So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
Im so sorry. I wanted to say “you need your object interaction to use pouch for different spells that require having different M components”
I’m not entirely sure what you mean here, but how I have interpreted it is thusly:
If you cast two spells on the same turn that both have M components (like casting Hex as a bonus action followed by casting Thorn Whip as an action), then you would need two separate interactions with a component pouch. Was that a correct interpretation of your statement? If so, that’s an interesting question and I would be interested to read others thoughts on the subject. At present I would rule that the single interaction would cover both spells, but we’ll see what others come up with.
If I interpreted that incorrectly, I’m sorry. Please correct me.
So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
Im so sorry. I wanted to say “you need your object interaction to use pouch for different spells that require having different M components”
I’m not entirely sure what you mean here, but how I have interpreted it is thusly:
If you cast two spells on the same turn that both have M components (like casting Hex as a bonus action followed by casting Thorn Whip as an action), then you would need two separate interactions with a component pouch. Was that a correct interpretation of your statement? If so, that’s an interesting question and I would be interested to read others thoughts on the subject. At present I would rule that the single interaction would cover both spells, but we’ll see what others come up with.
If I interpreted that incorrectly, I’m sorry. Please correct me.
This is what I mean. Imagine wizard casting two different spells with different M components in 2 different turnes. ========================== If I understand correctly he needs to take M component from the pouch (as an interaction) and cast a spell. So he does this using his interaction and then casting Silent Image
Then (on the next turn) he wants to cast a different one with different components (for example witch bolt). He needs to put that wool back into his pouch before taking wood out of it. Doing so will cost 2 interactions (or a whole action + interaction) so it is unlikely that wizard eill be able to cast Witch bolt in that round
==================== Get it? From my perspective using pouch is much more interesting in RP but because more classes can use it it is slightly worse then Focus which obviously doesn’t need that interaction stuff. Maybe I am wrong here but I assume that RAW works this way
If you cast two spells on the same turn that both have M components (like casting Hex as a bonus action followed by casting Thorn Whip as an action), then you would need two separate interactions with a component pouch. Was that a correct interpretation of your statement? If so, that’s an interesting question and I would be interested to read others thoughts on the subject. At present I would rule that the single interaction would cover both spells, but we’ll see what others come up with.
If I interpreted that incorrectly, I’m sorry. Please correct me.
This is what I mean. Imagine wizard casting two different spells with different M components in 2 different turnes. ========================== If I understand correctly he needs to take M component from the pouch (as an interaction) and cast a spell. So he does this using his interaction and then casting Silent Image
Then (on the next turn) he wants to cast a different one with different components (for example witch bolt). He needs to put that wool back into his pouch before taking wood out of it. Doing so will cost 2 interactions (or a whole action + interaction) so it is unlikely that wizard eill be able to cast Witch bolt in that round
==================== Get it? From my perspective using pouch is much more interesting in RP but because more classes can use it it is slightly worse then Focus which obviously doesn’t need that interaction stuff. Maybe I am wrong here but I assume that RAW works this way
Personally, I just went with the component not needing to be put away. It isn't different from a focus if you have to hold it the whole time, except now you have a different focus for each spell and it takes 3 turns to cast 2 spells, and nobody wants that.
As for the 2 spells per turn thing. Because I'm the kind of guy that wants component pouches to be viable, I might house rule that you can grab components for 2 spells at once. Again, don't want foci to be the obvious choice.
So still it is unclear. But I assume that RAW you need to use pouch
No, you don’t need a pouch or a focus. Any caster who wants to can run around with loose components in their pockets. Of course, then they would also have to track all of those components, every sprinkle and pinch.
Im so sorry. I wanted to say “you need your object interaction to use pouch for different spells that require having different M components”
I’m not entirely sure what you mean here, but how I have interpreted it is thusly:
If you cast two spells on the same turn that both have M components (like casting Hex as a bonus action followed by casting Thorn Whip as an action), then you would need two separate interactions with a component pouch. Was that a correct interpretation of your statement? If so, that’s an interesting question and I would be interested to read others thoughts on the subject. At present I would rule that the single interaction would cover both spells, but we’ll see what others come up with.
If I interpreted that incorrectly, I’m sorry. Please correct me.
This is what I mean. Imagine wizard casting two different spells with different M components in 2 different turnes. ========================== If I understand correctly he needs to take M component from the pouch (as an interaction) and cast a spell. So he does this using his interaction and then casting Silent Image
Then (on the next turn) he wants to cast a different one with different components (for example witch bolt). He needs to put that wool back into his pouch before taking wood out of it. Doing so will cost 2 interactions (or a whole action + interaction) so it is unlikely that wizard eill be able to cast Witch bolt in that round
==================== Get it? From my perspective using pouch is much more interesting in RP but because more classes can use it it is slightly worse then Focus which obviously doesn’t need that interaction stuff. Maybe I am wrong here but I assume that RAW works this way
Ah.
I always interpreted it as pulling out and putting away all of your components for every spell you cast that turn would all be part of the same interaction for spell components. You may be correct however.
Now I want to make a spell with a material component of a component pouch, which the spell consumes.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I’m not entirely sure what you mean here, but how I have interpreted it is thusly:
If you cast two spells on the same turn that both have M components (like casting Hex as a bonus action followed by casting Thorn Whip as an action), then you would need two separate interactions with a component pouch. Was that a correct interpretation of your statement? If so, that’s an interesting question and I would be interested to read others thoughts on the subject. At present I would rule that the single interaction would cover both spells, but we’ll see what others come up with.
If I interpreted that incorrectly, I’m sorry. Please correct me.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
It only matters as a mental exercise.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
This is what I mean. Imagine wizard casting two different spells with different M components in 2 different turnes.
==========================
If I understand correctly he needs to take M component from the pouch (as an interaction) and cast a spell. So he does this using his interaction and then casting Silent Image
Then (on the next turn) he wants to cast a different one with different components (for example witch bolt). He needs to put that wool back into his pouch before taking wood out of it. Doing so will cost 2 interactions (or a whole action + interaction) so it is unlikely that wizard eill be able to cast Witch bolt in that round
====================
Get it?
From my perspective using pouch is much more interesting in RP but because more classes can use it it is slightly worse then Focus which obviously doesn’t need that interaction stuff. Maybe I am wrong here but I assume that RAW works this way
Personally, I just went with the component not needing to be put away. It isn't different from a focus if you have to hold it the whole time, except now you have a different focus for each spell and it takes 3 turns to cast 2 spells, and nobody wants that.
As for the 2 spells per turn thing. Because I'm the kind of guy that wants component pouches to be viable, I might house rule that you can grab components for 2 spells at once. Again, don't want foci to be the obvious choice.
Ah.
I always interpreted it as pulling out and putting away all of your components for every spell you cast that turn would all be part of the same interaction for spell components. You may be correct however.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting