Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'direction issue are blinding'.
Other Suggestions:
direction issue are binding
Monsters
Monster Manual
random direction. 7–8. The target makes a melee attack against a randomly determined creature within its reach or does nothing if it can’t make such an attack.Bite. Melee Attack Roll: +2
equipment behind.
Blinding Spittle (Recharge 5–6);{"diceNotation":"1d6", "rollType":"recharge", "rollAction":"Blinding Spittle"}. Dexterity Saving Throw: DC 10, each creature in a 10-foot-radius
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
This stoppered flask sloshes when shaken, as if it contains water. The decanter weighs 2 pounds.
You can take a Magic action to remove the stopper and issue one of three command words, whereupon an
;re holding the decanter, you can aim the geyser in one direction (no action required). One creature of your choice in the Line must succeed on a DC 13 Strength saving throw or take 1d4 Bludgeoning
Spells
Player’s Handbook
existence. On your turn, you can use this link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object
.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself.
You can
Spells
Player’s Handbook
existence. On your turn, you can use this link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object
.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself.
You
Spells
Player’s Handbook
existence. On your turn, you can use this link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object
.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself.
You
Monsters
Curse of Strahd
Immunity. Sir Godfrey Gwilym is immune to effects that turn undead.
Vengeful Tracker. Sir Godfrey Gwilym knows the distance to and direction of any creature against which it seeks revenge, even if
smite, magic weapon
3rd level (3 slots): blinding smite, dispel magic
4th level (2 slots): staggering smiteMultiattack. Sir Godfrey Gwilym makes two fist attacks or two attacks with his longsword
Magic Items
Quests from the Infinite Staircase
within 60 feet of yourself. You concentration;concentrate on this orb as if concentrating on a spell. As a bonus action, you can move the orb up to 20 feet in any direction.
When your concentration
don’t have the incapacitated condition. You decide what action the snake takes and where it moves during its turn, or you can issue it a general command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a
Monsters
Eberron: Rising from the Last War
minute or until the target takes damage. Belashyrra can issue telepathic commands to the charmed creature (no action required), which it does its best to obey.
3. Mind-Weakening Ray. The target must
for 1 minute. The target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.
4. Blinding Ray. The target and each creature within 10 feet of it
Gibbering Mouther
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Basic Rules (2014)
determined direction. On a 7 or 8, the creature makes a melee attack against a randomly determined creature within its reach or does nothing if it can’t make such an attack.Multiattack. The gibbering
mouther makes one bite attack and, if it can, uses its Blinding Spittle.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +2;{"diceNotation":"1d20+2","rollType":"to hit","rollAction":"Bite"} to hit, reach 5 ft., one
Dominate Monster
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no action required), which it does its best to obey. You can specify a simple and general course of action, such as "Attack that
creature," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You
Dominate Beast
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no action required), which it does its best to obey. You can specify a simple and general course of action, such as "Attack that creature
," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You can use
Dominate Person
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no action required), which it does its best to obey. You can specify a simple and general course of action, such as "Attack that
creature," "Run over there," or "Fetch that object." If the creature completes the order and doesn't receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability.
You can
Spells
The Book of Many Things
verbal commands (no action required by you). If you don’t issue the spirit any commands, it takes the Dodge action and uses its movement to avoid danger.
Reaper Spirit
Medium Undead, Neutral
target is haunted, you and the spirit sense the direction and distance to the target if it is on the same plane of existence as you. Additionally, if the target starts its turn within 10 feet of the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
determined direction. On a 7 or 8, the creature makes a melee attack against a randomly determined creature within its reach or does nothing if it can’t make such an attack.
Actions
Multiattack. The
gibbering mouther makes one bite attack and, if it can, uses its Blinding Spittle.
Bites. Melee Weapon Attack: +2 to hit, reach 5 ft., one creature. Hit: 17 (5d6) piercing damage. If the target is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an order
and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself. You can command the target to take a Reaction but must take your own Reaction to do so
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an
order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself. You can command the target to take a Reaction but must take your own Reaction to do so
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
and issue one of three command words, whereupon an amount of fresh water or salt water (your choice) pours out of the flask. The water stops pouring out at the start of your next turn. Choose from the
Line 30 feet long and 1 foot wide. If you’re holding the decanter, you can aim the geyser in one direction (no action required). One creature of your choice in the Line must succeed on a DC 13 Strength
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
and issue one of three command words, whereupon an amount of fresh water or salt water (your choice) pours out of the flask. The water stops pouring out at the start of your next turn. Choose from the
Line 30 feet long and 1 foot wide. If you’re holding the decanter, you can aim the geyser in one direction (no action required). One creature of your choice in the Line must succeed on a DC 13 Strength
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an order
and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself. You can command the target to take a Reaction but must take your own Reaction to do so
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
this link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it
completes an order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself. You can command the target to take a Reaction but must take your own Reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it completes an
order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself. You can command the target to take a Reaction but must take your own Reaction to do so
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
this link to issue commands to the target (no action required), such as “Attack that creature,” “Move over there,” or “Fetch that object.” The target does its best to obey on its turn. If it
completes an order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it acts and moves as it likes, focusing on protecting itself. You can command the target to take a Reaction but must take your own Reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no
the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no
completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no
the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no
completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no
completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic link to issue commands to the creature while you are conscious (no
completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Quests from the Infinite Staircase
in an unoccupied space you can see within 60 feet of yourself. You concentrate on this orb as if concentrating on a spell. As a bonus action, you can move the orb up to 20 feet in any direction
it is within 60 feet of you and you don’t have the incapacitated condition. You decide what action the snake takes and where it moves during its turn, or you can issue it a general command, such as to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Curse of Strahd
been lit, add the following: The corpses tilt their heads in your direction. One of them growls, “Why do you the living disturb the dead?” The skeletal figures are five revenants. All five are lawful
Godfrey has the following paladin spells prepared:
1st level (4 slots): command, divine favor, thunderous smite
2nd level (3 slots): branding smite, magic weapon
3rd level (3 slots): blinding
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
. The target does nothing.
5–6. The target takes no action or Bonus Action and uses all its movement to move in a random direction.
7–8. The target makes a melee attack against a randomly
creature, it has the Prone condition. The target dies if it is reduced to 0 Hit Points by this attack. Its body is then absorbed into the mouther, leaving only equipment behind.
Blinding Spittle
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
additional lair actions while in its lair: Blinding Sleet. Driving sleet falls in a 40-foot-high, 20-foot-radius cylinder centered on a point the dragon can see within 120 feet of it. Each creature in that
in the lair other than the dragon disadvantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks made to hide. In addition, at each intersection or branching passage, any creature other than the dragon has a 50 percent chance of going in a different direction from the direction it intends.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
the cult’s wagon masters, then by other merchants who are traveling in the same direction at the same time. Merchants from different companies commonly join together to form larger trains for
protection. Frume has contacts among the many merchants of the region and is certain he can arrange a job. Timing is an issue. The tracks leaving the cultists’ camp and the map from Mondath’s chamber both
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
adventure by willfully going in a different direction. If you feel like you’re keeping up your end of the bargain but your players aren’t, have a conversation with them away from the gaming table. Try
gloss over a rules issue in play, make a note of it and return to the issue later. Some players like to use the rules to argue against your decisions. While such players can be helpful when you’re stuck
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
OK for them to invalidate the hard work you’ve done preparing the adventure by willfully going in a different direction. If you feel like you’re keeping up your end of the bargain but your players
prefer to let the DM make a call and continue playing. If you gloss over a rules issue in play, make a note of it and return to the issue later. Some players like to use the rules to argue against






