Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'clings warded roll'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        ceilings warped roll
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        ceilings warded roll
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        coins wasted roll
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        ceilings wasted roll
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        coins warped roll
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Spells
                                                    Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You ward a creature within range. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack roll or a damaging spell must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or either choose a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from areas of effect.
The spell ends if the warded creature makes an attack roll, casts a spell, or deals damage.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    False Appearance. If the statue is motionless at the start of combat, it has advantage on its initiative roll. Moreover, if a creature hasn’t observed the statue move or act, that creature must
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     temples and vaults to ensure that no enemy defiles, damages, or plunders these sites. If an enemy sets foot inside a warded location, the eidolon plunges into a statue specially prepared to house its
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     placed in a vessel under the effects of the hallow spell, the destroyed necrichor re-forms in 1d10;{"diceNotation":"1d10","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Rejuvenation"} days, regaining all its hits
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     extinguish their horrific unlife, virtuous faiths and vigilant organizations (like the Order of the Guardians detailed in chapter 3) seal these viscous horrors in magically warded prisons. As ages pass
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Corpses. When first encountered, a corpse flower contains the corpses of 1d6 + 3;{"diceNotation":"1d6 + 3", "rollType":"roll", "rollAction":"Humanoids"} Humanoids. A corpse flower can hold the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     nauseated. The stench, which serves as a defense mechanism, fades 2d4;{"diceNotation":"2d4", "rollType":"roll", "rollAction":"Days"} days after the corpse flower dies.Digest. The corpse flower digests
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    False Appearance. If the trapper is motionless on a floor, wall, or ceiling at the start of combat, it has advantage on its initiative roll. Moreover, if a creature hasn’t observed the trapper
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     change the color and texture of its tough, outward-facing side to help it blend in with its surroundings, while its soft, inward-facing side clings to the floor, wall, or ceiling in its hunting
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ":"1d8","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Dwarven Thrower","rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning damage (2d8;{"diceNotation":"2d8","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Dwarven Thrower"} if the target
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     to end the effect.
Children of the Night (1/Day). Zorak magically calls 2d4;{"diceNotation":"2d4","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} swarm of bats;swarms of bats or swarm of rats
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Vampire Spawn
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of the lair seem abnormally gaunt and sometimes move as though alive.
A creeping fog clings to the ground within 500 feet of the vampire’s lair. The fog occasionally takes eerie forms, such as
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     grasping claws and writhing serpents.
If the vampire is destroyed, these effects end after 2d6;{"diceNotation":"2d6","rollType":"roll"} days.Necrotic; Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Corpse Flower
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Corpses. When first encountered, a corpse flower contains the corpses of 1d6 + 3;{"diceNotation":"1d6+3","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Corpses"} humanoids. A corpse flower can hold the remains of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the initiative order. The zombie acts as an ally of the corpse flower but isn't under its control, and the flower's stench clings to it (see the Stench of Death trait).
Spider Climb. The corpse flower
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Demilich
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    );{"diceNotation":"3d6","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Energy Drain"}. If a creature’s hit point maximum is reduced to 0 by this effect, the creature dies. A creature’s hit point maximum
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . A demilich in its lair has a challenge rating of 20 (24,500 XP).
Lair Actions
On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the demilich rolls a d20;{"diceNotation":"1d20","rollType":"roll
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Vampire Warrior
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ;{"diceNotation":"2d4","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} swarm of bats;swarms of bats or swarm of rats;rats, provided that the sun isn't up. While outdoors, the vampire can call 3d6
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ;{"diceNotation":"3d6","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} wolf;wolves instead. The called creatures arrive in 1d4;{"diceNotation":"1d4","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Vampire
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , or takes a bonus action to end the effect.
