Right. So there's a distinction between dismissing and dispelling. I'd pose the same question, then, about dismissing: if the caster is unconscious, does the spell become dismissed? This is for a non-concentration spell.
You mean something like Prestidigitation? Nothing happens, the spell keeps going for the full hour, or until the caster dismisses it. Period. There caster being incapacitated will in no way affect any spell that does not require concentration.
I think I got what I came for (and thanks for that!), but my example can be any spell that doesn't require concentration that has a Until Dispelled duration. Symbol, for instance, although Symbol has the added condition of it ending when triggered, too, but that's besides the point.
I can imagine a piece of lore where a mage cast symbol to create a glyph to protect the entrance of his king's tomb that has since been buried under centuries of sand and long forgotten. A great event has revealed this tomb, and the unlucky adventurer who first attempts to open the door would trigger the spell that was cast by the long-dead mage.
I can imagine a piece of lore where a mage cast symbol to create a glyph to protect the entrance of his king's tomb that has since been buried under centuries of sand and long forgotten. A great event has revealed this tomb, and the unlucky adventurer who first attempts to open the door would trigger the spell that was cast by the long-dead mage.
It works RAW, and it's pretty damn evocative too.
The low level party I DM spent a session fruitlessly trying to open a vault Arcane Locked by a long dead Wizard hundreds of years previously. I was also using house rules on upcasting Arcane Lock for increased DC, although that didn't make a difference in the particular case.
Right. So there's a distinction between dismissing and dispelling. I'd pose the same question, then, about dismissing: if the caster is unconscious, does the spell become dismissed? This is for a non-concentration spell.
No. In addition, there is NO mechanic for dismissing a non-concentration spell. Once it is cast, and no longer requires concentration, it can not be dismissed - it can only be dispelled. Even the original caster can't get rid of the spell. Only a spell requiring concentration can be ended at any time.
"A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed." - Dismissed is not an option.
"If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - only a spell that requires concentration can be ended at any time by ending the concentration.
Any other long duration spell can only be ended by being dispelled or destroyed (e.g. triggered). What happens to the caster after one of these is cast is irrelevant.
P.S. Of course specific spell text could over ride the general rules.
Right. So there's a distinction between dismissing and dispelling. I'd pose the same question, then, about dismissing: if the caster is unconscious, does the spell become dismissed? This is for a non-concentration spell.
No. In addition, there is NO mechanic for dismissing a non-concentration spell. Once it is cast, and no longer requires concentration, it can not be dismissed - it can only be dispelled. Even the original caster can't get rid of the spell. Only a spell requiring concentration can be ended at any time.
[Snip]
P.S. Of course specific spell text could over ride the general rules.
Related: there are a few instantaneous spells with lasting effects that can be dismissed. Notably find familiar, find steed, and the like. There are probably other examples, I'm not doing an exhaustive search.
But like David said, these are specifically mentioned by the spells. Without such lines, spells with "until dispelled," instantaneous spells with lasting effects, or any other non-concentration duration for that matter can't be undone at will.
This spell is a minor magical trick that novice spellcasters use for practice. You create one of the following magical effects within range:
You create an instantaneous, harmless sensory effect, such as a shower of sparks, a puff of wind, faint musical notes, or an odd odor.
You instantaneously light or snuff out a candle, a torch, or a small campfire.
You instantaneously clean or soil an object no larger than 1 cubic foot.
You chill, warm, or flavor up to 1 cubic foot of nonliving material for 1 hour.
You make a color, a small mark, or a symbol appear on an object or a surface for 1 hour.
You create a nonmagical trinket or an illusory image that can fit in your hand and that lasts until the end of your next turn.
If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have up to three of its non-instantaneous effects active at a time, and you can dismiss such an effect as an action.
Technically, the caster didn't dispel the spell before they became unable to take an Action or Reaction, so...
Unless the spell requires concentration, nothing happens when the caster becomes incapacitated.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
“Until dispelled” doesn’t mean “until the caster dismisses it,” it means “until someone casts dispel magic on it.”
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Right. So there's a distinction between dismissing and dispelling. I'd pose the same question, then, about dismissing: if the caster is unconscious, does the spell become dismissed? This is for a non-concentration spell.
You mean something like Prestidigitation? Nothing happens, the spell keeps going for the full hour, or until the caster dismisses it. Period. There caster being incapacitated will in no way affect any spell that does not require concentration.
For more details, please see the Spell Duration section of the Basic Rules: (https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting#Duration).
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Are you referring to a particular spell? That might be more useful than discussing concepts in general terms.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I think I got what I came for (and thanks for that!), but my example can be any spell that doesn't require concentration that has a Until Dispelled duration. Symbol, for instance, although Symbol has the added condition of it ending when triggered, too, but that's besides the point.
I can imagine a piece of lore where a mage cast symbol to create a glyph to protect the entrance of his king's tomb that has since been buried under centuries of sand and long forgotten. A great event has revealed this tomb, and the unlucky adventurer who first attempts to open the door would trigger the spell that was cast by the long-dead mage.
It works RAW, and it's pretty damn evocative too.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The low level party I DM spent a session fruitlessly trying to open a vault Arcane Locked by a long dead Wizard hundreds of years previously. I was also using house rules on upcasting Arcane Lock for increased DC, although that didn't make a difference in the particular case.
No. In addition, there is NO mechanic for dismissing a non-concentration spell. Once it is cast, and no longer requires concentration, it can not be dismissed - it can only be dispelled. Even the original caster can't get rid of the spell. Only a spell requiring concentration can be ended at any time.
"A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed." - Dismissed is not an option.
"If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - only a spell that requires concentration can be ended at any time by ending the concentration.
Any other long duration spell can only be ended by being dispelled or destroyed (e.g. triggered). What happens to the caster after one of these is cast is irrelevant.
P.S. Of course specific spell text could over ride the general rules.
Related: there are a few instantaneous spells with lasting effects that can be dismissed. Notably find familiar, find steed, and the like. There are probably other examples, I'm not doing an exhaustive search.
But like David said, these are specifically mentioned by the spells. Without such lines, spells with "until dispelled," instantaneous spells with lasting effects, or any other non-concentration duration for that matter can't be undone at will.
The most commonly cast non-concentration spell that can be dismissed by the caster after being cast is Prestidigitation:
There are plenty of other examples too: control flames, light, mage hand, minor illusion, mold earth, produce flame, shape water, and thaumaturgy are all examples, just in cantrips alone.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting