How does Antimagic Field affect some spells; specifically spells that don't explicitly travel through the field?
Scenario: Antimagic Field exists. Player 1 is outside the field on the north side of the field by 5 ft. Player 2 is outside the field on the south side of the field by 5 ft. Player 1 casts Healing Word on Player 2. Does Player 2 get healed?
The cast does not originate from inside the Antimagic Field. The cast is not on a target within the Antimagic Field. The only (possible) problem, is that the field is between the two players.
Healing Word effect is as follows:
A creature of your choice that you can see within range regains hit points equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier. This spell has no effect on undead or constructs.
Antimagic Field effect is as follows:
A 10-foot-radius invisible sphere of antimagic surrounds you. This area is divorced from the magical energy that suffuses the multiverse. Within the sphere, spells can't be cast, summoned creatures disappear, and even magic items become mundane. Until the spell ends, the sphere moves with you, centered on you.
Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it. A slot expended to cast a suppressed spell is consumed. While an effect is suppressed, it doesn't function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration.
Targeted Effects. Spells and other magical effects, such as magic missile and charm person, that target a creature or an object in the sphere have no effect on that target.
Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can't extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough.
Spells. Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it.
Magic Items. The properties and powers of magic items are suppressed in the sphere. For example, a longsword, +1 in the sphere functions as a nonmagical longsword.
A magic weapon's properties and powers are suppressed if it is used against a target in the sphere or wielded by an attacker in the sphere. If a magic weapon or a piece of magic ammunition fully leaves the sphere (for example, if you fire a magic arrow or throw a magic spear at a target outside the sphere), the magic of the item ceases to be suppressed as soon as it exits.
Magical Travel. Teleportation and planar travel fail to work in the sphere, whether the sphere is the destination or the departure point for such magical travel. A portal to another location, world, or plane of existence, as well as an opening to an extradimensional space such as that created by the rope trick spell, temporarily closes while in the sphere.
Creatures and Objects. A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere.
Dispel Magic. Spells and magical effects such as dispel magic have no effect on the sphere. Likewise, the spheres created by different antimagic field spells don't nullify each other.
Scenario: Antimagic Field exists. Player 1 is outside the field on the north side of the field by 5 ft. Player 2 is outside the field on the south side of the field by 5 ft. Player 1 casts Healing Word on Player 2. Does Player 2 get healed?
Yes.
Here's another easy one: the same Healing Word would be blocked by a 0.5mm thick pane of glass.
Here's one that sounds easy, but the last time it came up we had a very long thread of argument about it due largely to people not understanding the 5E definition of cover, owing to the definition being poorly written with pieces missing: the same Healing Word would be blocked by Wall of Force.
The target needs to be seen and not behind total cover, but that doesn't mean the spell travels in a straight line. You just need a "clear path". If I was in a garden with a fountain and wanted to go meet a person I could see that was on the other side of said fountain, if I walked round to the other side I still took a clear path , it just wasn't a straight one. A clear path is any path that is not blocked by total cover.
Think of it like a rope you move as you need with a length equal to the spell's range. If there is a way for you to hold one end of the rope and for the other to touch the target (that you can see, if the spell requires it) then fantastic. The spell be cast. Otherwise, the spell won't work or even cast (so at least there's no wasted spell slots).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
While it may seem that logically seem that it should act as a shield, that's not necessarily the case. If you note in all the descriptions that you gave, it only ever referenced targets and sources within the field as having the effects cancelled. As such, I'd say that RAW, the spell would still work.
In terms of a DM ruling, I'd say that it depends on your lore on how magic works. It could be that AMFs just cancel the surface effects, so the magic (or the signal that provokes the magic, whatever) that comes from the caster travels "under" the surface and therefore unaffected by the AMF - so long as it doesn't surface to cause the effect on the target within the AMF. Alternatively, you could say that the AMF blocks anything everything related to magic, even "under" the surface stuff, so it would block that spell regardless - but this doesn't seem to be indicated by RAW, and therefore isn't RAW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
"Line" requires nothing between you. 100% Cover blocks it, such as Antimagic, glass, or stone. You cannot Lighting Bolt someone that is not in Line of Sight. Antimagic field would block Line of Sight, stopping a Lightning bolt.
You can see just means you can see them. 100% cover does NOT block it, as long as you can see them - through glass, a mirror, some form of a scrying spell, or even via a familiar (if you can cast the spell via a Bonus Action.) Antimagic field and glass does not block you from seeing them, though stone could.
In range just means in range. Cover has nothing to do with this at all. Anti-magic, glass, or even a stone will not block it. You can Dimension Door to anywhere in range, even if you cannot see it, there is anti-magic in between or solid stone. It takes specific spells to block Teleportation.
"Line" requires nothing between you. 100% Cover blocks it, such as Antimagic, glass, or stone. You cannot Lighting Bolt someone that is not in Line of Sight. Antimagic field would block Line of Sight, stopping a Lightning bolt.
You can see just means you can see them. 100% cover does NOT block it, as long as you can see them - through glass, a mirror, some form of a scrying spell, or even via a familiar (if you can cast the spell via a Bonus Action.) Antimagic field and glass does not block you from seeing them, though stone could.
In range just means in range. Cover has nothing to do with this at all. Anti-magic, glass, or even a stone will not block it. You can Dimension Door to anywhere in range, even if you cannot see it, there is anti-magic in between or solid stone. It takes specific spells to block Teleportation.
This is all false.
Not all spells require sight, but still follow targeting rules. There is no "line of sight" as a rule.
"A Clear Path to the Target
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover.
If you place an area of effect at a point that you can’t see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction."
A clear path. Not line of sight. Very different things. There is no mention in "targeting" that you must have line of sight. The targeting is "clear path", which need not be a straight line. As a general rule, spells don't require sight at all unless the spell says so.
Since a spell doesn't need a straight path, just a clear one, if there is a way to get from you to the target without passing through the Field, the spell will work. If all paths are blocked by total cover or the Field, then sure, the spell can't target and therefore cannot be cast. But if there is a path that isn't blocked, such as going around the Field instead of through it, then, yes, the spell will work.
Antimagic Field does not act as total cover. Spells cannot protrude through the field, but neither creature in or behind it are considered to have total cover - a specific game term. There is no such wording in the spell's description.
Why does teleport work through total cover, then?
Depends on the spell but in most cases, it doesn't. For example, Misty Step is a range of "Self" and Teleport has a range of 10 ft. These spells have the "target" be the creatures being teleported. Your destination is a choice you make but is not considered the target of the spell. For example with Teleport if you and a person were within 10 ft of each other with a clear path between you, then you can teleport with them. But, if there was a solid wall 20x20 wall between you? Nope. If one of you was in the AoE of an Antimagic Field, then also nope. So "a clear path" functions the same.
What about Dimension Door?
Ah, a more unusual case. The wording of the spell , "You teleport yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You arrive at exactly the spot desired. It can be a place you can see, one you can visualize", is intended to let you bypass total cover/clear path requirements, as clarified by Jeremy Crawford. Specific beats general.
But does Antimagic Field block Lightning bolt?
Yes and no. It protects from it, but does not block it. Blocking implies it reaches the field then stops. It doesn't. Because of the spell's targeting being an Area of Effect, a "Line". The spell creates the line coming from your space, filling a line that is 5 ft wide and 100 ft long. The Antimagic Field doesn't "block" this, but rather, where the spell would overlap with the Field it would be suppressed in that overlap only.
"Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can't extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough."
So, basically the line of lightning stops at the overlap and continues where overlap ends.
Imagine these dashes like a lightning bolt.
- - - - - - - - - - -
Now imagine the area, a 20 ft in the middle somewhere. The line would be like this.
- - - ( ) - - - - - -
Anything within the ( ) is safe and sound. Anything else within the Lightning Bolt's AoE is not.
This is because the Field does not "BLOCK" spells. It creates an area of suppression and prevents spells protruding into the spell.
It's quirky, but this is how the spells works with AoE targeting, by RAW, and was deliberately designed this way.
Can I target through a window, I can see them and they're in range...
