(Interesting dilemma. Thorn Vine allows a creature hit with it to be pulled towards the caster. Katerielle is basically saying she wants to cast it and then move - to avoid Attack of Opportunity? - to pull the wolf. You are supposed to be able to move at any time during your action. So simultaneously casting Thorn Vine and moving to max out the 10 feet range of the spell seems like a gray area in the rules. I will allow it here, but if I feel it becomes abused, I may not in some other encounter.)
Katerielle quickly heals Gundren and then casts Thorn Vine, yanking the wolf back 10 feet, as she backs up herself.
The drow triumphantly pulls up a rolled and flattened piece of parchment from underneath King Grol's bedding. She then moves next to Leek and attacks the prone Gundren twice...
Slam Attack: 24 Damage: 8
Slam Attack: 23 Damage: 6
The first hit knocks the disoriented Gundren back into unconsciousness and the second blow scores a serious wound. The Drow hisses, "Take the location to your grave, dwarf." Then the drow runs out of the room.
King Grol howls in rage seeing the Drow escape with the map.
(Hitting an unconscious creature with a melee attack and hitting results in an automatic crit. A crit while unconscious is the same as two death save failures. Gundren is once again 1 death save away from death.)
22 - Katerielle
17 - Rindelk
15 - Drow
14 - Kitryn <--- HERE
11 - Snarl
10 - Leek
10 - Elila
8 - King Grol
3 - Gundren
(Kitryn's turn)
(Leek gets an attack of opportunity against the Drow)
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
Attack of opportunity (do I get advantage for that, seeing as the drow was in melee with a friend?) I'll make both two rolls. You can then decide if I get advantage or not.
Attack 1: Attack: 12 Damage: 6
Attack 2 (ONLY attack. if advantage take best of two. If not, ignore and see attack 1): 6
((OOC: I appreciate the leniency in interpretation on the spell, but I would have understood if you had ruled that since the spell is instantaneous in duration so I could not drag the creature with me. I also would have been fine taking the AoO, and then needing to move, cast, then pull. I have a question about the drows actions though. Dire wolf Leek is a large creature as such should his base not be 10' by 10' taking up four squares, thus blocking either squares (7X, 7W, 8X, 8W) or squares (8x, 8W, 9X, 9W)? As such would not moving through Leek to attack the dwarf should have either been; not able or needing to move through difficult terrain? Also the bugbear, do they have an extra 5' reach or is that just the player racial ones? if it does have reach would it not also get an attack of opportunity? Thanks for your clarification.))
Well, that is an oversight. A Dire Wolf is indeed a large creature. That would have affected all kinds of movement and combat earlier, so I think it's fair to overlook the size up until now. I have changed Leek's size and will take it into consideration from now on.
(If it is an consolation, Leek is 4-5 feet in the air, on a table. So in 3 dimensions, the drow could have slipped underneath Dire Wolf Leek.)
I checked the bugbears, and they don't get an extra 5 foot reach like the playable race does. Instead they get Brute (double weapon damage dice) and Surprise Attack (like the rogue's sneak attack).
But good points! Please point out all discrepancies you find.
Okay. I'm struggling with my character's next action.
HERE are my options:
1. If DIREWOLF Leek noticed the "Look" in the drow's eyes, I will run out (taking the attack of opportunity) and block the drow's path, attacking her at the same time Attack: 9 Damage: 14
2. IF I didn't notice the look in the Drow's eyes, or if the drow does not have the "look" then I will look see if King Grol has it. If he does, I will attack him: Attack: 18 Damage: 9
3. IF King Grol does not have the look, then I will transform back to regular Leek and heal the dwarf. Cure wounds: 8
Please go in order and let me know which action I took.
King Grol has that aura, albeit faint and pervasive among goblinoid kind. The drow on the other hand, has that aura and it is a bonfire to King Grol's candle. You chase after the drow, trying to sink your teeth in her, but Elila does the same and you get in each other's way, making it simple for the drow woman to evade both your attacks.
Elila
Leek
King Grol uses his reaction to opportunity attack 2...
Morningstar Attack: 11 Damage: 9
Then King Grol attacks the lone remaining opponent facing him (Kitryn) before repositioning himself to also chase the drow...
Morningstar Attack: 6 Damage: 14
Gundren makes his death saving throw...1
... but the drow must have applied some kind of poison or hurt him much more badly than anticipated. Gundren dies with a rattling final breath.
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
Katerielle looks at her choices She casts out Thorn Whip at the wolf again, trying to give Kitryn some room to work. Attack 21, Possible Damage 5 and pull it 10 feet towards Katerielle. "Bad Dog!"
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
GM: El has the same init as me. Soooo can I hold my action to go after her? I want to be able to get advantage on the DROW. OR, seeing as we are basically going at the same time, can I just assume, if she does go after the drow, that the drow is engaged when I make my attacks? (I'll roll twice regardless and you can decide).
MOVE UP TO THE DROW, try to block her if I can (get ahead of her)
(Interesting dilemma. Thorn Vine allows a creature hit with it to be pulled towards the caster. Katerielle is basically saying she wants to cast it and then move - to avoid Attack of Opportunity? - to pull the wolf. You are supposed to be able to move at any time during your action. So simultaneously casting Thorn Vine and moving to max out the 10 feet range of the spell seems like a gray area in the rules. I will allow it here, but if I feel it becomes abused, I may not in some other encounter.)
Katerielle quickly heals Gundren and then casts Thorn Vine, yanking the wolf back 10 feet, as she backs up herself.
The drow triumphantly pulls up a rolled and flattened piece of parchment from underneath King Grol's bedding. She then moves next to Leek and attacks the prone Gundren twice...
Slam Attack: 24 Damage: 8
Slam Attack: 23 Damage: 6
The first hit knocks the disoriented Gundren back into unconsciousness and the second blow scores a serious wound. The Drow hisses, "Take the location to your grave, dwarf." Then the drow runs out of the room.
King Grol howls in rage seeing the Drow escape with the map.
(Hitting an unconscious creature with a melee attack and hitting results in an automatic crit. A crit while unconscious is the same as two death save failures. Gundren is once again 1 death save away from death.)
(Kitryn's turn)
(Leek gets an attack of opportunity against the Drow)
Kitryn takes one more attack at King Grol with both of her shortswords.
Main attack 23 for 7
Off hand attack 22 for 1
Sneak Attack 12
Attack of opportunity (do I get advantage for that, seeing as the drow was in melee with a friend?) I'll make both two rolls. You can then decide if I get advantage or not.
Attack 1: Attack: 12 Damage: 6
Attack 2 (ONLY attack. if advantage take best of two. If not, ignore and see attack 1): 6
Well, that solves that problem!
((OOC: I appreciate the leniency in interpretation on the spell, but I would have understood if you had ruled that since the spell is instantaneous in duration so I could not drag the creature with me. I also would have been fine taking the AoO, and then needing to move, cast, then pull. I have a question about the drows actions though. Dire wolf Leek is a large creature as such should his base not be 10' by 10' taking up four squares, thus blocking either squares (7X, 7W, 8X, 8W) or squares (8x, 8W, 9X, 9W)? As such would not moving through Leek to attack the dwarf should have either been; not able or needing to move through difficult terrain? Also the bugbear, do they have an extra 5' reach or is that just the player racial ones? if it does have reach would it not also get an attack of opportunity? Thanks for your clarification.))
Katerielle in Lost mine of Phandelver.
Bhelmek Thuldren in The dark tower of Cabilar.
Iam Unsure in Tower of Heaven.
Well, that is an oversight. A Dire Wolf is indeed a large creature. That would have affected all kinds of movement and combat earlier, so I think it's fair to overlook the size up until now. I have changed Leek's size and will take it into consideration from now on.
(If it is an consolation, Leek is 4-5 feet in the air, on a table. So in 3 dimensions, the drow could have slipped underneath Dire Wolf Leek.)
I checked the bugbears, and they don't get an extra 5 foot reach like the playable race does. Instead they get Brute (double weapon damage dice) and Surprise Attack (like the rogue's sneak attack).
But good points! Please point out all discrepancies you find.
Leek bites at the drow as it leaves the room and rips a chunk of flesh off the shoulder, leaving a trail of oddly colored blood.
Kitryn's scores a devastating blow while the offhand bounces off the morningstar.
Snarl shakes itself free of the vine and moves to attack the creature that is harming his master, Elila...
Bite Attack: 17 Damage: 6
Elila STR saving throw vs, DC 11: 21
... but Snarl's teeth scrape off Elila's armor and Elila bears the weight of the wolf.
Leek and Elila go next.
Elila uses her sword to Riposte against the wolf's bite Attack: 15 Damage: 18
Then gives chase after the drow, accepting Opportunity Attacks "Hey hey! no running away!" and tries to stab him/her in the back.
Attack: 7 Damage: 10
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Is it possible to run out of the room and block the drow's path? Can I disengage and then block then attack? Or does disengage mean I can't attack?
On a turn, you get:
Declaring disengage uses up an action in order to prevent attacks of opportunity during movement.
Okay. I'm struggling with my character's next action.
HERE are my options:
1. If DIREWOLF Leek noticed the "Look" in the drow's eyes, I will run out (taking the attack of opportunity) and block the drow's path, attacking her at the same time Attack: 9 Damage: 14
2. IF I didn't notice the look in the Drow's eyes, or if the drow does not have the "look" then I will look see if King Grol has it. If he does, I will attack him: Attack: 18 Damage: 9
3. IF King Grol does not have the look, then I will transform back to regular Leek and heal the dwarf. Cure wounds: 8
Please go in order and let me know which action I took.
King Grol has that aura, albeit faint and pervasive among goblinoid kind. The drow on the other hand, has that aura and it is a bonfire to King Grol's candle. You chase after the drow, trying to sink your teeth in her, but Elila does the same and you get in each other's way, making it simple for the drow woman to evade both your attacks.
King Grol uses his reaction to opportunity attack 2...
Morningstar Attack: 11 Damage: 9
Then King Grol attacks the lone remaining opponent facing him (Kitryn) before repositioning himself to also chase the drow...
Morningstar Attack: 6 Damage: 14
Gundren makes his death saving throw... 1
... but the drow must have applied some kind of poison or hurt him much more badly than anticipated. Gundren dies with a rattling final breath.
Katerielle's turn.
Katerielle looks at her choices She casts out Thorn Whip at the wolf again, trying to give Kitryn some room to work. Attack 21, Possible Damage 5 and pull it 10 feet towards Katerielle. "Bad Dog!"
Katerielle in Lost mine of Phandelver.
Bhelmek Thuldren in The dark tower of Cabilar.
Iam Unsure in Tower of Heaven.
As Katerielle tries to lash out with the thorn whip, Snarl is wise to it the second time around an the vine fails to get a hold of the wolf.
(Rindelk is doing his own thing.)
The drow, facing a large Dire Wolf and a heavily armed Goliath has no choice but to disengage and choose a better place to fight.
(Kitryn's turn)
Kit tries to finish off King Grol not paying attention to the drow
Main: 14 for 4
Offhand: 6 for 4
Sneak:9
Kitryn just manages to slip past King Grol's defenses with her first attack, but the bugbear recovers quickly and blocks the offhand.
Snarl tries to trip up Kitryn...
Bite Attack: 9 Damage: 7
Kitryn DC 11 STR saving throw: 10
... biting deep into a calf, but Kitryn manages to stay on her feet.
(Leek and Elila's turns)
GM: El has the same init as me. Soooo can I hold my action to go after her? I want to be able to get advantage on the DROW. OR, seeing as we are basically going at the same time, can I just assume, if she does go after the drow, that the drow is engaged when I make my attacks? (I'll roll twice regardless and you can decide).
MOVE UP TO THE DROW, try to block her if I can (get ahead of her)
LEEK DIREWOLF BITE ATTACK: Attack: 18 Damage: 12
IF I GET ADVANTAGE, here is the second attack: 14
HOPE I GET ADVANTAGE!!!!!