RAW it seems pretty clear, it states a weapon or shield, so rolling the D8 would apply. So RAW seens fine but technically both hands are full so it seems against the spirit of the rule? That said it doesn't seem allowing it would overpowered either.
Id be more concerned about Grappling two creatures at the same time. It seems really impractical especially if they are the same size as you, and I probably wouldn't allow that without some extra thing (Like extra appendages via Simic Hybrid or Astral Self monk) But honestly if you have two creatures grappled what is stopping you from knocking their heads together or otherwise trashing them around to deal damage some other way.
They may not be Shields, but they're certainly useful as one! Depending on how successful you are dragging them into the square you prefer, a same size opponent is worth half cover (+2 AC, +2 Dex Saves) against certain angles, and I would think a larger creature should probably be worth three-quarters (+5 AC, +5 Dex Saves). As a yoked halfling, you can* even hide from enemies you aren't grappling entirely, until they sufficiently move around to pick line of site back up to you that doesn't pass through their ally you're hiding behind.
*Are intended to be able to, but given the difference between "half cover" and "total cover" and "lightly obscured" and "heavily obscured", I really can't figure out if half cover always comes with "lightly obscured," or if the halfling's referenced to "obscured" was in reference to total cover's "concealed" or how one would ever get Total Cover from a creature, and.... oof.
As a halfling, grappling two enemies that are larger than you and beside each other is probably enough to both give you a +5 to your AC and let you hide to avoid being targeted at all unless they come all the way around horizontally to you. Being able to do that while also dealing d8 attacks? Nice. Grapplers are underrated, with all the new toys they have.
RAW it seems pretty clear, it states a weapon or shield, so rolling the D8 would apply. So RAW seens fine but technically both hands are full so it seems against the spirit of the rule? That said it doesn't seem allowing it would overpowered either.
I suppose you could be grappling two people and headbutt of kick one of them.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Id be more concerned about Grappling two creatures at the same time. It seems really impractical especially if they are the same size as you, and I probably wouldn't allow that without some extra thing (Like extra appendages via Simic Hybrid or Astral Self monk) But honestly if you have two creatures grappled what is stopping you from knocking their heads together or otherwise trashing them around to deal damage some other way.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
RAW seems pretty clear, yup.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Works raw.
Being able to grapple two creatures at the same time with a hand each is also raw...it’s just rarely useful to do so.
loxodon could grapple 3 creatures.
Simic hybrid could grapple 4 creatures.
Yeah, poor chumps are neither weapons nor shields, so you still do d8.
They may not be Shields, but they're certainly useful as one! Depending on how successful you are dragging them into the square you prefer, a same size opponent is worth half cover (+2 AC, +2 Dex Saves) against certain angles, and I would think a larger creature should probably be worth three-quarters (+5 AC, +5 Dex Saves). As a yoked halfling, you can* even hide from enemies you aren't grappling entirely, until they sufficiently move around to pick line of site back up to you that doesn't pass through their ally you're hiding behind.
*Are intended to be able to, but given the difference between "half cover" and "total cover" and "lightly obscured" and "heavily obscured", I really can't figure out if half cover always comes with "lightly obscured," or if the halfling's referenced to "obscured" was in reference to total cover's "concealed" or how one would ever get Total Cover from a creature, and.... oof.
As a halfling, grappling two enemies that are larger than you and beside each other is probably enough to both give you a +5 to your AC and let you hide to avoid being targeted at all unless they come all the way around horizontally to you. Being able to do that while also dealing d8 attacks? Nice. Grapplers are underrated, with all the new toys they have.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.