Not unless the spell, like Dimension Door, has a way to negate the need of a clear path, which most don't. The phrase "you can see" doesn't suffice to negate this. Cover and visibility are different things. Glass still provides Total Cover, even though you can see the target. This was also specifically clarified by Jeremy Crawford.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Great question, I agree with Cyb3rM1nd. I was going to describe the lightning bolt line thing, but you did a much better job.
Within the scope of the OP question, This line: "Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it" I think it's deliberate in this wording that Channel Divinity is NOT suppressed:
"Channel Divinity (Cleric text - Paladin text does not match this description, possibly implied?)
At 2nd level, you gain the ability to channel divine energy directly from your deity, using that energy to fuel magical effects."
Do Channel Divinity effects qualify as an exception to AMF? Is that commonly accepted?
I don't know that it would be commonly accepted but I would agree that Channel Divinity would work in an Antimagic Field. The class feature is described as coming directly from the deity so that is the basis for my reasoning.
Great question, I agree with Cyb3rM1nd. I was going to describe the lightning bolt line thing, but you did a much better job.
Within the scope of the OP question, This line: "Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it" I think it's deliberate in this wording that Channel Divinity is NOT suppressed:
"Channel Divinity (Cleric text - Paladin text does not match this description, possibly implied?)
At 2nd level, you gain the ability to channel divine energy directly from your deity, using that energy to fuel magical effects."
Do Channel Divinity effects qualify as an exception to AMF? Is that commonly accepted?
I believe most people would agree that Channel Divinity is suppressed. The energy may come from the deity, but the effect is still created by the cleric. All cleric spellcasting involves divine energy from their deity. I don’t think there’s much textual basis for distinguishing between normal cleric spells and Channel Divinity in this regard.
The exception in AMF’s description is about direct intervention by a deity. Divine Intervention would still work, for example, even if the effect is functionally just the casting of a spell, because that’s explicitly the deity actively doing something.
Great question, I agree with Cyb3rM1nd. I was going to describe the lightning bolt line thing, but you did a much better job.
Within the scope of the OP question, This line: "Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it" I think it's deliberate in this wording that Channel Divinity is NOT suppressed:
"Channel Divinity (Cleric text - Paladin text does not match this description, possibly implied?)
At 2nd level, you gain the ability to channel divine energy directly from your deity, using that energy to fuel magical effects."
Do Channel Divinity effects qualify as an exception to AMF? Is that commonly accepted?
I believe most people would agree that Channel Divinity is suppressed. The energy may come from the deity, but the effect is still created by the cleric. All cleric spellcasting involves divine energy from their deity. I don’t think there’s much textual basis for distinguishing between normal cleric spells and Channel Divinity in this regard.
The exception in AMF’s description is about direct intervention by a deity. Divine Intervention would still work, for example, even if the effect is functionally just the casting of a spell, because that’s explicitly the deity actively doing something.
I think the textual basis is deliberately "Spells" and "magical effects" ... no question Cleric and other divine caster spells are impacted by AMF.
... though I do appreciate the distinction with Divine Intervention, and that makes sense, thank you.
I do think it's interesting that AMF is only on the Wizard and Cleric spell list, and I wonder if that has any significance with intent? Notably, it's one of four available Cleric spells to prepare at 8th level. It's likely that the CD and DI stuff weigh into the equation quite often, I just don't recall seeing it discussed often. Your perspective means a lot, thank you for sharing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
How does Antimagic Field affect some spells; specifically spells that don't explicitly travel through the field?
Scenario: Antimagic Field exists. Player 1 is outside the field on the north side of the field by 5 ft. Player 2 is outside the field on the south side of the field by 5 ft. Player 1 casts Healing Word on Player 2. Does Player 2 get healed?
The cast does not originate from inside the Antimagic Field. The cast is not on a target within the Antimagic Field. The only (possible) problem, is that the field is between the two players.
Healing Word effect is as follows:
A creature of your choice that you can see within range regains hit points equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier. This spell has no effect on undead or constructs.
Antimagic Field effect is as follows:
A 10-foot-radius invisible sphere of antimagic surrounds you. This area is divorced from the magical energy that suffuses the multiverse. Within the sphere, spells can't be cast, summoned creatures disappear, and even magic items become mundane. Until the spell ends, the sphere moves with you, centered on you.
Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it. A slot expended to cast a suppressed spell is consumed. While an effect is suppressed, it doesn't function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration.
Targeted Effects. Spells and other magical effects, such as magic missile and charm person, that target a creature or an object in the sphere have no effect on that target.
Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can't extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough.
Spells. Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it.
Magic Items. The properties and powers of magic items are suppressed in the sphere. For example, a longsword, +1 in the sphere functions as a nonmagical longsword.
A magic weapon's properties and powers are suppressed if it is used against a target in the sphere or wielded by an attacker in the sphere. If a magic weapon or a piece of magic ammunition fully leaves the sphere (for example, if you fire a magic arrow or throw a magic spear at a target outside the sphere), the magic of the item ceases to be suppressed as soon as it exits.
Magical Travel. Teleportation and planar travel fail to work in the sphere, whether the sphere is the destination or the departure point for such magical travel. A portal to another location, world, or plane of existence, as well as an opening to an extradimensional space such as that created by the rope trick spell, temporarily closes while in the sphere.
Creatures and Objects. A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere.
Dispel Magic. Spells and magical effects such as dispel magic have no effect on the sphere. Likewise, the spheres created by different antimagic field spells don't nullify each other.
Yes.
Here's another easy one: the same Healing Word would be blocked by a 0.5mm thick pane of glass.
Here's one that sounds easy, but the last time it came up we had a very long thread of argument about it due largely to people not understanding the 5E definition of cover, owing to the definition being poorly written with pieces missing: the same Healing Word would be blocked by Wall of Force.
The target needs to be seen and not behind total cover, but that doesn't mean the spell travels in a straight line. You just need a "clear path". If I was in a garden with a fountain and wanted to go meet a person I could see that was on the other side of said fountain, if I walked round to the other side I still took a clear path , it just wasn't a straight one. A clear path is any path that is not blocked by total cover.
Think of it like a rope you move as you need with a length equal to the spell's range. If there is a way for you to hold one end of the rope and for the other to touch the target (that you can see, if the spell requires it) then fantastic. The spell be cast. Otherwise, the spell won't work or even cast (so at least there's no wasted spell slots).
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
While it may seem that logically seem that it should act as a shield, that's not necessarily the case. If you note in all the descriptions that you gave, it only ever referenced targets and sources within the field as having the effects cancelled. As such, I'd say that RAW, the spell would still work.
In terms of a DM ruling, I'd say that it depends on your lore on how magic works. It could be that AMFs just cancel the surface effects, so the magic (or the signal that provokes the magic, whatever) that comes from the caster travels "under" the surface and therefore unaffected by the AMF - so long as it doesn't surface to cause the effect on the target within the AMF. Alternatively, you could say that the AMF blocks anything everything related to magic, even "under" the surface stuff, so it would block that spell regardless - but this doesn't seem to be indicated by RAW, and therefore isn't RAW.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Three different phrases:
"Line" requires nothing between you. 100% Cover blocks it, such as Antimagic, glass, or stone. You cannot Lighting Bolt someone that is not in Line of Sight. Antimagic field would block Line of Sight, stopping a Lightning bolt.
You can see just means you can see them. 100% cover does NOT block it, as long as you can see them - through glass, a mirror, some form of a scrying spell, or even via a familiar (if you can cast the spell via a Bonus Action.) Antimagic field and glass does not block you from seeing them, though stone could.
In range just means in range. Cover has nothing to do with this at all. Anti-magic, glass, or even a stone will not block it. You can Dimension Door to anywhere in range, even if you cannot see it, there is anti-magic in between or solid stone. It takes specific spells to block Teleportation.
This is all false.
Not all spells require sight, but still follow targeting rules. There is no "line of sight" as a rule.
"A Clear Path to the Target
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover.
If you place an area of effect at a point that you can’t see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction."
A clear path. Not line of sight. Very different things. There is no mention in "targeting" that you must have line of sight. The targeting is "clear path", which need not be a straight line. As a general rule, spells don't require sight at all unless the spell says so.
