You cause a creature or an object you can see within range to grow larger or smaller for the duration. Choose either a creature or an object that is neither worn nor carried. If the target is unwilling, it can make a Constitution saving throw. On a success, the spell has no effect.
If the target is a creature, everything it is wearing and carrying changes size with it. Any item dropped by an affected creature returns to normal size at once.
Enlarge. The target's size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category-- from Medium to Large, for example. If there isn't enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available. Until the spell ends, the target also has advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target's weapons also grow to match its new size. While these weapons are enlarged, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 extra damage.
Reduce. The target's size is halved in all dimensions, and its weight is reduced to one-eighth of normal. This reduction decreases its size by one category--from Medium to Small, for example. Until the spell ends, the target also has disadvantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target's weapons also shrink to match its new size. While these weapons are reduced, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 less damage (this can't reduce the damage below 1).
* - (a pinch of powdered iron)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 22, 2024if you cast it on the mount then you are being worn and carried so I think unless there's some rule against this you would also grow to the same size as your new mount
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 22, 2024dude you are such a lifesaver me and my friend were having a talk if a Target could be affected by a in large reduce more than once and they kept telling me to go look at the errata and then I looked in here and you gave me the ability to go find it thank you so much
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 1, 2024Have multiple people cast the spell on the same target. It doesn't say that it doesn't stack, so stack the shit out of it.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 1, 2024The spell already reduces the target to 1/8th the weight, and half the size, I agree with the higher level casting suggestion if your DM is willing to homebrew
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 5, 2024I hate to burst your bubble, but it doesn't say it in the spell description because there is a general rule in the Player's Handbook section on spellcasting that says that the same spell cast multiple times on the same target does not stack.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 13, 2024Did druids used to be able to learn Enlarge in earlier versions or...?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 30, 2024*me a small creature*
dm: "as you look upon the nearby cliff you see a key hanging on a little crev..."
me: i'd like to cast reduce, then use mage hand to carry myself and fly up to it
dm: that isn't possi...
me reduce makes you tiny and makes you weigh 1/8th as much and since i'm small i weigh 5 pounds now, and mage hand can carry 5 pounds
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 23, 2024Have seen this, you can use this to reduce your weight to almost nothing and them Mage Hand away.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 4, 2024This spell reduces the target's weight by a factor of 8, and Mage Hand can only carry 10 lbs. So you would only be able to do that if you normally weigh less than 80 lbs. I suppose a smaller creature like a Gnome might be that light.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 9, 2024With Find Steed, you can make Enlarge/Reduce apply to both you and the steed.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 10, 2024That's true, though I don't think it would apply to mounts in general. And even in that spell it has to be you casting the Enlarge/Reduce for that to work, so you'd need to multiclass or something to get access to both spells.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 1, 2024Hey could you use this spell on a grey render to make it smaller? So instead of being big and causing damage it would be small like a dog and do less damage.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 26, 2024Yes. The thing about the target's weapons doing less damage applies to natural weapons like claws and teeth.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 1, 2025my campaign is using this to carry them around with mage hand
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 12, 2025If an artificer stored this spell in an item using their spell storing item ability would the artificer specify if it enlarges or reduces at that time or can the character that uses the item decide when the activate the spell?