Okay, so you can quicken a leveled spell, and although you can't, for example, use a wand to cast Fireball, you could still do something like chuck a Javelin of Lightning or any other magic item that creates its own unique effect instead of allowing the casting of a spell.
regarding the javelin of lightning, yes, you can do that
in general, my sorlock character uses this to bonus action cast faerie fire and follow up with eldritch blast. I think it’s a great mechanic for being able to contribute a bit of battlefield control/buffing while still dealing damage
That is a great use. Quickening a spell to use your action on a cantrip would generally be a poor choice. But, in the case of the sorlock, that cantrip is tricked out and probably a bulk of your damage/actions anyway. Being able to use a leveled spell too is just great.
So all quickened spell does is turn a 1 action cantrip into bonus and enabling the use of a level spell for the action. I am sure there was clarification from Crawford that you could use it to cast two level spells in one round. Maybe this here https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/1044991044666834944?lang=en?
So all quickened spell does is turn a 1 action cantrip into bonus and enabling the use of a level spell for the action. I am sure there was clarification from Crawford that you could use it to cast two level spells in one round. Maybe this here https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/1044991044666834944?lang=en?
If you are not using a bonus action to cast a spell, then you can cast as many levelled spells as you want. This is useful to know for things that grant actions like Action Surge feature.
However, if you do use a bonus action spell - regardless of what type of spell, or whether it was normally a bonus action or quickened into one, or whether it is from a magic item or not - then all other spells cast that turn, be it before using the bonus action spell or after, must be cantrips even if you use Action Surge or casting from a magic item.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I think I understand now why everyone complains about Jeremy Crawford tweets. He almost always answers (often correctly) the question asked -- without context or any thought to what the person was really trying to ask --- and then people tend to take them as the word of the lord again forgetting the details of what question was actually asked or context to make his statements relevant.
To clarify a little, the tweet linked above says that you can cast two one-action spells using quickened spell. That is completely true, but doesn't add in the portion that the one-action spell that you actually use your action has to be a cantrip. Jeremy's answers seem prone to be a little too strict to the question that was asked, but then people to point to them as proof for things that they're not talking about, like a little lie of omission.
It helps if you don't think about the action associated with the spell, but rather think about the action you take when casting. Quickened spell turns your casting action into a bonus action. If you spend your bonus action to cast a spell, then you're limited to a cantrip with a casting time of one action on your turn. If you don't use your bonus action to cast a spell, then you can cast whatever your action economy allows for. Cyb3rM1nd gives a great example of this above when he talks about action surge. An Eldritch knight could take the casting action, use action surge for a second casting action, and even take a reaction all on their turn and we're in good shape because none of that involves using the bonus action to cast a spell.
In your example, you are swapping the rules, asking "If I use my bonus action on the cantrip, then does that free up my action for a leveled spell?" It's a reasonable question from a logical standpoint, but the answer is no.
How would you rule using quickened spell to change a casting time from 1 minute to an action
You can't use quickened spell on a spell with casting time 1 minute
When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.
I will never get wise on this, so if i get this right Quickened changes your Cantrips into bonus action spells and not lvl 1-9 spells for a Sorcerer? but if you use the Quickened to cast a spell but use the actionpoint to do something else than casting is that possible?
I really hope they will update the ruling on the Metamagic page to clarify this.
I will never get wise on this, so if i get this right Quickened changes your Cantrips into bonus action spells and not lvl 1-9 spells for a Sorcerer? but if you use the Quickened to cast a spell but use the actionpoint to do something else than casting is that possible?
I really hope they will update the ruling on the Metamagic page to clarify this.
You can quicken any action spell regardless of level.
If you cast a spell (any spell) as a bonus action, you can still use your action for anything else as normal except if you cast a spell with it, it has to be a cantrip.
As I understand it. A bonus action can be taken anytime during your turn provided you have not already used it. Therefore. You can cast two leveled spells provided they both have a casting time of one action as long as you place them in the right order. Cast your leveled spell first as normal then move or use your reaction or spend two sorcerer points and cast your quickened spell. If you cast a spell with casting time of one bonus action first (including a quickened one) you are bound by the cantrip rule. Example
Sorcerer casts fireball (regularly) then moves takes a reaction then before ending their turn spends two sorcerer points and casts a quickened fireball as his first was cast as a standard action.
now the reverse. Sorcerer quickens fireball first making it a bonus action then moves now he is bound by the cantrip rule as he already used a bonus action (fireball) so now his cantrip takes the form of his regular attack. It all comes down to how the player stated their order. The rules offer no leeway (other than the all important (not sarcastic) the DM is god rule.
I went and double checked the verbiage regarding bonus actions (in general)and as they pertain to spells. If you have taken ANY bonus actions only a cantrip can be cast AFTER doing so. The PHB does clearly say a bonus action can be taken at any time before the end of your turn as well as the verbage regarding quicken spell which does state that the spell to be quickened must have a normal casting time of 1 action. With this in mind to reiterate make sure you cast your first leveled spell normally then use your quicken spell. This makes quicken spell ridiculously powerful because you could cast two 9th level spells in a single turn provided each has a casting time of one action if done in the correct order for 2 sorcery points as they do not scale with the spells’ levels. It is a blanket 2 for any spell with a normal casting time of 1 action.
Just a side note to my previous post the quickened spell does require the expenditure of a spell slot it is not a free spell in case anyone had any question regarding that.
As I understand it. A bonus action can be taken anytime during your turn provided you have not already used it. Therefore. You can cast two leveled spells provided they both have a casting time of one action as long as you place them in the right order. Cast your leveled spell first as normal then move or use your reaction or spend two sorcerer points and cast your quickened spell. If you cast a spell with casting time of one bonus action first (including a quickened one) you are bound by the cantrip rule. Example
No no no. The restriction is "during the same turn" so the order doesn't matter. If you do a leveled spell with your action first then you simply can't cast a spell with your bonus action at all as you'd be in breach of the restriction.
I went and double checked the verbiage regarding bonus actions (in general)and as they pertain to spells. If you have taken ANY bonus actions only a cantrip can be cast AFTER doing so. The PHB does clearly say a bonus action can be taken at any time before the end of your turn as well as the verbage regarding quicken spell which does state that the spell to be quickened must have a normal casting time of 1 action.
Again no. Only bonus actions that is casting a spell has any interaction with spellcasting with your action.
Allow me to bring out the old visual aid. I feel like this really does simplify things and answer a lot of questions and account for just about all situations.
Reminder: any spell cast as a bonus action prevents you from casting a leveled spell as an action... So you can't magic stone and catapult the same turn. Or shillelagh and *insert non-catrip spell here*.
Hmm, could you take a cue from the hasted rogue's double sneak attack strat and: Cast your bonus action 1+ spell, then ready an action to cast another action 1+ spell after your turn? It'd burn your reaction. Maybe not since readying a spell still casts it? Thoughts?
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Hmm, could you take a cue from the hasted rogue's double sneak attack strat and: Cast your bonus action 1+ spell, then ready an action to cast another action 1+ spell after your turn? It'd burn your reaction. Maybe not since readying a spell still casts it? Thoughts?
No. Readying a spell casts it immediately and holds it until either it's used or just before your next turn where it drops and goes to waste.
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs.
Okay, so you can quicken a leveled spell, and although you can't, for example, use a wand to cast Fireball, you could still do something like chuck a Javelin of Lightning or any other magic item that creates its own unique effect instead of allowing the casting of a spell.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
regarding the javelin of lightning, yes, you can do that
in general, my sorlock character uses this to bonus action cast faerie fire and follow up with eldritch blast. I think it’s a great mechanic for being able to contribute a bit of battlefield control/buffing while still dealing damage
That is a great use. Quickening a spell to use your action on a cantrip would generally be a poor choice. But, in the case of the sorlock, that cantrip is tricked out and probably a bulk of your damage/actions anyway. Being able to use a leveled spell too is just great.
You definitely could do the double fireball, and here is how.
Quicken fireball, and use a necklace of fireballs. Since you expressly do not cast the spell from the necklace, you can combo it with a cast, RAW.
And then you action surge, to throw another bead separately.
Triple fireball.
That works. It requires a rare consumable magic item, but it works.
So all quickened spell does is turn a 1 action cantrip into bonus and enabling the use of a level spell for the action. I am sure there was clarification from Crawford that you could use it to cast two level spells in one round. Maybe this here https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/1044991044666834944?lang=en?
Just an old nerd...
If you are not using a bonus action to cast a spell, then you can cast as many levelled spells as you want. This is useful to know for things that grant actions like Action Surge feature.
However, if you do use a bonus action spell - regardless of what type of spell, or whether it was normally a bonus action or quickened into one, or whether it is from a magic item or not - then all other spells cast that turn, be it before using the bonus action spell or after, must be cantrips even if you use Action Surge or casting from a magic item.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I think I understand now why everyone complains about Jeremy Crawford tweets. He almost always answers (often correctly) the question asked -- without context or any thought to what the person was really trying to ask --- and then people tend to take them as the word of the lord again forgetting the details of what question was actually asked or context to make his statements relevant.
To clarify a little, the tweet linked above says that you can cast two one-action spells using quickened spell. That is completely true, but doesn't add in the portion that the one-action spell that you actually use your action has to be a cantrip. Jeremy's answers seem prone to be a little too strict to the question that was asked, but then people to point to them as proof for things that they're not talking about, like a little lie of omission.
It helps if you don't think about the action associated with the spell, but rather think about the action you take when casting. Quickened spell turns your casting action into a bonus action. If you spend your bonus action to cast a spell, then you're limited to a cantrip with a casting time of one action on your turn. If you don't use your bonus action to cast a spell, then you can cast whatever your action economy allows for. Cyb3rM1nd gives a great example of this above when he talks about action surge. An Eldritch knight could take the casting action, use action surge for a second casting action, and even take a reaction all on their turn and we're in good shape because none of that involves using the bonus action to cast a spell.
In your example, you are swapping the rules, asking "If I use my bonus action on the cantrip, then does that free up my action for a leveled spell?" It's a reasonable question from a logical standpoint, but the answer is no.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
How would you rule using quickened spell to change a casting time from 1 minute to an action
You can't use quickened spell on a spell with casting time 1 minute
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I will never get wise on this, so if i get this right Quickened changes your Cantrips into bonus action spells and not lvl 1-9 spells for a Sorcerer? but if you use the Quickened to cast a spell but use the actionpoint to do something else than casting is that possible?
I really hope they will update the ruling on the Metamagic page to clarify this.
You can quicken any action spell regardless of level.
If you cast a spell (any spell) as a bonus action, you can still use your action for anything else as normal except if you cast a spell with it, it has to be a cantrip.
As I understand it. A bonus action can be taken anytime during your turn provided you have not already used it. Therefore. You can cast two leveled spells provided they both have a casting time of one action as long as you place them in the right order. Cast your leveled spell first as normal then move or use your reaction or spend two sorcerer points and cast your quickened spell. If you cast a spell with casting time of one bonus action first (including a quickened one) you are bound by the cantrip rule. Example
Sorcerer casts fireball (regularly) then moves takes a reaction then before ending their turn spends two sorcerer points and casts a quickened fireball as his first was cast as a standard action.
now the reverse. Sorcerer quickens fireball first making it a bonus action then moves now he is bound by the cantrip rule as he already used a bonus action (fireball) so now his cantrip takes the form of his regular attack. It all comes down to how the player stated their order. The rules offer no leeway (other than the all important (not sarcastic) the DM is god rule.
I went and double checked the verbiage regarding bonus actions (in general)and as they pertain to spells. If you have taken ANY bonus actions only a cantrip can be cast AFTER doing so. The PHB does clearly say a bonus action can be taken at any time before the end of your turn as well as the verbage regarding quicken spell which does state that the spell to be quickened must have a normal casting time of 1 action. With this in mind to reiterate make sure you cast your first leveled spell normally then use your quicken spell. This makes quicken spell ridiculously powerful because you could cast two 9th level spells in a single turn provided each has a casting time of one action if done in the correct order for 2 sorcery points as they do not scale with the spells’ levels. It is a blanket 2 for any spell with a normal casting time of 1 action.
Just a side note to my previous post the quickened spell does require the expenditure of a spell slot it is not a free spell in case anyone had any question regarding that.
No no no. The restriction is "during the same turn" so the order doesn't matter. If you do a leveled spell with your action first then you simply can't cast a spell with your bonus action at all as you'd be in breach of the restriction.
Again no. Only bonus actions that is casting a spell has any interaction with spellcasting with your action.
Allow me to bring out the old visual aid. I feel like this really does simplify things and answer a lot of questions and account for just about all situations.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Reminder: any spell cast as a bonus action prevents you from casting a leveled spell as an action... So you can't magic stone and catapult the same turn. Or shillelagh and *insert non-catrip spell here*.
Hmm, could you take a cue from the hasted rogue's double sneak attack strat and: Cast your bonus action 1+ spell, then ready an action to cast another action 1+ spell after your turn? It'd burn your reaction. Maybe not since readying a spell still casts it? Thoughts?
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
No. Readying a spell casts it immediately and holds it until either it's used or just before your next turn where it drops and goes to waste.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).