You've clearly grasped that the hang up that we have is the M component. You tried to state it just before I rejoined the conversation. We argue that the presence of an M component are relevant and t you argue that relying on the presence of the M component is not necessary. Your insistence on that hasn't convinced anyone that says that it's relevant otherwise. You haven't introduced anything to make us think otherwise (the Artificer rules don't, even as an exception. That doesn't mean that the Artificer can't cast those spells via our argument, just that they can't do so while holding a weapon, even with the Arcane Firearm which isn't a weapon since it has no attack stats. It can simply act as an Artificer spellcasting focus on place of the normally required tools.) Thus, let your current arguments lend the sway that they will and agree to disagree. Otherwise, we'll continue you rehash the same 250 words or whatever the actual number is that has been rehashed because there is nothing new to add to the discussion (apparently).
Well, normally it would be. I totally agree that in a normal casting of a spell, you never reference the M component rules in any way. But. Since you are using an object that DOES reference those rules, you do reference them.
Do we disagree that the object references those rules? Is that where you're not getting this? The only part of the rules the Arcane Focus references is very specifically the Material Component portion of the Spellcasting Section. The object itself references that rules text, and so that rules text is relevant when the object is used.
When something references a rule, you use that rule.
The Arcane Focus references the material component portion of the Spellcasting section, so when you use an arcane focus you use those rules.
Nothing about this should be controversial this is D&D rules 101 here. Do what it says on the page.
Can you explain why you refuse to reference the rules that the object says to reference?
What you are saying is similar to the rules for a math test saying you can only use a writing utensil and a piece of paper on it. There is a clause that says that for a portion of the test, you can use a calculator. You look at the handbook for the calculator, which says you can use it for calculations and assume that because the calculator says you can use it for all calculations, that you can use it for the portion of the test that says you can't.
I love this example tbh. The only change is that the test DOESN"T say you can't use a calculator on it. Y'all just assuming that is true.
You guys keep saying you can only use a focus when there is M components. But that restriction IS NOT THERE.
If this was a math test that had that sort of restriction, you could EASILY point to it and quote it. But no one in this long, long thread has actually quoted anything that says you cannot use a focus with certain spells.
The item itself says you can. Nothing in the rules says otherwise. So, you can.
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Note the Boldfaced words and the Italicized words.
What you are saying is similar to the rules for a math test saying you can only use a writing utensil and a piece of paper on it. There is a clause that says that for a portion of the test, you can use a calculator. You look at the handbook for the calculator, which says you can use it for calculations and assume that because the calculator says you can use it for all calculations, that you can use it for the portion of the test that says you can't.
I love this example tbh. The only change is that the test DOESN"T say you can't use a calculator on it. Y'all just assuming that is true.
You guys keep saying you can only use a focus when there is M components. But that restriction IS NOT THERE.
If this was a math test that had that sort of restriction, you could EASILY point to it and quote it. But no one in this long, long thread has actually quoted anything that says you cannot use a focus with certain spells.
The item itself says you can. Nothing in the rules says otherwise. So, you can.
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Note the Boldfaced words and the Italicized words.
Yeah, so, revisiting your example.
It is like having a math test, and in section 3 it says You can use your calculator to graph the equations in this section.
And all yall infer from that that a calculator can't be used during any other part of the test. But ain't nothing says that. The teacher handed you a calculator for the test that says you can use it on the test. So, you can.
That bolded line is giving you a permission to do something extra while using a focus, describing a perk of doing so. It is not worded in any way like an exclusive means of using the focus. It doesn't say you must replace a material component to be able to use a focus. It says that when you do use a focus, you get to replace any material components the spell had. That's permission to do something extra when doing the focus thing. But again, it doesn't place any restrictions of using a focus.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
I would just like that this thread does not end on false interpretations of rules. That is the only reason that I continue to post: so that some poor soul who wanders onto this thread and thinks it must finally be settled (it is in fact settled, it was settled way back in the first reply) doesn't get lost in the pages of idiocy.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
I would just like that this thread does not end on false interpretations of rules. That is the only reason that I continue to post: so that some poor soul who wanders onto this thread and thinks it must finally be settled (it is in fact settled, it was settled way back in the first reply) doesn't get lost in the pages of idiocy.
^ This guy wants you to believe a wizard can't cast a spell through the arcane focus he is holding despite the arcane focus specifically telling you that you can.
The argument is absurd, and nothing in the rules says it. He fabricated it out of thin air.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
You can do whatever you like as flavor as long as you meet the requirements of the spell. A spell that has S (but not M) has a requirement for a free hand that is not in any way mitigated by your choice of what you'd like to hold.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
I would just like that this thread does not end on false interpretations of rules. That is the only reason that I continue to post: so that some poor soul who wanders onto this thread and thinks it must finally be settled (it is in fact settled, it was settled way back in the first reply) doesn't get lost in the pages of idiocy.
^ This guy wants you to believe a wizard can't cast a spell through the arcane focus he is holding despite the arcane focus specifically telling you that you can.
The argument is absurd, and nothing in the rules says it. He fabricated it out of thin air.
Rules as Written, you cannot cast a spell without providing its components. When your hand is full when you attempt to cast any spell that has somatic components and no material components, you cannot cast the spell unless you drop whatever is in that hand or the other hand, or put one of them away, EVEN IF IT IS AN ARCANE FOCUS.
That is strictly Rules as Written.
Do I think this makes sense? No, of course it doesn't. Do I personally make players do this in my games? Of course not, because it doesn't make sense to have to do this. Do I acknowledge this as the strictly Rules as Written interpretation of the rules? Yes, I do.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
I would just like that this thread does not end on false interpretations of rules. That is the only reason that I continue to post: so that some poor soul who wanders onto this thread and thinks it must finally be settled (it is in fact settled, it was settled way back in the first reply) doesn't get lost in the pages of idiocy.
^ This guy wants you to believe a wizard can't cast a spell through the arcane focus he is holding despite the arcane focus specifically telling you that you can.
The argument is absurd, and nothing in the rules says it. He fabricated it out of thin air.
Rules as Written, you cannot cast a spell without providing its components. When your hand is full when you attempt to cast any spell that has somatic components and no material components, you cannot cast the spell unless you drop whatever is in that hand or the other hand, or put one of them away, EVEN IF IT IS AN ARCANE FOCUS.
That is strictly Rules as Written.
Do I think this makes sense? No, of course it doesn't. Do I personally make players do this in my games? Of course not, because it doesn't make sense to have to do this. Do I acknowledge this as the strictly Rules as Written interpretation of the rules? Yes, I do.
You guys say that's RAW, and it isn't. But what's Jeremy Crawford say?
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203).
So y'all very wrong. The man, the myth, the legend himself says you're wrong. Bye.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
Without context of what the components of the spell are, that question is meaningless, and so is its answer. Context is a concept you don't seem to grasp. Also, people all over these forms love to point out that JC's tweets are not rules. Point me to some rules that say that what you are holding changes the requirements of spells.
Can you perform somatic components of spells with a hand holding an arcane focus?
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203) ~ Jeremy Crawford
/thread
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
Without context of what the components of the spell are, that question is meaningless, and so is its answer. Context is a concept you don't seem to grasp. Also, people all over these forms love to point out that JC's tweets are not rules. Point me to some rules that say that what you are holding changes the requirements of spells.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
Without context of what the components of the spell are, that question is meaningless, and so is its answer. Context is a concept you don't seem to grasp. Also, people all over these forms love to point out that JC's tweets are not rules. Point me to some rules that say that what you are holding changes the requirements of spells.
An arcane focus is a special item designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in the Spellcasting section.
The Arcane Focus tells us we can use it as a spellcasting focus for our arcane spells. It doesn't say we can only use it as a spellcasting focus for M spells. No such restriction exists.
You have deluded yourself into thinking such a restriction exists but in a none of the posts in this thread has a single one of you actually provided anything to back up that ludicrous hallucination.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
None of what you've provided changes the requirements of the spell.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
None of what you've provided changes the requirements of the spell.
Which is relevant to nothing.
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203) ~ Jeremy Crawford
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
Again, he didn't say that a focus negated the rules above, just clarified that last sentence in the material component rules.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
Again, he didn't say that a focus negated the rules, just clarified that last sentence in the material component rules.
Yeah the relevant rules for using a focus.
Edit: in the Spellcasting section. <-- Click it. Do it. Where does it take you? The relevant rules for using a focus.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
I don't see what in the sentence you keep repeating (that, I'll remind you is not a rule, but a tweet) that says anything that I have not admitted to: the sentence lacks any context to make it actually helpful, but is not out of line with the interpretation for M component spells. It is, however, out of line with RAW and his very own arguments in SAC to interpret that sentence any other way, such as always being applicable.
A spell has physical requirements that the caster must meet in order to be able to cast that spell. One of them is for a free hand. This is called the somatic component. If a spell has a somatic component, then it requires a free hand. There is a single exception to this rule (as far as anyone has been able to show in the 19 pages that this thread has dragged on, 12 of which are due to one person) that is if the spell also has an M component. To be clear, it is not "if I use an M component;" it is if the spell has the M component.
By the way, there isn't a "using a focus" section. There is only a section that describes how to cast a spell that has a material component requirement.
A spell has physical requirements that the caster must meet in order to be able to cast that spell. One of them is for a free hand. This is called the somatic component. If a spell has a somatic component, then it requires a free hand. There is asingle exception to this rule (as far as anyone has been able to show in the 19 pages that this thread has dragged on, 12 of which are due to one person) that is if the spell also has an M component.
Single? Naw. You can cast a provide the S component with the same hand holding either the component or a focus. That's 2. Two exceptions. Rule is clear:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
It is unambiguous. S can be done with the same hand as holding the focus. Totally unambiguous.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
You are reading the M section as if it is not something that is required of spells. Try reading the quote that I've provided for my last several responses. Components are requirements of spells -- that is what they are. A spellcasting focus is merely a method of fulfilling one of those components -- the M component.
By the way, the "second" exception that you pointed out is the single exception that I said. The only way that a spell has the requirement of a M component is if that indicates it -- without the M indication, then the spell does not have the material component requirement, and therefore does not have any exception for its S component.
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components.
I would just like that this thread does not end on false interpretations of rules. That is the only reason that I continue to post: so that some poor soul who wanders onto this thread and thinks it must finally be settled (it is in fact settled, it was settled way back in the first reply) doesn't get lost in the pages of idiocy.
^ This guy wants you to believe a wizard can't cast a spell through the arcane focus he is holding despite the arcane focus specifically telling you that you can.
The argument is absurd, and nothing in the rules says it. He fabricated it out of thin air.
Rules as Written, you cannot cast a spell without providing its components. When your hand is full when you attempt to cast any spell that has somatic components and no material components, you cannot cast the spell unless you drop whatever is in that hand or the other hand, or put one of them away, EVEN IF IT IS AN ARCANE FOCUS.
That is strictly Rules as Written.
Do I think this makes sense? No, of course it doesn't. Do I personally make players do this in my games? Of course not, because it doesn't make sense to have to do this. Do I acknowledge this as the strictly Rules as Written interpretation of the rules? Yes, I do.
You guys say that's RAW, and it isn't. But what's Jeremy Crawford say?
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203).
So y'all very wrong. The man, the myth, the legend himself says you're wrong. Bye.
Sorry, but you can't dismiss me that quickly. I don't know where you've been the past year, but basically everyone despises Sage Advice now.
Also, I said that I personally rule it that you can perform somatic components with an arcane focus.
Also, JC's ruling in that very specifically goes against RAW in the PHB. (keep up with me here, I'll be using a lot of abbreviations.)
Jeremy Crawford's rulings are very not Rules as Written. He recently posted that an echo knight can't attack or swap places with an Echo while you are using your senses through it. The Wildemount book's RAW say nothing about that. You seemingly don't understand the difference between Rules as Written and Rules as Intended.
(JC is very much not the man, the myth, the legend. If any WotC staffer is, that's Chris Perkins.)
An arcane focus is a special item designed to channel the power of arcane spells.
First, there's no mechanical definition of "channel the power" or "arcane spells" those are both flavor texts, and refers you to the Spellcasting section for clarifications of how this works.
A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in the Spellcasting section.
Again, they can use it as a spellcasting focus. This section only tells you that wizards, sorcerers, and warlocks follow the rules in the spellcasting section.
The Arcane Focus tells us we can use it as a spellcasting focus for our arcane spells. It doesn't say we can only use it as a spellcasting focus for M spells. No such restriction exists.
That section doesn't say anything mechanically besides defining what are arcane casters and what their focuses are. Just because the rules aren't explained in one part of the book doesn't mean that it's not explained in another part of it.
You have deluded yourself into thinking such a restriction exists but in a none of the posts in this thread has a single one of you actually provided anything to back up that ludicrous hallucination.
Note the Boldfaced words and the Italicized words.
Yeah, so, revisiting your example.
It is like having a math test, and in section 3 it says You can use your calculator to graph the equations in this section.
And all yall infer from that that a calculator can't be used during any other part of the test. But ain't nothing says that. The teacher handed you a calculator for the test that says you can use it on the test. So, you can.
That bolded line is giving you a permission to do something extra while using a focus, describing a perk of doing so. It is not worded in any way like an exclusive means of using the focus. It doesn't say you must replace a material component to be able to use a focus. It says that when you do use a focus, you get to replace any material components the spell had. That's permission to do something extra when doing the focus thing. But again, it doesn't place any restrictions of using a focus.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I would just like that this thread does not end on false interpretations of rules. That is the only reason that I continue to post: so that some poor soul who wanders onto this thread and thinks it must finally be settled (it is in fact settled, it was settled way back in the first reply) doesn't get lost in the pages of idiocy.
^ This guy wants you to believe a wizard can't cast a spell through the arcane focus he is holding despite the arcane focus specifically telling you that you can.
The argument is absurd, and nothing in the rules says it. He fabricated it out of thin air.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
You can do whatever you like as flavor as long as you meet the requirements of the spell. A spell that has S (but not M) has a requirement for a free hand that is not in any way mitigated by your choice of what you'd like to hold.
Rules as Written, you cannot cast a spell without providing its components. When your hand is full when you attempt to cast any spell that has somatic components and no material components, you cannot cast the spell unless you drop whatever is in that hand or the other hand, or put one of them away, EVEN IF IT IS AN ARCANE FOCUS.
That is strictly Rules as Written.
Do I think this makes sense? No, of course it doesn't. Do I personally make players do this in my games? Of course not, because it doesn't make sense to have to do this. Do I acknowledge this as the strictly Rules as Written interpretation of the rules? Yes, I do.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
You guys say that's RAW, and it isn't. But what's Jeremy Crawford say?
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2016/01/25/can-you-perform-somatic-components-of-spells-with-a-hand-holding-an-arcane-focus/
So y'all very wrong. The man, the myth, the legend himself says you're wrong. Bye.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Without context of what the components of the spell are, that question is meaningless, and so is its answer. Context is a concept you don't seem to grasp. Also, people all over these forms love to point out that JC's tweets are not rules. Point me to some rules that say that what you are holding changes the requirements of spells.
Can you perform somatic components of spells with a hand holding an arcane focus?
/thread
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
It's like you didn't read it.
An arcane focus is a special item designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in the Spellcasting section.
The Arcane Focus tells us we can use it as a spellcasting focus for our arcane spells. It doesn't say we can only use it as a spellcasting focus for M spells. No such restriction exists.
You have deluded yourself into thinking such a restriction exists but in a none of the posts in this thread has a single one of you actually provided anything to back up that ludicrous hallucination.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
None of what you've provided changes the requirements of the spell.
Which is relevant to nothing.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Again, he didn't say that a focus negated the rules above, just clarified that last sentence in the material component rules.
Yeah the relevant rules for using a focus.
Edit: in the Spellcasting section. <-- Click it. Do it. Where does it take you? The relevant rules for using a focus.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I don't see what in the sentence you keep repeating (that, I'll remind you is not a rule, but a tweet) that says anything that I have not admitted to: the sentence lacks any context to make it actually helpful, but is not out of line with the interpretation for M component spells. It is, however, out of line with RAW and his very own arguments in SAC to interpret that sentence any other way, such as always being applicable.
A spell has physical requirements that the caster must meet in order to be able to cast that spell. One of them is for a free hand. This is called the somatic component. If a spell has a somatic component, then it requires a free hand. There is a single exception to this rule (as far as anyone has been able to show in the 19 pages that this thread has dragged on, 12 of which are due to one person) that is if the spell also has an M component. To be clear, it is not "if I use an M component;" it is if the spell has the M component.
By the way, there isn't a "using a focus" section. There is only a section that describes how to cast a spell that has a material component requirement.
Single? Naw. You can cast a provide the S component with the same hand holding either the component or a focus. That's 2. Two exceptions. Rule is clear:
It is unambiguous. S can be done with the same hand as holding the focus. Totally unambiguous.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
You are reading the M section as if it is not something that is required of spells. Try reading the quote that I've provided for my last several responses. Components are requirements of spells -- that is what they are. A spellcasting focus is merely a method of fulfilling one of those components -- the M component.
By the way, the "second" exception that you pointed out is the single exception that I said. The only way that a spell has the requirement of a M component is if that indicates it -- without the M indication, then the spell does not have the material component requirement, and therefore does not have any exception for its S component.
Sorry, but you can't dismiss me that quickly. I don't know where you've been the past year, but basically everyone despises Sage Advice now.
Also, I said that I personally rule it that you can perform somatic components with an arcane focus.
Also, JC's ruling in that very specifically goes against RAW in the PHB. (keep up with me here, I'll be using a lot of abbreviations.)
Jeremy Crawford's rulings are very not Rules as Written. He recently posted that an echo knight can't attack or swap places with an Echo while you are using your senses through it. The Wildemount book's RAW say nothing about that. You seemingly don't understand the difference between Rules as Written and Rules as Intended.
(JC is very much not the man, the myth, the legend. If any WotC staffer is, that's Chris Perkins.)
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
First, there's no mechanical definition of "channel the power" or "arcane spells" those are both flavor texts, and refers you to the Spellcasting section for clarifications of how this works.
Again, they can use it as a spellcasting focus. This section only tells you that wizards, sorcerers, and warlocks follow the rules in the spellcasting section.
That section doesn't say anything mechanically besides defining what are arcane casters and what their focuses are. Just because the rules aren't explained in one part of the book doesn't mean that it's not explained in another part of it.
You are confusing RAW with RAI.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms