you and your players. And with that...
No - requires that you make a melee attack to convey elemental damage. Spiritual weapon is a melee spell attack, also a spell effect. Hard to see how you would channel the energy to something that you aren't physicall holding. But then again, it's magic....
No - absorb elements triggering event specifies elemental type damage that you take. Warding bond doesn't specify a damage type (untyped) just that you take half of all damage received.
No - gift of the ever living one's clearly states that it only applies to you (owner of invocation)
Yes, but then misunderstood- empowered spell states "when you roll damage for a spell" doesn't specify when. You would need to spend a sorc point every turn to re-roll damage. The misunderstood bit is the number of times to roll. No idea how this crept in. You can re-roll number of dice = to mod, not re-roll a number of times = to mod.
Yes - depends on level of spell vs spellcasting mod. As long as your spellcasting mod is equal to or greater than the number of damage dice you are re-rolling, all of them. You are casting one spell, with multiple dice. Same would apply for Magic Missile.
All of that to say again, how you do it is up to you and the enjoyment of your players. We are playing games about make believe dragons and elves after all.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
No - requires that you make a melee attack to convey elemental damage. Spiritual weapon is a melee spell attack, also a spell effect. Hard to see how you would channel the energy to something that you aren't physicall holding. But then again, it's magic....
IDK about the logic on this. In what way is a melee spell attack not still a melee attack? Keep in mind that the text does call out for "melee weapon attacks" when they want to be specific.
No - requires that you make a melee attack to convey elemental damage. Spiritual weapon is a melee spell attack, also a spell effect. Hard to see how you would channel the energy to something that you aren't physicall holding. But then again, it's magic....
IDK about the logic on this. In what way is a melee spell attack not still a melee attack? Keep in mind that the text does call out for "melee weapon attacks" when they want to be specific.
I can appreciate that you don't agree with my opinion. I'm not quite clear on the purpose in what appears to be an attempt at proving my opinion incorrect. You asked how others would rule one these scenarios, that's what was provided.
Additionally, you'll note the concession that this is all magic. If you say it works that way, it does. DMs table, DMs rule, no issues.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Spiritual Weapon : "When you cast the spell, you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon."
Absorb Elements: "The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn. Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends."
Warding Bond: "This spell wards a willing creature you touch and creates a mystic connection between you and the target until the spell ends. While the target is within 60 feet of you, it gains a +l bonus to AC and saving throws, and it has resistance to all damage. Also, each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage."
Warding bond is a DM call. The spell states how much damage you take but does not state the type of that damage. Some DMs would rule it is the same type of damage received by the creature targeted by warding bond and others might not since it is not specified.
Just curious how you guys see the rules applying to these multiclass scenarios
-The sorlock uses absorb elements, does the next hit with spiritual weapon get the bonus damage?
Yes. Absorb elements only specifies a melee attack - not a melee weapon or melee spell attack. Spiritual weapon allows the character to make a bonus action melee spell attack and so RAW it should work with absorb elements.
-Sorlock has warding bond up, can it use absorb elements on damage from the spell?
Maybe. This is a DM call. If the DM decides that damage taken through warding bond is of the same type as the damage caused to the target then absorb elements would apply.
The rules on damage types in the PHB state:
"DAMAGE TYPES Different attacks, damaging spells, and other harmful effects deal different types of damage. Damage types have no rules of their own, but other rules, such as damage resistance, rely on the types. The damage types follow, with examples to help a DM assign a damage type to a new effect."
There is no such thing as "untyped" damage in the list. So when damage is done, the DM should decide the type of the damage. If no type is explicitly listed in the effect then the DM should decide what the appropriate type should be. Warding bond doesn't explicitly state the damage type so it is up to the DM to assign one and "untyped" is not an option unless the DM wants to house rule it.
-Sorlock with gift of the pact of chain + gift of the ever living ones casts mass cure wounds, does everyone effected get max healing?
It only takes reading the gift of the every living ones to figure this one out.
"Whenever you regain hit points while your familiar is within 100 feet of you, treat any dice rolled to determine the hit points you regain as having rolled their maximum value for you."
They used so many multiple redundant "you"s in the description that there is no way it could be interpreted as anyone except the caster being affected.
-Empowered spell on spiritual weapon or hex. Does the spell get to reroll die just for 1 round, or does it get to reroll until # of times = to modifier?
"EMPOWERED SPELL When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls"
When you roll damage - you spend 1 sorcery point to re-roll one (or more die up to charisma modifier) for that specific damage roll. If you cast fireball and empower it, you can possibly re-roll several die. If you empower ONE damage roll of hex you only reroll the ONE die rolled for that damage since you MUST use any re-rolled die. Empower works on ONE damage roll of ONE spell at a time. The sorcery point is used to empower the damage roll and not the spell itself.
