So let me preface this by saying our group literally just started playing this week and have only had one game in which we are all starting at level 1. One of our players(a druid) uses his 1 action to swing his scimitar and his bonus action to use his magic stone ability to charge and throw all 3 stones. This seemed very powerful to me so i took a look at the ability which on this site says:
"You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Hit or miss, the spell then ends on the stone.
If you cast this spell again, the spell ends early on any pebbles still affected by it."
Now it says one so I would say it would be one. Our GM says that all 3 can be thrown and we are taking "one" out of context. Im playing for fun so if thats what he says whatever, as i said i just started playing so its likely im wrong. But I am also going to be taking a turn at being a GM so I would like to get this right when my turn comes around. So as a single bonus action is it one or can he throw all three?
*NOTE - If there is a rule regarding this if you could site the page in the book so i can look it up it would be helpful as well.
Ultimately the it's DM's call. Especially if this is being done just to add to the "fun" factor of things.
The rules in place seem to be more fitting as guidelines, which can be overruled per DM's say.
If this action is something that is ruining your fun bring it up with the DM, and the player. See if there is a compromise but if you guys stick together long enough that spell really won't become that effective.
It's too early in the morning for me to try to figure out RAW (Rules As Written), but I can guess at RAI (Rules As Intended).
That interpretation is insanely unbalanced. Let's assume three druids, each starting with 16 (+3) Wisdom and increasing it to 18 (+4) at 4th level and 20 (+5) at 8th. We'll look at them at 1st, 5th, 11th, and 17th levels. One druid knows poison spray, the second knows shillelagh, and the third knows magic stone.
At 1st level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 13 Con save or take 6.5 (1d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +5 to hit, dealing 7.5 (1d8+3) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +5 to hit and dealing 6.5 (1d6+3) damage on a hit, for a total of 19.5 (3d6+9) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
At 5th level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 15 Con save or take 13 (2d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +7 to hit, dealing 8.5 (1d8+4) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +7 to hit and dealing 7.5 (1d6+4) damage on a hit, for a total of 22.5 (3d6+12) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
At 11th level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 17 Con save or take 19.5 (3d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +9 to hit, dealing 9.5 (1d8+5) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +9 to hit and dealing 8.5 (1d6+5) damage on a hit, for a total of 25.5 (3d6+15) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
At 17th level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 19 Con save or take 26 (4d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +11 to hit, dealing 9.5 (1d8+5) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +11 to hit and dealing 8.5 (1d6+5) damage on a hit, for a total of 25.5 (3d6+15) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
I think it's probably intended to take an action per stone, because it normally takes an action to throw something or fire a pebble from a sling.
Linguistically speaking, besides the first sentence of the spell saying "one to three pebbles" and the final sentence saying "any pebbles", the spell uses singular language (which I've bolded below for emphasis).
You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Hit or miss, the spell then ends on the stone.
Another point. I'd rule the bonus action is only to create the stones. The caster throwing one as an attack is another action (Attack action, next round). Another character, however, could take and throw one as an attack on his turn.
I do agree that you can only throw one at a time as well.
Agree, bonus action is the enchantment of the stones. From then on they can be thrown or slinged as part of a normal Attack action, but using your spellcasting modifier for attack and damage rather than the thrower's normal skill. This is not supposed to be a powerful attack really, but what it does do is suddenly give multiple people access to a magical attack method they might otherwise be missing - vital if facing a ghost or whatever else is immune to non-magical attacks.
Based on the wording of the spell and the general scaling of things in 5e I would disagree with your DM.
---------
Magic stone is a druid cantrip spell from Xanathar's (and possibly other sources).
Here is the text:
MAGIC STONE Transmutation cantrip Casting Time: 1 bonus action Range: Touch Components: V, S Duration: 1 minute
You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, a pebble has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with a pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attackers, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Whether the attack hits or misses, the spell then ends on the stone. If you cast this spell again, the spell ends on any pebbles still affected by your previous casting.
------------
This spell requires a bonus action to cast. It creates one to three pebbles and imbues them with magic.
You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by either throwing it or using a sling to make a ranged attack.
