My question is about polymorph and if someone who polymorphed into a creature like a dragon or triceratops, if the morphed creature gets poisoned and loses its transformation due to losing its concentration does the creature stay poisoned or the effect ends since its no longer the morphed creature? Also if i cast power word kill on a morph creature whose health below 100 does the creature die or just the transformation?
Can the caster cast polymorph on itself? or only with true polymorph? or just other creatures?
1: Poison would stay with the creature that is poisoned. Even if the player is polymorphed, the base creature is the player, so when polymorph is dropped they are still poisoned.
2: Power Word Kill would instantly kill a polymorphed player if the HP total of the creature that it is polymorphed into is at, or below, 100 hp. As this spell does not deal damage, instead it looks for a true/false condition.
3: A player is assumed to be able to see them self, so yes you can polymorph yourself.
This is my take on how your questions would be ruled, per my DM style.
So if the polymorph creature hp is 100 or less it dies and it takes out the player too? or the player just the actual player need to have 100 or less hp?
So if the polymorph creature hp is 100 or less it dies and it takes out the player too? or the player just the actual player need to have 100 or less hp?
In the most simple way possible: If the player is polymorphed and has 100 or less hp in that form, they need a new character sheet.
As written, spells like Disintegrate and Power Word Kill will use the HP of the current form of a creature affected by Wild Shape, Polymorph, True Polymorph or Shapechange.
Hey Coder, this is actually one of the exceptions to something you referenced on another thread regarding a target having some form of recourse when another creature intends to do it harm. Go figure.
9th level spells are supposed to be a bit broken. And PWK isn't that special, really; Meteor Swarm averages 140 damage (save for half), covers a huge area and has a range of 1 mile, so it can generally kill the same things PWK will kill. PWK is just way more discreet and targeted.
The Polymorph + Disintegrate/PWK strategy still takes two actions and at least 1 failed save (2 with Disintegrate). Any monster with legendary resistance gets out it easily. And like I said, it's not an intentional interaction, just an unfortunate side effect of how Wild Shape and Polymorph were written.
One argument I would make against it killing the caster (who cast it on him/herself) is the distinction drawn between the morphed creatures HP and the caster's. i.e. the clause that stipulates that any damage left over after the morphed creature is reduced to 0 carries over to the caster. So there are definitely 2 sets of HP at play at the same time. I know this is a losing argument, but I'd make it anyway :D
One argument I would make against it killing the caster (who cast it on him/herself) is the distinction drawn between the morphed creatures HP and the caster's. i.e. the clause that stipulates that any damage left over after the morphed creature is reduced to 0 carries over to the caster. So there are definitely 2 sets of HP at play at the same time. I know this is a losing argument, but I'd make it anyway :D
I thought about that argument in my original post as well, but upon reading the text and thinking about the phrasing "the creature you choose has" kinda eliminates the hp pool idea. It's a static conditional, rather than a dynamic one.
Is the HP 100 or less?
Yes = dead
No = no effect
at no point in time does it cause a change to the HP to involve a pool of hp.
So if the polymorph creature hp is 100 or less it dies and it takes out the player too? or the player just the actual player need to have 100 or less hp?
In the most simple way possible: If the player is polymorphed and has 100 or less hp in that form, they need a new character sheet.
So A Vorpal weapon can kill All characters in polymorphed state ..... no matter the polymorphed humanoid size. As the “damage” of the vorpal decapitation transfers I’m told.
So if the polymorph creature hp is 100 or less it dies and it takes out the player too? or the player just the actual player need to have 100 or less hp?
In the most simple way possible: If the player is polymorphed and has 100 or less hp in that form, they need a new character sheet.
So A Vorpal weapon can kill All characters in polymorphed state ..... no matter the polymorphed humanoid size. As the “damage” of the vorpal decapitation transfers I’m told.
Not sure if this is a question or an affirmation but: yes, being headless would definitely transfer between states.
I don't think so as it's only a hit point damage 6d8.... Or loosing your head is not the position of your head and a few other reasons like what if your torn apart while your polymorphed into an insect.
If someone is polymorphed into a tiny beast like a squirrel and someone casts Animal Messenger on them, do they still have to carry the message after the polymorph wears off?
If someone is polymorphed into a tiny beast like a squirrel and someone casts Animal Messenger on them, do they still have to carry the message after the polymorph wears off?
Yes. The restriction of targeting a Tiny Beast only applies when the spell is cast - the target changing size and/or type during the spell doesn't turn Animal Messenger off.
My understanding is that any spell that targets a specific type (let's say Beast since we are talking Polymorph) gets broken once your type reverts to humanoid?
And Vice Versa. IE, a charmed Druid that WildShapes breaks the charm while in beast/elemental type?
If someone is polymorphed into a tiny beast like a squirrel and someone casts Animal Messenger on them, do they still have to carry the message after the polymorph wears off?
