One of my players is a scribe wizard inside the radius of a silence spell but his manifest Mind book is outside the silence spell. Can he still cast through the manifested book?
Counterspell would treat the target as though they were at the location of the spectral mind.
I'm not sure.
I'd say the wizard is the caster if we consider the Manifest Mind feature to be similar to Gaze of Two Minds (*) :
While perceiving through the other creature’s senses, you benefit from any special senses possessed by that creature, and you can cast spells as if you were in your space or the other creature’s space if the two of you are within 60 feet of each other.
Or Invoke Duplicity (**):
You can cast spells as though you were in the illusion’s space, but you must use your own senses.
Counterspell would treat the target as though they were at the location of the spectral mind.
I tend to agree with this since if the verbal component of the spell were within the silence then the wizard could not cast it.
If you rule that the wizard casts the spell as if they were in the spectral mind's space then I would think you would need to rule that the components are also executed there in order to bypass the silence spell. In which case, counterspell would be triggered by components from the location of the spectral mind.
However, that would be a ruling and not a rule.
In the end it comes down to interpreting "you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind’s space, instead of your own" ... does that mean the wizard still casts the spell from where they are but only the targeting occurs from the alternate location? Or does it mean that the wizard executes all the components and requirements of the spell from the alternate location which is the literal meaning of the statement?
The problem with the literal meaning is how do V,S,M components get used from the alternate location - especially material or somatic components.
In the end it comes down to interpreting "you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind’s space, instead of your own" ... does that mean the wizard still casts the spell from where they are but only the targeting occurs from the alternate location?
Just because something looks simple and straightforward to me doesn't mean someone else might not see it differently.
One of my players is a scribe wizard inside the radius of a silence spell but his manifest Mind book is outside the silence spell. Can he still cast through the manifested book?
Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind’s space, instead of your own, using its senses.
Looks to me like it would work, provided the mind is outside the area of effect of silence.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Ty, and how would counterspell interact with this situation? Would the counterspell caster need to be within 60 ft of the book or the wizard?
Counterspell would treat the target as though they were at the location of the spectral mind.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I'm not sure.
I'd say the wizard is the caster if we consider the Manifest Mind feature to be similar to Gaze of Two Minds (*) :
Or Invoke Duplicity (**):
---
* related: Gaze of Two Minds 2024 -- multiple senses at once?
** related: Does Antimagic Field suppress spells cast by Divine Intervention? (or any magic made through Channel Divinity)
I tend to agree with this since if the verbal component of the spell were within the silence then the wizard could not cast it.
If you rule that the wizard casts the spell as if they were in the spectral mind's space then I would think you would need to rule that the components are also executed there in order to bypass the silence spell. In which case, counterspell would be triggered by components from the location of the spectral mind.
However, that would be a ruling and not a rule.
In the end it comes down to interpreting "you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind’s space, instead of your own" ... does that mean the wizard still casts the spell from where they are but only the targeting occurs from the alternate location? Or does it mean that the wizard executes all the components and requirements of the spell from the alternate location which is the literal meaning of the statement?
The problem with the literal meaning is how do V,S,M components get used from the alternate location - especially material or somatic components.
So, a DM will need to rule it one way or another.
As would I. The wizard is the caster, casting from the location of the spectral mind.
Just because something looks simple and straightforward to me doesn't mean someone else might not see it differently.
"Not all those who wander are lost"