Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'cause warded receive'.
                    
                
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mythic Odysseys of Theros
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ","rollDamageType":"force"} force damage.Divine Insight (3/Day). When the oracle or a creature it can see makes an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, the oracle can cause the roll to be made with
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     often find dramatic ways to make their thoughts known.
Interpreters of Signs. Oracles possess unparalleled experience in divining godly whims from cryptic visions and mundane forces. Those who receive
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     within the Palace of Sinew, Dyrrn can invoke the ambient magic to take lair actions. On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), Dyrrn can take a lair action to cause one of the following effects; it
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     part of me has become a conscious entity.”
5
“My opponents must bow down to a mind flayer!”
6
“Dyrrn and the mind flayers simply want to unite all sentient creatures in collective consciousness. And I receive messages from the group mind!”
Poison, Psychic
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Demilich
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ","rollAction":"Take Lair Action"}. On a result of 11 or higher, the demilich takes a lair action to cause one of the following effects. It can’t use the same effect two rounds in a row.
The tomb
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     tomb have advantage on saving throws against being charmed or frightened, and against features that turn undead.
The tomb is warded against the magical travel of creatures the demilich hasn’t
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Monster
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.
Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Beast
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You can use
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.
Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw against
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Person
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You can
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . During this time you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.
Each time the target takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Demilich (Variant)
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Action"}. On a result of 11 or higher, the demilich takes a lair action to cause one of the following effects. It can’t use the same effect two rounds in a row.
The tomb trembles violently for
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     advantage on saving throws against being charmed or frightened, and against features that turn undead.
The tomb is warded against the magical travel of creatures the demilich hasn’t authorized. Such
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Imprisonment
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     version of the spell is a fine chain of precious metal.
Hedged Prison. The spell transports the target into a tiny demiplane that is warded against teleportation and planar travel. The demiplane can be
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     version of the spell consists of rare soporific herbs.
Ending the Spell. During the casting of the spell, in any of its versions, you can specify a condition that will cause the spell to end and release
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Deck of Many Things
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , discard this card, and draw from the deck again, counting both draws as one of your declared draws. If losing that much XP would cause you to lose a level, you instead lose an amount that leaves you
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     mentally receive a truthful answer to that question. Besides information, the answer helps you solve a puzzling problem or other dilemma. In other words, the knowledge comes with wisdom on how to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Backgrounds
                                                    Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , inspired by the example of the angels, moved by the plight of the downtrodden, and devoted to the cause of justice. Or you could be a cynic in the ranks, perhaps because you reluctantly followed in the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     and receive the attention of medics. You are also paid a salary of 1 gp (a Boros-minted 1-zino coin) per week, which (combined with free lodging in your garrison) enables you to maintain a poor
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Adventure Overview While the Strixhaven faculty investigate Murgaxor Grenshel and his schemes, it becomes clear that the villain has warded himself from their spells so student aid will be needed to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     student who was expelled 200 years ago, he has artificially extended his life and seeks true immortality. He corrupted eldritch balm to cause magical mishaps, schemed to attack students at a Mage Tower
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Journeys through the Radiant Citadel
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Conclusion If the characters save Pangil ng Buwan, the bakunawa accompanies them back to Kalapang. Pangil ng Buwan apologizes to the townsfolk, explains the cause of the attack, and promises to aid
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     characters leave them with its body, a week later the characters receive a parcel from Paolo with 150 gp and a bakunawa tooth for each character—their cut for assisting the dragon hunters or not standing in their way.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     silenced, its inopportune comments cause the character to make all ability checks with disadvantage. Roleplay the skull as cruel and cynical, with a dark sense of humor. It knows nothing of the tomb but
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     pretends to know all. Acererak has warded the skull with powerful magic, rendering it impervious to damage and spells. Its curse is too powerful to be broken with any spell other than wish, which can
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , divine spellcasting ability, and a few hundred common folk recently converted to the temple’s cause. Plans. Cheldar is stern but fundamentally a good person. He tries to win support by providing
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Action Cheldar, along with a small group of followers, appears in a tavern frequented by adventurers and seeks converts. A few NPC adventurers join his cause. Action In a public address in the town
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Infernal Machine Rebuild
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Eidolon Ghostly spirits bound by a sacred oath to safeguard places of import to the divine, eidolons stalk temples and vaults to ensure that no enemy can gain a foothold against the gods’ cause. If
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     an enemy with such intent sets foot inside a warded location, the eidolon plunges into a statue specially prepared to house the souls of these protectors. In the form of this sacred statue, an eidolon