Yes. The restriction of targeting a Tiny Beast only applies when the spell is cast - the target changing size and/or type during the spell doesn't turn Animal Messenger off.
My understanding is that any spell that targets a specific type (let's say Beast since we are talking Polymorph) gets broken once your type reverts to humanoid?
And Vice Versa. IE, a charmed Druid that WildShapes breaks the charm while in beast/elemental type?
Exhaustion also transfers through POLYMORPH to the original target.....
On the topic of polymorph and effects toward it, if an evil cleric cast heat metal on the knight in the party, would you let him find relief from the spell by being polymorphed?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My question is about polymorph and if someone who polymorphed into a creature like a dragon or triceratops, if the morphed creature gets poisoned and loses its transformation due to losing its concentration does the creature stay poisoned or the effect ends since its no longer the morphed creature? Also if i cast power word kill on a morph creature whose health below 100 does the creature die or just the transformation?
Can the caster cast polymorph on itself? or only with true polymorph? or just other creatures?
Polymorph can shape you only in beasts and yes, you can polymorph yourself, as long as you can see yourself.
All the conditions you have while polymorphed carry over in your normal form, reverting does not get you any kind of cure.
Since the wording of Power Word Kill, I believe you totally die, because the spell does not say to get to 0 hit points, it says 'you die'.
1: Poison would stay with the creature that is poisoned. Even if the player is polymorphed, the base creature is the player, so when polymorph is dropped they are still poisoned.
2: Power Word Kill would instantly kill a polymorphed player if the HP total of the creature that it is polymorphed into is at, or below, 100 hp. As this spell does not deal damage, instead it looks for a true/false condition.
3: A player is assumed to be able to see them self, so yes you can polymorph yourself.
This is my take on how your questions would be ruled, per my DM style.
So if the polymorph creature hp is 100 or less it dies and it takes out the player too? or the player just the actual player need to have 100 or less hp?
Hopefully, the player will be always safe ;-)
But, the polymorphed character, if in polymorphed form has 100 or less, it will die instantly if is subject to power word kill.
As written, spells like Disintegrate and Power Word Kill will use the HP of the current form of a creature affected by Wild Shape, Polymorph, True Polymorph or Shapechange.
This is one of those cases where rules as written and rules as intended don't line up. Mass Polymorph solves that problem by using temporary hit points instead of replacing your hit points altogether; Jeremy Crawford has mentioned before that's how he'd write Wild Shape if he could do it over.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Hey Coder, this is actually one of the exceptions to something you referenced on another thread regarding a target having some form of recourse when another creature intends to do it harm. Go figure.
9th level spells are supposed to be a bit broken. And PWK isn't that special, really; Meteor Swarm averages 140 damage (save for half), covers a huge area and has a range of 1 mile, so it can generally kill the same things PWK will kill. PWK is just way more discreet and targeted.
The Polymorph + Disintegrate/PWK strategy still takes two actions and at least 1 failed save (2 with Disintegrate). Any monster with legendary resistance gets out it easily. And like I said, it's not an intentional interaction, just an unfortunate side effect of how Wild Shape and Polymorph were written.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
One argument I would make against it killing the caster (who cast it on him/herself) is the distinction drawn between the morphed creatures HP and the caster's. i.e. the clause that stipulates that any damage left over after the morphed creature is reduced to 0 carries over to the caster. So there are definitely 2 sets of HP at play at the same time. I know this is a losing argument, but I'd make it anyway :D
at no point in time does it cause a change to the HP to involve a pool of hp.
Agreed.
So A Vorpal weapon can kill All characters in polymorphed state ..... no matter the polymorphed humanoid size. As the “damage” of the vorpal decapitation transfers I’m told.
Ninja
Not sure if this is a question or an affirmation but: yes, being headless would definitely transfer between states.
I don't think so as it's only a hit point damage 6d8.... Or loosing your head is not the position of your head and a few other reasons like what if your torn apart while your polymorphed into an insect.
Ninja
If someone is polymorphed into a tiny beast like a squirrel and someone casts Animal Messenger on them, do they still have to carry the message after the polymorph wears off?
Yes. The restriction of targeting a Tiny Beast only applies when the spell is cast - the target changing size and/or type during the spell doesn't turn Animal Messenger off.
My understanding is that any spell that targets a specific type (let's say Beast since we are talking Polymorph) gets broken once your type reverts to humanoid?
And Vice Versa. IE, a charmed Druid that WildShapes breaks the charm while in beast/elemental type?
Exhaustion also transfers through POLYMORPH to the original target.....
Ninja
On the topic of polymorph and effects toward it, if an evil cleric cast heat metal on the knight in the party, would you let him find relief from the spell by being polymorphed?
"Not all those who wander are lost"