-Empowered spell, Eldritch blast: Does it get to reroll for each bolt of the spell or just 1?
No. Just one. The damage for each eldritch blast is usually interpreted as a separate damage roll. Empowered works for one damage roll of one spell. On the other hand, if you happened to be casting a level 5+ firebolt, since those dice are all rolled at the same time you could re-roll multiple dice.
No - requires that you make a melee attack to convey elemental damage. Spiritual weapon is a melee spell attack, also a spell effect. Hard to see how you would channel the energy to something that you aren't physicall holding. But then again, it's magic....
IDK about the logic on this. In what way is a melee spell attack not still a melee attack? Keep in mind that the text does call out for "melee weapon attacks" when they want to be specific.
I can appreciate that you don't agree with my opinion. I'm not quite clear on the purpose in what appears to be an attempt at proving my opinion incorrect. You asked how others would rule one these scenarios, that's what was provided.
Additionally, you'll note the concession that this is all magic. If you say it works that way, it does. DMs table, DMs rule, no issues.
The question is based on RAW. Your opinion was based on a misunderstanding of RAW, specifically that a melee spell attack is not a melee attack. I'm not saying you aren't allowed to have your interpretation of RAW, but this one is pretty clear.
5e SRD;
"Melee Attacks
Used in hand-to-hand combat, a melee attack allows you to attack a foe within your reach. A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an axe. A typical monster makes a melee attack when it strikes with its claws, horns, teeth, tentacles, or other body part. A few spells also involve making a melee attack."
Just curious how you guys see the rules applying to these multiclass scenarios
The sorlock uses absorb elements, does the next hit with spiritual weapon get the bonus damage?
Sorlock has warding bond up, can it use absorb elements on damage from the spell?
Sorlock with gift of the pact of chain + gift of the ever living ones casts mass cure wounds, does everyone effected get max healing?
Empowered spell on spiritual weapon or hex. Does the spell get to reroll die just for 1 round, or does it get to reroll until # of times = to modifier?
Empowered spell, Eldritch blast: Does it get to reroll for each bolt of the spell or just 1?
Yes
RAW: Yes; RAI: Pro’ly not sposta.
No, only you.
If you empower Spiritual Weapon when you cast it then it would only work on the first attack made as part of the same bonus action. RAW I don’t believe you can actually Empower Hex like that.^
Just 1 beam.
^👇
Metamagic
At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs. You gain two of the following Metamagic options of your choice. You gain another one at 10th and 17th level.
You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted.
Empowered Spell
When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.
You can use Empowered Spell even if you have already used a different Metamagic option during the casting of the spell.
^ I don’t believe you can Empower Hex at all because you use Metamagic “when you cast” a spell, and you use Empowered Spell “when you roll damage for a spell.” But Hex doesn’t do any damage when you cast it. If you cast Chromatic Orb, the casting, the attack roll, and the damage roll all count as being part and parcel of the same thing. Hex doesn’t work that way at all.
Just curious how you guys see the rules applying to these multiclass scenarios
-The sorlock uses absorb elements, does the next hit with spiritual weapon get the bonus damage?
-Sorlock has warding bond up, can it use absorb elements on damage from the spell?
-Sorlock with gift of the pact of chain + gift of the ever living ones casts mass cure wounds, does everyone effected get max healing?
-Empowered spell on spiritual weapon or hex. Does the spell get to reroll die just for 1 round, or does it get to reroll until # of times = to modifier?
-Empowered spell, Eldritch blast: Does it get to reroll for each bolt of the spell or just 1?
RAW absorb elements applies to the next melee attack, and spiritual weapon says it's a melee spell attack, so it applies. I'm inclined to think of it as a melee spell attack made by the weapon, but as written it doesn't seem to be.
Warding Bond is somewhat incoherently written (because 'the same amount of damage' is not well defined), but most likely yes.
Gift of the Ever Living Ones causes dice to be treated as having rolled their maximum value for you. Healing is normal on all other targets.
Empowered spell triggers 'when you roll damage for a spell', so it only applies to one damage roll (though if a spell applies damage multiple times, you can probably empower them all). Note that hex damage is not damage for the hex spell, it's damage for whatever attack causes you to roll the extra dice, which might or might not be a spell.
My responses in order. Also, these are my rulings of RAW, however you run them at your table is what's best for you and your players. And with that...
No - requires that you make a melee attack to convey elemental damage. Spiritual weapon is a melee spell attack, also a spell effect. Hard to see how you would channel the energy to something that you aren't physicall holding. But then again, it's magic....
No - absorb elements triggering event specifies elemental type damage that you take. Warding bond doesn't specify a damage type (untyped) just that you take half of all damage received.
