But Jump multiplies your base jump, Mirthful Leap adds to the total number of feet jumped, not your base jump distance.
This is not correct.
The spell never says the word "base"; it says it multiplies your jump distance.
Mirthful Leaps is a direct addition to "your jump distance".
No, it’s not. Mirthful Leap is a direct addition to “the number of feet you cover.” That’s my point. If Mirthful Leap actually added to “your jump distance” I wouldn’t be disagreeing with you, but it doesn’t, so I am.
IamSposta, what you are trying to say here is that despite the fact the the ability is supposed to highlight the Satyr's superior jumping skills, it is actually a random, uncontrollable spasm that can make the Satyr whimsically overshoot or undershoot the intended distance of his jump. Come on. You are bordering on the ridiculous right now.
I tell y’all what, I don’t have a Twitter account, so why doesn’t someone ask Jeremy Crawford and then we’ll know that the opposite of whatever he says is true and we can all get back to our lives?
Word order matters. That why “don’t stop” and “stop, don’t” don’t mean the same thing.
You know ... I was hoping for discussion, and debate. Not vexingly nit-picky "but the kerning between the second and third letters of word five of paragraph six on page two hundred and sixty, is 1.32% larger than that between the sixth and seventh letters of word eleven in paragraph nine of page seventy-eight"rules-lawyering. :sigh::
Mirthful Leaps:
"[...] add the number rolled to the number of feet you cover, [...]"
Jumping:
"[...] a long jump, you cover a number of feet up to your Strength score if [...]"
Both things speak about "the number of feet you cover". And no, in the second case, word order doesn't matter. Teh difference is an inevitable result of proper English grammar, not indicative of a difference in intended meaning.
Strictly and anal-retentively RAW, I believe you roll the die, add it to whatever you derive from your strength, and that is "the number of feet you cover", a.k.a. "your jump distance".
Which the spell then triples.
I honestly think it's as simple as that - and the posts made here have firmed up my confidence in that, so at least I didn't waste everyone's time asking my question.
I tell y’all what, I don’t have a Twitter account, so why doesn’t someone ask Jeremy Crawford and then we’ll know that the opposite of whatever he says is true and we can all get back to our lives?
I tweeted at him this morning, hours ago.
But if this thread is boring you that much ... just leave. No-one is holding you here at gun-point (or sword-point, or spell-point, or whatever).
Let's remember to be respectful of each other and not devolve things into dismissals or attacks.
Also, it's worth remembering this is a rules question in a rules discussion subforum. Things are going to get nitpicky, that's the nature of discussing rules.
K, this is just my interpretation, to make it clearer I’ma gonna use the high jump rules instead, because.
So, a running high jump is 3 + your Strength modifier. Yes?
Mirthful leaps turns adds 1d8 to the distance you can jump, requiring you to spend the additional movement.
Now, to my knowledge, the jump spell doesn’t require you to spend additional movement for the added jump distance. Agreed? (I don’t know about this, if we have a definitive thing otherwise for this point, do point me to this)
So I would add the stuff that has a movement cost first, then the stuff that doesn’t, making the distance covered for a running high jump: (3 + your Strength modifier + 1d8) x 3.
Again, this is just my interpretation and what makes sense to me. Just thought I’d add my thoughts to this party.
What happens when a jump spell gives a creature a jump distance greater than its walking speed?
Your jump is limited by how far you can move; each foot jumped uses a foot of movement. You can take the Dash action if you want to extend how far you can move on your turn.
For example, if you have a Strength score of 15, you can normally leap 15 feet when you make a long jump if you move at least 10 feet immediately beforehand. If the jump spell is cast on you, that potential jump distance is tripled. That’s a jump of 45 feet! If your speed is 30 feet, you can use only 30 feet of that jump distance on your turn, unless you take the Dash action, which allows you to leap the full 45 feet.
What happens when a jump spell gives a creature a jump distance greater than its walking speed?
Your jump is limited by how far you can move; each foot jumped uses a foot of movement. You can take the Dash action if you want to extend how far you can move on your turn.
For example, if you have a Strength score of 15, you can normally leap 15 feet when you make a long jump if you move at least 10 feet immediately beforehand. If the jump spell is cast on you, that potential jump distance is tripled. That’s a jump of 45 feet! If your speed is 30 feet, you can use only 30 feet of that jump distance on your turn, unless you take the Dash action, which allows you to leap the full 45 feet.
That's very useful for determining how far you actually move, but it's not actually the topic of contention.
The issue is stemming from the Satyr having a bonus to jump distance that doesn't fit any established patterns, and how to combine that with the effect of the Jump spell. It adds a flat value into the equation somewhere, but nobody is in agreement where. It changes the math pretty dramatically depending on where it actually belongs.
