In my D&D campaign, my wizard (Order of Scribes) uses a spellbook like a real-life research notebook. I write down spells, but I also jot down random topics and even cooking recipes because it's the only notebook I have. This detail is part of my character's backstory.
Recently, my spellbook was stolen during a scene in the campaign after I was hit with a sleep spell, and all my items were taken. Since I'm an Order of Scribes wizard, I'm not too worried because I can basically "back up" my spells and transcribe them into a new spellbook, which I did.
However, when I showed a map I had drawn in the old spellbook to my party (which I had to roll for), my DM said I couldn't do that because all my items were stolen, including the spellbook. But I argued that since the map was drawn in my awakened spellbook, I should still be able to access it.
I remember reading somewhere (though I can't recall the exact source) that as long as everything fits in the 100-page vellum book, it still counts as a spellbook. Since I can summon the contents of my awakened spellbook, I believe I should be able to use the map I drew, especially since I rolled a NAT20 for it.
I’ve checked the Player’s Handbook (PHB) and Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, but I couldn’t find anything to confirm or dispute my claim. Is there anything in the RAW (Rules As Written) or RAI (Rules As Intended) that supports my argument? Any help would be appreciated!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
A Sun Half Elf (and Half Human - Shuo Descent) that is just ✨Lost in the Sauce✨
Awakened Spellbook only transfers spells (and the 'consciousness') to the new book. So whether you can put other notes in it or not is irrelevant.
If necessary, you can replace the book over the course of a short rest by using your Wizardly Quill to write arcane sigils in a blank book or a magic spellbook to which you’re attuned. At the end of the rest, your spellbook’s consciousness is summoned into the new book, which the consciousness transforms into your spellbook, along with all its spells. If the previous book still existed somewhere, all the spellsvanish from its pages.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I agree with @Cyb3rM1nd. I think your DM is right in this case.
Also, according to RAW in the 2014 rules, a NAT20 on a ability check is just a very good score, not a crit. This will change under the 2024 rules, as far as I know, in terms of being always a success for ability checks.
EDIT: see the @The_Ace_of_Rogues's post about NAT20 in the 2024 PHB.
Oh! That clears it up a bit then, thank you both (@Cyb3rM1nd and @tarodnet)! Welp, time to journey to the basement of a crazy mage blind then haha XDDD.
Yes, you can absolutely put anything you want in your spellbook, the pages are still paper after all. (Well, technically vellum instead of paper, but you get the idea.)
I agree with @Cyb3rM1nd. I think your DM is right in this case.
Also, according to RAW in the 2014 rules, a NAT20 on a ability check is just a very good score, not a crit. This will change under the 2024 rules, as far as I know, in terms of being always a success for ability checks.
I'm pretty sure the bit about nat 20's got shot down after it was introduced. There's no mention of it in the glossary from the last UA packet, and unlike class features and such anything not carried over to the next glossary was considered discarded for playtesting purposes.
Regarding the question, as has been noted the RAW only guarantees bringing your spells with it. Now, I could definitely see a DM being fine with bringing miscellaneous notes along as well, but that's an "either way is a fair call in play" thing.
I agree with @Cyb3rM1nd. I think your DM is right in this case.
Also, according to RAW in the 2014 rules, a NAT20 on a ability check is just a very good score, not a crit. This will change under the 2024 rules, as far as I know, in terms of being always a success for ability checks.
I'm pretty sure the bit about nat 20's got shot down after it was introduced. There's no mention of it in the glossary from the last UA packet, and unlike class features and such anything not carried over to the next glossary was considered discarded for playtesting purposes.
Oh, mate... 😢 You made me so happy! That was one of the things that didn't convince me, and I thought it would be one of the changes in the new book after seeing it in UA.
Thanks for your answer!
PS. I'll update my answer to avoid confusion for future readers.
In my D&D campaign, my wizard (Order of Scribes) uses a spellbook like a real-life research notebook. I write down spells, but I also jot down random topics and even cooking recipes because it's the only notebook I have. This detail is part of my character's backstory.
Recently, my spellbook was stolen during a scene in the campaign after I was hit with a sleep spell, and all my items were taken. Since I'm an Order of Scribes wizard, I'm not too worried because I can basically "back up" my spells and transcribe them into a new spellbook, which I did.
However, when I showed a map I had drawn in the old spellbook to my party (which I had to roll for), my DM said I couldn't do that because all my items were stolen, including the spellbook. But I argued that since the map was drawn in my awakened spellbook, I should still be able to access it.
I remember reading somewhere (though I can't recall the exact source) that as long as everything fits in the 100-page vellum book, it still counts as a spellbook. Since I can summon the contents of my awakened spellbook, I believe I should be able to use the map I drew, especially since I rolled a NAT20 for it.
I’ve checked the Player’s Handbook (PHB) and Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, but I couldn’t find anything to confirm or dispute my claim. Is there anything in the RAW (Rules As Written) or RAI (Rules As Intended) that supports my argument? Any help would be appreciated!
A Sun Half Elf (and Half Human - Shuo Descent) that is just ✨Lost in the Sauce✨
Awakened Spellbook only transfers spells (and the 'consciousness') to the new book. So whether you can put other notes in it or not is irrelevant.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I agree with @Cyb3rM1nd. I think your DM is right in this case.
Also, according to RAW in the 2014 rules, a NAT20 on a ability check is just a very good score, not a crit.
This will change under the 2024 rules, as far as I know, in terms of being always a success for ability checks.EDIT: see the @The_Ace_of_Rogues's post about NAT20 in the 2024 PHB.
Oh! That clears it up a bit then, thank you both (@Cyb3rM1nd and @tarodnet)! Welp, time to journey to the basement of a crazy mage blind then haha XDDD.
A Sun Half Elf (and Half Human - Shuo Descent) that is just ✨Lost in the Sauce✨
I guess so! 😅 Cheers, and enjoy your adventures!
Yes, you can absolutely put anything you want in your spellbook, the pages are still paper after all. (Well, technically vellum instead of paper, but you get the idea.)
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I'm pretty sure the bit about nat 20's got shot down after it was introduced. There's no mention of it in the glossary from the last UA packet, and unlike class features and such anything not carried over to the next glossary was considered discarded for playtesting purposes.
Regarding the question, as has been noted the RAW only guarantees bringing your spells with it. Now, I could definitely see a DM being fine with bringing miscellaneous notes along as well, but that's an "either way is a fair call in play" thing.
Oh, mate... 😢 You made me so happy! That was one of the things that didn't convince me, and I thought it would be one of the changes in the new book after seeing it in UA.
Thanks for your answer!
PS. I'll update my answer to avoid confusion for future readers.
A spell book can contain notes.