Since a spell doesn't need a straight path, just a clear one, if there is a way to get from you to the target without passing through the Field, the spell will work. If all paths are blocked by total cover or the Field, then sure, the spell can't target and therefore cannot be cast. But if there is a path that isn't blocked, such as going around the Field instead of through it, then, yes, the spell will work.
Antimagic Field does not act as total cover. Spells cannot protrude through the field, but neither creature in or behind it are considered to have total cover - a specific game term. There is no such wording in the spell's description.
Why does teleport work through total cover, then?
Depends on the spell but in most cases, it doesn't. For example, Misty Step is a range of "Self" and Teleport has a range of 10 ft. These spells have the "target" be the creatures being teleported. Your destination is a choice you make but is not considered the target of the spell. For example with Teleport if you and a person were within 10 ft of each other with a clear path between you, then you can teleport with them. But, if there was a solid wall 20x20 wall between you? Nope. If one of you was in the AoE of an Antimagic Field, then also nope. So "a clear path" functions the same.
What about Dimension Door?
Ah, a more unusual case. The wording of the spell , "You teleport yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You arrive at exactly the spot desired. It can be a place you can see, one you can visualize", is intended to let you bypass total cover/clear path requirements, as clarified by Jeremy Crawford. Specific beats general.
But does Antimagic Field block Lightning bolt?
Yes and no. It protects from it, but does not block it. Blocking implies it reaches the field then stops. It doesn't. Because of the spell's targeting being an Area of Effect, a "Line". The spell creates the line coming from your space, filling a line that is 5 ft wide and 100 ft long. The Antimagic Field doesn't "block" this, but rather, where the spell would overlap with the Field it would be suppressed in that overlap only.
"Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can't extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough."
So, basically the line of lightning stops at the overlap and continues where overlap ends.
Imagine these dashes like a lightning bolt.
- - - - - - - - - - -
Now imagine the area, a 20 ft in the middle somewhere. The line would be like this.
- - - ( ) - - - - - -
Anything within the ( ) is safe and sound. Anything else within the Lightning Bolt's AoE is not.
This is because the Field does not "BLOCK" spells. It creates an area of suppression and prevents spells protruding into the spell.
It's quirky, but this is how the spells works with AoE targeting, by RAW, and was deliberately designed this way.
Can I target through a window, I can see them and they're in range...
Not unless the spell, like Dimension Door, has a way to negate the need of a clear path, which most don't. The phrase "you can see" doesn't suffice to negate this. Cover and visibility are different things. Glass still provides Total Cover, even though you can see the target. This was also specifically clarified by Jeremy Crawford.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Great question, I agree with Cyb3rM1nd. I was going to describe the lightning bolt line thing, but you did a much better job.
Within the scope of the OP question, This line: "Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it" I think it's deliberate in this wording that Channel Divinity is NOT suppressed:
"Channel Divinity (Cleric text - Paladin text does not match this description, possibly implied?)
At 2nd level, you gain the ability to channel divine energy directly from your deity, using that energy to fuel magical effects."
Do Channel Divinity effects qualify as an exception to AMF? Is that commonly accepted?
I don't know that it would be commonly accepted but I would agree that Channel Divinity would work in an Antimagic Field. The class feature is described as coming directly from the deity so that is the basis for my reasoning.
I believe most people would agree that Channel Divinity is suppressed. The energy may come from the deity, but the effect is still created by the cleric. All cleric spellcasting involves divine energy from their deity. I don’t think there’s much textual basis for distinguishing between normal cleric spells and Channel Divinity in this regard.
The exception in AMF’s description is about direct intervention by a deity. Divine Intervention would still work, for example, even if the effect is functionally just the casting of a spell, because that’s explicitly the deity actively doing something.
I think the textual basis is deliberately "Spells" and "magical effects" ... no question Cleric and other divine caster spells are impacted by AMF.
... though I do appreciate the distinction with Divine Intervention, and that makes sense, thank you.
I do think it's interesting that AMF is only on the Wizard and Cleric spell list, and I wonder if that has any significance with intent? Notably, it's one of four available Cleric spells to prepare at 8th level. It's likely that the CD and DI stuff weigh into the equation quite often, I just don't recall seeing it discussed often. Your perspective means a lot, thank you for sharing.