Something came up in my campaign tonight and we weren't sure how to rule it as nothing we can find in RAW seems to prevent it.
Our paladin used two Channel Divinity abilities in a single round. Since one is an action and the other a bonus action, the action economy works, but does anyone know if there is an actual rule preventing multiple uses in a single round?
We're using D&D 2024 rules for the base classes, and Obojima for the subclasses (with some minor alterations to abilities to match the levels to the 2024 changes).
Some Channel Divinity abilities are Actions, and some are Bonus Actions. So yes, if they are using a bonus action channeled divinity ability, and a normal action channel divinity ability, they CAN use both.
Just like a spell caster CAN cast a spell Cantrip that takes an action, and cast a spell that only takes a bonus action in the same round as well.
The abilities should have clearly defined wording to show if they are actions or bonus actions, or even reactions.
Yes. The limit on usages of Channel Divinity is determined by action requirements of each Channel Divinity effect.
I can't speak for Obojima, but from the Player's Handbook, we have these options.
Divine Sense requires a Bonus Action.
Abjure Foes requires a Magic Action.
(Oath of Devotion) Sacred Weapon is activated as part of the Attack action.
So, any Paladin could Abjure Foes as a Magic Action and activate Divine Sense as a Bonus Action in the same round. At level 11, Paladins have 3 Channel Divinity uses and if an Oath of Devotion Paladin under the effect of Haste could use a Bonus Action for Divine Sense, a Magic Action for Abjure Foes, and activate Sacred Weapon as part of the Attack Action from Haste for three uses of Channel Divinity.
If the Obojima subclass doesn't specify the action required for any Channel Divinity features, the DM will have to decide on how any channel activity required.
Just like a spell caster CAN cast a spell that takes an action, and cast a spell that only takes a bonus action in the same round as well.
Except that you can't cast multiple spells unless one is a cantrip (or you're using metamagic).
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
If the Obojima subclass doesn't specify the action required for any Channel Divinity features, the DM will have to decide on how any channel activity required.
As mentioned, one uses a bonus action and the other an action (so magic or attack, it's not specified as Obojima was created under 2014 rules). The rest of your reply seems logical enough, and our DM allowed the use of both (though he's pretty new to DMing, and D&D in general so I wanted to make sure we weren't inadvertently abusing his newness.) I just wanted to see if anyone knew of a rule preventing such use, as is the case with spells using spell slots above.
If the Obojima subclass doesn't specify the action required for any Channel Divinity features, the DM will have to decide on how any channel activity required.
As mentioned, one uses a bonus action and the other an action (so magic or attack, it's not specified as Obojima was created under 2014 rules). The rest of your reply seems logical enough, and our DM allowed the use of both (though he's pretty new to DMing, and D&D in general so I wanted to make sure we weren't inadvertently abusing his newness.) I just wanted to see if anyone knew of a rule preventing such use, as is the case with spells using spell slots above.
I missed that. I got distracted trying to look up Obojima. No, the action economy and the number of uses are the only limits on Channel Divinity.
Just like a spell caster CAN cast a spell that takes an action, and cast a spell that only takes a bonus action in the same round as well.
Except that you can't cast multiple spells unless one is a cantrip (or you're using metamagic).
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
You can't cast two spells per turn with a spell slot. Casting Misty Step without a spell slot from the Fey-touched feat and casting another spell with a spell slot is fine.
2014: Only one level 1+ spell per turn. Any additional spells have to be Cantrips.
2024: Only one spell with a spell slot per turn. Any additional spells can be of any level as long as they don't expend a spell slot.
2014: Only one level 1+ spell per turn. Any additional spells have to be Cantrips.
2024: Only one spell with a spell slot per turn. Any additional spells can be of any level as long as they don't expend a spell slot.
The 2014 rule was less restrictive (and slightly more confusing) than that.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
And that was the only restriction. So if you did not cast a Bonus Action spell on your Turn, you were free to use other methods to cast any other level 1+ spell on your turn under the 2014 rules.
If circumstances lined up so you could use a Level 1+ Reaction spell on your Turn, there were no restrictions against it.
The classical example: You use your action to cast Fireball, Target uses their Reaction to Counterspell your Fireball, You use your Reaction Counterspell Foe's Counterspell.
If you took two levels in Fighter to get Action Surge, any Action was permitted in that extra action under the 2014 rules, including the Cast A Spell action:
Classical example: You use your action to cast Fireball. You use your Action Surge Action to cast Fireball again.
2024 rules prohibits players from using the Magic Action as an Action Surge option, and introduced the aforementioned "One spell with a spell slot per turn" rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Something came up in my campaign tonight and we weren't sure how to rule it as nothing we can find in RAW seems to prevent it.
Our paladin used two Channel Divinity abilities in a single round. Since one is an action and the other a bonus action, the action economy works, but does anyone know if there is an actual rule preventing multiple uses in a single round?
We're using D&D 2024 rules for the base classes, and Obojima for the subclasses (with some minor alterations to abilities to match the levels to the 2024 changes).
Some Channel Divinity abilities are Actions, and some are Bonus Actions.
So yes, if they are using a bonus action channeled divinity ability, and a normal action channel divinity ability, they CAN use both.
Just like a spell caster CAN cast a spell Cantrip that takes an action, and cast a spell that only takes a bonus action in the same round as well.
The abilities should have clearly defined wording to show if they are actions or bonus actions, or even reactions.
Edit for clarity.
Yes. The limit on usages of Channel Divinity is determined by action requirements of each Channel Divinity effect.
I can't speak for Obojima, but from the Player's Handbook, we have these options.
So, any Paladin could Abjure Foes as a Magic Action and activate Divine Sense as a Bonus Action in the same round. At level 11, Paladins have 3 Channel Divinity uses and if an Oath of Devotion Paladin under the effect of Haste could use a Bonus Action for Divine Sense, a Magic Action for Abjure Foes, and activate Sacred Weapon as part of the Attack Action from Haste for three uses of Channel Divinity.
If the Obojima subclass doesn't specify the action required for any Channel Divinity features, the DM will have to decide on how any channel activity required.
How to add Tooltips.
Except that you can't cast multiple spells unless one is a cantrip (or you're using metamagic).
As mentioned, one uses a bonus action and the other an action (so magic or attack, it's not specified as Obojima was created under 2014 rules). The rest of your reply seems logical enough, and our DM allowed the use of both (though he's pretty new to DMing, and D&D in general so I wanted to make sure we weren't inadvertently abusing his newness.) I just wanted to see if anyone knew of a rule preventing such use, as is the case with spells using spell slots above.
I missed that. I got distracted trying to look up Obojima. No, the action economy and the number of uses are the only limits on Channel Divinity.
You can't cast two spells per turn with a spell slot. Casting Misty Step without a spell slot from the Fey-touched feat and casting another spell with a spell slot is fine.
2014: Only one level 1+ spell per turn. Any additional spells have to be Cantrips.
2024: Only one spell with a spell slot per turn. Any additional spells can be of any level as long as they don't expend a spell slot.
How to add Tooltips.
The 2014 rule was less restrictive (and slightly more confusing) than that.
And that was the only restriction. So if you did not cast a Bonus Action spell on your Turn, you were free to use other methods to cast any other level 1+ spell on your turn under the 2014 rules.
2024 rules prohibits players from using the Magic Action as an Action Surge option, and introduced the aforementioned "One spell with a spell slot per turn" rule.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage