I pose a scenario: You and a friend encounter a dragon, you have a flying broom and your friend has a cube of force. Would it be theoretically possible for you to get your friend carrying a cube of force into the dragon and then have said friend activate the cube of force, therefore killing the dragon? (All purely theoretical- maybe)
All tips greatly appreciated. I am also decently new to DND so don't judge. Thanks in advance
Nope, not without the DM allowing it under the Rule of Cool. RAW you can't go inside of another creature unless they willfully swallow you (only a handful of creatures do this and dragons are not among them), and nothing about RAW say that doing anything while inside another creature that would lead to you taking up more space - e.g. polymorphing into something big, activating a cube of force, potions of Growth, etc... - deals any damage to that creature, rather than simply ejecting you from that creature without dealing damage to it. Indeed most spells/abilities that would cause two creatures to occupy the same space specify that in this event one creature is simply harmlessly pushed to the nearest empty space.
Indeed most spells/abilities that would cause two creatures to occupy the same space specify that in this event one creature is simply harmlessly pushed to the nearest empty space.
There are spells and features that list damage being dealt if two creatures occupy the same space -- dimension door is the most obvious example
If you, the other creature, or both would arrive in a space occupied by a creature or completely filled by one or more objects, you and any creature traveling with you each take 4d6 Force damage, and the teleportation fails.
meld into stone doesn't involve two creatures sharing a space, but it does list damage if the caster no longer fits in the initial space they entered
Minor physical damage to the stone doesn’t harm you, but its partial destruction or a change in its shape (to the extent that you no longer fit within it) expels you and deals 6d6 Force damage to you. The stone’s complete destruction (or transmutation into a different substance) expels you and deals 50 Force damage to you. If expelled, you move into an unoccupied space closest to where you first entered and have the Prone condition.
A DM could use either of those, or similar examples, as a template to rule on what would happen if you forced yourself to be expelled by enlargement or the like
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
They could attack non-lethally, which allows blows to do the same damage but only to unconsciousness, instead of killing. It won’t work with spell attacks but for melee attacks you can think of it like striking with the side of an axe head or shooting an arrow at their legs. https://100001****/
If I were the GM, I'd say the magic item is lacking the sentence that states that if activated in a space without room for the 15x15 cube, it fails.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blanket disclaimer: I only ever state opinion. But I can sound terribly dogmatic - so if you feel I'm trying to tell you what to think, I'm really not, I swear. I'm telling you what I think, that's all.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I pose a scenario: You and a friend encounter a dragon, you have a flying broom and your friend has a cube of force. Would it be theoretically possible for you to get your friend carrying a cube of force into the dragon and then have said friend activate the cube of force, therefore killing the dragon? (All purely theoretical- maybe)
All tips greatly appreciated. I am also decently new to DND so don't judge. Thanks in advance
Nope, not without the DM allowing it under the Rule of Cool. RAW you can't go inside of another creature unless they willfully swallow you (only a handful of creatures do this and dragons are not among them), and nothing about RAW say that doing anything while inside another creature that would lead to you taking up more space - e.g. polymorphing into something big, activating a cube of force, potions of Growth, etc... - deals any damage to that creature, rather than simply ejecting you from that creature without dealing damage to it. Indeed most spells/abilities that would cause two creatures to occupy the same space specify that in this event one creature is simply harmlessly pushed to the nearest empty space.
There are spells and features that list damage being dealt if two creatures occupy the same space -- dimension door is the most obvious example
meld into stone doesn't involve two creatures sharing a space, but it does list damage if the caster no longer fits in the initial space they entered
A DM could use either of those, or similar examples, as a template to rule on what would happen if you forced yourself to be expelled by enlargement or the like
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
They could attack non-lethally, which allows blows to do the same damage but only to unconsciousness, instead of killing. It won’t work with spell attacks but for melee attacks you can think of it like striking with the side of an axe head or shooting an arrow at their legs. https://100001****/
If I were the GM, I'd say the magic item is lacking the sentence that states that if activated in a space without room for the 15x15 cube, it fails.
Blanket disclaimer: I only ever state opinion. But I can sound terribly dogmatic - so if you feel I'm trying to tell you what to think, I'm really not, I swear. I'm telling you what I think, that's all.