Is that a thing people actually do, or is this some weird thought experiment? The usual choices are grid or Theater of the Mind, where movement is mostly just "I go towards them. Am I close enough to use (names attack option)?"
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Is that a thing people actually do, or is this some weird thought experiment? The usual choices are grid or Theater of the Mind, where movement is mostly just "I go towards them. Am I close enough to use (names attack option)?"
I've played games where the DM tried a foot by foot approach, didn't last long. Can it be done, sure. Takes a ton of work, and quite some homebrewing to run, but it's possible.
It also shows it's hard to mix and match the various types of style of play. Theater of the Mind requires one to personally keep track of and be aware of distances, and so you can easily get somewhere and do things.
Grids help with pin-pointing an area, and helps with keeping track of movement, but starts the process of tactically picking rules apart to exploit various features.
Grids are good for combat, TotM is better for the story of the Heroes.
Based on your interpretation, you would need 15' of movement to teleport if prone, 5' of movement to teleport normally and could not teleport at all if grappled or otherwise immobilized.
While prone, you must spend movement speed to stand up. Otherwise, to move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation, which normally never use your speed.
So you can only arrive within 5' of the outer edge? You are teleporting. You are not coming from 'outside the sphere' in any conventional sense.
"magic such as teleportation, which normally never use your speed" and yet you are insisting that when teleporting into spike growth, it uses 5' of movement. Which it doesn't really use but apparently counts anyway?
I think we have functionally reached the end of this debate.
Almost everyone still contributing agrees that teleporting is a kind of moving, as the text in the books confirms. We (almost) all agree that teleporting into an area will trigger a "enter the area" or "move into the area" effect, just as falling or being pushed into the area would, and this has been backed up by text extracts and RAI tweets. We also know that edge cases like the "willingly moves 5 feet or more" from Booming Blade is confirmed to not trigger on teleporting as RAI from tweets - and I would add Feline Agility to that exemption too.
Now we are down to a final edge case: Spike Growth and its "moves into or within the area... for every 5 feet it travels". This is a combo of three different edge cases; moves into, moves within, 5ft. I think we can agree to disagree on our personal rulings for this one (and I suspect not any one of us in all our years of gaming can think of a time anyone willingly teleported into the spikes). Either the moving of teleporting in triggers the minimum damage, or the not having walked 5ft avoids the damage. The distinction is so minor, and the applicability of the ruling so rare that there is no value in our continuing to argue with "based on your interpretation that would mean X" arguments - because we are down to literally debating only this spell so anyone's interpretation literally only affects this spell which is worded uniquely.
Anyone who has read this far has been given every single scrap of written evidence in all directions. They are now equipped to make their own decision on Spiked Teleportation. Let 28 pages be the end of it.
We also know that edge cases like the "willingly moves 5 feet or more" from Booming Blade is confirmed to not trigger on teleporting as RAI from tweets - and I would add Feline Agility to that exemption too.
A Booming Blade exemption for Feline Agility, which simply doubles your speed for a turn, makes absolutely no sense. Were you thinking of a different race/class feature?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
We also know that edge cases like the "willingly moves 5 feet or more" from Booming Blade is confirmed to not trigger on teleporting as RAI from tweets - and I would add Feline Agility to that exemption too.
A Booming Blade exemption for Feline Agility, which simply doubles your speed for a turn, makes absolutely no sense. Were you thinking of a different race/class feature?
No, I'm referring to the recharging of that ability which requires that you "move 0 feet on one of your turns". I would personally allow you to teleport (but not walk at all) and still charge up your Feline Agility feature for use the next turn, under the same reasoning used to exempt teleporting from triggering Booming Blade.
I'm saying teleporting is exempt from the Feline Agility recharge trigger, not that Feline Agility interacts in any way with Booming Blade.
No, I'm referring to the recharging of that ability which requires that you "move 0 feet on one of your turns". I would personally allow you to teleport (but not walk at all) and still charge up your Feline Agility feature for use the next turn, under the same reasoning used to exempt teleporting from triggering Booming Blade.
Ah, I see. Yes, they should be ruled the same way, regardless of which way you choose to rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Based on your interpretation, you would need 15' of movement to teleport if prone, 5' of movement to teleport normally and could not teleport at all if grappled or otherwise immobilized.
While prone, you must spend movement speed to stand up. Otherwise, to move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation, which normally never use your speed.
From outside the area. The area is a 20' sphere. So you can only arrive within 5' of the outer edge? You are teleporting. You are not coming from 'outside the sphere' in any conventional sense.
"magic such as teleportation, which normally never use your speed" and yet you are insisting that when teleporting into spike growth, it uses 5' of movement. Which it doesn't really use but apparently counts anyway?
Moving anywhere inside the area from outside it count as moving into it, regardless of were you were outside, and where you enter inside.
I'm not insisting it uses 5 feet of movement, Teleport doesn't use movement speed. I'm saying with such travel it moves into a 5 feet space / square and for every one of these moved into, the spell inflict 2d4 damage. If you don't travel into one such space, you don't move into it. And if you do, you take the damage for doing so.
If nothing else, your volume as a character does not suddenly expand to a 5' cube. That is 125 cu. ft. The volume of a typical human is approx 1.75 cu. ft., a much smaller portion of that 5' cube than you seem to be envisioning.
No one says a medium creature was 5 feet cube it's not but it does control a space that wide in play. In reality you can fit quite many humans in a 5 feet x 5 feet area. But the rules says only one can occupy it (not just moving through). Trying to claim that a medium creature is not 5 feet cube while occupying a space that large to avoid having it being affected by effect upon moving or entering in such space is not only not RAW, it runs contrary to how the game plays in general.
If nothing else, your volume as a character does not suddenly expand to a 5' cube. That is 125 cu. ft. The volume of a typical human is approx 1.75 cu. ft., a much smaller portion of that 5' cube than you seem to be envisioning.
No one says a medium creature was 5 feet cube it's not but it does control a space that wide in play. In reality you can fit quite many humans in a 5 feet x 5 feet area. But the rules says only one can occupy it (not just moving through). Trying to claim that a medium creature is not 5 feet cube while occupying a space that large to avoid having it being affected by effect upon moving or entering in such space is not only not RAW, it runs contrary to how the game plays in general.
But that's the thing. It takes no damage just standing in that area 'controlling it.' Doing so does not count as movement, 5' or otherwise, short of being subject to the Paralyzed condition. You can dance around in that space as much as you want without being affected by the vines.
Not sure how one would interpret the spell differently.
If a player told me their character was spending their turn dancing around in Spike Growth I would 100 percent deal damage to them.
EDIT: Or at the very least, force them to make some sort of high DC skill check to avoid it.
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Standing no, but moving into it yes, which you do when teleporting. Appearing in a space/square while teleporting count as moving, not simply standing.
the way the spell is written gives me pause about triggering damage via teleportation:
"When a creature moves into or within the area, it takes 2d4 piercing damage for every 5 feet it travels."
The way this is written, the damage is not triggering on entering (moves into) or moving within, at least not specifically. That only starts the travel "clock" upon which damage is based. There is no specific damage tied to entering the effect, only to 5 feet of movement in the area. All damage is based on cumulative movement. So teleporting in would start the clock upon arrival, but the move associated with teleporting, because it doesn't pass through the area, would not count as area traveled. Basically, if you Misty Stepped 30' from point A outside the Area to Point B, you have entered the area (travel "clock" starts), but have only travelled 0 feet in the actual area of effect, so no damage has been dealt yet. The same is true if you start and end in the area; you have moved within the area for sure, but you have only traveled 0 feet in the actual area of effect. (ie through the spikes)
If everyone were to agree that "teleporting into an area" will generally count as "moving into an area" - then the debate is over.
But you see, that is the biggest distinction I am making. If you move into an area of spike growth, you take damage. If you simply appear in it by teleportation, do you? Someone does not take damage when it appears. Someone does not take damage merely from standing stationary in it. Only from moving in or moving within it.
But with teleport, you are not actually moving through the spikey vines on entering. You simply appear in their midst, just as if it had formed around you.
I am not going to go through every spell or effect case by case. That specific example should be enough to explain my objection to the term 'move' in that context.
I can certainly see arguments for/against for this particular spell. While I'm in the "you enter when you teleport" camp, the specifics of Spike Growthmight warrant a different ruling for that spell.
Personally, I read Spike Growth as magical thorns that actively cut at you if you move through them. When it's cast around you, they don't form in a way that they touch you right away, but you'll get cut if you start moving. But when you teleport in, you have to displace some of them just because you need to take up space there, and they react. However, this could lead to someone arguing that no one is completely still, and so just fighting without changing location should trigger the spikes.
So, I can see the other argument,, (that when you appear, they don't react sufficiently to your arrival, only reacting when you shove through them).
From my perspective, this then comes down to a purely game-design decision. Just as pushing someone through most hazardous terrain only does damage once per turn (so you can't bounce someone back and forth through a wall of fire), I'd go with the simplest most consistent interpretation. Which, for me, is to treat Spike Growth like other spells that care about "entering" the area, and the plain interpretation of what "entering an area" means. (which, btw, is that teleporting in counts as entering).
(Edit: I also notice on closer reading that spike growth actually says "moves into or through", which is different than the more common "enters the area" and might be a good reason to distinguish between it and other spells that use the different wording. YMMV there. It could well be used to justify a more narrow restriction for Spike Growth).
If nothing else, your volume as a character does not suddenly expand to a 5' cube. That is 125 cu. ft. The volume of a typical human is approx 1.75 cu. ft., a much smaller portion of that 5' cube than you seem to be envisioning.
No one says a medium creature was 5 feet cube it's not but it does control a space that wide in play. In reality you can fit quite many humans in a 5 feet x 5 feet area. But the rules says only one can occupy it (not just moving through). Trying to claim that a medium creature is not 5 feet cube while occupying a space that large to avoid having it being affected by effect upon moving or entering in such space is not only not RAW, it runs contrary to how the game plays in general.
But that's the thing. It takes no damage just standing in that area 'controlling it.' Doing so does not count as movement, 5' or otherwise, short of being subject to the Paralyzed condition. You can dance around in that space as much as you want without being affected by the vines.
Not sure how one would interpret the spell differently.
If a player told me their character was spending their turn dancing around in Spike Growth I would 100 percent deal damage to them.
EDIT: Or at the very least, force them to make some sort of high DC skill check to avoid it.
In place? So presumably you damage them for any attempt to cast, or fight, or even just make any dex save they might need? You are massively upping the power of the spell.
Presume whatever the heck you want, my dude. You were the one who specifically had the player dancing about their 5' square.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
One must move 5 feet (or 1 square) to enter it an area of spike growth. Moving any number of feet below 5 (or 1 square) doesn't make you enter the area at all.
In square analogy, that's why it says you must have enought movement speed/square to enter it. Moving into 1 square of a spiked growth while walking or teleporting inflict 2d4 damage.
In short, not moving into area = no damage, moving into area = 2d4 damage / square.
One must move 5 feet (or 1 square) to enter it an area of spike growth. Moving any number of feet below 5 (or 1 square) doesn't make you enter the area at all.
In square analogy, that's why it says you must have enought movement speed/square to enter it. Moving into 1 square of a spiked growth while walking or teleporting inflict 2d4 damage.
In short, not moving into area = no damage, moving into area = 2d4 damage / square.
So how do you teleport while grappled? Wherever you land, you are ruling counts as moving 5'. Wherever you land, you are entering that 5' space. You cannot move even 5' while grappled.
Again, you are being completely arbitrary.
You can move while grappled, just as you can move while restrained. Neither condition bans movement.
So how do you teleport while grappled? Wherever you land, you are ruling counts as moving 5'. Wherever you land, you are entering that 5' space. You cannot move even 5' while grappled.
A grappled creature’s speed becomes 0, which teleportation doesn't rely on to even move.
You can still move while your speed is 0, especially if it doesn't rely on it to move but on things like magic, falling, forced movement etc
But that 5' movement you are insisting on is physical movement additional to or inclusive in the teleportation movement. Despite the fact you normally land stationary and no such end move is described anywhere.
'For every 5 feet it travel' is not speed movement but distance unit measurement. Falling and forced movement that doesn't rely on speed movement also get damage for exemple. Like i said, replace it with square and it will be even more evident.
The suggestion that teleporting, say 30 feet, into the spell’s area should do 2d4 x 6 damage is ridiculous, quite frankly. I think 28 pages has caused people to fall too deep into the detail of RAW and away from the safety of logic. If I were to teleport into a load of spikes, why would it hurt me more if I teleported in from 30 feet away than if I teleported in from a foot away? Come on.
