I'm amazed nobody has mentioned about people turned into objects by True Polymorph. How do you concentrate when you technically no longer have a brain? And yet, concentration is not broken by the spell.
I haven't checked (and, sadly, can't, at the moment), but it's very probable that Concentration is a feature of "creatures", and not "objects", so if you're turned into a chair by True Polymorph, you can't maintain Concentration on a spell. (By the way, having a "brain" is not, and should not be, a requirement... a "mind", maybe, but there are tons of creatures with no actual "brain" who can, and should certainly be able to, concentrate on spells. But I know what you meant. :D)
There is nothing in the rules that actually states an object cannot maintain concentration. It just says that it would end if incapacitated but the True Poly spell does not actually cause this condition. The spell Flesh to Stone applies the Petrified condition which automatically incapacitates the target. So, for two spells that turn a creature into something inanimate it is weird that the higher level spell does not incapacitate.
Personally, I would rule it does anyway and force the concentration to drop. However, technically this would be a houseruling. So, yeah, being transformed into an object doesn't break concentration, RAW.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I think I agree, and that last sentence in Concentration rules say that the DM might rule when concentration is interrupted -- and I would imagine when it is impossible.
I'm sorry, I just don't see rules support for this. Being truly polymorphed into an object doesn't apply the unconscious condition. You just don't have any memory of your time as a pocket watch.
I'm amazed nobody has mentioned about people turned into objects by True Polymorph. How do you concentrate when you technically no longer have a brain? And yet, concentration is not broken by the spell.
I haven't checked (and, sadly, can't, at the moment), but it's very probable that Concentration is a feature of "creatures", and not "objects", so if you're turned into a chair by True Polymorph, you can't maintain Concentration on a spell. (By the way, having a "brain" is not, and should not be, a requirement... a "mind", maybe, but there are tons of creatures with no actual "brain" who can, and should certainly be able to, concentrate on spells. But I know what you meant. :D)
There is nothing in the rules that actually states an object cannot maintain concentration. It just says that it would end if incapacitated but the True Poly spell does not actually cause this condition. The spell Flesh to Stone applies the Petrified condition which automatically incapacitates the target. So, for two spells that turn a creature into something inanimate it is weird that the higher level spell does not incapacitate.
Personally, I would rule it does anyway and force the concentration to drop. However, technically this would be a houseruling. So, yeah, being transformed into an object doesn't break concentration, RAW.
Amazing, yes. Obviously an oversight, or maybe a deliberate but uncharacteristic reliance on "DMs will obviously understand it should be this way, it doesn't make sense otherwise".
I think I agree, and that last sentence in Concentration rules say that the DM might rule when concentration is interrupted -- and I would imagine when it is impossible.
That sentence only allows for a Concentration check, not an automatic interruption, though.
There is nothing in the rules that actually states an object cannot maintain concentration.
There doesn't have to be a rule against that. In order for concentration to be applicable to objects there has to be a rule that says objects can concentrate.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
There is nothing in the rules that actually states an object cannot maintain concentration. It just says that it would end if incapacitated but the True Poly spell does not actually cause this condition. The spell Flesh to Stone applies the Petrified condition which automatically incapacitates the target. So, for two spells that turn a creature into something inanimate it is weird that the higher level spell does not incapacitate.
Personally, I would rule it does anyway and force the concentration to drop. However, technically this would be a houseruling. So, yeah, being transformed into an object doesn't break concentration, RAW.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I think I agree, and that last sentence in Concentration rules say that the DM might rule when concentration is interrupted -- and I would imagine when it is impossible.
You can't concentrate if you aren't conscious. So being True Poly'd into an object that does not have a mind would make you unconscious for sure.
I'm sorry, I just don't see rules support for this. Being truly polymorphed into an object doesn't apply the unconscious condition. You just don't have any memory of your time as a pocket watch.
Amazing, yes. Obviously an oversight, or maybe a deliberate but uncharacteristic reliance on "DMs will obviously understand it should be this way, it doesn't make sense otherwise".
That sentence only allows for a Concentration check, not an automatic interruption, though.
It makes sense, obviously, but it is not stated anywhere in the rules.
There doesn't have to be a rule against that. In order for concentration to be applicable to objects there has to be a rule that says objects can concentrate.
The Forum Infestation (TM)