Firstly, the reaction spell is irrelevant as it happens on another players turn. And Booming Blade is a 1 action cantrip and thus is allowed if you cast a spell with a bonus action.
But it's not really 3 spells in one turn. As Thezzaruz mentions the reaction Opportunity Attack is occurring on the enemy's turn.
By RAW it is possible to do 3 spells in one turn if you have two levels in fighter and enough levels in a caster class to get Counterspell. You could then cast a spell like Fireball, if they try to counterspell you, then you can use your own reaction on your own turn to also Counterspell their Counterspell. Your spell goes off, and that's 2 spells you've made this turn. You can then Action Surge and cast another spell. That's 3 in one turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
3 spells in 1 turn is perfectly doable. You just have to trigger the reaction spell on your turn. One way to do this is using your Action to cast a cantrip then walk up to an enemy. Use Quicken Spell Metamagic to cast Dissonant Whispers as a Bonus Action causing them to run away from you to trigger a AoO which when combined with the Warcaster feat lets you throw another cantrip at them.
Heck you can even mix in Action Surge for another cantrip to allow you to cast 4 spells a turn.
Thanks every one. I am old school. Been paying since late 80s and a turn was form the highest initiative to the last initiative So thank you Thezzaruz for clearing that up
3 spells in 1 turn is perfectly doable. You just have to trigger the reaction spell on your turn. One way to do this is using your Action to cast a cantrip then walk up to an enemy. Use Quicken Spell Metamagic to cast Dissonant Whispers as a Bonus Action causing them to run away from you to trigger a AoO which when combined with the Warcaster feat lets you throw another cantrip at them.
Heck you can even mix in Action Surge for another cantrip to allow you to cast 4 spells a turn.
You can't cast a spell as a reaction on the same turn you cast a bonus action spell (though you can cast it on another creature's turn that same round). So the limit is 3 spells per turn via action surge, 2 spells per turn without.
3 spells in 1 turn is perfectly doable. You just have to trigger the reaction spell on your turn. One way to do this is using your Action to cast a cantrip then walk up to an enemy. Use Quicken Spell Metamagic to cast Dissonant Whispers as a Bonus Action causing them to run away from you to trigger a AoO which when combined with the Warcaster feat lets you throw another cantrip at them.
Heck you can even mix in Action Surge for another cantrip to allow you to cast 4 spells a turn.
You can't cast a spell as a reaction on the same turn you cast a bonus action spell (though you can cast it on another creature's turn that same round). So the limit is 3 spells per turn via action surge, 2 spells per turn without.
Reaction spells after a Bonus Action spell are fine as long as they are cantrips.
3 spells in 1 turn is perfectly doable. You just have to trigger the reaction spell on your turn. One way to do this is using your Action to cast a cantrip then walk up to an enemy. Use Quicken Spell Metamagic to cast Dissonant Whispers as a Bonus Action causing them to run away from you to trigger a AoO which when combined with the Warcaster feat lets you throw another cantrip at them.
Heck you can even mix in Action Surge for another cantrip to allow you to cast 4 spells a turn.
You can't cast a spell as a reaction on the same turn you cast a bonus action spell (though you can cast it on another creature's turn that same round). So the limit is 3 spells per turn via action surge, 2 spells per turn without.
Reaction spells after a Bonus Action spell are fine as long as they are cantrips.
And have a casting time of 1 action...
You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
I wouldn't say that a casting a spell that normally has a casting time of 1 action as a reaction still counts as having a casting time of 1 action (since the time it was cast was a reaction), but I can see how that is open to interpretation by a DM.
So instead of yes or no, the true answer should be: YMMV. Definitely 2 spells/3 with action surge, and in rare occasions (enemy triggers OA on your turn and you have war caster) and with DM permission 3 spells/4 with action surge.
You can't cast Booming Blade as a reaction, Hex as a bonus action and Booming Blade as an action in one turn because of the limit on spelllcasting as bonus action.
But you can cast them over the course of multiple turns, if the enemy provoke an Opportinuty Attack on its turn letting you cast a spell as a reaction, and then you cast such spells as an action and bonus action on your own turn thereafter.
People are incorrect about the reaction having to be a cantrip.
It has been confirmed by Sage Advice that you can do ALL of the following in one round:
Cast a cantrip to attack.
Cast Misty Step (level 2 spell) to move away.
Then, during your own turn, when the enemy attempts to Counter Spell your Misty Step, in reaction, cast a Counter Spell to counter their counter.
The rule about only casting a cantrip when you cast a Bonus Action spell ONLY applies to your normal Action.
It does not apply to the extra action granted by Action Surge. It does not apply to reactions. It does not apply to the whole extra turn you get from Thieves Reflexes. It does not apply to extra rounds you get from Time Stop. It does not apply to non-casting via activating a magic item such as a Wand of Paralysis. It does not apply to spells activated by Contingency.
Yes the wording is strange and implies you can't. But Sage Advice has clarified it.
People are incorrect about the reaction having to be a cantrip.
It has been confirmed by Sage Advice that you can do ALL of the following in one round:
Cast a cantrip to attack.
Cast Misty Step (level 2 spell) to move away.
Then, during your own turn, when the enemy attempts to Counter Spell your Misty Step, in reaction, cast a Counter Spell to counter their counter.
The rule about only casting a cantrip when you cast a Bonus Action spell ONLY applies to your normal Action.
It does not apply to the extra action granted by Action Surge. It does not apply to reactions. It does not apply to the whole extra turn you get from Thieves Reflexes. It does not apply to extra rounds you get from Time Stop. It does not apply to non-casting via activating a magic item such as a Wand of Paralysis. It does not apply to spells activated by Contingency.
Yes the wording is strange and implies you can't. But Sage Advice has clarified it.
Hosted a battle between the Cult of Sedge and the Forum Countershere(Done now). I_Love_Tarrasques has won the fight, scoring a victory for the fiendish Moderators.
The Action Surge allows you to take another Action on your turn - it does not give you a new turn:
On your turn, you can take one additional action on top of your regular action and a possible bonus action.
Casting a spell as a Bonus Action prevents you casting a non-cantrip spell on the same turn:
You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
It applies to all spells (including reaction spells) cast on that same turn, see the wording of the bolded wording above.
You are correct that Thieves' Reflexes grants you a second turn - so of course the bonus action spell rule doesn't apply from one turn to a different turn.
It would apply to magic items which tell you that you are casting a spell - wand of paralysis doesn't mention that you are casting a spell so of course you can use it.
People are incorrect about the reaction having to be a cantrip.
It has been confirmed by Sage Advice that you can do ALL of the following in one round:
Cast a cantrip to attack.
Cast Misty Step (level 2 spell) to move away.
Then, during your own turn, when the enemy attempts to Counter Spell your Misty Step, in reaction, cast a Counter Spell to counter their counter.
The rule about only casting a cantrip when you cast a Bonus Action spell ONLY applies to your normal Action.
It does not apply to the extra action granted by Action Surge. It does not apply to reactions. It does not apply to the whole extra turn you get from Thieves Reflexes. It does not apply to extra rounds you get from Time Stop. It does not apply to non-casting via activating a magic item such as a Wand of Paralysis. It does not apply to spells activated by Contingency.
Yes the wording is strange and implies you can't. But Sage Advice has clarified it.
"No other spells that turn except a cantrip with a casting time of action."
But these are only advice. The SAC only has 2 applicable rulings, 1 slightly less clear than the RAW (which is pretty clear: "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except..."), and the other uses similar wording as that aforementioned, pretty clear RAW.
That 1 official rule as written, 2 official rulings, and 2 advices from the developer all with links provided versus 1 "definitely not made up" ruling of unknown origin.
My human warlock has the feats : pole arm master and war caster. An enemy enters rage of a quarter staff. (rage 5 feet)
“pole arm master” reaction and War caster . Casts “booming blade”
Bonus action casts “Hex” or “Shillelagh”( path of the tome) (1BA)
Action. Casts “booming blade”
Can you do this? Is it by the rules
Firstly, the reaction spell is irrelevant as it happens on another players turn.
And Booming Blade is a 1 action cantrip and thus is allowed if you cast a spell with a bonus action.
So it seems OK.
You can. Perfectly RAW.
But it's not really 3 spells in one turn. As Thezzaruz mentions the reaction Opportunity Attack is occurring on the enemy's turn.
By RAW it is possible to do 3 spells in one turn if you have two levels in fighter and enough levels in a caster class to get Counterspell. You could then cast a spell like Fireball, if they try to counterspell you, then you can use your own reaction on your own turn to also Counterspell their Counterspell. Your spell goes off, and that's 2 spells you've made this turn. You can then Action Surge and cast another spell. That's 3 in one turn.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
What the OP describes is 3 spells in 1 round.
3 spells in 1 turn is perfectly doable. You just have to trigger the reaction spell on your turn. One way to do this is using your Action to cast a cantrip then walk up to an enemy. Use Quicken Spell Metamagic to cast Dissonant Whispers as a Bonus Action causing them to run away from you to trigger a AoO which when combined with the Warcaster feat lets you throw another cantrip at them.
Heck you can even mix in Action Surge for another cantrip to allow you to cast 4 spells a turn.
Thanks every one. I am old school. Been paying since late 80s and a turn was form the highest initiative to the last initiative So thank you Thezzaruz for clearing that up
You can't cast a spell as a reaction on the same turn you cast a bonus action spell (though you can cast it on another creature's turn that same round). So the limit is 3 spells per turn via action surge, 2 spells per turn without.
Reaction spells after a Bonus Action spell are fine as long as they are cantrips.
And have a casting time of 1 action...
I wouldn't say that a casting a spell that normally has a casting time of 1 action as a reaction still counts as having a casting time of 1 action (since the time it was cast was a reaction), but I can see how that is open to interpretation by a DM.
So instead of yes or no, the true answer should be: YMMV. Definitely 2 spells/3 with action surge, and in rare occasions (enemy triggers OA on your turn and you have war caster) and with DM permission 3 spells/4 with action surge.
You can't cast Booming Blade as a reaction, Hex as a bonus action and Booming Blade as an action in one turn because of the limit on spelllcasting as bonus action.
But you can cast them over the course of multiple turns, if the enemy provoke an Opportinuty Attack on its turn letting you cast a spell as a reaction, and then you cast such spells as an action and bonus action on your own turn thereafter.
People are incorrect about the reaction having to be a cantrip.
It has been confirmed by Sage Advice that you can do ALL of the following in one round:
The rule about only casting a cantrip when you cast a Bonus Action spell ONLY applies to your normal Action.
It does not apply to the extra action granted by Action Surge. It does not apply to reactions. It does not apply to the whole extra turn you get from Thieves Reflexes. It does not apply to extra rounds you get from Time Stop. It does not apply to non-casting via activating a magic item such as a Wand of Paralysis. It does not apply to spells activated by Contingency.
Yes the wording is strange and implies you can't. But Sage Advice has clarified it.
Could you please link the Sage Advice that clarifies this? Because the rules are explicit that on a turn that you cast a spell with a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Subclass Evaluations So Far:
Sorcerer
Warlock
My statblock. Fear me!
Hosted a battle between the Cult of Sedge and the Forum Counters here(Done now). I_Love_Tarrasques has won the fight, scoring a victory for the fiendish Moderators.
The rules for casting a bonus action spell are at https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting#CastingTime
The rules for Action Surge are at https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/classes#ActionSurge
The Action Surge allows you to take another Action on your turn - it does not give you a new turn:
Casting a spell as a Bonus Action prevents you casting a non-cantrip spell on the same turn:
It applies to all spells (including reaction spells) cast on that same turn, see the wording of the bolded wording above.
You are correct that Thieves' Reflexes grants you a second turn - so of course the bonus action spell rule doesn't apply from one turn to a different turn.
It would apply to magic items which tell you that you are casting a spell - wand of paralysis doesn't mention that you are casting a spell so of course you can use it.
My search results say the opposite...
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sageadvice.eu/bonus-action-spell-reaction-spell/amp/
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sageadvice.eu/does-casting-a-bonus-action-spell-prevent-reaction-spells/amp/
"No other spells that turn except a cantrip with a casting time of action."
But these are only advice. The SAC only has 2 applicable rulings, 1 slightly less clear than the RAW (which is pretty clear: "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except..."), and the other uses similar wording as that aforementioned, pretty clear RAW.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA159
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA160
That 1 official rule as written, 2 official rulings, and 2 advices from the developer all with links provided versus 1 "definitely not made up" ruling of unknown origin.
You really need to back that up with some quotes mate because AFAIK that is completely wrong.
The SAC is quite clear when it says "For example, spiritual weapon can be cast as a bonus action, and it lasts for 1 minute. On the turn you cast it, you can’t cast another spell before or after it, unless that spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." and I can't remember seeing any of the non-SAC tweets that says differently either.