I believe that you could not take an OA if the PC moved from the yellow square to the red square, since it's dependent on the creature's reach instead of the reach of its individual attacks. If a PC moved from the red square to the white square, then the dragon would get an OA, but only with Bite since Claw cannot reach that far.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I believe that you could not take an OA if the PC moved from the yellow square to the red square, since it's dependent on the creature's reach instead of the reach of its individual attacks. If a PC moved from the red square to the white square, then the dragon would get an OA, but only with Bite since Claw cannot reach that far.
i would disagree...creatures don't have "reach", their attacks do, as stated in each action they have; "reach" does not exist in a creatures statblock outside of those attacks/actions. You could trigger an Opportunity Attack from the dragon moving from yellow to red or from red to white, but the opportunity attack they could take would be limited to the attack whose reach is being passed through. Since a creature (generally) only has one reaction a round, they would only get to use one or the other, not both.
A major function of Opportunity Attacks is to prevent players from exploiting turn based representations of simultaneous combat. So long as the character remains engaged in melee range with the hostile target, there is no need to "lash out". The dragon should only get an Opportunity Attack when a creature moves outside of its "Melee Threat Area" (Not a game specific term). [Red to White]
That said, there are some niche scenarios where the more flexible approach that iconrising mentioned could be justified, such as a creature holding both a non-magical whip [Reach], and a Dragonslayer Longsword [Enhanced Damage]. A player shouldn't be penalized for being more versatile, but should also not be granted the possibility of multiple Opportunity Attacks.
Previous Unearthed Arcana has included subclasses (Tunnel Fighter, Knight), which were able to take extra Opportunity Attacks under certain circumstances, and would have been able to exploit a loophole like this.
The OA rules state that you can make an OA "when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach." Not when it moves out of range of the reach of one of your attacks. So only when it moves out of range of the attack you have with the furthest reach would they be considered to have "moved out of your reach".
RAW mentions creatures have a melee reach. Opportunity attacks refer to the creature's reach, not the reaches of it's individual attacks.
RAI SAC explicitly says that a PC with a reach weapon cannot attack with it when an enemy moves from 5 to 10 feet away.
There is an argument for the RAW not necessarily denying OA's for moving 5 to 10 feet away, but that interpretation goes against the official RAI interpretation. DMs can choose to run it either way as long as it is clear and consistent from the beginning.
Creatures & PC's who have multiply attacks, for AOO they can only make 1 attack, multi attack is only on their own turn correct
Multiattack cannot be used on an opportunity attack because it doesn't match the requirements for an opportunity attack -- it is not "one melee attack" (in fact, it isn't an attack at all, it's a special action).
As written, multiattack can be used off turn if the monster uses ready, but that is probably not intended.
A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability. A creature can’t use Multiattack when making an opportunity attack, which must be a single melee attack.
A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability. A creature can’t use Multiattack when making an opportunity attack, which must be a single melee attack.
Pantagruel's first paragraph is correct though. Multiattack is a special Action, not "one melee attack", so doesn't qualify for OA. Plus the extra rule repeating that fact.
RAW mentions creatures have a melee reach. Opportunity attacks refer to the creature's reach, not the reaches of it's individual attacks.
Where does it say this? (Legitimately curious)
RAI SAC explicitly says that a PC with a reach weapon cannot attack with it when an enemy moves from 5 to 10 feet away.
From the SAC: "An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach. If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack."
This seems to imply that the opportunity attack is tied to the weapon you have available to you, not some "standard" reach available to all creatures. While yes, you cannot take an opportunity attack with a reach weapon when something moves from 5 to 10 feet away, the bolded infers that that is a nature of the weapon, not the creature. PCs run a bit differently, since all weapons and unarmed strikes for PCs have a 5 foot reach unless they have this property, but that is not true for monsters who have different reaches. A more clear example would be something like the roper which has wildly divergent reaches for its attacks. Would the Roper never be able to bite as an opportunity attack? I don't think that would be the intent of the game, based on the above description.
There is an argument for the RAW not necessarily denying OA's for moving 5 to 10 feet away, but that interpretation goes against the official RAI interpretation. DMs can choose to run it either way as long as it is clear and consistent from the beginning.
The OA rules state that you can make an OA "when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach." Not when it moves out of range of the reach of one of your attacks. So only when it moves out of range of the attack you have with the furthest reach would they be considered to have "moved out of your reach".
I would refer you to the bolded part of the SAC regarding intent of the rule:
From the SAC: "An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach. If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack."
it seems very much that reach is tied to the mode of attack based on this statement. If "you" have a reach with a weapon that is functionally different from another weapon "you" have, then you have two reaches, and can trigger an opportunity attack with either. What you cannot do is use a different attack. So if a Roper has two reaches (5 feet for its bite and 50 feet for its tentacles) then it can make opportunity attacks with its bite (from 5-10 feet) and its tentacle (from 50-55 feet), but it can't make an opportunity attack with its tentacle from 5-10 feet because the creature is not leaving the reach of that particular weapon/ability.