No - gift of the ever living one's clearly states that it only applies to you (owner of invocation)
Yes, but then misunderstood- empowered spell states "when you roll damage for a spell" doesn't specify when. You would need to spend a sorc point every turn to re-roll damage. The misunderstood bit is the number of times to roll. No idea how this crept in. You can re-roll number of dice = to mod, not re-roll a number of times = to mod.
Yes - depends on level of spell vs spellcasting mod. As long as your spellcasting mod is equal to or greater than the number of damage dice you are re-rolling, all of them. You are casting one spell, with multiple dice. Same would apply for Magic Missile.
All of that to say again, how you do it is up to you and the enjoyment of your players. We are playing games about make believe dragons and elves after all.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
IDK about the logic on this. In what way is a melee spell attack not still a melee attack? Keep in mind that the text does call out for "melee weapon attacks" when they want to be specific.
I can appreciate that you don't agree with my opinion. I'm not quite clear on the purpose in what appears to be an attempt at proving my opinion incorrect. You asked how others would rule one these scenarios, that's what was provided.
Additionally, you'll note the concession that this is all magic. If you say it works that way, it does. DMs table, DMs rule, no issues.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
RAW answers which may differ from others
Spiritual Weapon : "When you cast the spell, you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon."
Absorb Elements: "The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn. Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends."
Warding Bond: "This spell wards a willing creature you touch and creates a mystic connection between you and the target until the spell ends. While the target is within 60 feet of you, it gains a +l bonus to AC and saving throws, and it has resistance to all damage. Also, each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage."
Warding bond is a DM call. The spell states how much damage you take but does not state the type of that damage. Some DMs would rule it is the same type of damage received by the creature targeted by warding bond and others might not since it is not specified.
Yes. Absorb elements only specifies a melee attack - not a melee weapon or melee spell attack. Spiritual weapon allows the character to make a bonus action melee spell attack and so RAW it should work with absorb elements.
Maybe. This is a DM call. If the DM decides that damage taken through warding bond is of the same type as the damage caused to the target then absorb elements would apply.
The rules on damage types in the PHB state:
"DAMAGE TYPES
Different attacks, damaging spells, and other harmful effects deal different types of damage. Damage types have no rules of their own, but other rules, such as damage resistance, rely on the types. The damage types follow, with examples to help a DM assign a damage type to a new effect."
There is no such thing as "untyped" damage in the list. So when damage is done, the DM should decide the type of the damage. If no type is explicitly listed in the effect then the DM should decide what the appropriate type should be. Warding bond doesn't explicitly state the damage type so it is up to the DM to assign one and "untyped" is not an option unless the DM wants to house rule it.
It only takes reading the gift of the every living ones to figure this one out.
"Whenever you regain hit points while your familiar is within 100 feet of you, treat any dice rolled to determine the hit points you regain as having rolled their maximum value for you."
They used so many multiple redundant "you"s in the description that there is no way it could be interpreted as anyone except the caster being affected.
"EMPOWERED SPELL
When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls"
When you roll damage - you spend 1 sorcery point to re-roll one (or more die up to charisma modifier) for that specific damage roll. If you cast fireball and empower it, you can possibly re-roll several die. If you empower ONE damage roll of hex you only reroll the ONE die rolled for that damage since you MUST use any re-rolled die. Empower works on ONE damage roll of ONE spell at a time. The sorcery point is used to empower the damage roll and not the spell itself.
No. Just one. The damage for each eldritch blast is usually interpreted as a separate damage roll. Empowered works for one damage roll of one spell. On the other hand, if you happened to be casting a level 5+ firebolt, since those dice are all rolled at the same time you could re-roll multiple dice.
The question is based on RAW. Your opinion was based on a misunderstanding of RAW, specifically that a melee spell attack is not a melee attack. I'm not saying you aren't allowed to have your interpretation of RAW, but this one is pretty clear.
5e SRD;
"Melee Attacks
Used in hand-to-hand combat, a melee attack allows you to attack a foe within your reach. A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an axe. A typical monster makes a melee attack when it strikes with its claws, horns, teeth, tentacles, or other body part. A few spells also involve making a melee attack."
^👇
Metamagic
At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs. You gain two of the following Metamagic options of your choice. You gain another one at 10th and 17th level.
You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted.
Empowered Spell
When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.
You can use Empowered Spell even if you have already used a different Metamagic option during the casting of the spell.
^ I don’t believe you can Empower Hex at all because you use Metamagic “when you cast” a spell, and you use Empowered Spell “when you roll damage for a spell.” But Hex doesn’t do any damage when you cast it. If you cast Chromatic Orb, the casting, the attack roll, and the damage roll all count as being part and parcel of the same thing. Hex doesn’t work that way at all.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting