Once again love that you all have such great knowledge, so I thank you for your answers...was not sure if best to ask here or in Monk section...
Just made a Bugbear Monk. 8th level. (Our DM is letting us create new characters at the level of our previous characters, if we want, so I am exploring options.)
So if I successfully sneak attack a creature, Bugbear race trait, can I do two attacks with the 2d6 extra damage? And further more, if I spend 2 ki points can I do two flurry of blows on top of that? Since flurry of blows is a bonus action and you are only supposed to be able to do one I am guessing only one flurry is allowed...
Bugbear race trait: "If you surprise a creature and hit it with an attack on your first turn in combat, the attack deals an extra 2d6 damage to it. You can use this trait only once per combat."
Also wanted to make sure you get dex or str bonus damage per every hit.
The wording on the rule implies that only one 2d6 damage is allowed but I just wanted to be sure...thank you all! Even if only one sneak attack bonus is allowed the following seems clearly possible:
On success of sneak attack: 2d6+1d6 quarter staff damage + dex bonus, + bonus action martial arts unarmed strike 1d6+dex, + flurry of blows 2d6 + dex(x2?), + second attack (Staff) 1d6+dex bonus. Is this correct? (Hoping you can do two flurry of blows to add another 2d6)
That seems ridiculous, but I am hoping you can confirm that this is possible.
The martial art allows you to make an attack with an unarmed strike with your bonus action. Flurry of blows, too, requires a bonus action, and you have only 1 bonus action per turn.
Second thing, The bugbear trait says "....an attack...". So, I think, you can add the additional damage (2d6) to only one of those attacks.
Hmm. Since the Bugbear isn't exactly balanced to be a player race, there are a lot of safety measures missing, likely for brevity.
For example, the Surprise Attack trait doesn't have the limitation of once per round that Sneak Attack has, or any other sort of limitation (such as once per short rest or similar). It only has the conditions of "target surprised", "attack hits" and "first round of combat".
As written, it would work with an opening Flurry (as Filcat said, only one bonus action for your turn, so 2 attacks by Extra Attack + 1 for Martial Arts or +2 for Flurry, for a total of 3 or 4 depending on whether you give a Ki point when you declare your action). That's quite devastating (some Assassin stuff here), so I'm pretty sure it's unintentional, but whether you're allowed it or it's limited to once per round depends on the DM. Make sure you're holding pizza when you ask! :p
And that 2d6 of damage is extra, so it is just added on top of anything else your attack does normally. So, yes, for each attack, weapon dice, ability modifier, magic bonuses, and this bonus (when valid). It's also a die bonus, so it gets doubled on critical hits.
As a mostly irrelevant sidenote, I'll say that normal Sneak Attack is also limited to Finesse or Ranged weapons, which makes Unarmed Strike invalid for it (it's not a weapon, much less a Finesse one, regardless of whether you're using your dexterity with it or not).
I was going by the monster Bugbear. I didn't even think to check in Volo's monstrous races.
Matthias had me puzzled for a moment, looking if I missed an errata somewhere, but it's a different source entirely. :p
So, yes. Matthias is right: Volo's page 119 is pretty clear on the matter - no matter how many attacks you have, you only get to add that extra damage on one of them.
If you hit a creature with an attack roll, the creature takes an extra 2d6 damage if it hasn’t taken a turn yet in the current combat.
this is the direct wording. this would imply that any creature that hasnt had a turn that you hit takes the extra damage. therefore if you hit it with the monk weapon thats an extra 2d6. the fist would be an extra 2d6 and the flurry of blows extra fist would also get the extra 2d6. because the wording of the text doesn’t actually say the target must be surprised. but you can only do it on your first turn of the first round of combat against enemies that go after you
"Where words fail, swords prevail. Where blood is spilled, my cup is filled" -Cartaphilus
"I have found the answer to the meaning of life. You ask me what the answer is? You already know what the answer to life is. You fear it more than the strike of a viper, the ravages of disease, the ire of a lover. The answer is always death. But death is a gentle mistress with a sweet embrace, and you owe her a debt of restitution. Life is not a gift, it is a loan."
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Once again love that you all have such great knowledge, so I thank you for your answers...was not sure if best to ask here or in Monk section...
Just made a Bugbear Monk. 8th level. (Our DM is letting us create new characters at the level of our previous characters, if we want, so I am exploring options.)
So if I successfully sneak attack a creature, Bugbear race trait, can I do two attacks with the 2d6 extra damage? And further more, if I spend 2 ki points can I do two flurry of blows on top of that? Since flurry of blows is a bonus action and you are only supposed to be able to do one I am guessing only one flurry is allowed...
Bugbear race trait: "If you surprise a creature and hit it with an attack on your first turn in combat, the attack deals an extra 2d6 damage to it. You can use this trait only once per combat."
Also wanted to make sure you get dex or str bonus damage per every hit.
The wording on the rule implies that only one 2d6 damage is allowed but I just wanted to be sure...thank you all! Even if only one sneak attack bonus is allowed the following seems clearly possible:
On success of sneak attack: 2d6+1d6 quarter staff damage + dex bonus, + bonus action martial arts unarmed strike 1d6+dex, + flurry of blows 2d6 + dex(x2?), + second attack (Staff) 1d6+dex bonus. Is this correct? (Hoping you can do two flurry of blows to add another 2d6)
That seems ridiculous, but I am hoping you can confirm that this is possible.
Two things to say here:
The martial art allows you to make an attack with an unarmed strike with your bonus action. Flurry of blows, too, requires a bonus action, and you have only 1 bonus action per turn.
Second thing, The bugbear trait says "....an attack...". So, I think, you can add the additional damage (2d6) to only one of those attacks.
Yes, it does stack with sneak attack.
Hmm. Since the Bugbear isn't exactly balanced to be a player race, there are a lot of safety measures missing, likely for brevity.
For example, the Surprise Attack trait doesn't have the limitation of once per round that Sneak Attack has, or any other sort of limitation (such as once per short rest or similar). It only has the conditions of "target surprised", "attack hits" and "first round of combat".
As written, it would work with an opening Flurry (as Filcat said, only one bonus action for your turn, so 2 attacks by Extra Attack + 1 for Martial Arts or +2 for Flurry, for a total of 3 or 4 depending on whether you give a Ki point when you declare your action). That's quite devastating (some Assassin stuff here), so I'm pretty sure it's unintentional, but whether you're allowed it or it's limited to once per round depends on the DM. Make sure you're holding pizza when you ask! :p
And that 2d6 of damage is extra, so it is just added on top of anything else your attack does normally. So, yes, for each attack, weapon dice, ability modifier, magic bonuses, and this bonus (when valid). It's also a die bonus, so it gets doubled on critical hits.
As a mostly irrelevant sidenote, I'll say that normal Sneak Attack is also limited to Finesse or Ranged weapons, which makes Unarmed Strike invalid for it (it's not a weapon, much less a Finesse one, regardless of whether you're using your dexterity with it or not).
"You can use this trait only once per combat." That means that, once you have done the extra 2d6 damage, you can't do it again until the next fight.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
Dammit!
I was going by the monster Bugbear. I didn't even think to check in Volo's monstrous races.
Matthias had me puzzled for a moment, looking if I missed an errata somewhere, but it's a different source entirely. :p
So, yes. Matthias is right: Volo's page 119 is pretty clear on the matter - no matter how many attacks you have, you only get to add that extra damage on one of them.
Awesome thank you everyone.
If you hit a creature with an attack roll, the creature takes an extra 2d6 damage if it hasn’t taken a turn yet in the current combat.
this is the direct wording. this would imply that any creature that hasnt had a turn that you hit takes the extra damage. therefore if you hit it with the monk weapon thats an extra 2d6. the fist would be an extra 2d6 and the flurry of blows extra fist would also get the extra 2d6. because the wording of the text doesn’t actually say the target must be surprised. but you can only do it on your first turn of the first round of combat against enemies that go after you
Yes, Bugbears got tweaked in MotM. The discussion above is in reference to how they worked in Volo's.
always impressed with a 6 year necro.
"Where words fail, swords prevail. Where blood is spilled, my cup is filled" -Cartaphilus
"I have found the answer to the meaning of life. You ask me what the answer is? You already know what the answer to life is. You fear it more than the strike of a viper, the ravages of disease, the ire of a lover. The answer is always death. But death is a gentle mistress with a sweet embrace, and you owe her a debt of restitution. Life is not a gift, it is a loan."