As a level 2 Cleric, when can I use any Bonus Actions? I see a level 1 spell called Shield of Faith. It's casting time says : 1 Bonus Action
If it's my turn during combat, what can I do to use it as a Bonus Action? Is there specific things I need to do to get a Bonus Action?
Or, do I use Shield of Faith and then I can do a different Bonus Action?
Basically, what do I need to do to get a Bonus Action, and what can I do as the Bonus Action? When Can I just use any spell with the casting time of 1 Bonus Action?
My DM is pretty cool and knows the game very well. But, I'm afraid that he won't be telling me when I can use a Bonus Action.
Wow. I'm sure this back and forth isn't helping your confusion. As you can see the rules aren't always clear and that causes... this. Anyway, the answers to your questions are pretty clear though.
You always have 1 bonus action separate from your normal action and you can use it to cast any 1 spell or use any 1 feature that requires it that turn.
When casting a bonus action spell, the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip using your action. So you also can't cast a reaction spell until your turn ends.
sigred's point is important on the bonus action...on your turn, you can't cast a spell as an action and then cast shield of faith as a bonus action because you can't cast two spells in your turn. Also, if it says its a bonus action, you have to cast it as your bonus action. You can't say you're casting a bonus action spell as a regular action and then do something else as a bonus action (which doesn't really make sense to me, but thems the rules: "You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell") [personally, i allow this though, i play that a character can do 2 bonus actions in a turn so long as one bonus action is being used in place of their action]
Just to clarify, you can cast two spells on your turn. What you can't do is cast a bonus action spell and a leveled spell on the same turn. If you cast a 1st level or higher spell as an action, you won't be able to cast bonus action spells. If you cast a bonus action spell, then you can only cast cantrips for the rest of your turn. You can cast a leveled spell as an action (such as Bless) and a reaction spell (say you're a cleric that has access to Shield somehow) if your movement provokes a AoO or something like that. If you are a fighter and have Action Surge, you could cast two spells that way. Of note, Haste doesn't allow for a second spell to be cast by its target on its turn with the additional action it bestows.
In a round of combat, by default, you have 1 action, 1 bonus action, and 1 reaction. You may only use these for features that specifically list them as an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you so wish, I suppose you can ask your DM if you can expend your action in exchange for an additional bonus action.
In a round of combat, by default, you have 1 action, 1 bonus action, and 1 reaction. You may only use these for features that specifically list them as an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you so wish, I suppose you can ask your DM if you can expend your action in exchange for an additional bonus action.
I mean it is definitely against the rules, SAC even says so. House rules are always an option, but hard to discuss.
In a round of combat, by default, you have 1 action, 1 bonus action, and 1 reaction. You may only use these for features that specifically list them as an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you so wish, I suppose you can ask your DM if you can expend your action in exchange for an additional bonus action.
Well, technically speaking you don’t have a bonus action by default. A PC only has a bonus action if they have a feature or spell that grants them use of a bonus action, or if they are fighting with two weapons.
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take.
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.
You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
In a round of combat, by default, you have 1 action, 1 bonus action, and 1 reaction. You may only use these for features that specifically list them as an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you so wish, I suppose you can ask your DM if you can expend your action in exchange for an additional bonus action.
This is not quite true. Your reaction resets on your turn, not at the end of a round. It is very common to have 1 reaction before their turn (unless they used it last round), 1 action and 1 bonus action on their turn, and then have a new reaction after their turn.
So it is easy to have 1 action, 1 bonus action and 2 reactions during a single round of combat.
Also, Fighter's get Action Surge with grants them 2 actions rather than 1 action on their turn (and YES you can use that to cast 2 spells per round). But that is limited to 1/ Rest until 17th level.
Ah. By round, I meant concerning the player's perspective of a round, whenever their turn comes. Sorry if that was confusing. Additionally, I meant by you get 1 bonus action by default is that, excluding conditions or spells that say otherwise, you may use a bonus action on your turn. But of course, this is limited by whether or not you have something that can be done in a bonus action, and whether or not you've already used your bonus action.
Yeah, the whole "you don't have a bonus action unless something uses a bonus action" thing never made sense to me. Literally any of the 7 spellcasting classes can have a bonus action spell at level 1. 3 martial classes give bonus actions at level 1. And the last 3 classes just need to wait for level 2 or pick up a second weapon to get bonus actions.
I don't even think it is possible to not have a bonus action by level 3. So the whole "not having one" thing is kind of meaningless.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Wow. I'm sure this back and forth isn't helping your confusion. As you can see the rules aren't always clear and that causes... this. Anyway, the answers to your questions are pretty clear though.
You always have 1 bonus action separate from your normal action and you can use it to cast any 1 spell or use any 1 feature that requires it that turn.
When casting a bonus action spell, the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip using your action. So you also can't cast a reaction spell until your turn ends.
Just to clarify, you can cast two spells on your turn. What you can't do is cast a bonus action spell and a leveled spell on the same turn. If you cast a 1st level or higher spell as an action, you won't be able to cast bonus action spells. If you cast a bonus action spell, then you can only cast cantrips for the rest of your turn. You can cast a leveled spell as an action (such as Bless) and a reaction spell (say you're a cleric that has access to Shield somehow) if your movement provokes a AoO or something like that. If you are a fighter and have Action Surge, you could cast two spells that way. Of note, Haste doesn't allow for a second spell to be cast by its target on its turn with the additional action it bestows.
So, can I attack a creature then cast Shield of Faith as a Bonus Action?
Yes. You can do it the other way around too if it might make a difference.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Yep (as long as the attack is a weapon or cantrip, and not a leveled spell). And what Emmber said, too about order not mattering.
In a round of combat, by default, you have 1 action, 1 bonus action, and 1 reaction. You may only use these for features that specifically list them as an action, bonus action, or reaction. If you so wish, I suppose you can ask your DM if you can expend your action in exchange for an additional bonus action.
I mean it is definitely against the rules, SAC even says so. House rules are always an option, but hard to discuss.
Well, technically speaking you don’t have a bonus action by default. A PC only has a bonus action if they have a feature or spell that grants them use of a bonus action, or if they are fighting with two weapons.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
This is not quite true. Your reaction resets on your turn, not at the end of a round. It is very common to have 1 reaction before their turn (unless they used it last round), 1 action and 1 bonus action on their turn, and then have a new reaction after their turn.
So it is easy to have 1 action, 1 bonus action and 2 reactions during a single round of combat.
Also, Fighter's get Action Surge with grants them 2 actions rather than 1 action on their turn (and YES you can use that to cast 2 spells per round). But that is limited to 1/ Rest until 17th level.
Ah. By round, I meant concerning the player's perspective of a round, whenever their turn comes. Sorry if that was confusing. Additionally, I meant by you get 1 bonus action by default is that, excluding conditions or spells that say otherwise, you may use a bonus action on your turn. But of course, this is limited by whether or not you have something that can be done in a bonus action, and whether or not you've already used your bonus action.
Yeah, the whole "you don't have a bonus action unless something uses a bonus action" thing never made sense to me. Literally any of the 7 spellcasting classes can have a bonus action spell at level 1. 3 martial classes give bonus actions at level 1. And the last 3 classes just need to wait for level 2 or pick up a second weapon to get bonus actions.
I don't even think it is possible to not have a bonus action by level 3. So the whole "not having one" thing is kind of meaningless.