RAW mentions creatures have a melee reach. Opportunity attacks refer to the creature's reach, not the reaches of it's individual attacks.
Where does it say this? (Legitimately curious)
RAI SAC explicitly says that a PC with a reach weapon cannot attack with it when an enemy moves from 5 to 10 feet away.
From the SAC: "An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach. If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack."
This seems to imply that the opportunity attack is tied to the weapon you have available to you, not some "standard" reach available to all creatures. While yes, you cannot take an opportunity attack with a reach weapon when something moves from 5 to 10 feet away, the bolded infers that that is a nature of the weapon, not the creature. PCs run a bit differently, since all weapons and unarmed strikes for PCs have a 5 foot reach unless they have this property, but that is not true for monsters who have different reaches. A more clear example would be something like the roper which has wildly divergent reaches for its attacks. Would the Roper never be able to bite as an opportunity attack? I don't think that would be the intent of the game, based on the above description.
There is an argument for the RAW not necessarily denying OA's for moving 5 to 10 feet away, but that interpretation goes against the official RAI interpretation. DMs can choose to run it either way as long as it is clear and consistent from the beginning.
In the melee attack rules (you conveniently have a link in your comment).
Most creatures have a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet of them when making a melee attack.
And in opportunity attacks:
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.
That is 2 mentions of a creature having a "reach" rather than their attacks having it in the rules about opportunity attacks.
There have been several times tweets that said creatures have multiple reaches, one for each melee option, but not of those tweets have been added to SAC while the one that says "a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack" did. That seems to be deliberate official RAI.
I personally have no problem with the multiple reach interpretation and prefer it, but I don't think it is the "official" ruling.
SAC has clearly stated that the RAI is for somebody with a reach weapon to only provoke opportunity attacks when somebody moves farther than 10 feet from them. The thing is, you don't hold a two-handed weapon with two hands at all times, just when you're attacking. This means when it isn't your turn it's perfectly reasonable to assume a free hand. If you have a free hand and the rules work as some people are suggesting, then moving farther than 5 feet would provoke an unarmed strike OA. This is clearly not supported by RAI. It only makes sense to extend this to monsters as well as PCs, since nothing exempts one or the other from the rules. Say what you will about RAW, but RAI is on the side of my first comment (#2).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Part of the SAC quoted above didn’t bold the part where it says “If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon,” Not that you have to. As mentioned, you don’t need to hold the weapon in both hands all the time. And you don’t even need to use your hands for an Unarmed Strike. Kicking works just fine.
Such dragon have a reach of 5 feet with claw and 10 feet with bite, so it should provoke an Opportunity Attack from any of them being left. If it's of any interest to you, here's the Dev's take on this;
@samiam8910 If a monster has 2 different reaches, when does it get opportunity attacks? Like the roc’s talons at 5 feet and beak at 10.
@JeremyECrawford If you have more than one reach, a foe provokes an opportunity attack when it leaves any of them.
@samiam8910 Isn't this directly against your official SA article from July 2015?
@JeremyECrawford The SA answer is only about making an opportunity attack with the reach weapon, not with another reach you might have.
@samiam8910 So the book is incorrect in saying OAs are for when leaving your reach when it should be your weapons' reach?
@JeremyECrawford "Your reach" means whatever reach of yours is relevant at the moment.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The Blue Square are Occupied By a Large Dragon(Storm Dragon), PHB states it takes up a 10x10ft area, so that's 2x2 square.
They have the following melee attacks
*Bite 10ft Reach
*Claw 5ft Reach
So my questions are as follows...
Scenario 1: A PC is in the Red Square, and he moves out into a white square, the Dragon gets AOO but only with Bite
Scenario 2: A PC is in the Yellow Square, and he moves out into a white square, the Dragon gets AOO can choose Bite or Claw
I believe that you could not take an OA if the PC moved from the yellow square to the red square, since it's dependent on the creature's reach instead of the reach of its individual attacks. If a PC moved from the red square to the white square, then the dragon would get an OA, but only with Bite since Claw cannot reach that far.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
i would disagree...creatures don't have "reach", their attacks do, as stated in each action they have; "reach" does not exist in a creatures statblock outside of those attacks/actions. You could trigger an Opportunity Attack from the dragon moving from yellow to red or from red to white, but the opportunity attack they could take would be limited to the attack whose reach is being passed through. Since a creature (generally) only has one reaction a round, they would only get to use one or the other, not both.
A major function of Opportunity Attacks is to prevent players from exploiting turn based representations of simultaneous combat. So long as the character remains engaged in melee range with the hostile target, there is no need to "lash out". The dragon should only get an Opportunity Attack when a creature moves outside of its "Melee Threat Area" (Not a game specific term). [Red to White]
That said, there are some niche scenarios where the more flexible approach that iconrising mentioned could be justified, such as a creature holding both a non-magical whip [Reach], and a Dragonslayer Longsword [Enhanced Damage]. A player shouldn't be penalized for being more versatile, but should also not be granted the possibility of multiple Opportunity Attacks.
Previous Unearthed Arcana has included subclasses (Tunnel Fighter, Knight), which were able to take extra Opportunity Attacks under certain circumstances, and would have been able to exploit a loophole like this.
The OA rules state that you can make an OA "when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach." Not when it moves out of range of the reach of one of your attacks. So only when it moves out of range of the attack you have with the furthest reach would they be considered to have "moved out of your reach".
RAW mentions creatures have a melee reach. Opportunity attacks refer to the creature's reach, not the reaches of it's individual attacks.
RAI SAC explicitly says that a PC with a reach weapon cannot attack with it when an enemy moves from 5 to 10 feet away.
There is an argument for the RAW not necessarily denying OA's for moving 5 to 10 feet away, but that interpretation goes against the official RAI interpretation. DMs can choose to run it either way as long as it is clear and consistent from the beginning.
Final Question...
Creatures & PC's who have multiply attacks, for AOO they can only make 1 attack, multi attack is only on their own turn correct
Multiattack cannot be used on an opportunity attack because it doesn't match the requirements for an opportunity attack -- it is not "one melee attack" (in fact, it isn't an attack at all, it's a special action).
As written, multiattack can be used off turn if the monster uses ready, but that is probably not intended.
Not so:
But that debate is for another thread: (https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/156106-multiattack#c16).
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Yeah, we are not doing this here.
Pantagruel's first paragraph is correct though. Multiattack is a special Action, not "one melee attack", so doesn't qualify for OA. Plus the extra rule repeating that fact.
Where does it say this? (Legitimately curious)
From the SAC: "An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach. If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack."
This seems to imply that the opportunity attack is tied to the weapon you have available to you, not some "standard" reach available to all creatures. While yes, you cannot take an opportunity attack with a reach weapon when something moves from 5 to 10 feet away, the bolded infers that that is a nature of the weapon, not the creature. PCs run a bit differently, since all weapons and unarmed strikes for PCs have a 5 foot reach unless they have this property, but that is not true for monsters who have different reaches. A more clear example would be something like the roper which has wildly divergent reaches for its attacks. Would the Roper never be able to bite as an opportunity attack? I don't think that would be the intent of the game, based on the above description.
I would refer you to the bolded part of the SAC regarding intent of the rule:
From the SAC: "An opportunity attack is normally triggered when a creature you can see moves beyond your reach. If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon, such as a glaive or a halberd, you can do so when a creature leaves the reach you have with that weapon. For example, if you’re wielding a halberd, a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack. If that creature tries to move an additional 5 feet—beyond your 10-foot reach—the creature then triggers an opportunity attack."
it seems very much that reach is tied to the mode of attack based on this statement. If "you" have a reach with a weapon that is functionally different from another weapon "you" have, then you have two reaches, and can trigger an opportunity attack with either. What you cannot do is use a different attack. So if a Roper has two reaches (5 feet for its bite and 50 feet for its tentacles) then it can make opportunity attacks with its bite (from 5-10 feet) and its tentacle (from 50-55 feet), but it can't make an opportunity attack with its tentacle from 5-10 feet because the creature is not leaving the reach of that particular weapon/ability.
In the melee attack rules (you conveniently have a link in your comment).
And in opportunity attacks:
That is 2 mentions of a creature having a "reach" rather than their attacks having it in the rules about opportunity attacks.
There have been several times tweets that said creatures have multiple reaches, one for each melee option, but not of those tweets have been added to SAC while the one that says "a creature that is right next to you could move 5 feet away without triggering an opportunity attack" did. That seems to be deliberate official RAI.
I personally have no problem with the multiple reach interpretation and prefer it, but I don't think it is the "official" ruling.
SAC has clearly stated that the RAI is for somebody with a reach weapon to only provoke opportunity attacks when somebody moves farther than 10 feet from them. The thing is, you don't hold a two-handed weapon with two hands at all times, just when you're attacking. This means when it isn't your turn it's perfectly reasonable to assume a free hand. If you have a free hand and the rules work as some people are suggesting, then moving farther than 5 feet would provoke an unarmed strike OA. This is clearly not supported by RAI. It only makes sense to extend this to monsters as well as PCs, since nothing exempts one or the other from the rules. Say what you will about RAW, but RAI is on the side of my first comment (#2).
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Part of the SAC quoted above didn’t bold the part where it says “If you want to make an opportunity attack with a reach weapon,” Not that you have to. As mentioned, you don’t need to hold the weapon in both hands all the time. And you don’t even need to use your hands for an Unarmed Strike. Kicking works just fine.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Such dragon have a reach of 5 feet with claw and 10 feet with bite, so it should provoke an Opportunity Attack from any of them being left. If it's of any interest to you, here's the Dev's take on this;