Mirthful leaps turns adds 1d8 to the distance you can jump, requiring you to spend the additional movement.
Now, to my knowledge, the jump spell doesn’t require you to spend additional movement for the added jump distance. Agreed? (I don’t know about this, if we have a definitive thing otherwise for this point, do point me to this)
This is what I was responding to with the Sage Advice, should have quoted in the first place. My bad. The poster already understands the rules of using max walk move to calculate jumps.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This is not correct.
The spell never says the word "base"; it says it multiplies your jump distance.
Mirthful Leaps is a direct addition to "your jump distance".
There is no such phrase used anywhere in the rules as "base jump distance".
I think you're reading too much into it.
No, it’s not. Mirthful Leap is a direct addition to “the number of feet you cover.” That’s my point. If Mirthful Leap actually added to “your jump distance” I wouldn’t be disagreeing with you, but it doesn’t, so I am.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
🤷♂️
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
IamSposta, what you are trying to say here is that despite the fact the the ability is supposed to highlight the Satyr's superior jumping skills, it is actually a random, uncontrollable spasm that can make the Satyr whimsically overshoot or undershoot the intended distance of his jump. Come on. You are bordering on the ridiculous right now.
I tell y’all what, I don’t have a Twitter account, so why doesn’t someone ask Jeremy Crawford and then we’ll know that the opposite of whatever he says is true and we can all get back to our lives?
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Word order matters. That why “don’t stop” and “stop, don’t” don’t mean the same thing.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
You know ... I was hoping for discussion, and debate. Not vexingly nit-picky "but the kerning between the second and third letters of word five of paragraph six on page two hundred and sixty, is 1.32% larger than that between the sixth and seventh letters of word eleven in paragraph nine of page seventy-eight" rules-lawyering. :sigh::
Mirthful Leaps:
Jumping:
Both things speak about "the number of feet you cover". And no, in the second case, word order doesn't matter. Teh difference is an inevitable result of proper English grammar, not indicative of a difference in intended meaning.
Strictly and anal-retentively RAW, I believe you roll the die, add it to whatever you derive from your strength, and that is "the number of feet you cover", a.k.a. "your jump distance".
Which the spell then triples.
I honestly think it's as simple as that - and the posts made here have firmed up my confidence in that, so at least I didn't waste everyone's time asking my question.
I tweeted at him this morning, hours ago.
But if this thread is boring you that much ... just leave. No-one is holding you here at gun-point (or sword-point, or spell-point, or whatever).
Let's remember to be respectful of each other and not devolve things into dismissals or attacks.
Also, it's worth remembering this is a rules question in a rules discussion subforum. Things are going to get nitpicky, that's the nature of discussing rules.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
K, this is just my interpretation, to make it clearer I’ma gonna use the high jump rules instead, because.
So, a running high jump is 3 + your Strength modifier. Yes?
Mirthful leaps turns adds 1d8 to the distance you can jump, requiring you to spend the additional movement.
Now, to my knowledge, the jump spell doesn’t require you to spend additional movement for the added jump distance. Agreed? (I don’t know about this, if we have a definitive thing otherwise for this point, do point me to this)
So I would add the stuff that has a movement cost first, then the stuff that doesn’t, making the distance covered for a running high jump: (3 + your Strength modifier + 1d8) x 3.
Again, this is just my interpretation and what makes sense to me. Just thought I’d add my thoughts to this party.
From Sage Advice Compendium:
What happens when a jump spell gives a creature a jump distance greater than its walking speed?
Your jump is limited by how far you can move; each foot jumped uses a foot of movement. You can take the Dash action if you want to extend how far you can move on your turn.
For example, if you have a Strength score of 15, you can normally leap 15 feet when you make a long jump if you move at least 10 feet immediately beforehand. If the jump spell is cast on you, that potential jump distance is tripled. That’s a jump of 45 feet! If your speed is 30 feet, you can use only 30 feet of that jump distance on your turn, unless you take the Dash action, which allows you to leap the full 45 feet.
That's very useful for determining how far you actually move, but it's not actually the topic of contention.
The issue is stemming from the Satyr having a bonus to jump distance that doesn't fit any established patterns, and how to combine that with the effect of the Jump spell. It adds a flat value into the equation somewhere, but nobody is in agreement where. It changes the math pretty dramatically depending on where it actually belongs.
Flight very clearly changes your mode of transportation but, I agree with you nonetheless.
This is what I was responding to with the Sage Advice, should have quoted in the first place. My bad. The poster already understands the rules of using max walk move to calculate jumps.