The mount shares your initiative, and I'd say it doesn't have its own turn, it's the same as your character's.
Controlling a Mount
You can control a mount only if it has been trained to accept a rider. Domesticated horses, mules, and similar creatures have such training.
The Initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves on your turn as you direct it, and it has only three action options during that turn: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge. A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it.
In contrast, an independent mount—one that lets you ride but ignores your control—retains its place in the Initiative order and moves and acts as it likes.
Now the next question is; what does it mean when a mount Dashes, Dodges, or Disengages? Does the Dash mean that the character still has their regular action? If not, what is the purpose of a horse since they don't seem to move faster than a character?
On the other hand, if the Dash action does not have an impact on the character (i.e., the horse can Dash and the character still has their action), then what about Dodge and Disengage? Does the horse Dodging mean that people attacking the horse have Disadvantage but people attacking the rider do not?
In a similar vein, if the horse Disengages does that mean people don't get Opportunity Attacks against the horse but they do against the rider? For that matter, even if the horse doesn't disengage do people get Opportunity Attacks against the rider since it is 'forced movement' for the rider?
I believe if the horse provokes an opportunity attack the creature can choose either rider or mount to attack. As for the dodge action, I think only the creature who took it would benefit.
Now the next question is; what does it mean when a mount Dashes, Dodges, or Disengages? Does the Dash mean that the character still has their regular action? If not, what is the purpose of a horse since they don't seem to move faster than a character?
On the other hand, if the Dash action does not have an impact on the character (i.e., the horse can Dash and the character still has their action), then what about Dodge and Disengage? Does the horse Dodging mean that people attacking the horse have Disadvantage but people attacking the rider do not?
In a similar vein, if the horse Disengages does that mean people don't get Opportunity Attacks against the horse but they do against the rider? For that matter, even if the horse doesn't disengage do people get Opportunity Attacks against the rider since it is 'forced movement' for the rider?
As I understand the rules:
Your mount moves, not you.
A Riding Horse, for example, has a Speed of 60 ft, so Dash is useful.
If your mount Disengage, you don't provoke an opportunity attack ("You also don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.")
Dodge is useful when not using your mount to Disengage or Dash. This way, your mount benefits from taking that action.
@ChewBobcca if a mount takes the Disengage action does the rider provoke opportunity attacks? @JeremyECrawford No, since the mount isn't provoking them and the rider is being moved by someone else's movement (PH, 195)
@ChewBobcca if a mount takes the Disengage action does the rider provoke opportunity attacks? @JeremyECrawford No, since the mount isn't provoking them and the rider is being moved by someone else's movement (PH, 195)
I think my only issue with that is that in 2024 it specifically states that if the mount provokes an opportunity attack you can target either the mount or the rider.
So it would seem what Crawford said would still hold true, I think the rules made it a little more complicated by allowing the rider to be targeted. Though I don't remember how it worked in 2024.
@ChewBobcca if a mount takes the Disengage action does the rider provoke opportunity attacks? @JeremyECrawford No, since the mount isn't provoking them and the rider is being moved by someone else's movement (PH, 195)
I think my only issue with that is that in 2024 it specifically states that if the mount provokes an opportunity attack you can target either the mount or the rider.
So it would seem what Crawford said would still hold true, I think the rules made it a little more complicated by allowing the rider to be targeted. Though I don't remember how it worked in 2024.
Did you mean 2014, right? If so, yes, the 2014 line "In either case, if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount" is not in the 2024 PHB.
So if we follow the Opportunity Attack rules, when the mount provokes one, I'd say the target should be the mount, not the rider.
More specifically does the mount take their turn before/after the player or simultaneously with the player?
I'm of the opinion that only one creature can act on a turn (with reactions creating an exception).
The mount shares your initiative, and I'd say it doesn't have its own turn, it's the same as your character's.
Alright so it's official that I can't read lol
Either that or once again I'm getting editions in my head mixed up
Now the next question is; what does it mean when a mount Dashes, Dodges, or Disengages? Does the Dash mean that the character still has their regular action? If not, what is the purpose of a horse since they don't seem to move faster than a character?
On the other hand, if the Dash action does not have an impact on the character (i.e., the horse can Dash and the character still has their action), then what about Dodge and Disengage? Does the horse Dodging mean that people attacking the horse have Disadvantage but people attacking the rider do not?
In a similar vein, if the horse Disengages does that mean people don't get Opportunity Attacks against the horse but they do against the rider? For that matter, even if the horse doesn't disengage do people get Opportunity Attacks against the rider since it is 'forced movement' for the rider?
A riding horse moves 60ft I believe.
I believe if the horse provokes an opportunity attack the creature can choose either rider or mount to attack. As for the dodge action, I think only the creature who took it would benefit.
As I understand the rules:
From the Dev:
I think my only issue with that is that in 2024 it specifically states that if the mount provokes an opportunity attack you can target either the mount or the rider.
So it would seem what Crawford said would still hold true, I think the rules made it a little more complicated by allowing the rider to be targeted. Though I don't remember how it worked in 2024.
Did you mean 2014, right? If so, yes, the 2014 line "In either case, if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount" is not in the 2024 PHB.
So if we follow the Opportunity Attack rules, when the mount provokes one, I'd say the target should be the mount, not the rider.