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Volo's Guide to Monsters
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , nonliving material they grasp or caress with their tentacles. The imprinting causes imperceptible surface changes to the object, and abrasion or degradation of the material can cause the inscription to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Qualith inscription, however, can receive fragmentary insight into the multilayered thoughts contained within it. A non-illithid that wants to understand a Qualith inscription can make an Intelligence
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     they do receive the call, these warriors turn from their former occupations and take up arms to fight evil. Sometimes their oaths lead them into the service of the crown as leaders of elite groups of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     knights, but even then their loyalty is first to the cause of righteousness, not to crown and country. Adventuring paladins take their work seriously. A delve into an ancient ruin or dusty crypt can be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     less magically gifted contemporaries. Sorcerers are often defined by the events surrounding the manifestation of their power. For those who receive it as an expected birthright, its appearance is a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cause for celebration. Other sorcerers are treated as outcasts, banished from their homes after the sudden, terrifying arrival of their abilities. Playing a sorcerer character can be as rewarding as it
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     they do receive the call, these warriors turn from their former occupations and take up arms to fight evil. Sometimes their oaths lead them into the service of the crown as leaders of elite groups of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     knights, but even then their loyalty is first to the cause of righteousness, not to crown and country. Adventuring paladins take their work seriously. A delve into an ancient ruin or dusty crypt can be
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Ward Starting at 6th level, when a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to cause your Arcane Ward to absorb that damage. If this damage reduces the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     ward to 0 hit points, the warded creature takes any remaining damage. Improved Abjuration Beginning at 10th level, when you cast an abjuration spell that requires you to make an ability check as a part
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     strengthen Thrane resolve. The common people are united by their faith and sure of the righteousness of their cause. The Silver Flame urges people to stand together in the face of evil, and across the nation
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Karrns as agents of darkness. Likewise, Thranes have bitter memories of the conflict with Aundair, and Aundairian wizards or eldritch knights receive a cold reception. For most Thranes, the war
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn’t do anything that you don’t allow it to do. During this time you can also cause the creature to use a reaction
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     transports the target into a tiny demiplane that is warded against teleportation and planar travel. The demiplane can be a labyrinth, a cage, a tower, or any similar confined structure or area of your
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     casting of the spell, in any of its versions, you can specify a condition that will cause the spell to end and release the target. The condition can be as specific or as elaborate as you choose, but the DM
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     transports the target into a tiny demiplane that is warded against teleportation and planar travel. The demiplane can be a labyrinth, a cage, a tower, or any similar confined structure or area of your
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     casting of the spell, in any of its versions, you can specify a condition that will cause the spell to end and release the target. The condition can be as specific or as elaborate as you choose, but the DM
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     oppose Manshoon want to expose and destroy him before they are themselves apprehended or driven out of the city by the local authorities. Adventurers can’t join Manshoon’s cause, but they can join and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     receive aid from the Zhents who are opposed to him. The leaders of this branch of the Black Network are retired adventurers who have become business entrepreneurs. Their adventuring party was called
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Mythic Odysseys of Theros
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     known. Interpreters of Signs. Oracles possess unparalleled experience in divining godly whims from cryptic visions and mundane forces. Those who receive divine omens (such as those presented in
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     it can see makes an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, the oracle can cause the roll to be made with advantage or disadvantage.
 (VINCENT PROCE)
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hoard of the Dragon Queen
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . Cultists and initiates are the most tight-lipped. A successful DC 10 Charisma (Intimidation) or DC 12 Charisma (Persuasion) check is needed to cause cultists to reveal that they are members of the Cult of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     bringing the information to the governor doesn’t count. The characters also receive standard XP for any monsters they defeat along the way.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     and initiates are the most tight-lipped. A successful DC 10 Charisma (Intimidation) or DC 12 Charisma (Persuasion) check is needed to cause cultists to reveal that they are members of the Cult of the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the information to the governor doesn’t count. The characters also receive standard XP for any monsters they defeat along the way.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Kubazan receive advice when entering this area: Fickle I’jin urges her host to pull the lever. What harm could it do? Fearless Kubazan insists that his host jump to the platforms, even if others are better
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     addition, the winds cause creatures in the room to suffer disadvantage on all Strength-based skill checks, including checks made to jump to and from the floating platforms and checks made to climb the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     can help them unlock the infernal puzzle box and the mysteries of the Shield of the Hidden Lord. After making sure the characters receive their promised reward, Liara thanks them for doing their part
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , Dwarvish
 Challenge 4 (1,100 XP)
 Brave. Liara has advantage on saving throws against being frightened.
 Flaming Fury. Once per turn, when Liara hits a creature with a melee weapon, she can cause fire
                                                
                                            
                                        





