Some creatures in previous editions were incorporeal. Now they have immunity to grapples / restraining. Can they grapple? RAW yes as nothing stated but is there an errata on this?
Some creatures were malleable in previous editions and now again have grapple immunity, can these creatures grapple? (technically the same question but one may be an ephemeral being the other may be an ooze)
Yes, a creature that initiates the grapple is not considered "grappled" per the condition, so a creature that is immune to grapple can still grab someone.
RAW. The basic rule is that you can use an attack action you can use a single attack to try to cause the grappled condition to a creature that is no more than one size larger than you and within reach. Unless the creature is immune to being grappled (i.e. is immune to the grappled condition) the target follows that basic rule for that condition.
RAJdeBoer is right. The rules never say that a creature that starts a grapple suffers from the condition or that a creature immune to being grappled can't grapple others, so neither of those things are true.
There are lots of examples in fiction of ghosts or other spirits interacting with the material world, moving objects, smashing things even though they are also incorporeal and move through walls. So from a "real" world perspective, I don't really see an issue with creatures who can't be grappled due to being incorporeal or malleable still being able to apply a grapple.
Some creatures in previous editions were incorporeal. Now they have immunity to grapples / restraining. Can they grapple? RAW yes as nothing stated but is there an errata on this?
Some creatures were malleable in previous editions and now again have grapple immunity, can these creatures grapple? (technically the same question but one may be an ephemeral being the other may be an ooze)
Cheers in advance for the input.
Yes, a creature that initiates the grapple is not considered "grappled" per the condition, so a creature that is immune to grapple can still grab someone.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Cheers RAJ, can you add if thats RAW or RAI?
RAW. The basic rule is that you can use an attack action you can use a single attack to try to cause the grappled condition to a creature that is no more than one size larger than you and within reach. Unless the creature is immune to being grappled (i.e. is immune to the grappled condition) the target follows that basic rule for that condition.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
RAJdeBoer is right. The rules never say that a creature that starts a grapple suffers from the condition or that a creature immune to being grappled can't grapple others, so neither of those things are true.
Here's an official ruling: "Being immune to the grappled condition doesn't deprive you of the ability to grapple others."
The Forum Infestation (TM)
THE SAGE HATH SPOKETH!!! :P
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
Grappling ghosts... sigh well at least they arent strong but carrying people into the air and dropping them doesnt feel right.
There are lots of examples in fiction of ghosts or other spirits interacting with the material world, moving objects, smashing things even though they are also incorporeal and move through walls. So from a "real" world perspective, I don't really see an issue with creatures who can't be grappled due to being incorporeal or malleable still being able to apply a grapple.
Yeah you have poltergeist variant for that though.