You create six tiny meteors in your space. They float in the air and orbit you for the spell’s duration. When you cast the spell—and as a bonus action on each of your turns thereafter—you can expend one or two of the meteors, sending them streaking toward a point or points you choose within 120 feet of you. Once a meteor reaches its destination or impacts against a solid surface, the meteor explodes. Each creature within 5 feet of the point where the meteor explodes must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
My understanding is that each meteor does 2d6 fire damage and if you choose to hit the same creature with two meteors it will be 4d6 damage. Is this correct?
The spell only explains what happens after 1 meteor is used, so I'm pretty confident that you could do 4d6 with 2 meteors, but it would probably make 2 saves. Maybe with disadvantage or something though since it was just hit with the first meteor.
The spell say "Once a meteor reaches its destination or impacts against a solid surface, the meteor explodes.", this implies that if someone shots an arrow to one of the meteors, it cause the meteor to explode. Right?
To be really nitpicky, it is said when it impacts against a solid surface it explodes, not when a solid surface impacts it. So RAW I guess it would not work that way. That said, if my players would attempt to do this I'd probably allow it depending on what they try to do. The spell says the meteors are "tiny" so it's probably difficult to hit. They also orbit around you, making it more difficult. I think you're better off trying to break concentration on the caster by attacking them. That would break all remaining meteors.
The spell say "Once a meteor reaches its destination or impacts against a solid surface, the meteor explodes.", this implies that if someone shots an arrow to one of the meteors, it cause the meteor to explode. Right?
To be really nitpicky, it is said when it impacts against a solid surface it explodes, not when a solid surface impacts it. So RAW I guess it would not work that way. That said, if my players would attempt to do this I'd probably allow it depending on what they try to do. The spell says the meteors are "tiny" so it's probably difficult to hit. They also orbit around you, making it more difficult. I think you're better off trying to break concentration on the caster by attacking them. That would break all remaining meteors.
I'm picturing a suicide familiar (probably owl) charging the meteors. If they are spinning it just has to get in the way to set them off.
I'm picturing a suicide familiar (probably owl) charging the meteors. If they are spinning it just has to get in the way to set them off.
Flipping this idea around say you were to cast this spell and then run forward/dive onto the ground next to some enemies. Would the meteors trigger as they orbit the caster into the ground?
Sort of like self destruct option.
Not just to limit this idea to if they would they trigger if the caster was knocked prone. Say they were knocked up against a wall? Or shared their space with a busy swarm of crows?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The spell reads
You create six tiny meteors in your space. They float in the air and orbit you for the spell’s duration. When you cast the spell—and as a bonus action on each of your turns thereafter—you can expend one or two of the meteors, sending them streaking toward a point or points you choose within 120 feet of you. Once a meteor reaches its destination or impacts against a solid surface, the meteor explodes. Each creature within 5 feet of the point where the meteor explodes must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
My understanding is that each meteor does 2d6 fire damage and if you choose to hit the same creature with two meteors it will be 4d6 damage. Is this correct?
Correct - and there would be 2 saves by the creature(s), 1 for each meteor.
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
The spell only explains what happens after 1 meteor is used, so I'm pretty confident that you could do 4d6 with 2 meteors, but it would probably make 2 saves. Maybe with disadvantage or something though since it was just hit with the first meteor.
Can I roll for that?
Since you can attack up to two different targets, each would have to do 2d6 damage and produce saves.
There are no penalties to the saves even if you strike the same target twice. That would be something that would be stated in the spell description.
Does Empowered Evocation apply to this spell?
To be really nitpicky, it is said when it impacts against a solid surface it explodes, not when a solid surface impacts it. So RAW I guess it would not work that way. That said, if my players would attempt to do this I'd probably allow it depending on what they try to do. The spell says the meteors are "tiny" so it's probably difficult to hit. They also orbit around you, making it more difficult. I think you're better off trying to break concentration on the caster by attacking them. That would break all remaining meteors.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
I'm picturing a suicide familiar (probably owl) charging the meteors. If they are spinning it just has to get in the way to set them off.
Flipping this idea around say you were to cast this spell and then run forward/dive onto the ground next to some enemies. Would the meteors trigger as they orbit the caster into the ground?
Sort of like self destruct option.
Not just to limit this idea to if they would they trigger if the caster was knocked prone. Say they were knocked up against a wall? Or shared their space with a busy swarm of crows?