Does granting of spells to Circle of the Land Druids (by subset & lvl) make those spells not known to Druids from other circles, or; does that granting process just mean that granted spells can be always accessible to CotL Druids and without prior preparation?
Thx for that Lyxen, and it doesn't quite answer the question I thought I'd asked:
E.g. Barkskin is a 2nd level Druid spell 'granted' to CotL (forest) at 3rd level; does Barkskin nonetheless remain preparable by i.e. a 5th lvl Druid of Circle of the Moon or Circle of Dreams etc or does that spell become exclusive to CotL (forest)?
There’s a “Design Note” blurb I saw last night in the Artificer which might help you. I’m not sure if this was published in the Eberron sourcebook, part of the Armorer Unearthed Arcana, or a dndbeyond editorial insert... so it may not exactly be “rules” text, but still...
Design Note: Subclass Spells
Some subclasses add spells to a character’s list of available spells. If the character is a member of a class, such as the cleric, that prepares spells, the additional spells are a mix of ones that the character should always have prepared (because of story or rules reasons) and ones adopted from another class (expanding the character’s options beyond the class’s normal limits). If the character knows their spells, rather than preparing them, the spells are almost always adopted from another class. Whether or not a class prepares or knows their spells, the spells on the list are selected (with rare exceptions) from the Player’s Handbook, the only book a player is expected to have.
Interesting chicken_champ, if you can remember the source I'd appreciate knowing pls. Also, given your comment regarding players only having access to PHB, what are your thoughts on Xanathar?
You can see the blurb in the Armorer section. Pulling up the February 2020 Unearthed Arcana article that it is taken from, the same blurb is in there, so yes it looks like a Design Note published by Wizards, not something that dndbeyond injected itself.
Thx for that Lyxen, and it doesn't quite answer the question I thought I'd asked:
E.g. Barkskin is a 2nd level Druid spell 'granted' to CotL (forest) at 3rd level; does Barkskin nonetheless remain preparable by i.e. a 5th lvl Druid of Circle of the Moon or Circle of Dreams etc or does that spell become exclusive to CotL (forest)?
I'm confused. Here is what I think you mean in an example format:
Player A is playing a druid. Player B is also playing a druid. They are both in the same campaign.
Milestone experience so they both hit level 2 at the same time. Player A chooses Moon and Player B chooses Land. Because Player B chose Land Player A can no longer prepare the spell Barksin.
I think this is what you mean. Correct me if I am wrong.
How the circle spells work in a simple (ish) example:
Imagine you are a druid. For some reason, you level to 20 without picking a Circle.
When you prepare spells you can choose from any spell in the Druid spell list. There is nothing that can stop you from doing this unless you are somehow prevented from preparing spells in-game.
Finally, you decide to pick your circle. You pick Land. Now you have spells A, B, and C (and probably more) that are always prepared and they count as druid spells for you if they do not come from the druid spell list.
These "granted" spells do not exclude you or anyoneelse from preparing them if they can.
Yes, I know it is strange but you can have a circle spell "Always Prepared" and use one of your valuable preparation slots to also prepare it...again...or more...or whatever.
Yes, you're correct in your "example format" response; that is roughly the scenario I've been trying to fathom the logic of.
And your further detail helps me in respect to confirmation of my own interpretation of the rules. TY
To put this discusion thread in context: when I first created a druid PC, I was led to believe or I heard a player say my spell choices were limited to spells which weren't CotL, since then I've been trying to fathom how that works in the context of the written rules. The responses from Lyxen and Chicken_Champ give me confidence that that original opinion/interpretation was either mistated or misheard. I appreciate the clarity you've provided.
What they most likely meant was the fact that your subclass specific spells are automatically always prepared and do not need to be prepared individually.
Does granting of spells to Circle of the Land Druids (by subset & lvl) make those spells not known to Druids from other circles, or; does that granting process just mean that granted spells can be always accessible to CotL Druids and without prior preparation?
Thx for that Lyxen, and it doesn't quite answer the question I thought I'd asked:
E.g. Barkskin is a 2nd level Druid spell 'granted' to CotL (forest) at 3rd level; does Barkskin nonetheless remain preparable by i.e. a 5th lvl Druid of Circle of the Moon or Circle of Dreams etc or does that spell become exclusive to CotL (forest)?
Thx Lyxen, you've confirmed my own understanding and which I appreciate.
There’s a “Design Note” blurb I saw last night in the Artificer which might help you. I’m not sure if this was published in the Eberron sourcebook, part of the Armorer Unearthed Arcana, or a dndbeyond editorial insert... so it may not exactly be “rules” text, but still...
Design Note: Subclass Spells
Some subclasses add spells to a character’s list of available spells. If the character is a member of a class, such as the cleric, that prepares spells, the additional spells are a mix of ones that the character should always have prepared (because of story or rules reasons) and ones adopted from another class (expanding the character’s options beyond the class’s normal limits). If the character knows their spells, rather than preparing them, the spells are almost always adopted from another class. Whether or not a class prepares or knows their spells, the spells on the list are selected (with rare exceptions) from the Player’s Handbook, the only book a player is expected to have.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Interesting chicken_champ, if you can remember the source I'd appreciate knowing pls. Also, given your comment regarding players only having access to PHB, what are your thoughts on Xanathar?
You can see the blurb in the Armorer section. Pulling up the February 2020 Unearthed Arcana article that it is taken from, the same blurb is in there, so yes it looks like a Design Note published by Wizards, not something that dndbeyond injected itself.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I'm confused. Here is what I think you mean in an example format:
Player A is playing a druid. Player B is also playing a druid. They are both in the same campaign.
Milestone experience so they both hit level 2 at the same time. Player A chooses Moon and Player B chooses Land. Because Player B chose Land Player A can no longer prepare the spell Barksin.
I think this is what you mean. Correct me if I am wrong.
How the circle spells work in a simple (ish) example:
Imagine you are a druid. For some reason, you level to 20 without picking a Circle.
When you prepare spells you can choose from any spell in the Druid spell list. There is nothing that can stop you from doing this unless you are somehow prevented from preparing spells in-game.
Finally, you decide to pick your circle. You pick Land. Now you have spells A, B, and C (and probably more) that are always prepared and they count as druid spells for you if they do not come from the druid spell list.
These "granted" spells do not exclude you or anyone else from preparing them if they can.
Yes, I know it is strange but you can have a circle spell "Always Prepared" and use one of your valuable preparation slots to also prepare it...again...or more...or whatever.
Yes, you're correct in your "example format" response; that is roughly the scenario I've been trying to fathom the logic of.
And your further detail helps me in respect to confirmation of my own interpretation of the rules. TY
To put this discusion thread in context: when I first created a druid PC, I was led to believe or I heard a player say my spell choices were limited to spells which weren't CotL, since then I've been trying to fathom how that works in the context of the written rules. The responses from Lyxen and Chicken_Champ give me confidence that that original opinion/interpretation was either mistated or misheard. I appreciate the clarity you've provided.
What they most likely meant was the fact that your subclass specific spells are automatically always prepared and do not need to be prepared individually.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting