AS we known, the basic use of the spell wish route:
[IF you use it this way, you don‘t need to meet any requirements to cast that spell]
the question is, the word that will meanswish or the spell that wish duplicated?
If that means the spell that wish duplicated, shall it explain that the spell wish works with another spell casting action?
If the previous sentence is true, quote Spellcasting rules, should the spell casting by wish need follow Casting Time rules, must use another action to cast? (as Casting Time is not part of requirement, which wish spell don’t need to meet)
My first language is not English, so please forgive my poor grammar.
Yes, that spell refers to the spell you're going to cast, not Wish itself. Let me use this answer from a different thread, as I think it summaries well how Wish works regarding concentration and spell's components:
If you use Wish to cast a spell, say Forcecage, the Verbal, Somatic, and Material components (including the costly ones that would normally be consumed by the spell), are no longer needed. You will still have to concentrate on the spell you cast if it requires concentration. Otherwise, this would allow a wizard to stack concentration spells like Forcecage and Incendiary Cloud on their own.
About Casting Time, the duplicated spell you cast using Wish (the same applies to Divine Intervention) bypasses casting times.
Could you please inspire me which rules told us that wish will pass casting time of those spell? I've no answer about it.
It's how I understand this part of the spell's effect:
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of level 8 or lower. If you use it this way, you don’t need to meet any requirements to cast that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.
So, you cast Wish, which takes 1 action, and then you duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower, bypassing everything normally required for that spell, like its Casting Time and Components.
IMO, that's basically one of the main benefits of the spell.
EDIT: BTW, that's also how I understand the 2014 Wish.
That is exactly why I am puzzled, in rulebooks I can only find they told V.F.S (In total, it amounts to Components) are requirements in the entry Components, so why Casting Time are also part of requirements? or if it do so, why something else like concentration or 'you can use this spell' (a requirement that you try to use spells in AMF or you try to use Simulacrum when you are a Simulacrum will violated) are not the requirement that Wish itself can defy?
Whether or not you consider Casting Time a requirement to cast a spell, it doesn't matter really in this case:
[...] The spell simply takes effect.
The duplicated spell is cast via or thanks to Wish, using Wish's Casting Time (1 Action) and Components (V).
However, when the duplicated spell is cast, you must still maintain Concentration, not because it's a casting requirement (it is not, you're right), but because it's necessary to sustain the spell's effect afterward:
Duration
A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists after it is cast. A duration typically takes one of the following forms:
Concentration. A duration that requires Concentration follows the Concentration rules (see the rules glossary).
I'm wondering: if you're a DM, wouldn't you prefer this ruling for your games and players? If not, Wish might not be as useful and powerful as I think it is.
I'm wondering: if you're a DM, wouldn't you prefer this ruling for your games or your players? If not, Wish might not be as useful and powerful as I think it is.
Wish is intended to essentially be the most powerful spell in the game, so it seems to me like it should have as few restrictions as possible.
But I also think that, regardless of whether casting time counts as a "requirement" or not, to me the language of the spell makes it pretty clear that no additional casting time is required, simply because it doesn't say that you cast the other spell; it says you "duplicate" the spell and it "simply takes effect". The casting time of the other spell is irrelevant because that's not the spell you're casting. You are casting Wish, but the effect is that of another spell.
I'm wondering: if you're a DM, wouldn't you prefer this ruling for your games or your players? If not, Wish might not be as useful and powerful as I think it is.
Wish is intended to essentially be the most powerful spell in the game, so it seems to me like it should have as few restrictions as possible.
But I also think that, regardless of whether casting time counts as a "requirement" or not, to me the language of the spell makes it pretty clear that no additional casting time is required, simply because it doesn't say that you cast the other spell; it says you "duplicate" the spell and it "simply takes effect". The casting time of the other spell is irrelevant because that's not the spell you're casting. You are casting Wish, but the effect is that of another spell.
And you could even argue that you're still casting the duplicated spell, based on the part about "... any requirements to cast that spell" in the description and this answer from the SAC (there's an equivalent answer in the 2014 SAC). But I get your point and agree with you.
AS we known, the basic use of the spell wish route:
[IF you use it this way, you don‘t need to meet any requirements to cast that spell]
the question is, the word that will means wish or the spell that wish duplicated?
If that means the spell that wish duplicated, shall it explain that the spell wish works with another spell casting action?
If the previous sentence is true, quote Spellcasting rules, should the spell casting by wish need follow Casting Time rules, must use another action to cast? (as Casting Time is not part of requirement, which wish spell don’t need to meet)
My first language is not English, so please forgive my poor grammar.
Yes, that spell refers to the spell you're going to cast, not Wish itself. Let me use this answer from a different thread, as I think it summaries well how Wish works regarding concentration and spell's components:
About Casting Time, the duplicated spell you cast using Wish (the same applies to Divine Intervention) bypasses casting times.
EDIT: for clarity.
There are some threads about Wish or Divine Intervention that could be helpful for you:
Could you please inspire me which rules told us that wish will pass casting time of those spell? I've no answer about it.
It's how I understand this part of the spell's effect:
So, you cast Wish, which takes 1 action, and then you duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower, bypassing everything normally required for that spell, like its Casting Time and Components.
IMO, that's basically one of the main benefits of the spell.
EDIT: BTW, that's also how I understand the 2014 Wish.
That is exactly why I am puzzled, in rulebooks I can only find they told V.F.S (In total, it amounts to Components) are requirements in the entry Components, so why Casting Time are also part of requirements? or if it do so, why something else like concentration or 'you can use this spell' (a requirement that you try to use spells in AMF or you try to use Simulacrum when you are a Simulacrum will violated) are not the requirement that Wish itself can defy?
Whether or not you consider Casting Time a requirement to cast a spell, it doesn't matter really in this case:
The duplicated spell is cast via or thanks to Wish, using Wish's Casting Time (1 Action) and Components (V).
However, when the duplicated spell is cast, you must still maintain Concentration, not because it's a casting requirement (it is not, you're right), but because it's necessary to sustain the spell's effect afterward:
Some linked threads were about this topic.
EDIT: for clarity.
I'm wondering: if you're a DM, wouldn't you prefer this ruling for your games and players? If not, Wish might not be as useful and powerful as I think it is.
Wish is intended to essentially be the most powerful spell in the game, so it seems to me like it should have as few restrictions as possible.
But I also think that, regardless of whether casting time counts as a "requirement" or not, to me the language of the spell makes it pretty clear that no additional casting time is required, simply because it doesn't say that you cast the other spell; it says you "duplicate" the spell and it "simply takes effect". The casting time of the other spell is irrelevant because that's not the spell you're casting. You are casting Wish, but the effect is that of another spell.
pronouns: he/she/they
And you could even argue that you're still casting the duplicated spell, based on the part about "... any requirements to cast that spell" in the description and this answer from the SAC (there's an equivalent answer in the 2014 SAC). But I get your point and agree with you.