Children of the Night (1/Day). The vampire magically calls 2d4;{"diceNotation":"2d4","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} swarm of bats
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ;swarms of bats or swarm of rats;rats, provided that the sun isn’t up. While outdoors, the vampire can call 3d6;{"diceNotation":"3d6","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} wolf
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Vampire Spellcaster
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} swarm of bats;swarms of bats or swarm of rats;rats, provided that the sun isn't up. While outdoors, the vampire can call 3d6;{"diceNotation
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ":"3d6","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} wolf;wolves instead. The called creatures arrive in 1d4;{"diceNotation":"1d4","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Children of the Night"} rounds
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Demilich (Variant)
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ":"3d6","rollType":"roll","rollAction":"Energy Drain"}. If a creature’s hit point maximum is reduced to 0 by this effect, the creature dies. A creature’s hit point maximum can be restored
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     be permanently destroyed. Its skull reforms after 1d10;{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"roll", "rollAction":"Enduring Existence"} days, restoring the creature to its wretched state. If it has the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack roll or a damaging spell must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or either choose a new target or lose the attack or spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from areas of effect. The spell ends if the warded creature makes an attack roll, casts a spell, or deals damage.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack roll or a damaging spell must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or either choose a new target or lose the attack or spell
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from areas of effect. The spell ends if the warded creature makes an attack roll, casts a spell, or deals damage.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Backgrounds
                                                    Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     ruins. You are part of a savage society that clings desperately to the Old Ways — attuned to nature, full of primal rage, and given short shrift by a world consumed with continuing civilization
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     encounters with members of other guilds are more often violent than friendly, but occasional bonds do form.
Roll twice on the Gruul Contacts table (for an ally and a rival) and once on the Non-Gruul
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Darkmantle  A darkmantle clings to cavern ceilings, remaining perfectly still as it waits for creatures to pass beneath it. From a distance, it can pass itself off as a stalactite or a lump of stone
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the darkmantle attaches to the target. If the target is Medium or smaller and the darkmantle has advantage on the attack roll, it attaches by engulfing the target’s head, and the target is also blinded
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Heroes of the Borderlands
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     to a storeroom containing a pile of empty scroll cases and a warded chest that holds the scrolls. She instructs the characters to open the chest when they’re ready, then wishes them good luck and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     departs hurriedly. Coupleofkooks  A Dangerous Magical Scroll Ensorcelled Scrolls When the characters open the chest, the scrolls erupt from it in a flurry of whirling parchment and shimmering ink. Roll
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Journeys through the Radiant Citadel
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , causing creatures to have disadvantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on sight. Threats lurk amid the wilds. For every 3 miles the party travels, roll on the Weeping Paths Encounters table
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     dissipates 1 minute later. Roll on the Weeping Paths Encounters table again for another encounter that occurs soon after, rerolling another miasma encounter. Voices of Flame Dozens of gray, spectral
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dragon Delves
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    T12: Ghastly Work Jodie Muir  npc with zombies The stench of death fills this pillared hall. Two ten-foot ladders lean against the west wall. A rotting figure in a crimson robe clings to each ladder
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     guidance. A booming voice from the statue replies, “This is your final test, Xia. Do not fail me!” Xia then rejoins her ghouls and fights to the bitter end. Roll Initiative for Nezzarum. On his turn, he
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     protruding from its base. A giant wooden crane stands nearby, and a wooden scaffold clings to the cliff face. Characters approaching from the south can also see the prison’s south entrance and the trail that
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    ) checks for the guards to determine if they notice something, there’s no need to roll separately for each of them. Just make one roll with advantage. If the guards on a tower see or hear something out
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ) check. If it wins the contest, the smaller creature successfully moves into the target creature’s space and clings to its body. While in the target’s space, the smaller creature moves with the target and
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     ability to use. Disarm A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target’s grasp. The attacker makes an attack roll contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) check
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     surroundings, while its soft, inward-facing side clings to the floor, wall, or ceiling in its hunting territory. It remains motionless as it waits for prey to come close. When a target is within its reach
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     advantage on its initiative roll. Moreover, if a creature hasn’t observed the trapper move or act, that creature must succeed on a DC 18 Intelligence (Investigation) check to discern that the trapper isn’t
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Random Encounters As the characters explore the Wormwrithings, check for a random encounter once per day. Roll a d20 and consult the Wormwrithings Encounters table to determine what, if anything, the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     characters and their expeditionary force encounter. When an encounter occurs, roll a d6 to determine how the area is illuminated. A roll of 1 indicates the area is dimly lit by phosphorescent lichen
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . It has darkvision and truesight out to a range of 60 feet, but it can’t perceive any creature warded by a nondetection spell or similar magic. The skull can’t move or be moved from its space, and it
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     happens, all creatures in the vicinity must roll initiative, including the stone golem. The skull acts on initiative count 30 and again on initiative count 15. On each of the skull’s turns, all creatures
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Heroes of the Borderlands
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Carrion Crawler clings to the hall’s ceiling. It is Hostile toward all other creatures and fights them on sight. C5: Wizard’s Laboratory Luca Bancone  Esoteric apparatuses and strange reagents line
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Wisdom (Medicine) check deduces that the dwarf died from Necrotic damage. Treasure. The dead explorer’s belongings include 60 GP and one magic item; roll once on the Magic Items table in appendix A
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , represented him. Her power to harness the Weave clings to the fabric of her works, giving her the ability to bring these monsters to life on command. Ultimately, Neverember used his influence to ruin Kalain
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     unlocks the outer doors of Kalain’s residence. Displayed in every room except area W5 is one of Kalain’s paintings. To determine the subject of any given painting, roll a d12 and consult the Painting
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    .
 Jared: Please make a Charisma (Persuasion) check to see how well he responds to your pastoral manner. You have Advantage because he’s Friendly.
 Phillip: Oh, good thing. My first roll was a 7, but
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     easier to influence an NPC who’s already disposed to help you, as Ismark is here. Ismark’s Friendly attitude gives Phillip Advantage on the roll. In this case, Advantage made the difference between
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     warded creature takes damage, it can expend a number of those dice, roll them, and reduce the damage taken by the total rolled on those dice. The ward lasts until you finish a Long Rest or until you use
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     order allows you to equalize chaotic moments. When a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself is about to roll a d20 with Advantage or Disadvantage, you can take a Reaction to prevent the roll from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monsters of the Multiverse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     temples and vaults to ensure that no enemy defiles, damages, or plunders these sites. If an enemy sets foot inside a warded location, the eidolon plunges into a statue specially prepared to house its soul
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     motionless at the start of combat, it has advantage on its initiative roll. Moreover, if a creature hasn’t observed the statue move or act, that creature must succeed on a DC 18 Intelligence (Investigation
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     against an endless plague of zombies. General Vladeska Drakov commands a fierce military force that desperately clings to power. Kalakeri A beautiful land of rainforests, rivers, and lakes is a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     once per day, you can require a character not from the Shadowfell to make a DC 10 Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the character is affected by despair. Roll on the Shadowfell Despair table to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     brilliant as stained-glass windows, and alighting briefly to drop off and pick up excited passengers.
 Near the entrance, a small, smiling tree turns your way and beckons you over. A red squirrel clings
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     initiative roll. Moreover, if a creature hasn’t observed the treant move or act, that creature must succeed on a DC 18 Intelligence (Investigation) check to discern that the treant is animate.
 Actions
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Prisoner 13
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the prison’s northern entrance at the top of a 160-foot-high cliff with a pier protruding from its base. A giant wooden crane stands nearby, and a wooden scaffold clings to the cliff face. Characters
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     determine if they notice something, make only one roll with advantage. If the guards on a tower see or hear something out of the ordinary—such as an approaching ship, a group of visitors, or a monster
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Keys from the Golden Vault
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the prison’s northern entrance at the top of a 160-foot-high cliff with a pier protruding from its base. A giant wooden crane stands nearby, and a wooden scaffold clings to the cliff face. Characters
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     determine if they notice something, make only one roll with advantage. If the guards on a tower see or hear something out of the ordinary—such as an approaching ship, a group of visitors, or a monster
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Player’s Handbook for examples. If you grapple or shove an enemy, does that end a Sanctuary spell cast on you? No. The Sanctuary spell ends only if the warded creature makes an attack roll, casts a spell, or
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     you Advantage on your attack roll? A familiar can’t attack, but it can take non-Attack actions, including Help. Does the familiar of Find Familiar count as an ally for the purposes of Sneak Attack? A
                                                
                                            
                                        