A ranged attack either throwing or using a sling requires taking the Attack action (it isn't part of the bonus action that creates the magical pebbles .. though I think that is the source of the confusion .. my interpretation of the spell text is that it tells you what you can do with the pebbles after they are created). It also benefits from extra attack or other features that might benefit ranged attacks (if your character has any of those abilities ... like a ranger with Archery fighting style receiving +2 to hit with ranged weapons). Extra attack might allow you to make ranged attacks with more than one pebble.
However, as a cantrip, looking at the scaling of every other cantrip, it was certainly not intended to allow a 1st level character to make up to 3 attacks as part of a bonus action ... and then attack again using their action.
The way 'Magic Stone' is writen, as a bonus action, you "make a ranged spell attack". Yet the range of the spell is touch. This suggests they may be imbued and thrown as a ranged spell.
To make the attack with up to three stones in the same action, I'd say you would need extra attack features.
They are 1d6 damage, about the same as a bonus attack from duel wielding two weapons for a melee character, or the bonus attack for crossbow expert.
When looking at the spell, I'd also rule that the stone(s) is/are created as a separate action from the actual throwing.
First off, the range on the spell is touch, whereas the range it can be thrown is in the text. Comparing it to the Catapult spell (also from elemental evil) with the range in the spell description itself, this clarifies the intention for me. I know this goes against the basic rule where spell X does not alter spell Y in any way, but it helps to deduce meaning.
The duration is 1 minute. If the spell was meant to be a single cast-and-throw it would be instantaneous. However, a bonus action spell that deals damage in the same turn always requires some other action. The only spell that causes damage by itself whenever you cast it as a bonus action is the Spiritual weapon spell and this is more of a summon rather than an actual single spell attack so that makes sense.
The spell can imbue "one to three pebbles" with magic. However, you can make a ranged spell attack with "one of the pebbles". These are separate sentences so they should be treated as such. If it was meant to be capable of tossing them all at the same time, the spell would say that, something like "You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with up to three of the pebbles by throwing..." etc. Remember that a party with 2 druids could effectively have 6 magic stones in existence at any one time. It would be insane if two druids at lvl 1 could pepper enemies with 6d6+ of damage every turn simply by using their cantrips.
The ranged spell attack might be odd but this is probably in order to make this spell unable to be combined with features or feats that increase ranged weapon attacks. Also, it uses your spellcasting modifier for the attack roll. Also note that because of the ranged spell attack, you can't use your Attack action to throw it, thus making it impossible to throw several in the same turn. Same goes for the rules on two-weapon fighting; the stone does not have the Light feature therefore can't be used in your off-hand.
I get the confusion, but if you really look at it a cantrip that has the ability to deal 3d6+3xspellcasting mod damage as a bonus action is the most bonkers thing ever. Even if it were only 1d4 per stone, every character would try to get this Cantrip at lvl 1, either by using Magic Initiate feat as a human or any other way.
I agree with the consensus expressed here that attacking is not part of the spell. I just wanted to chime in to point out the text of two common sources is vastly different. The fandom wiki (unofficial source) has text that agrees with the OP's DM, while the official text of magic stone reflects the consensus here. Maybe the group is using the wrong source?
My experience is, 1 bonus to cast, 1 action to throw. That said, if you are defending a group of NPCs you could give them the stones each round and bring them into the fight. Survived a siege at lvl 1 that way.
It's not necessarily an action to throw, but it is an attack. If a character has multiple attacks from whatever source then they may be able to throw or sling multiple stones in a single action. And yes, you could use them to great effect to arm a bunch of extras with some non-useless magical attacks.
Just another Bell in the tower here, but I agree/am fairly positive actually as a DM myself, with those saying that the bonus action is actually just turning regular pebbles into magic extra hurty pebbles. Actually throwing them/shooting them requires a separate action. Partly because it says you can give them to someone else to use. I really doubt that a cantrip would allow two different PCs to attack on one their turns. That being said, my GM rule is usually that you can throw or sling all 3 at once but only at a single target. To actually turn and aim at a new target or 2 would require another action. And you can only add your damage bonus once since that has more to do with your ability to land a solid hit. So instead of rolling 3 attack roles and getting 1d6+(bonus) for each hit. it would be one single attack role at a single target with a hit being 3d6+(bonus)
Basically I would say that at the end of the day, you're throwing a handful of rocks at someone. These rocks just happen to have nature magic in them. In fact, if someone was attempting 3 rocks with a sling I might even add disadvantage since slings aren't really designed to shoot three rocks at once.
Another point. I'd rule the bonus action is only to create the stones. The caster throwing one as an attack is another action (Attack action, next round). Another character, however, could take and throw one as an attack on his turn.
I do agree that you can only throw one at a time as well.
I assumed the reason the spell was a bonus action was to keep the action free for throwing the stones.
Another point. I'd rule the bonus action is only to create the stones. The caster throwing one as an attack is another action (Attack action, next round). Another character, however, could take and throw one as an attack on his turn.
I do agree that you can only throw one at a time as well.
I assumed the reason the spell was a bonus action was to keep the action free for throwing the stones.
Is the spell a bonus action to cast? If so, then yes, throw one the same round, or at least per attack action if you have multiple.
Just another Bell in the tower here, but I agree/am fairly positive actually as a DM myself, with those saying that the bonus action is actually just turning regular pebbles into magic extra hurty pebbles. Actually throwing them/shooting them requires a separate action. Partly because it says you can give them to someone else to use. I really doubt that a cantrip would allow two different PCs to attack on one their turns. That being said, my GM rule is usually that you can throw or sling all 3 at once but only at a single target. To actually turn and aim at a new target or 2 would require another action. And you can only add your damage bonus once since that has more to do with your ability to land a solid hit. So instead of rolling 3 attack roles and getting 1d6+(bonus) for each hit. it would be one single attack role at a single target with a hit being 3d6+(bonus)
I get the logic that being able to throw a handful of pebbles at a single target is a perfectly reasonable thing to expect an adventurer to do, but that also makes the spell insanely overpowered for a level 1 cantrip. A cantrip that deals 3d6 damage is in line with more a level 11 ability.
This is how I also read the spell (the bonus action is to create the stone(s) only, not to throw), but it seems like adding just a few words to spell description would've made that a lot clearer.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So let me preface this by saying our group literally just started playing this week and have only had one game in which we are all starting at level 1. One of our players(a druid) uses his 1 action to swing his scimitar and his bonus action to use his magic stone ability to charge and throw all 3 stones. This seemed very powerful to me so i took a look at the ability which on this site says:
"You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Hit or miss, the spell then ends on the stone.
If you cast this spell again, the spell ends early on any pebbles still affected by it."
Now it says one so I would say it would be one. Our GM says that all 3 can be thrown and we are taking "one" out of context. Im playing for fun so if thats what he says whatever, as i said i just started playing so its likely im wrong. But I am also going to be taking a turn at being a GM so I would like to get this right when my turn comes around. So as a single bonus action is it one or can he throw all three?
*NOTE - If there is a rule regarding this if you could site the page in the book so i can look it up it would be helpful as well.
Ultimately the it's DM's call. Especially if this is being done just to add to the "fun" factor of things.
The rules in place seem to be more fitting as guidelines, which can be overruled per DM's say.
If this action is something that is ruining your fun bring it up with the DM, and the player. See if there is a compromise but if you guys stick together long enough that spell really won't become that effective.
It's too early in the morning for me to try to figure out RAW (Rules As Written), but I can guess at RAI (Rules As Intended).
That interpretation is insanely unbalanced. Let's assume three druids, each starting with 16 (+3) Wisdom and increasing it to 18 (+4) at 4th level and 20 (+5) at 8th. We'll look at them at 1st, 5th, 11th, and 17th levels. One druid knows poison spray, the second knows shillelagh, and the third knows magic stone.
At 1st level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 13 Con save or take 6.5 (1d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +5 to hit, dealing 7.5 (1d8+3) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +5 to hit and dealing 6.5 (1d6+3) damage on a hit, for a total of 19.5 (3d6+9) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
At 5th level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 15 Con save or take 13 (2d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +7 to hit, dealing 8.5 (1d8+4) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +7 to hit and dealing 7.5 (1d6+4) damage on a hit, for a total of 22.5 (3d6+12) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
At 11th level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 17 Con save or take 19.5 (3d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +9 to hit, dealing 9.5 (1d8+5) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +9 to hit and dealing 8.5 (1d6+5) damage on a hit, for a total of 25.5 (3d6+15) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
At 17th level, the first druid can use its action to force a creature within 10 feet to succeed on a DC 19 Con save or take 26 (4d12) damage. The second can use its bonus action to empower a staff or club it's holding, after which it can use its action for the next minute or until disarmed to attack a creature within 5 feet at +11 to hit, dealing 9.5 (1d8+5) damage if it hits. The third druid can use its bonus action to make three attacks against creatures 10-20 feet away, or within 5 feet or 25-60 feet away if it takes disadvantage on the attack roll, each attack being made at +11 to hit and dealing 8.5 (1d6+5) damage on a hit, for a total of 25.5 (3d6+15) damage if all hit, and can still use its action to attack with a weapon or cast a cantrip, like poison spray.
I think it's probably intended to take an action per stone, because it normally takes an action to throw something or fire a pebble from a sling.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
Linguistically speaking, besides the first sentence of the spell saying "one to three pebbles" and the final sentence saying "any pebbles", the spell uses singular language (which I've bolded below for emphasis).
You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Hit or miss, the spell then ends on the stone.
Another point. I'd rule the bonus action is only to create the stones. The caster throwing one as an attack is another action (Attack action, next round). Another character, however, could take and throw one as an attack on his turn.
I do agree that you can only throw one at a time as well.
Agree, bonus action is the enchantment of the stones. From then on they can be thrown or slinged as part of a normal Attack action, but using your spellcasting modifier for attack and damage rather than the thrower's normal skill. This is not supposed to be a powerful attack really, but what it does do is suddenly give multiple people access to a magical attack method they might otherwise be missing - vital if facing a ghost or whatever else is immune to non-magical attacks.
Based on the wording of the spell and the general scaling of things in 5e I would disagree with your DM.
---------
Magic stone is a druid cantrip spell from Xanathar's (and possibly other sources).
Here is the text:
MAGIC STONE
Transmutation cantrip
Casting Time: 1 bonus action
Range: Touch
Components: V, S
Duration: 1 minute
You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, a pebble has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with a pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attackers, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Whether the attack hits or misses, the spell then ends on the stone. If you cast this spell again, the spell ends on any pebbles still affected by your previous casting.
------------
This spell requires a bonus action to cast. It creates one to three pebbles and imbues them with magic.
You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by either throwing it or using a sling to make a ranged attack.
A ranged attack either throwing or using a sling requires taking the Attack action (it isn't part of the bonus action that creates the magical pebbles .. though I think that is the source of the confusion .. my interpretation of the spell text is that it tells you what you can do with the pebbles after they are created). It also benefits from extra attack or other features that might benefit ranged attacks (if your character has any of those abilities ... like a ranger with Archery fighting style receiving +2 to hit with ranged weapons). Extra attack might allow you to make ranged attacks with more than one pebble.
However, as a cantrip, looking at the scaling of every other cantrip, it was certainly not intended to allow a 1st level character to make up to 3 attacks as part of a bonus action ... and then attack again using their action.
If hurling the stones were part of the action used to cast the spell, the spell would say so. "The magic stone spell imbues magic in pebbles as a bonus action. Hurling them requires a separate action."
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Appreciate all your feedback this has been extremely helpful in determining the state of the rule.Thanks
The way 'Magic Stone' is writen, as a bonus action, you "make a ranged spell attack". Yet the range of the spell is touch. This suggests they may be imbued and thrown as a ranged spell.
To make the attack with up to three stones in the same action, I'd say you would need extra attack features.
They are 1d6 damage, about the same as a bonus attack from duel wielding two weapons for a melee character, or the bonus attack for crossbow expert.
When looking at the spell, I'd also rule that the stone(s) is/are created as a separate action from the actual throwing.
First off, the range on the spell is touch, whereas the range it can be thrown is in the text. Comparing it to the Catapult spell (also from elemental evil) with the range in the spell description itself, this clarifies the intention for me. I know this goes against the basic rule where spell X does not alter spell Y in any way, but it helps to deduce meaning.
The duration is 1 minute. If the spell was meant to be a single cast-and-throw it would be instantaneous. However, a bonus action spell that deals damage in the same turn always requires some other action. The only spell that causes damage by itself whenever you cast it as a bonus action is the Spiritual weapon spell and this is more of a summon rather than an actual single spell attack so that makes sense.
The spell can imbue "one to three pebbles" with magic. However, you can make a ranged spell attack with "one of the pebbles". These are separate sentences so they should be treated as such. If it was meant to be capable of tossing them all at the same time, the spell would say that, something like "You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with up to three of the pebbles by throwing..." etc. Remember that a party with 2 druids could effectively have 6 magic stones in existence at any one time. It would be insane if two druids at lvl 1 could pepper enemies with 6d6+ of damage every turn simply by using their cantrips.
The ranged spell attack might be odd but this is probably in order to make this spell unable to be combined with features or feats that increase ranged weapon attacks. Also, it uses your spellcasting modifier for the attack roll. Also note that because of the ranged spell attack, you can't use your Attack action to throw it, thus making it impossible to throw several in the same turn. Same goes for the rules on two-weapon fighting; the stone does not have the Light feature therefore can't be used in your off-hand.
I get the confusion, but if you really look at it a cantrip that has the ability to deal 3d6+3xspellcasting mod damage as a bonus action is the most bonkers thing ever. Even if it were only 1d4 per stone, every character would try to get this Cantrip at lvl 1, either by using Magic Initiate feat as a human or any other way.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
I agree with the consensus expressed here that attacking is not part of the spell. I just wanted to chime in to point out the text of two common sources is vastly different. The fandom wiki (unofficial source) has text that agrees with the OP's DM, while the official text of magic stone reflects the consensus here. Maybe the group is using the wrong source?
According to JC, attacking with the stone is a separate action. The bonus action only enchants the pebbles.
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/694969729203613696
My experience is, 1 bonus to cast, 1 action to throw. That said, if you are defending a group of NPCs you could give them the stones each round and bring them into the fight. Survived a siege at lvl 1 that way.
It's not necessarily an action to throw, but it is an attack. If a character has multiple attacks from whatever source then they may be able to throw or sling multiple stones in a single action. And yes, you could use them to great effect to arm a bunch of extras with some non-useless magical attacks.
Just another Bell in the tower here, but I agree/am fairly positive actually as a DM myself, with those saying that the bonus action is actually just turning regular pebbles into magic extra hurty pebbles. Actually throwing them/shooting them requires a separate action. Partly because it says you can give them to someone else to use. I really doubt that a cantrip would allow two different PCs to attack on one their turns. That being said, my GM rule is usually that you can throw or sling all 3 at once but only at a single target. To actually turn and aim at a new target or 2 would require another action. And you can only add your damage bonus once since that has more to do with your ability to land a solid hit. So instead of rolling 3 attack roles and getting 1d6+(bonus) for each hit. it would be one single attack role at a single target with a hit being 3d6+(bonus)
Basically I would say that at the end of the day, you're throwing a handful of rocks at someone. These rocks just happen to have nature magic in them. In fact, if someone was attempting 3 rocks with a sling I might even add disadvantage since slings aren't really designed to shoot three rocks at once.
I assumed the reason the spell was a bonus action was to keep the action free for throwing the stones.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Is the spell a bonus action to cast? If so, then yes, throw one the same round, or at least per attack action if you have multiple.
I get the logic that being able to throw a handful of pebbles at a single target is a perfectly reasonable thing to expect an adventurer to do, but that also makes the spell insanely overpowered for a level 1 cantrip. A cantrip that deals 3d6 damage is in line with more a level 11 ability.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
This is how I also read the spell (the bonus action is to create the stone(s) only, not to throw), but it seems like adding just a few words to spell description would've made that a lot clearer.