As far as what I have used in my games, teleporting into an area counts as entering it, unless the only area warded is the perimeter. For example, use the Alarm spell. Alarm wards a 20-foot cube of space, triggering the spell's response if a creature enters it. It wards the entire 20 foot cube of square feet, meaning that if you are found inside the cube, even through means of a Misty Step or Teleport spell, the Alarm spell triggers.
Now, let's say that Alarm only wards the very outside of the 20-foot cube. In that case, if you vanish and reappear on the other side, the Alarm wound NOT trigger, since you never technically crossed the threshold, you appeared beyond it. This is the same reason why you don't activate every warded area in you path if you were to cast Teleport and travel a vast distance.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Is that a thing people actually do, or is this some weird thought experiment? The usual choices are grid or Theater of the Mind, where movement is mostly just "I go towards them. Am I close enough to use (names attack option)?"
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I've played games where the DM tried a foot by foot approach, didn't last long. Can it be done, sure. Takes a ton of work, and quite some homebrewing to run, but it's possible.
It also shows it's hard to mix and match the various types of style of play. Theater of the Mind requires one to personally keep track of and be aware of distances, and so you can easily get somewhere and do things.
Grids help with pin-pointing an area, and helps with keeping track of movement, but starts the process of tactically picking rules apart to exploit various features.
Grids are good for combat, TotM is better for the story of the Heroes.
I think we have functionally reached the end of this debate.
Almost everyone still contributing agrees that teleporting is a kind of moving, as the text in the books confirms. We (almost) all agree that teleporting into an area will trigger a "enter the area" or "move into the area" effect, just as falling or being pushed into the area would, and this has been backed up by text extracts and RAI tweets. We also know that edge cases like the "willingly moves 5 feet or more" from Booming Blade is confirmed to not trigger on teleporting as RAI from tweets - and I would add Feline Agility to that exemption too.
Now we are down to a final edge case: Spike Growth and its "moves into or within the area... for every 5 feet it travels". This is a combo of three different edge cases; moves into, moves within, 5ft. I think we can agree to disagree on our personal rulings for this one (and I suspect not any one of us in all our years of gaming can think of a time anyone willingly teleported into the spikes). Either the moving of teleporting in triggers the minimum damage, or the not having walked 5ft avoids the damage. The distinction is so minor, and the applicability of the ruling so rare that there is no value in our continuing to argue with "based on your interpretation that would mean X" arguments - because we are down to literally debating only this spell so anyone's interpretation literally only affects this spell which is worded uniquely.
Anyone who has read this far has been given every single scrap of written evidence in all directions. They are now equipped to make their own decision on Spiked Teleportation. Let 28 pages be the end of it.
A Booming Blade exemption for Feline Agility, which simply doubles your speed for a turn, makes absolutely no sense. Were you thinking of a different race/class feature?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
No, I'm referring to the recharging of that ability which requires that you "move 0 feet on one of your turns". I would personally allow you to teleport (but not walk at all) and still charge up your Feline Agility feature for use the next turn, under the same reasoning used to exempt teleporting from triggering Booming Blade.
I'm saying teleporting is exempt from the Feline Agility recharge trigger, not that Feline Agility interacts in any way with Booming Blade.
Ah, I see. Yes, they should be ruled the same way, regardless of which way you choose to rule.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Moving anywhere inside the area from outside it count as moving into it, regardless of were you were outside, and where you enter inside.
I'm not insisting it uses 5 feet of movement, Teleport doesn't use movement speed. I'm saying with such travel it moves into a 5 feet space / square and for every one of these moved into, the spell inflict 2d4 damage. If you don't travel into one such space, you don't move into it. And if you do, you take the damage for doing so.
No one says a medium creature was 5 feet cube it's not but it does control a space that wide in play. In reality you can fit quite many humans in a 5 feet x 5 feet area. But the rules says only one can occupy it (not just moving through). Trying to claim that a medium creature is not 5 feet cube while occupying a space that large to avoid having it being affected by effect upon moving or entering in such space is not only not RAW, it runs contrary to how the game plays in general.
If a player told me their character was spending their turn dancing around in Spike Growth I would 100 percent deal damage to them.
EDIT: Or at the very least, force them to make some sort of high DC skill check to avoid it.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Standing no, but moving into it yes, which you do when teleporting. Appearing in a space/square while teleporting count as moving, not simply standing.
the way the spell is written gives me pause about triggering damage via teleportation:
"When a creature moves into or within the area, it takes 2d4 piercing damage for every 5 feet it travels."
The way this is written, the damage is not triggering on entering (moves into) or moving within, at least not specifically. That only starts the travel "clock" upon which damage is based. There is no specific damage tied to entering the effect, only to 5 feet of movement in the area. All damage is based on cumulative movement. So teleporting in would start the clock upon arrival, but the move associated with teleporting, because it doesn't pass through the area, would not count as area traveled. Basically, if you Misty Stepped 30' from point A outside the Area to Point B, you have entered the area (travel "clock" starts), but have only travelled 0 feet in the actual area of effect, so no damage has been dealt yet. The same is true if you start and end in the area; you have moved within the area for sure, but you have only traveled 0 feet in the actual area of effect. (ie through the spikes)
I can certainly see arguments for/against for this particular spell. While I'm in the "you enter when you teleport" camp, the specifics of Spike Growth might warrant a different ruling for that spell.
Personally, I read Spike Growth as magical thorns that actively cut at you if you move through them. When it's cast around you, they don't form in a way that they touch you right away, but you'll get cut if you start moving. But when you teleport in, you have to displace some of them just because you need to take up space there, and they react. However, this could lead to someone arguing that no one is completely still, and so just fighting without changing location should trigger the spikes.
So, I can see the other argument,, (that when you appear, they don't react sufficiently to your arrival, only reacting when you shove through them).
From my perspective, this then comes down to a purely game-design decision. Just as pushing someone through most hazardous terrain only does damage once per turn (so you can't bounce someone back and forth through a wall of fire), I'd go with the simplest most consistent interpretation. Which, for me, is to treat Spike Growth like other spells that care about "entering" the area, and the plain interpretation of what "entering an area" means. (which, btw, is that teleporting in counts as entering).
(Edit: I also notice on closer reading that spike growth actually says "moves into or through", which is different than the more common "enters the area" and might be a good reason to distinguish between it and other spells that use the different wording. YMMV there. It could well be used to justify a more narrow restriction for Spike Growth).
Presume whatever the heck you want, my dude. You were the one who specifically had the player dancing about their 5' square.
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
One must move 5 feet (or 1 square) to enter it an area of spike growth. Moving any number of feet below 5 (or 1 square) doesn't make you enter the area at all.
In square analogy, that's why it says you must have enought movement speed/square to enter it. Moving into 1 square of a spiked growth while walking or teleporting inflict 2d4 damage.
In short, not moving into area = no damage, moving into area = 2d4 damage / square.
You can move while grappled, just as you can move while restrained. Neither condition bans movement.
A grappled creature’s speed becomes 0, which teleportation doesn't rely on to even move.
You can still move while your speed is 0, especially if it doesn't rely on it to move but on things like magic, falling, forced movement etc
If you move without relying on your speed, you do even if your speed is 0. The Dev have clarified this before https://www.sageadvice.eu/what-happens-if-a-grappled-creature-teleports/
@Mattwilljackson What happens if a grappled creature (or the initiator) teleports? (Benign Transposition, Shadow Step, other?)
@JeremyECrawford Being grappled ends "if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler" (PH, 290). #DnD
'For every 5 feet it travel' is not speed movement but distance unit measurement. Falling and forced movement that doesn't rely on speed movement also get damage for exemple. Like i said, replace it with square and it will be even more evident.
The suggestion that teleporting, say 30 feet, into the spell’s area should do 2d4 x 6 damage is ridiculous, quite frankly. I think 28 pages has caused people to fall too deep into the detail of RAW and away from the safety of logic. If I were to teleport into a load of spikes, why would it hurt me more if I teleported in from 30 feet away than if I teleported in from a foot away? Come on.
As far as what I have used in my games, teleporting into an area counts as entering it, unless the only area warded is the perimeter. For example, use the Alarm spell. Alarm wards a 20-foot cube of space, triggering the spell's response if a creature enters it. It wards the entire 20 foot cube of square feet, meaning that if you are found inside the cube, even through means of a Misty Step or Teleport spell, the Alarm spell triggers.
Now, let's say that Alarm only wards the very outside of the 20-foot cube. In that case, if you vanish and reappear on the other side, the Alarm wound NOT trigger, since you never technically crossed the threshold, you appeared beyond it. This is the same reason why you don't activate every warded area in you path if you were to cast Teleport and travel a vast distance.